Society & Culture When going through the self serve at Safeway....

The problems start when you either don't want to bag it or need to remove the bag so you can put down a new empty one etc. - they are a massive hassle if you have more than a handful of items.

Last time I used it, the stupid machine was claiming wrong weight when I put the correct item in the bagging area.

This then everthing turns to shit

If your just putting in a couple of items in one bag your set but if you are doing fruits or veg and changing bags it all turns to shit

Really good way of saving money. Have been having half a chook 3-4 times per week for a couple of months now, put it through as carrots and pay half a dollar.

Loving the self serve.

You do realise that is still theft, right?

I'm not telling you to stop, as I couldn't really give a stuff what you do.

So long as you realise you are actually thieving.

:thumbsu:

Safeway and Coles routinely rip off the public - It's not theft when it's coming from a massive conglomerate.

Just don't steal from the small, independant stores

Well I work at one of these big stores as a part timer to get me through uni, and never defend them because I dislike them like most people. They treat staff like garbage unless you have a good boss, like I do, but then another boss is likely to treat you like garbage anyway. However, I can tell you that the consumers do not get ripped off. For the most part profit margins are very low per item.
These massive Coles/Woolies stores rip off their suppliers to no end, but because they're buying power is so great the suppliers simply have to agree and take whatever will be given.

On to the fruit n veg thing, I've even thought about it because 99% of the people attending the self serve thing couldn't care less and would rather avoid the work involved than tell people off. But having said that, the risk aint worth it and in the end the cost cutting from shrinkage probably goes back to cutting staff hours and/or ripping the suppliers off even more.

Safeway and Coles routinely rip off the public - It's not theft when it's coming from a massive conglomerate.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

You & me are gunna be pals jake.

[YOUTUBE]XRv2Ymssrxo[/YOUTUBE]

You don't really believe that, do you?

Theft is theft. Very simple.

You might argue that theft from 'large conglomerates' is 'justified' theft, but even then you'd have a hard case to make.

Would you think it okay if some hobo off the street came in and pinched your computer? Him being so much poorer and weaker and less visible than you and your middle-class family and all? You've got no concern for him.

[youtube]XRv2Ymssrxo[/youtube]

Old Skool, you let yourself down with bullcrap like that.

The bloke who narrates that clip speaks of it being okay to steal from places like Sam's Club because they have no concern for him, because he has to work to get the money to pay for the basic necessities to live. I'm sure you are well versed enough with logic to know what a non sequitur is so why on earth would you promote such a ridiculous, ridiculous piece of self-justifying claptrap?

Would you think it okay if some hobo off the street came in and pinched your computer? Him being so much poorer and weaker and less visible than you and your middle-class family and all? You've got no concern for him.

Well, even though my middle class lifestyle (World standards, yes, Australian standards, maybe not) affords me with more material wealth then the 'hobo off the street', my earlier disclaimer of...

Just don't steal from the small, independant stores

... would fall into the same category. I wouldn't advocate breaking into anyone's house to steal their material possessions. A small independant stop would require a substantial amount of capital in order to start the store (an amount that would far exceed any amounts of money that I have ever had), yet I wouldn't not steal from them.

My statement that 'stealing from Coles and Safeway is justified' is not a result of some arbritary class struggle analyisis; if that were the case I would be advocating stealing from small independant stores because ultimately they would be part of the upper middle class.

Coles and Safeway form a giant monopoly that squeezes out competition, local independant businesses and also routinely participates in mass waste disposal of perfectly good food - Check out the docks one day and see how much food they order (in order to keep the supply costs down) and check out how much of the food actually hits the shelves... They throw almost as much food out as they put on the shelves...

A smaller, independant company wouldn't go through such wastage -

Old Skool, you let yourself down with bullcrap like that.

I think it's far more likely that you percieve me as something I am not.

The bloke who narrates that clip speaks of it being okay to steal from places like Sam's Club because they have no concern for him, because he has to work to get the money to pay for the basic necessities to live. I'm sure you are well versed enough with logic to know what a non sequitur is so why on earth would you promote such a ridiculous, ridiculous piece of self-justifying claptrap?

It's an anarchist commentary on the corrupt, monopolistic, plutocratic sytem commonly referred to as "western civilisation"

I think it's far more likely that you percieve me as something I am not.

You think he gives you more credit than you deserve? :confused:

It's an anarchist commentary on the corrupt, monopolistic, plutocratic sytem commonly referred to as "western civilisation"

Western civilisation is it what it is, anyone who spends any time rebelling against it is just wasting their existence.

My statement that 'stealing from Coles and Safeway is justified' is not a result of some arbritary class struggle analyisis...

Coles and Safeway form a giant monopoly that squeezes out competition, local independant businesses and also routinely participates in mass waste disposal of perfectly good food - Check out the docks one day and see how much food they order (in order to keep the supply costs down) and check out how much of the food actually hits the shelves... They throw almost as much food out as they put on the shelves...

1) Do you have any evidence to verify your claims re wastage?

2) Are you saying your solution to the problems of the supermarket duopoly is to steal a few bucks worth of food every now and then? Or are you simply saying their duopoloy justifies the theft? I am really not following your argument here at all.

Again, I'm not saying not to steal the stuff. I don't much care. What I do take issue with is people like yourself trying to claim that what you are doing isn't wrong with nonsensical justifications. I'd have no issue if you just admitted that what you do is wrong, you do it to further your own ends (in this case, saving yourself money) and you are no better than the thieves who steal from anybody else in this respect.

This bloke is pinching stuff produced by people who are incentivised to produce it by the promise of financial reward - a reward which can only be guaranteed in a world of property rights. He is clearly and obviously benefiting from the fact that we don't live in an anarchistic society.

Do you see a problem with this?

Put another way, in a world of anarchy, he would be expected to work to survive - something he laments about the current order. In a world of anarchy, those he would do business with would have no concern for him - something he laments about the current system. In fact, property rights and a state which enforces laws means he has (arguably) more chance of survival without work (welfare) and and less chance of harm by large producers under the current system than he would in anarchy.

At best the bloke who made that clip is a rebel trying to make his mark on the world he currently isn't happy with, at worst he is simply trying to validate illegal and self-serving behaviour.

A prophet he is not.

You think he gives you more credit than you deserve? :confused:

Possibly.

Western civilisation is it what it is, anyone who spends any time rebelling against it is just wasting their existence.

If I can't have actual freedom, then i'm happy to settle for the delusion of freedom.

This bloke is pinching stuff produced by people who are incentivised to produce it by the promise of financial reward - a reward which can only be guaranteed in a world of property rights. He is clearly and obviously benefiting from the fact that we don't live in an anarchistic society.

Do you see a problem with this?

1) He is also clearly and obviously "compelled" to obey a certain restrictive lifestyle, which overwhelmingly benefits the aforementioned corrupt, monopolistic, plutocratic sytem, in order to live within "the rules"

I personally see his (it's actually a her dressed up as a him) "crime" as a far lesser crime.

2) Anarchists do not exist as a solution. Anarchists exist because there are no solutions. Anarchists are the essential triggers of the libertarian rebellion, and the defence mechanism to combat totalitarianism.

Put another way, in a world of anarchy, he would be expected to work to survive - something he laments about the current order. In a world of anarchy, those he would do business with would have no concern for him - something he laments about the current system. In fact, property rights and a state which enforces laws means he has (arguably) more chance of survival without work (welfare) and and less chance of harm by large producers under the current system than he would in anarchy.

At best the bloke who made that clip is a rebel trying to make his mark on the world he currently isn't happy with, at worst he is simply trying to validate illegal and self-serving behaviour.

A prophet he is not.

You have a very simplistic outlook on anarchist philosophy. Unfortunately, you are in the overwhelming majority.

I suggest you start out by reading Goldman, Bakunin, Kropotkin and others, then get back to me:

http://flag.blackened.net/daver/anarchism/
http://theanarchistlibrary.org/

working at one of these supermarkets for 5 years now i can say that it has not taken anyones job away. The express lines are still required until 7pm because we are faster than you and the demand is still there. then there is always one person who is there from start until the machine is emptied at the close of day. in the old system of four express registers it was rare to see more than 2 registers open as the 3rd would normally involve a manager and the fourth would be the longlife boy or girl. The policy was normally to only have one express register open past seven and the manager would assist if needed (nothing has changed)

I am truly sick and tired of hearing 'oh i dont go here they cost jobs' blah blah blah. it doesn't

I worked for one of the large supermarkets while I was at school in Tassie and the other one in first year uni over here.

The above is exactly right. The exception IMO would be on a Saturday and Sunday when the machines would cost a few 15yo kids hours.

Other than Saturdays, and in Tassie it used to be Thurs/Fri nights before extended trading all week around, they operate on bare bones staff anyway. It would pretty much be 2 normal registers, an express register and the service desk. All they do now is shut one of the normal registers and the person is supervising at the self service instead.

How supermarkets operate is they get a wage budget as a % of their sales, the tighter the managers can run it below that the bigger the bonus they are looking at. Hence the supermarkets have always ran on fumes as far as staff levels are concerned.

Even with my current job, we have machines at work, and even if we didn't have them it would only result in two or three more shifts for people over the weekend yet it makes my job piss easy every day of the week :thumbsu:

from memory i think shrinkage is either insured to the full or heavily subsidized. so you aren't costing the big two any money at all

I worked in the dairy case and I complained to the manager at one stage about the crazy allotments they'd just send out from the warehouse based on computer predictions, an entire pallet of cream anyone wtf, and he said they self insure for written off products.

How they actually do that I don't know, maybe they have a provision for shrinkage account like a provision for bad debts or something and get a tax offset.

Don't knock him, brosef. He's honestly admitting that he's dishonest:):thumbsu:

To me, it makes it all the more worthwhile thieving, because I know it is thieving.

Strong believer of two wrongs make a right, and with Woolworths/Westfarmers ripping off the Australian populace, it's about damn time the populace thought back by ripping them off. :thumbsu:

How do you feel like you're being ripped off by Woolworths and Coles?

If anything, Woolworths and Coles use their purchasing power to rip off their suppliers in order to give you prices so low that nobody can compete with them.

Used the self checkout thingy at bunnings wh@rehouse there shitty woolies ones are better.

You mean the self serve checkout thingy down the front of your pants or your Mrs bag.........don't forget the babies pram to get those fancy tap handles out:cool::eek:

They have self checkouts they must be new I dont steal stuff I wouldnt even brother to steal.

How do you feel like you're being ripped off by Woolworths and Coles?

If anything, Woolworths and Coles use their purchasing power to rip off their suppliers in order to give you prices so low that nobody can compete with them.

That is exactly why, I think they're ripping me off.