Who am I ? ....

• Thread starter Thread starter The BIG X

Last year many of us had great fun in playing "Who am I" in the off season.
Thought I might start it up again with a TRUE STORY.

WHO AM I??

Sitting in the train at Flinders Street all by myself and a fellow comes in and sits opposite me and says where are you going mate?
I said actually to Spencer St to pick up a couple of things and then off to the footy.

He said MCC member eh? Yes was my reply. He said I would kill for one of those tickets - I said they are not cheap.

He then said Reckon you barrack for Hawthorn - I said you are right -got it in one - what gave you that idea?

He said my brother played for Hawthorn - I said who is he??

He said give you clues - I said OK (looking at him very carefully)

He said actually I was drafted to Brisbane Bears in the Paul Feltham era.

I said just after Peter Knights left - he said yes would have loved to played for Peter.

Looking at him I thought yeah half forward flanker - are you similar build to your brother? His reply was - fairly similar.

I said What years are we talking for your brother.

Next clue - He said brother played in the 1985 winning Grand final for HFC Reserves.

I said - with Bucky and Knights - he said yes

Relaying this story to Houdinihuddo He stopped me there and gave me the correct answer. I was flabigasted.

WHO AM I??

Re: Who am I ............

Damn you!

I was going to go Robert Handley or Peter Bennett.

But then Robert Handley played in the 85GF.

Peter Curran would fit the bill.

In all fairness, I was given one other clue. I was told me the number he wore which was above 40. I wont say what number because you guys will then go straight to the HFC website. I will now have to look for the tape of the reserves great win in 1985. I will never forget Bucky took two screamers and naturally buckymeansgoals converted.

Cant be Peter Curran since he wore 25, Bennett was 18 (44 the year before) and Handley 37.

Got me stumped Rusty. I thought I'd nailed it with Curran. I think the only other one in the 85 team that made it up to the Bears as far as I can tell was Rocket, but it surely can't be him.

got me beat as well. Will say David Sullivan. 184cm played HF 85 Ressies GF.

Finished football in 1988 so could be available for 89.

In all fairness, I was given one other clue. I was told me the number he wore which was above 40. I wont say what number because you guys will then go straight to the HFC website. I will now haveto look for the tape of the reserves great win in 1985. I will never forget Bucky took two screamers and naturally buckymeansgoals converted.

Correct - HH was given the clue with the Jumper No. and I was going to give that as a general clue next by saying the No. is above 35 however HH has let you in from 40+.

Other answers are incorrect to now.

It's Ken Judge, surely?

EDIT: Didn't see the reserves part.

I have no idea. This was the team though to help others out:

B: Chris Wittman, Glenn Howard, Michael Byrne
HB: James Morrisey, Paul Abbott, Colin Robertson
C: Robert teal, Rodney Eade, Paul Considine
HF: Gary Buckenara, Peter Curran, David Sullivan
F: James Bennett, Peter Knights, Shane Mcgrath
FOLL: Greg Dear, Steve Malaxos, David Flintoff
INT: Michael Geurts, Roger Ellingworth, Patrick Bailey

Damn you :D

Guys don't get confused. The guys brother played for the Hawks Reserve, the guy himself was drafted to Brisbane.

Was the Hawthorn player Chris Wittman?

Or are you sure it wasn't David Sullivan for us and Chris Sullivan for Brisbane?

Got it

Chris Guerts was drafted to Brisbane from Warragul in 1989 (Felthem era)

Michael Guerts wore number 44 for the Hawks in 1985.

Is that it?

Got it

Chris Guerts was drafted to Brisbane from Warragul in 1989 (Felthem era)

Michael Guerts wore number 44 for the Hawks in 1985.

Is that it?

Yes Bards

Chris is a real character only spoke to him for 5 - 7 mins and it was as though I had known him for life.

Chris is still a keen footy follower. Told me he shook hands with Chris Skase - will not say what I said about him but he yelled out to the entire carraige our mutual thoughts and someone else agreed.

It was an extremely entertaining conversation on a connex train.

What about 1 rule:

give it a bit of time before anyone goes to Google or HFC website for an answer - just a thought

OVER TO YOU Bards:thumbsu:

Cant be Peter Curran since he wore 25, Bennett was 18 (44 the year before) and Handley 37.

Rusty you were so close.

Michael wore No. 44 in the 1985 year and as Chris told me he handed it over to John Platten in 1986. (That is a nice way of putting it.)

Oh geez, I was pretty active in this thread last year. I will have to think of something new...

OK, an easy one.

Who Am I:

1. I once told the members of "Tucky's Ton" (the supporters group back in the waverley days", that I was responsible for saving the club from the merger. Who would have thought that a skill error could save the club.

Oh geez, I was pretty active in this thread last year. I will have to think of something new...

OK, an easy one.

Who Am I:

1. I once told the members of "Tucky's Ton" (the supporters group back in the waverley days", that I was responsible for saving the club from the merger. Who would have thought that a skill error could save the club.

I was at the game, but can't remember the exact details of the final moments. I'm guessing that we kicked a point to get over the line. Does that classify as the skill error?

Did we go to that game together L4FBOTC?

I remember my old man cried. He was that fired up by the whole thing.

He tracked me down and dragged me out of the cess-pit I was living in to go the rally. Think he even busted his senile mother out of the nursing home too.