Roast Who is Cam Joyce?

I like him. Feel heaps better about him running things then Walsh.

This time last year I have my concerns but I think he’s made some good, brave decisions. At the start of the year clubs were scoffing at our offer to Kelly, by the end of the year they were scrambling to try and match it.

Now when it hasn’t come off, instead of shitting himself and throwing money & picks at anyone to try to appease the media pressure, he’s seemingly stayed cool and will do the right thing by the club.

Very happy
Me too, recent decisions have been great. I love the fact they went hard for Martin and Kelly and didn't care what anyone said. Sounds like they got pretty close too...Most of the Richmond media types were clearly shitting their pants. Now they're focusing on the draft rather than sacrificing picks for mediocre talent or damaged goods.

What this OP is basically saying is that the senior leadership at the club have no ****ing idea what they are doing by giving this guy the role, even though they are well positioned to understand his capabilities.

That is very strong criticism. Please elaborate.

1. What are the "pretty average decisions"?
2. What do you mean by "filled in by a day to day stench"?
3. Who are the "enough North Melbourne people pissed off?
4. Tell us what those "poor decisions, poor judgement, poor management" are.
crickets......

#culture

I think its going to take years to undo the damage this bloke and brad have done, are doing to the fabric of the club. Some pretty average decisions have gone down headed up by those two, filled in by a day to day general stench.

We're a small club, the glue that binded us together was always the people. You piss off enough North Melbourne people through poor decisions, poor judgement, poor management, what have you got left? A sterile organisation with no....'spirit.'

Ooops, you're going to be embarrassed - you logged into Bigfooty instead of Facebook.

His star has certainly risen very quickly.

Are there better options out there?? Probably.

Is it his fault we haven't won a flag?? No, but he's played his part too.

Should we give him a little longer before we shit can him?? Yes.

Cam Joyce (AKA The Stick Head) has done NOTHING to impress me. He reminds me of my mate Robert Caggiagi who was a roadie for the band Del Amitri. He pranced around like he owned the joint, but when you looked at his resume, it may as well have been written in crayon.

If Joyce is at NMFC next season, I won’t be barracking for you guys again. I’ll be sticking with my beloved Suns and Rabbit Ears.

I don’t really know exactly how much influence or decisions he has on our recruiting

Yes sure he is definitely involved but no one can know for sure unless you were inside the club

I am sitting on the fence before throwing out my judgement on this, due to lack of proof lol

Cam Joyce (AKA The Stick Head) has done NOTHING to impress me. He reminds me of my mate Robert Caggiagi who was a roadie for the band Del Amitri. He pranced around like he owned the joint, but when you looked at his resume, it may as well have been written in crayon.

If Joyce is at NMFC next season, I won’t be barracking for you guys again. I’ll be sticking with my beloved Suns and Rabbit Ears.
classic

What this OP is basically saying is that the senior leadership at the club have no ******* idea what they are doing by giving this guy the role, even though they are well positioned to understand his capabilities.
This..

Is OP saying that Funky Carl doesnt know what he is doing as CEO of North?

Funky Carl has delivered us
- profits every year
- record membership
- A VFL side next year
- An AFLW side in 2019
- Potentially the greatest club facilities in Melbourne in 3-5 years

He has also made the decision to promote a young list manager who has worked at the club for many years to GM of Football. I for one am backing in that Carl Dilenna knows exactly what he is doing and made the decision based on a number of factors. Joyce has had 1 year as GM and hasnt put a foot wrong in the decisions he has made so far. He made the right calls to delist the 4 last year and to move on the guys from this year too. We have signed every player we have wanted to keep and had a huge crack at some stars. He has now also made the exact right call to take our picks to the draft and not sign FA spuds.

Im all in on Joyce.

Ill give you one thing though - he interviews very poorly

Not everyone is comfortable doing media. I've seen some of the most confident people in the world go to water when on air. It's not easy. All that matters is what goes on behind scenes.

Just cause a list manager hasn't got media 'talent', it doesn't invalidate their work. Keep in mind, he's got to sell without saying anything that gives away too much. Which means he's probably being fed lines by the comms team, which is even more nerve wracking to remember in front of a mic or camera.

So not only are you not suited to be on-air, you're also nervous about saying the wrong thing.
Exactly. Look at Elon Musk for example. Terrible public speaker but all the confidence in the world.

:tearsofjoy:
POTY

Everything would be a hard sell when you have Brad Scott in charge I'm tipping.
Why? The North players seem to love him, he's got a reputation as a players' coach, is probably good at articulating his vision when he meets prospective recruits. And we've got a few in during his time. Past players generally express the view that he's a good teaching coach.

I doubt opposition players spend much time analyzing his press conference videos and mocking how often he says "bitterly disappointed" or "easy fixes". The real world isn't Bay 13.

I've had enough of this bloke running our football department - with all the criticism that Brad Scott gets, this bloke is deserving of the same.

He has no football pedigree (started in the marketing department) and has been a main feature and contributor throughout our mediocrity. When compared to the likes of a Neil Balme at Richmond, I do not understand how this guy is running the show.

It's been said once, but it's still relevant as ever - this bloke couldn't sell water to an Ethiopian village in a drought, how is he going to sell the north Melbourne football club?

Get. Rid. Of.
joyce lean.png

Joyce is great. Club is in good hands.

This..

Is OP saying that Funky Carl doesnt know what he is doing as CEO of North?

Funky Carl has delivered us
- profits every year
- record membership
- A VFL side next year
- An AFLW side in 2019
- Potentially the greatest club facilities in Melbourne in 3-5 years

He has also made the decision to promote a young list manager who has worked at the club for many years to GM of Football. I for one am backing in that Carl Dilenna knows exactly what he is doing and made the decision based on a number of factors. Joyce has had 1 year as GM and hasnt put a foot wrong in the decisions he has made so far. He made the right calls to delist the 4 last year and to move on the guys from this year too. We have signed every player we have wanted to keep and had a huge crack at some stars. He has now also made the exact right call to take our picks to the draft and not sign FA spuds.

Im all in on Joyce.

Ill give you one thing though - he interviews very poorly
This. All day long.
Joyce has clearly impressed the club. Lot to be said for promoting from within and rewarding staff rather than just churning through external appointments like many club's do. Often big names to keep the fans happy that are mainly interested in extracting a pay cheque then moving on. I appreciate the need for new ideas and freshening things up with new staff but if someone is doing a great job you try and retain then.

In funky Carl we trust.
Massive fan of funky Ben as well. He was great on the Tassie relocation and that Facebook thingy. Unlike Joyce, he has a seriously impressive CV.
Just quietly, I reckon we're building a management dream team...
Onwards and upwards folks....

A question for the unwashed...

Just how much influence does the list manager have over the shape of a list?

Does he have respected and valued input on which way we need to draft or should draft? Or is he simply given a directive by the coach and board that this is what we want and need?

I'm guessing his actual input is minimal and if the list is unbalanced, then the blame for want of a better word sits with the coach first and foremost.

It's hard to make an informed judgement on these things though, when you're just a popcorn eater from the outer, with no inner scrotum contact.
I would hope he has much more than minimal influence. He's responsible for the depth and age and talent profile across all lines. Who to retain, who to let go, pro recruiting, structuring the TPP, and the overall shape of the draft. You'd bloody well hope he wasn't blindsided by Brewis drafting 3 KPDs in '14, for example. At the same time, you want him to trust the head of recruiting with individual picks.

By this I mean when he was list manager, not his new role.

But if I was to look for areas where he could have done better, I might suggest that he's overvalued player retention. Can't remember the last time we sold high on a player in demand. Peter Bell?