Why do you hate the WCE?

• Thread starter Thread starter SS_Fury

Freo seems to be more of a culture, West Coast come across as more of a business. It's hard to love a business.
Also we've had to put up with a lot of shit over the years, that tends to strengthen the bond.

interesting theories. I see the WCE as a culture (although its pretty shot to me at the moment). And i wouldnt jump off for a second.

'Their supporters are bandwagon hopping morons. Whenever I have a football related discussion/argument/fight to the death with them, they only ever seem to talk about Freo's lack of success and how they couldn't possibly bring themselves to support a team who had an empty trophy cabinet. So I ask them, would you support the Egos if you weren't successful? I'm yet to get a comeback'

I will always support the eagles, and i believe freo is a decent midfielder or 2 away from ultimate succes. As for your question that your yet to receive a comeback for? I would support the wce even if they werent succesful. Infact i wish half the board was sacked, kerr, fletcher etc etc were palmed off for draft picks and we start with a clean slate with a better 'culture'. If this means 5 years doing a carlton, then so be it.
Freo will have their turn. And if they arent facing the WCE on the last day of september I will be hoping they win. I guess that is not a good thing for you guys coz apparently i cant like two WA teams, but i guess you will just have to live with it :)

interesting theories. I see the WCE as a culture (although its pretty shot to me at the moment). And i would jump off for a second.

'Their supporters are bandwagon hopping morons. Whenever I have a football related discussion/argument/fight to the death with them, they only ever seem to talk about Freo's lack of success and how they couldn't possibly bring themselves to support a team who had an empty trophy cabinet. So I ask them, would you support the Egos if you weren't successful? I'm yet to get a comeback'

I will always support the eagles, and i believe freo is a decent midfielder or 2 away from ultimate success. As for your question that your yet to receive a comeback for? I would support the wce even if they were successful. Infact i wish half the board was sacked, Kerr, Fletcher etc etc were palmed off for draft picks and we start with a clean slate with a better 'culture'. If this means 5 years doing a Carlton, then so be it.
Freo will have their turn. And if they are facing the WCE on the last day of September I will be hoping they win. I guess that is not a good thing for you guys coz apparently i cant like two WA teams, but i guess you will just have to live with it :)

I don't think I hate anyone or anything but go to home games for both teams when their losing and sit in amongst the crowd and soak up the atmosphere.

It's just not comparable and very hard to explain. Some people only love you when your winning and then there are Freo people.

Granted, band wagoners have started to infiltrate our culture, but the core of Fremantle supporters are die-hard, some may even say tragics.

But that's o.k. because I love Freo the place (it's rich history and culture), its lifestyle, our team and our colours. Hell, I even love the song.

If you love West Coast then I'm happy for you and if Freo are your second team, that's o.k. too. But if you were called to Freo like the rest of us then you would realise there are no second teams, except maybe the Rabbitohs (South Sydney) because there similar to Freo.

interesting theories. I see the WCE as a culture (although its pretty shot to me at the moment). And i wouldnt jump off for a second.

I will always support the eagles, and i believe freo is a decent midfielder or 2 away from ultimate succes. As for your question that your yet to receive a comeback for? I would support the wce even if they werent succesful. Infact i wish half the board was sacked, kerr, fletcher etc etc were palmed off for draft picks and we start with a clean slate with a better 'culture'. If this means 5 years doing a carlton, then so be it.
Freo will have their turn. And if they arent facing the WCE on the last day of september I will be hoping they win. I guess that is not a good thing for you guys coz apparently i cant like two WA teams, but i guess you will just have to live with it :)

About the whole not being able to support two WA teams thing, i reckon the resentment for it comes from the fact that if Freo were more successful, the majority of Wet Toast supporters who have Freo as their second team would all of a sudden stop thinking of us so favourably. Most patrons of Indian Pacific Ltd also seem to think that they should feel sorry for us because we don't have a big shiny premiership cup in the trophy cabinet and see themselves as the 'big brother' that should be looking out for the best interests of the little brother. We resent that because we ain't anybody's little brother, we can stand on our own two feet and we don't want/need any help, pity or sympathy. And one day you'll all be very sorry you ever thought of us that way.

(But you seem OK, SS. I can't picture you being a rabid piechucker like the rest)

Well, I hate West Coast because they are the best team in the state and the envy of Western Australia :(

Wait, I'm an Eagles supporter.... what am I talking about?

You're an Eagles supporter :confused:

What really annoys me the most is how all egales fans associate success with a midfield simply because theirs was good.

Midfield, Midfield, midfield...The Dockers will only be good when they get a decent midfield...blah blah blah...we still manage to beat the Eagles regularly without one and made it to a preliminary final last year without an outstanding midfield. If they are so important then why is that so?

I think the reason they are so important to the eagles is because their midfield has been carrying the rest of the team for so long. So much so that I think they are going to suffer next year and be shown as not having the depth they like to think they have.

A

I don't mind the Eagles team, great to watch & they seem like alright blokes! It's the supporters that make me hate WC, they're a bunch of condescending, arrogant, abusive, pathetic wa*kers!

I hate to generalise as I'm sure there are plenty of great WC supporters, it's just that probably 90% of the ones I know are terrible!

I'm nuetral - just can't get into the whole 'fan' thing. But I love footy and probably spend more time than is healthy thinking and talking about it. I have to concur with stylor's impressions.

It seems to me that there are heaps of WCE supporters out there who know absolutely nothing about footy, whereas the average Freo fan tends to at least know something about the game.

I've lost count of the number of times I've been bailed up at parties by some WCE tragic who just refuses to have a rational discussion about the game and rants on in an imperious tone saying things like 'Well we believe the Vics are out to stop us...and we have a team full of champions...and when we won they flag etc...'

I usually stop them with the line 'No they won the flag - you watched'

Freo fans, while passionate, just seem less boorish about it.

Of course this is a generalisation and some of my best friends follow WCE etc etc.......

Why do I hate the WCE ?
The "they can do no wrong" coverage on all the media.
The stupid inflateable clappy things they give to their kids at games.
The fact that they (the fans) can't admit when they have been beaten by a better side.
The fact that half of the supporters claim to be "Western Australia fans...Freo is my second team." Give us a break..no one supports Celtic AND Rangers or Liverpool AND Everton. When they play each other you support one. Stick with it.
They can't admit some of their fans are feral. Throwing pies and bottles at Joshy Carr and having the hypocrisy of booing him at the Glendinning medal presentation after he fairly won it when they had kicked up such a godalmighty fuss when the same thing happened to JUDD (but we booed the decision ..LOL).
Their colours.
Seaby getting away with breaking Sandilands jaw.
Embley's dancing.
Ben Cousins Smuggity..(I know it should be smugness but he's taken it to such a new level it needs a new word.)
EX players dominance in WA media. Glenn Jakovich as a comments man on the footy for pete's sake. Might as well get Borat out there.
Wooshas lovely line to the media where he likened them to handicapped children...charming.
Trevor Nisbitt. No explanation needed.
Their arrogance in adopting SOO for the heritage round. Says it all.
Wooshas temper tanrum at CC because Crowley was playing too rough at the exhibition game in London a couple of years ago.
The "Derby's dont matter" attitude when they lose them but the "Yeah suck it up" attitude when they win.
Trevor Nisbitt ...again ..just to make sure.

Why do I hate the WCE ?
The "they can do no wrong" coverage on all the media. When was the last time you read the paper? We are copping a hammering
The stupid inflateable clappy things they give to their kids at games. lol@ the clappy things. You do know freo have them now
The fact that they (the fans) can't admit when they have been beaten by a better side. Admit it regularly. We are not invincible and sometimes we dont look interested eg - the last time we played you lot.
The fact that half of the supporters claim to be "Western Australia fans...Freo is my second team." Give us a break..no one supports Celtic AND Rangers or Liverpool AND Everton. When they play each other you support one. Stick with it. Dont follow soccer, but i have allegences with WA. Sorry if it urks you, but i can have a 2nd team :p
They can't admit some of their fans are feral. Throwing pies and bottles at Joshy Carr and having the hypocrisy of booing him at the Glendinning medal presentation after he fairly won it when they had kicked up such a godalmighty fuss when the same thing happened to JUDD (but we booed the decision ..LOL). Yes that was feral throwing stuff at Carr. However the booing is not hyprocrisy because it is arguable you didnt boo Judd for the decision, but rather booed him personally. We will never know the truth to that one.
Their colours. Blue & gold hurts your eyes?
Seaby getting away with breaking Sandilands jaw. Didnt watch that so cant comment
Embley's dancing. You would too if you won the premiership. I can onlyimagine what the wiz would do
Ben Cousins Smuggity..(I know it should be smugness but he's taken it to such a new level it needs a new word.) Yeah he does look smug sometimes. And is now history.
EX players dominance in WA media. Glenn Jakovich as a comments man on the footy for pete's sake. Might as well get Borat out there. He doesnt favour WCE though, I have heard him be special comments for freo games and does alright.
Wooshas lovely line to the media where he likened them to handicapped children...charming. Calling hungry media a bunch of *******s? A slip of the tounge but dont say you have said similar stuff. Your looking for excuses now
Trevor Nisbitt. No explanation needed. He has been good for us, however it seems as he has been hiding this whole drug thing. Agreed he should perhaps go.
Their arrogance in adopting SOO for the heritage round. Says it all. Didnt agree with that myself
Wooshas temper tanrum at CC because Crowley was playing too rough at the exhibition game in London a couple of years ago. Didnt see it only heard about it, cant comment
The "Derby's dont matter" attitude when they lose them but the "Yeah suck it up" attitude when they win. Derbys matter but as a game and perhaps some bragging rights. Win, lose, as ong as the effort is there.
Trevor Nisbitt ...again ..just to make sure.
read above

The fact that they (the fans) can't admit when they have been beaten by a better side. Admit it regularly. We are not invincible and sometimes we dont look interested eg - the last time we played you lot.

There you go. You just did it without even realising.

You claim that you admit it when you are beaten by a better side but then you imply that Freo only won the last derby because the eagles weren't interested.

Admitting the better side won doesn't mean claiming that your team only lost because they weren't interested, it's about admitting both teams had a fair dinkum crack and yours lost - just like the last derby.

This is the arrogance we talk about. Eagles fans think the only way a team could possibly beat them is if they don't show up to play. It's never that the other team wins the game, it's that the eagles lose it. They never give the opposition credit for making the eagles play badly.

It's an arrogance so ingrained in your supporters that they don't even realise they are doing it.

There you go. You just did it without even realising.

You claim that you admit it when you are beaten by a better side but then you imply that Freo only won the last derby because the eagles weren't interested.

Admitting the better side won doesn't mean claiming that your team only lost because they weren't interested, it's about admitting both teams had a fair dinkum crack and yours lost - just like the last derby.

This is the arrogance we talk about. Eagles fans think the only way a team could possibly beat them is if they don't show up to play. It's never that the other team wins the game, it's that the eagles lose it. They never give the opposition credit for making the eagles play badly.

It's an arrogance so ingrained in your supporters that they don't even realise they are doing it.

your reading waaayyyy too much into that. You were the better side on that day. Or is 'on that day' another dig aimed at freo? Like i said, your deconstructing something thats not there, not in the least that i meant anyway. I will freely admit that freo have had the better of us the last couple of years. We played, we lost, we werent good enough. Is that still arrogance?

Ok maybe you didn't mean it like that.

But I stand by my comments about the arrogance of a large section of your supporters.

read above

Your responses in order.
1) I don't read the West. Its a rag.

2) The clappy things annoy me but that was meant to be a funny thing. Don't see many at Freo games.

3) I have only met one WCE fan who criticizes to what I reckon is a fair degree, his team. The rest make excuses. Oh and one WCE fan I used to know used to spit feathers if you said "ROWAN JONES IS QUITE A GOOD PLAYER"

4) You dont have to follow soccer to know what I mean. By all means have Freo as your second team. It does irk me but alas I can't do anything about it. Don't expect any Freo supporters to be chuffed when you tell them that though. This is a big call but I would rather Collingwood won a grand final than the WCE.

5) I'm telling you I booed the decison and not Judd personally. Now you know. No argument.

6) Yuccky colours.

7) Can't comment on Sandilands jaw? It was definately broken.

8) Embley's dancing was just irritating. No style. Unlike The Purple Jesus.

9) WE AGREE ON BEN??? What the?

10) How can he favour WCE in Freo games? What does that mean? The very nature of broadcasting should mean there is balance. If there is an ex WCE player in the commentary box, especially during Derbies there should be an ex Freo player. Its that simple.

11) "A slip of the tongue?" You're making excuses- plain and simple.

12) Trevor Nisbitt- agreed again...this is getting scary.

13) SOO - agreed again...Think you should swap your "main allegiance" mate!!!

14) The London Tantrum was widely reported. You've never seen the war in Iraq in person (im guessing) but I would suggest you would agree the media coverage would encourage you to believe it exists.

Seriously though. These were only a few of my personal points. Im not trying to start WWIII about them. Just don't like your number one club. That simple...by the way ..how far does your list go down..do you have a 3-16 list of favouraites too? LOL

well, for the vics i have empathy for the saints and the demons...but yeah thas about it :)

SS Fury...
By highlighting someones response to your question displays a little lack of respect, plus selective editing which really shows that you are not a good debater on these forums.
You have had your thread answered 50 times over. Why keep on? True Freo' fans aren't Freagles.. and gladly so...

Perhaps you need to ask a sub forum to be created for hybrid fan types such as yourself ..;) THE FREAGLE BOARD

BTW - you've conveniently ignore this suggestion of mine each time IF YOU WERE SERIOUS AS ONE OF THESE ON THE FENCE TYPES, A FREAGLE:o, THEN START A THREAD ON YOUR WCE BOARD AND ASK THE SAME QUESTION AS TO WHY THEY HATE US> Otherwise your just a plain run of the mill Slime troll......

SS Fury...
By highlighting someones response to your question displays a little lack of respect, plus selective editing which really shows that you are not a good debater on these forums.
You have had your thread answered 50 times over. Why keep on? True Freo' fans aren't Freagles.. and gladly so...

Perhaps you need to ask a sub forum to be created for hybrid fan types such as yourself ..;) THE FREAGLE BOARD

BTW - you've conveniently ignore this suggestion of mine each time IF YOU WERE SERIOUS AS ONE OF THESE ON THE FENCE TYPES, A FREAGLE:o, THEN START A THREAD ON YOUR WCE BOARD AND ASK THE SAME QUESTION AS TO WHY THEY HATE US> Otherwise your just a plain run of the mill Slime troll......

blah blah blah....i have no time for your type, no matter what team you support. Wether you bleed blue and gold or purple, you will always be a d*c%head :thumbsu:

If you love West Coast then I'm happy for you and if Freo are your second team, that's o.k. too. But if you were called to Freo like the rest of us then you would realise there are no second teams, except maybe the Rabbitohs (South Sydney) because there similar to Freo.

Freo and Rabbitohs for me.

I dont mind WCE but couldnt support them when they first started up because I had a dislike of a lot of their supporters. 2nd team now for me, WA all the way.

I would rather see WCE win rather than any Vic side or the Crows.

I don't mind the Eagles team, great to watch & they seem like alright blokes! It's the supporters that make me hate WC, they're a bunch of condescending, arrogant, abusive, pathetic wa*kers!

I hate to generalise as I'm sure there are plenty of great WC supporters, it's just that probably 90% of the ones I know are terrible!
And vice versa is why i hate fremantle supporters.