Why Does Everyone Favour St Kilda Next Week?

Took the words right out of my mouth. Was just about to type exactly the same thing.

I still find it funny that St Kilda are $2.30 to win next week whereas Collingwood are $1.50.

The Saints had all the momentum, the lead with 5 minutes to go against a side that had kicked 2 goals in a half and still couldn't manage to win.
It's just not in their culture to win grand finals.

The Saints had all the momentum, the lead with 5 minutes to go against a side that had kicked 2 goals in a half and still couldn't manage to win.

Remind me how many Grand Finals Collingwood have lost again?

The Saints fired everything today, they gave it their all, whilst Collingwood midfielders played an average game. If we can recover well during the week, and if our midfielders give it their best, and we kick straight, I'm very confident that we can get over the line.

Mate Collingwood were near on 4 goals up............yet they are not Premiers! if I remember correctly this makes collingwood only winning 1 out of thier last 12 grand finals!
That is a culture of not winning grand finals!

Fired everything....

Next week i expect a better performance out of...

Riewoldt
Gram
Montagna
Dal Santo
Ray

You werent the only team that didnt have players firing on all cylinders

We are gunna be very desperate next week, because this is our last chance at a flag, cant see us even making finals for a while if we lose.

and it is in yours?

what happens when you put together 2 teams who cant win grand finals?

Fired everything....

Riewoldt
Gram
Montagna
Dal Santo
Ray

Next week, you'd hope we wouldn't be one player down on the bench either.

Fired everything....

Riewoldt
Gram
Montagna
Dal Santo
Ray

You want Farren Ray to do a better job than the job he did on Swan today? Tough marker, very tough.

I think the Pies still deserve to be favorites. In that last quarter the momentum and the game was going to the Saints. THat Goddard hanger had to be the defining image of the Saints 2010 premiership. I was really proud of how the Pies hit back in the last 5 minutes to salvage the draw.

We have a heap of improvement, but i don't think the Saints will allow us to improve too much. As it is the other way around.

I would love to see the return of Paul Medhurst for the replay in place of Leon. Surely Mick would do something about Fisher and Gwilt the next time we play. The Saints had the standout players of the game, and yet they did not win. Now they may do the exact same thing next week and if they do then they completely deserve their premiership. But I can see the better Pies players playing better next week, other than a brilliant second quarter, we had a pretty poor day, we were forced into wide inside 50s to huge packs. The Inside 50 stat was not reflective of the game because the Saints were allowing us to go to the spots we put it.

Strange. Saints are getting all the credit for the draw...the Pies were responsible for 50 percent of the entertainment we witnessed today, and I think they deserve a little more credit. 7 guys in the team with less than 50 games experience and yet they had the resolve to come again when all looked lost.

The two previous Grand Final draws make for interesting analysis.

In 1948, the minor-premier (Essendon) drew the Grand Final, but they kicked 7.27. and should have won the match. They were well beaten the next week in the replay.

In 1977, the minor-premier (Collingwood) drew the Grand Final, but they were 27 points up in the last term and should have won the match. They were well beaten the next week in the replay.

Both years the team that SHOULD have won the draw lost the replay. Presumably the mental affects, resulted in the "lucky" team in the draw walking on air in the replay.

If we use this as a guide, St.Kilda will be hard to stop. They will be feeling as if they have received a second chance, and Collingwood will be ruing not making the most of their dominance.

Saints will have the mental edge I reckon, Time will tell.

I actually said this to the guy I went with today as we walked down the Southern Stand steps. I said, "You know mate, I reckon St.Kilda has the momentum and will win next week:

Those were my exact words.

Some idiot Magpie fan then turned around and said, "What do you know mate, your team doesn't even have a coach, ya bloody d**khead" (I was wearing my Essendon cap)

I said, "woah mate settle down, I just said who I think will win, I wasn't having a go at anyone"

Then he responded with, "Yeah, you're an idiot mate. Your club still doesn't have a coach, ya idiot. Stop gobbin' off at Collingwood"

Pushing and shoving then ensued, all from his end, as I laughed the idiot off. He was one of those morons that was just looking for a fight. I didn't even provoke the guy. Moron. Glad he was shattered.

Remind me how many Grand Finals Collingwood have lost again?

i know this inst meaning much, and i don't really see the point in all this BS bickering, for **** sake we get 2 grand finals this year!!!!!!!

but for the record (mainly coz i hate people pulling last ditch, no weight crap outta their ass as comebacks)

excluding today.....

Premierships Won: 14
Grand Finals Lost: 25
Tied: 1
Total: 40

Winning Percentage: 35%

Premierships Won: 1
Grand Finals Lost: 5
Draws: 0

Total: 6
Winning Percentage: 16%

seriously neither team should be proud of this.....

Saints had a very average first half, and then in the second half beat the Pies by 4 goals without any ruckmen. They figured the Pies out in the second half, and the Pies were lost. Also, the only players that fired for the Saints were Lenny, BJ, Gwilt and Fisher. Everyone else played normal to substandard games by their individual standards. Saints just have more class, and Collingwood won't go in with that cockiness that helped them in the first ten minutes.

I'm calling a 5 goal win to the Saints, to play that second half minus one rotation and calling on Blake to ruck - can't see the pies really doing much.

Btw inspired move putting Farren on Swan. Thought it was the perfect match up and really cut down his influence in the second half. Same move next week would be brilliant.

What you get a cracking game where both teams give their all to win... it's not like it was a nil all draw. Both sides had a fair crack this afternoon.

Joke all you like, these two teams are so far in front of the rest of the competition.

The Pies are shot mentally. Maxwell sooking in interview with Tim, Goddard embracing the challenge ahead, Collingwood heads down walking off, Rooey and the boys huddling as one on a number of occasion, and St Kilda walking off with heads up - well, at least Riewoldt's was. Then you got Dane Swan coming out saying it's going to be tough for Collingwood to get themselves up again. On attituide alone, we've got the edge, but I guess it's all done to what happens on Saturday.

The collingwood midfield wasn't much good today, so you'd think they'd have more upside going into next week.

Davis must be dropped.

this. i think everyone was looking at the saints and asking who quells Didak, Thomas, Swan, Pendlebury, Ball & the next tier down in sidebottom, beams, blair & wellingham.
after today, the question is how does collingwood shut down Hayes, Dal Santo, Goddard, and what happens if Montagna decides to turn up, milne or kosi have a day out or just get dangerous enough to let Riewoldt break the game open.

The Pies are shot mentally. Maxwell sooking in interview with Tim, Goddard embracing the challenge ahead, Collingwood heads down walking off, Rooey and the boys huddling as one on a number of occasion, and St Kilda walking off with heads up - well, at least Riewoldt's was. Then you got Dane Swan coming out saying it's going to be tough for Collingwood to get themselves up again. On attituide alone, we've got the edge, but I guess it's all done to what happens on Saturday.

Completely different attitude at the dinner tonight. The pies were very confident in their ability to turn it around. We have responded everytime we have been challenged this year.

People read to much into initial reactions. I mean I can't remember what I was feeling when the siren went, and I'm sure for the players it's all a blur. The good thing for the pies was they went straight across to the westpac and had a nice ice bath before they went to the function (they ate dinner together and then left).

Don't be fooled by what you saw in that 5-10mins after the game, they have already regrouped and are very confident they will get the job done.

Pies are comfortable favourites with the bookies. This thread is clearly the wrong way round. Next week is really 50/50 in my eyes.