Worst top 10 draft selections

daniel macallister no 5 over all was on the list for 4 yrs then was dropped ten the was re drafted at no 40 odd again played a total of around 15 games

james davies there was so much pre draft hype on how essendon had targeted him & was off limits to other clubs on ly to ramain on the list for 4 yrs to only ever play a hand full of games

special mention to
mark bolton, how on earth he has gotten so many games
& arron hennoman:confused:

markm106 said:
Sampi at number 6 in 2001. I still think he can be a good player but hasn't really shown it yet. And Tim Walsh number 4 2002 although he has had injuries
Sampi hasn't lived up to expectations, but he's nowhere near the worst top 10 draft pick.

Look at some of the other names on these pages. Sampi's miles ahead of Luke Molan and Danny Roach.

ohhh dont know about goddard being the worst. Hasnt shown much of the goods yet, but is a very capable player. Perhaps a change of club could help, or if they could actually find a permenant position on the field for him.

Plenty of duds taken top 10 in the early years of the draft. Everyone remembers the Number One picks like Lounder and Hooper, but there were plenty more.

Caydn Beetham wasn't a dud - he was a reasonable, nuggety on-baller who walked away from the AFL.

To all the people who say Aaron Fiora, consider this. Fiora (pick 3) is still playing, but look what the Pies did that year:

They finished last and received a priority pick. (picks 1 and 3)
They used the first pick to draft Josh Fraser.
Micky Malthouse and Noel Judkins looked at 2 CHFs, Pavlich and Danny Roach and decided on the latter.
They traded pick 3 and Clinton King to Richmond for pick 7 and Steve McKee.
They used pick 7 to draft Danny Roach.

This is the biggest wipeout since they launched the full, unrestricted National Draft.

RIPPER_46 said:
From what I have seen Fiora is not a bad player. He is just unfortunately weighed down with the baggage of being a number 3 Pick.

I think we're well past that though, there's only so long you can use it as an excuse. He definitely needs to lift this year, shown plenty of glimpses but not consistency. Is in a pretty ideal position for him with a strong midfield that he can feed off, if he can't shine at the Saints then I worry about his future in the AFL.

Chewy said:
but look what the Pies did that year:

They finished last and received a priority pick. (picks 1 and 3)
They used the first pick to draft Josh Fraser.
Micky Malthouse and Noel Judkins looked at 2 CHFs, Pavlich and Danny Roach and decided on the latter.
They traded pick 3 and Clinton King to Richmond for pick 7 and Steve McKee.
They used pick 7 to draft Danny Roach.

This is the biggest wipeout since they launched the full, unrestricted National Draft.

Wow. Thats gotta hurt.

Paracetamol Merchant said:
Why the Goddard knockers?

He's playing better than Brennan and Wells atm.

Better than Wells?

Obviously haven't seen his last couple of games

Axcellence said:
St Kilda gave up #6 (Salopek) and #31 (Joel Perry) for him (Brooks). :eek: :eek:

so what you're saying is we're square ;)

Paracetamol Merchant said:
Why the Goddard knockers?

He's playing better than Brennan and Wells atm.

It's mostly St. Kilda supporters. They turn on their own. Deep down, they are not happy unless they are whinging how much their club sucks. And good players like Goddard will prevent them from going back to the foot of the ladder.:rolleyes:

Richmond- Pick 3, 1999: Aaron Fiora
Carlton- Pick 10, 2000: Trent Sporn
Kangaroos- Pick 6, 2000: Dylan Smith
West Coast- Pick 1, 1996: Michael S. Gardiner

to pick just 1 player would no do justice to so many others out there.

8 Luke Brennan Hawthorn North Ballarat Rebels 2002 NAT
9 Luke Molan Melbourne Geelong Falcons 2001 NAT
7 Laurence Angwin Adelaide Dandenong Stigrays 2000 NAT
6 Dylan Smith Kangaroos Sandringham Dragons 2000 NAT
4 Luke Livingston Carlton Bendigo Pioneers 2000 NAT
7 Danny Roach Collingwood Tassie U18 1999 NAT
10 Brandon Hill West Coast Peel Thunder 1998 NAT
6 Murray Vance Carlton Murray U18 1998 NAT
9 Mark Harwood Port Adelaide Tas U18 1996 NAT
8 Leigh Brockman Geelong Tas U18 1996 NAT
7 Bowen Lockwood Port Adelaide Geelong U18 1996 NAT
4 Mark Kinnear Sydney Calder U18 1996 NAT
5 Daniel McAllister Essendon TAS U18 1996 NAT
7 Ben Edwards Fremantle Claremont 1995 NAT
6 Daniel Healy Saint Kilda Central District 1995 NAT
3 Brendan Fewster West Coast West Perth 1995 NAT
4 Scott Bamford Fitzroy North Adelaide 1995 NAT
5 Brendan Krummel Hawthorn Fremantle 1995 NAT
9 Ben Wilson Collingwood Norwood 1994 NAT
8 Michael Frost Saint Kilda Western Bulldogs 1993 NAT
4 Glenn Gorman Sydney Geelong U18 1993 NAT
10 Brett Chalmers Collingwood Port Magpies 1992 NAT
8 Paul Symmons West Coast West Perth 1992 NAT
7 Wayne Hernaman Richmond South Fremantle 1992 NAT

Good qoute but what about Jarad McVeigh he is just not up to it for a person with such a high draft pick he is a *******. I go for Sydney and he can't play.

bibi01 said:
to pick just 1 player would no do justice to so many others out there.

8 Luke Brennan Hawthorn North Ballarat Rebels 2002 NAT
9 Luke Molan Melbourne Geelong Falcons 2001 NAT
7 Laurence Angwin Adelaide Dandenong Stigrays 2000 NAT
6 Dylan Smith Kangaroos Sandringham Dragons 2000 NAT
4 Luke Livingston Carlton Bendigo Pioneers 2000 NAT
7 Danny Roach Collingwood Tassie U18 1999 NAT
10 Brandon Hill West Coast Peel Thunder 1998 NAT
6 Murray Vance Carlton Murray U18 1998 NAT
9 Mark Harwood Port Adelaide Tas U18 1996 NAT
8 Leigh Brockman Geelong Tas U18 1996 NAT
7 Bowen Lockwood Port Adelaide Geelong U18 1996 NAT
4 Mark Kinnear Sydney Calder U18 1996 NAT
5 Daniel McAllister Essendon TAS U18 1996 NAT
7 Ben Edwards Fremantle Claremont 1995 NAT
6 Daniel Healy Saint Kilda Central District 1995 NAT
3 Brendan Fewster West Coast West Perth 1995 NAT
4 Scott Bamford Fitzroy North Adelaide 1995 NAT
5 Brendan Krummel Hawthorn Fremantle 1995 NAT
9 Ben Wilson Collingwood Norwood 1994 NAT
8 Michael Frost Saint Kilda Western Bulldogs 1993 NAT
4 Glenn Gorman Sydney Geelong U18 1993 NAT
10 Brett Chalmers Collingwood Port Magpies 1992 NAT
8 Paul Symmons West Coast West Perth 1992 NAT
7 Wayne Hernaman Richmond South Fremantle 1992 NAT

jimmy35 said:
What happened to Brett O'Farrell? I thought he was going to be some sort of player at Sydney but he didnt develop at all.

Kicked 9 for Old Haileybury on the weekend in A Grade Ammos. Saw him the other week smash a pack open leaving three Uni Blues players almost dead on the ground.

Collingwood mate and I compared trades a little while ago, here are some magpie errors from pre/mid/nat drafts

8 86 grant fielke 26 games
11 89 wrenstead 11 games from wc i think
8 93 ross napoli 0 games from essendon
9 94 ben wilson 2 games
9 ?? mark pitura o games from richmond
4 ?? jason taylor 4 games from hawthorn
7 ? danny roach 1 game
13 ?? cameron venables 3 games
10 2000 simon hawking 0 games
2 2001 chad rintoul 11 games from wc
4 2002 scott cummings 5 games

and the richmond beauties