noddy

/The Bays/Man U
Now that the Byron Pickett saga has died down a bit i thought i might put a somewhat hypothetical question to you people. :)

If at the end of this year ( & Port supporters don't jump down my throat ) Port Power put Pickett's name on the trading table what would be your thoughts on the idea of the AFC coming to the party ??.

I would be wrapt in having his al-round football ability available to the club but what state would his mind-set be in & would he be fully committed to playing good consistent footy for a third AFL ?

If our club did take that decision in making a trade for him then what would be a fair price to pay for him ??

As i said it is only a "what if" situation & i realize a very unlikely one.

My thoughts are = i wouldn't have a bloody clue.

noddy said:
Now that the Byron Pickett saga has died down a bit i thought i might put a somewhat hypothetical question to you people. :)

If at the end of this year ( & Port supporters don't jump down my throat ) Port Power put Pickett's name on the trading table what would be your thoughts on the idea of the AFC coming to the party ??.

I would be wrapt in having his al-round football ability available to the club but what state would his mind-set be in & would he be fully committed to playing good consistent footy for a third AFL ?

If our club did take that decision in making a trade for him then what would be a fair price to pay for him ??

I'd trade James Begley for him.

Wouldn't want a player I hate so damn much at the club. Yes, he's talanted, but I've hated him for so damn long.
Kane Cornes however, I would quite like at the Crows.

drakeyv2 said:
I'd trade James Begley for him.
:D

In answer to your question, I wouldn't want Byron at the Crows. Not because he is not a good player (quite the opposite) but we need youth and he will be 28 (???)nest year. In we are in other circumstances the answer woudl be yes and it would cost us 1st round pick and a bit more.

You would certainly have to look at it. He's a great player when he plays the ball. I personally wouldnt be all that thrilled to get him though. He's a bit of a trouble magnet IMO. Wouldnt be a great role model for the young guys either. I used to think Johncock should model himself on Pickett, they have similar attributes, hopefully Johncock has that element Pickett is missing though, a brain.

Eggzoi said:
Wouldn't want a player I hate so damn much at the club. Yes, he's talanted, but I've hated him for so damn long.
Kane Cornes however, I would quite like at the Crows.

Isn't it funny how different people like different players. I absolutely despise the Cornes bros & quite like Pickett.

Hmmm Pickett

positives:...he is a good player, Begley wouldn't fumble at training, Crows Tavern takings would skyrocket.

negatives:......his age is against him, Paps would be unreasonable in the trade...just because it is us, he has responsibility issues, I'm comfortable with pursuing a youth policy.

I'd say thanks but no thanks....unless the Paps wanted Smith.... :D

drakeyv2 said:
Isn't it funny how different people like different players. I absolutely despise the Cornes bros & quite like Pickett.
Kane I like, Chad is my most hated player in the AFL.

No trade for any player in that age bracket, at least until the Roo-aged folk retire and we potentially need an old wise head or 2 to mentor some of the kids.

You people that are saying the crows wouldn't trade for Byron are crazy. An explosive Pickett-type player is exactly what you are missing. He is capable of absolutley anything on a football field (we take the good with the bad instead of settling for 'backbone' mediocrity).

If the youth policy is your only argument - its a pity you didnt apply that to the Carey situation or this whole thread could be about "what should port give us for Wells?"

bringbackbucky said:
You people that are saying the crows wouldn't trade for Byron are crazy. An explosive Pickett-type player is exactly what you are missing. He is capable of absolutley anything on a football field (we take the good with the bad instead of settling for 'backbone' mediocrity).

If the youth policy is your only argument - its a pity you didnt apply that to the Carey situation or this whole thread could be about "what should port give us for Wells?"

I think we have a better one in the making with Johncock.

We have learned from the Carey trade, and surely wouldnt do it again.

Incidently the Crows recruiting policy these days is about recruiting quality people not just talented players, so I need say no more....

bringbackbucky said:

you contradict yourself.....para 1 says - you need an old wise head......para 2 slags the AFC for getting Carey......which is it ?????.... :rolleyes:

btw - the Carey experience is exactly why we wouldn't trade for Pickett

Crowked said:
Incidently the Crows recruiting policy these days is about recruiting quality people not just talented players, so I need say no more....

. Unfortunately quality on the sporting field and quality in real-life are almost never related so you can fill your side with quality 'backbone' people whilst we take on the misfits and turn them into Norm Smith Medallists..

Crowked said:
Yep, me too. Arrogant, full of them self tossers. As the Port people say about Burton, you should be allowed to belt them without fear of visiting the tribunal, Chad, particularly.

I was really hoping Jonothan Brown would snot Chadly in the GF but sadly he didn't. Can't stand the prick, or his old man . Don't mind Kane though.

noddy said:

IMHO NO WAY JOSE
He's too old , too heavy and he likes the drink too much
we should stick to youth

thats my 2 cents worth

Good player and a mathc winner when he has his head screwed on right but I would not like to trade for him

He would cost too much, he would be wasted in a rebuilding side he is getting on, has dodgy shoulders and I personally cant stand the bloke.

I know for a fact he showed no remorse towards Begley, privately blamed Begley for the incident and is not sorry for his actions. He is a liability on and off the field.

Possibly the most stupid suggestion I've ever heard. Why would we get rid of one of our best players, and a true Port boy. Of course the Crows would try and get him if they could, every club would. Trouble is giving something of equal or similar value. Just wouldn't happen, so don't get excited Crows supporters!

Wharfie35 said:
Possibly the most stupid suggestion I've ever heard. Why would we get rid of one of our best players, and a true Port boy. Of course the Crows would try and get him if they could, every club would. Trouble is giving something of equal or similar value. Just wouldn't happen, so don't get excited Crows supporters!

You really are a stupid, stupid person arnt you! :rolleyes:
Its a ********ing HYPOTHETICAL question try and keep up you stupid stupid boy.

captain ebert said:
how, or why, do you guys loathe chad, but at the same time respect kane?
I can see why. Chad has an obvious hatred for the Crows. Every showdown he pumps his fists to the crowd etc. and could be seen as a bit of a lair. Kane on the other hand is just a no frills and 100% fair player, not that Chad isn't fair. Plus he's so damn good.

Crowked said:
I think we have a better one in the making with Johncock

sorry mate, i think youre dreaming if you really think that johncock could be a "pickett" in the making & a better "pickett" at that.

i also thought johncock would step up when i first started seeing him a bit, but of late, i think he's just a fringe dweller.

but, i reckon mcgregor could be an enforcer of some sorts for you - he has impressed when ive seen him.

Blue Red and Gold said:
You really are a stupid, stupid person arnt you! :rolleyes:
Its a ********ing HYPOTHETICAL question try and keep up you stupid stupid boy.
Yeah I know its a hypothetical, but as far as I'm concerned a very unlikely one. Aren't I allowed to say its a "stupid" hypothetical situation.