Anyone thinking voting ALP in 10 years time when you are "bored" with the Coalition should read this

Dan26

Jan 23, 2000
Werribee
http://www.corybernardi.com/2012/05/priorities.html

It is with morbid fascination that most Australians watch the political death throes of Julia Gillard. The press gallery can smell blood as she lurches from one crisis to the next.

That governments and prime ministers will face challenges during their time in office is unquestioned. However, for any leader to demonstrate such consistently poor judgment as Julia Gillard has is almost unparalleled in our political history.

Gillard is the subject of mirth within the Australian electorate. But she is not the subject of the regular lampooning afforded to almost every politician; she has entered into a realm all of her own.

People no longer pay attention when she speaks. The most ardent political junkies hit the mute button at the mere threat of her droning and insincere words.

Even the most partisan Labor supporters find it difficult to justify how it came to be that their once great Party became captured by such a caricature of a leader.

The answer was suggested to me by a reformed Young Labor apparatchik. He put forward an interesting theory that Labor's woes are structural and caused by their two warring factions: the left and the right.

He posits that the Labor right have become a formidable campaign machine and run the modern day Labor Party.

They are very effective in political messaging, exploiting their opponents’ weaknesses and winning election campaigns; so much so that campaigning has become their only raison d’etre. Accordingly, the right have no real policy passion or agenda save the desire to get into power for power’s sake

The other side of Labor is the left faction which comprise political refugees from the socialist movement and the Fabian Society. They still believe in the failed social democratic experiment where government knows better than the individual, the family and the business owner.

The left have little, if any, practical understanding....................READ THE REST HERE

Re: Anyone thinking voting ALP in 10 years time when you are "bored" with the Coalition should read

True, but they said all this about the Coalition in 2008-9; out of touch blah blah.....warring factions......electorate has permenantly moved leftward...blah.....never ever ever win an election again unless they took up a position to the Left of the Greens.

Labor deserve to be booted out, but the Coalition will deserve to be booted out at some time in the future and the public will duly oblige.

Re: Anyone thinking voting ALP in 10 years time when you are "bored" with the Coalition should read

I read the reference to the former apparat is like one of those "some of my best friends are black" - if he is a good advertisement for the Liberal cause give me Craig Thompson and we can go out and have good time at the Main Course

He thinks that Labor have a "socialist agenda"

Possibly more dubious than other posters trying to rely on the AWU as a source of record.

In fairness to Bernardi, he was the bloke who outed Chrissy Pyne for saying that he would have joined the ALP if he lived in an ALP seat as his only reason for joining a major party was to one day become PM. Refused to back down from his claims and got sacked by Turnbull as a result. Got Turnbull back by voting for Abbott in the leadership spill which Abbott won by one vote.

:thumbsu:

Yeah screw it, the Liberals should just be in charge forever. May as well just scrap elections. One party systems always work.

Cory Bernardi, say no more.:rolleyes:

Yep, he's a real

900099-karmichael-hunt-moves-from-nrl-to-afl.jpg

Yeah screw it, the Liberals should just be in charge forever. May as well just scrap elections. One party systems always work.
Labor are a joke mate - massive identity crisis, talent from the wrong areas, arseholes like Howes and Arbib pulling the strings.

If you love Labor, you should be hoping they get torched at the next election - its the only chance you have of them starting from scratch and actually being the Party they're meant to be.

Personally, I don't want either Party to be weak, if both Parties were full of talent and had half a clue, we wouldn't worry so much when 'the other guys' got in.

But this current incarnation of the ALP is a sick joke.

Agree with much of your post. I'm just not going to vote for an Abbott-led Coalition as much as you won't vote for Gillard-led Labor.

Honestly, I can understand that - I think/hope Abbott wont be as bad as you think; but I sure as hell wouldn't bet my life on it.

I simply cannot imagine Tony Abbott as our Prime Minister, let alone a half decent one.

But it's extremely likely to occur, although I genuinely think he will be an abysmal failure. But I'm personally biased against him and have clouded judgement with him in particular.

Honestly, I can understand that - I think/hope Abbott wont be as bad as you think; but I sure as hell wouldn't bet my life on it.

Would you prefer Abbott to have control of only the HoR or the senate as well?

Frankly I'm more than happy for the ALP to get a right thumping in the lower house. They've got some talented people with good ideas but most of them get destroyed through focus groups, polling, etc and even the good ones that survive that are normally shelved at the first sign of trouble (henry tax review, initial ETS, any sort of pokies reform, etc). Not to mention the disgusting factional BS that goes on. At the same time I'd be horrified if Abbott controls both houses. Somehow I'm just hoping that enough opponents survive so that Abbott isn't able to just pass through any and all policy he likes.

I didn't want Howard having control of both Houses; I sure as hell don't want Abbott having it - provided the ALP follow the (presumable) indisputable mandate the Liberals get to get rid of the Carbon Tax. If they refuse to follow this mandate (like the Libs did with WorkChoices), then stuff them, I hope they get wiped out.

Labor are a joke mate - massive identity crisis, talent from the wrong areas, arseholes like Howes and Arbib pulling the strings.

Just a few years ago, almost identical things were being said about the Coalition.

Both views are correct.

We need to get a cousin of Mohamed Atta to fly an A380 full of avgas into Parliament House and start again on both sides.

Alternatively if any Colonels here are reading this, I'm free next month after the coup to sort things out.

We need to get a cousin of Mohamed Atta to fly an A380 full of avgas into Parliament House and start again on both sides.

Sadly the ALP's woes are located as much outside of Parliament as within.

You'd need to send a loaded plane into quite a few union headquarters.

In fact, I'd argue that would be more useful (insofar as cleaning up the ALP) than wiping out Caucus.

But that is for another thread.

:spade:

Sadly the ALP's woes are located as much outside of Parliament as within.

You'd need to send a loaded plane into quite a few union headquarters.

In fact, I'd argue that would be more useful (insofar as cleaning up the ALP) than wiping out Caucus.

But that is for another thread.

:spade:

Hang on FD, I do some part time work at 109 Pitt Street Sydney. Recognise the address?

Who's on the second floor?

Bring back the DLP ...oh that's right they haven't gone away

10 years is a lifetime - plenty of time for the ALP to reinvent itself.