Booing of Adam Goodes (revisited after our Apology Ceremony)

That would be different. If Goodes like any player does something dirty etc you can boo away for that incidence no worries.

This is not what the public are being told by the AFL and media. The inference now is that if you boo Goodes at all then you are a racist.

So called "tough guy". I only ever recall him sniping

Dermie did all sorts of things but one thing he was was truly tough. Always brave and wore plenty

And in this instance its his interpetation that counts. If I assume you come from a non racially oppressed group in our society then you are in no position to tell a racially oppressed group how they should feel about racial insults.

does my interpretation (and that of many others) that this is all mainly as a result of the people being tired of AFL and AFL media dictating how we support our football count as well ?

The best thing Adam Goodes could do would be to apologise for his Australia Day speech where he told us to remember who's land we are standing on...

Well is this not just as much my land as his ? Or is he more Australian than me?

If he apologised and stopped calling Australia Day Invasion day then we could get on with it.....

Australia day is a day for all of us including our Indigenous....all countries have been invaded......get over it.....300 years ago.....that was normal then.

Adam needs to apologise....

Its not bullying....its we are pissed off.....mad as hell....and we are sick to the teeth of being told what to think, say, how to behave and what is appropriate or not......no more !

Australia Day is invasion day for indigenous Australians, that is a reality. Of course we are uncomfortable with this, but just like old child abuse it is better to learn from our history and apologies for past harms that happened under our banner. I don't see why it is Indigenous Australians need to make us feel warm and comfortable. There is a call for Goodes to be responsible but it seems we don't need to be and mass bullying is somehow okay. It is our issue. It is in my lifetime that Aboriginals were consigned to the edge of town near the rubbish tip. It was in my lifetime in a country pub I witnessed NT landowners talking about shooting Aboriginals post-war without any justice. It was my club that had overt racism at its core that was called out by Nicky Winmar. Yes I do take responsibility to correct my own behaviour and ensure that I am not party to racism. I know of the consequences of my forced relinquishment of a child in the 70s. the apology was a wonderful healing moment. I can imagine the wound inflicted on Aboriginal families, including Goodes's mother. This is not healed overnight and long term consequences continue.

Buckley is a hero for calling us out.

No point. If you honestly believe that Goodes was trying to incite a race war, there is nothing of value to discuss with you.

I never said he was trying.... But he's certainly adding fuel whether intentional or not.

Australia Day is invasion day for indigenous Australians, that is a reality. Of course we are uncomfortable with this, but just like old child abuse it is better to learn from our history and apologies for past harms that happened under our banner. I don't see why it is Indigenous Australians need to make us feel warm and comfortable. There is a call for Goodes to be responsible but it seems we don't need to be and mass bullying is somehow okay. It is our issue. It is in my lifetime that Aboriginals were consigned to the edge of town near the rubbish tip. It was in my lifetime in a country pub I witnessed NT landowners talking about shooting Aboriginals post-war without any justice. It was my club that had overt racism at its core that was called out by Nicky Winmar. Yes I do take responsibility to correct my own behaviour and ensure that I am not party to racism. I know of the consequences of my forced relinquishment of a child in the 70s. the apology was a wonderful healing moment. I can imagine the wound inflicted on Aboriginal families, including Goodes's mother. This is not healed overnight and long term consequences continue.

Thank you

does my interpretation (and that of many others) that this is all mainly as a result of the people being tired of AFL and AFL media dictating how we support our football count as well ?
Again this is a bit of a generalisation. I am well against being told by the premier, Gill McG or the other boffins at the AFL how to think. But if a member of an oppressed minority tells me they find a term a racial slur I am not in a position to argue against it. Their feelings come from all the previous times such slurs may have been used against them. The effect is cumulative and not having gone through what they have I am not in a position to argue against what they feel

Apply that to the Goodes setting and I am fully prepared to believe he feels he is being racailly abused and thats plenty enough argument for the booing to stop.

Such sport
much goodes
very racists
w0w

I saw a dead dog on the road this morning.... Very sad.... Damn cars and their dogism!!! We should hold them all in contempt.

Great post.
At this point any booing is automatically assumed racist and that's unfair.
If he came out and said I understand a very large majority of you are not being racist however, it is really affecting me and I would like it to stop.
You'd have to be a moron to ignore that plea.
Pretty much this. The tarring of the whole footy public as racists by many people/organisations is counter productive and will just put people more off side. I personally find the name calling of the footy public offensive. I've never booed Goodes, but have numerous other players. It's got nothing to do with race.

In saying that given that the booing is affecting Goodes the reason and interpretation behind the booing needs to take a back seat to Goodes' welfare. Ultimately you could have a child like screaming match (labelling the public racist vs booing), but in the end someone needs to be the bigger person. It is for these 2 reasons I won't boo Goodes.

I posted in that mega thread but ill say the same thing here, bucks was booed, quite loudly for the last 5-6 times he played over here at subi. I remember it quite clearly. Didn't hear him pipe up about anything. I think this guy is a flog too be honest..couldn't retire sooner

Well done mate, this is a great post.

I will be completely honest and say up until recently I did not get it. I hated that I felt some people made me feel as though i was guilty for what had happened 200 years ago. I don't have a racist bone in my body I would say, I used to get called Wog at school, how could I be in any way racist I would say. These politically correct Lefty socialist do gooders can get stuffed I would say.

But then the penny dropped. I was actually feeling some guilt about what has happened. But now that I have acknowledge that, now that I recognise that I couldn't possibly know what its like to be in their shoes, now that I understand that its not actually about me and everyone else and how we feel I don't feel guilt. Adam Goodes and his people (and yes he is allowed to call Aborigines his people) have every right to feel how they did 200 years ago. And I reckon if it happened to my ancestors id find it pretty hard not to feel this way either. Its easy for everyone to sit back and say its time to move on but we simply don't know what its like to be in their shoes.

Now I will probably be called soft, and a do gooder and PC and High and Mighty but I assure you I am not.

I don't think those with my former view are racists , most of my friends share that view and I don't consider any of them to be racists. But I do believe that those with that view simply don't understand what its like to be in Goodes shoes.

Again this is a bit of a generalisation. I am well against being told by the premier, Gill McG or the other boffins at the AFL how to think. But if a member of an oppressed minority tells me they find a term a racial slur I am not in a position to argue against it. Their feelings come from all the previous times such slurs may have been used against them. The effect is cumulative and not having gone through what they have I am not in a position to argue against what they feel

Apply that to the Goodes setting and I am fully prepared to believe he feels he is being racailly abused and thats plenty enough argument for the booing to stop.

you dont need to bring the idea of a racial slur into the discussion. thats obvious.

but to label each and every booer racist, when so so many are simply standing up to the social manipulators who WANT to dictate how we see things, and the 'sunday breakfast at the cafe' crowd who believe they can solve all the worlds ills cos they are always right.

getting tired of the people who need to be seen to be saying the right thing for fear of being left out of their social circle.

sounds like religion to be honest.

"i believe in god cos my parents expect me to"

Well done mate, this is a great post.

I will be completely honest and say up until recently I did not get it. I hated that I felt some people made me feel as though i was guilty for what had happened 200 years ago. I don't have a racist bone in my body I would say, I used to get called Wog at school, how could I be in any way racist I would say. These politically correct Lefty socialist do gooders can get stuffed I would say.

But then the penny dropped. I was actually feeling some guilt about what has happened. But now that I have acknowledge that, now that I recognise that I couldn't possibly know what its like to be in their shoes, now that I understand that its not actually about me and everyone else and how we feel I don't feel guilt. Adam Goodes and his people (and yes he is allowed to call Aborigines his people) have every right to feel how they did 200 years ago. And I reckon if it happened to my ancestors id find it pretty hard not to feel this way either. Its easy for everyone to sit back and say its time to move on but we simply don't know what its like to be in their shoes.

Now I will probably be called soft, and a do gooder and PC and High and Mighty but I assure you I am not.

I don't think those with my former view are racists , most of my friends share that view and I don't consider any of them to be racists. But I do believe that those with that view simply don't understand what its like to be in Goodes shoes.

Oh but it did.... Your ancestors were sent here in ships not worthy of the rats that bred in the hulls.
They were shipped to another World for stealing loaves of bread and when they got here, they were tortured, forced into slave labour and were labelled as inferior.

How do you feel about the English? Me personally... NONE OF THE PEOPLE WHO DID THAT TO MY ANCESTORS ARE ALIVE!!! IT IS NOT THEIR FAULT!!! WHY SHOULD THEY BE PUNISHED FOR SOMETHING THEIR ANCESTORS DID?!

I have a mind of my own so I will join in the crowd and boo because everybody else is doing it and the majority is always on the side of right.

Reminds me of that monty python sketch. Yes, we are all individuals.

Can't believe people are still arguing the case. Its simple. Its racist. Stop it.

I have a mind of my own so I will join in the crowd and boo because everybody else is doing it and the majority is always on the side of right.

Reminds me of that monty python sketch. Yes, we are all individuals.

Can't believe people are still arguing the case. Its simple. Its racist. Stop it.

But this is where you're wrong Timmy.... It's not racist. Maybe for some dickheads.... but for the majority, it's got nothing to do with racism.
Stop being a f@#$% twat by telling us it does!!

you dont need to bring the idea of a racial slur into the discussion. thats obvious.

but to label each and every booer racist, when so so many are simply standing up to the social manipulators who WANT to dictate how we see things, and the 'sunday breakfast at the cafe' crowd who believe they can solve all the worlds ills cos they are always right.

getting tired of the people who need to be seen to be saying the right thing for fear of being left out of their social circle.

sounds like religion to be honest.

"i believe in god cos my parents expect me to"
I agree with you in that. I dont think the booing started as a racial thing and I dont think because people are booing now they are racist, although I am sure some are. Think the AFL and the Pollies and a lot of others have handled this really poorly.

But it has now been pushed into a racial context , for better or worse, so the booing has to stop.

Can always rely on Dallas Scott to provide some real perspective on a topic like this:

http://theblacksteamtrain.blogspot.com.au/2015/07/the-wayland-smithers-school-of.html?m=1
Once again this take on the matter is completely ignored while all of a sudden we're supposed to accept another black fella's interpretation of the booing.....

The interpretation that's changed dramatically in less than 12 months
"It hasn't been difficult," he told reporters on Wednesday when asked about the booing. "It's not something that I'm not used to.

"There's been many a time being booed at football grounds.

"Sometimes it's a mark of respect, that the opposition fans don't want you to play well, and every time you get the football.

"It doesn't bother me to be honest.

"It's one of those things where if I pay too much attention to what the crowd's doing, then I'm not really playing my role on the field.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-09-17/dont-lose-the-boos

Can't wait for Adam to wake up tomorrow and tell us a new interpretation of this and we'll have to abide by it, especially if the AFL, the entity that fined Demons for not tanking and AFLPA, the entity that has done nothing about players being used as pin cushions agree with Adam :thumbsu:

Once thing's for sure, Adam won't tells us this is due to him being viewed as a dog of a bloke for nigh on ten years.

I agree with you in that. I dont think the booing started as a racial thing and I dont think because people are booing now they are racist, although I am sure some are. Think the AFL and the Pollies and a lot of others have handled this really poorly.

But it has now been pushed into a racial context , for better or worse, so the booing has to stop.

I still don't understand that viewpoint.
If Anthony Mundine came out tomorrow and said that he didn't want any white person to wear black clothes because he viewed it as racist, then you are condoning the fact that we should adhere to that?

What makes Adam Goodes and Anthony Mundine so different?