We wont get Rich or Nat

Ziebell - Big body utility from Vic Country - excellent at the clearances and has very bloody good disposal - will be one of the best tacklers to come through the draft in recent years too.

Harltlett - small, high quality onballer from SA - wins his own ball, kicks goals and pushes to space well.

Deboar rich or hurley woul set freo up for a crack at the 2009 flag, provided that taz is up and running at full fitness

Rich will be the best mid from this draft in my opinion, the kid can kick a pin point pass over 60m. They dont come around too often. He also has great balance which makes him very hard to tackle. I pray he slides to our pick.

I acknowledge your point about his kicking...it is wonderful.:thumbsu:

But very, very one-sided.

Personally, I would prefer a player who can give 40m lace out passes from both sides.

And he does have great balance, however he will be up against a far more ferocious attack on the body at AFL level.

Does he possess the evasive ability to get himself out of trouble at AFL level....I think not

Any opinion on my post about his lack of pace dbt??

I would also say that his work ethic is flagging somewhat, and that he is starting to believe his own press that states him as a future star....a bit like Matsen actually.

This comes from a close relative who has a fair bit to do with Subiaco.

I'd be happy with either Hartlett or Ziebell.

Leaning more towards Ziebell currently, we could use a bigger body at the clearances.

Personally, I would prefer a player who can give 40m lace out passes from both sides.

And he does have great balance, however he will be up against a far more ferocious attack on the body at AFL level.

Does he possess the evasive ability to get himself out of trouble at AFL level....I think not

I would also say that his work ethic is flagging somewhat, and that he is starting to believe his own press that states him as a future star....a bit like Matsen actually.

Yeah I guess he doesnt have that gun speed but nor does Jimmy Bartell and he seems to be doing ok in the AFL. I dont think speed is as critical as people make out, the fact he can kick a ball with precision over 60m is what stands out.

Agree with his work ethic though, each time I have seen him play he looks a little bored. Who knows, perhaps he doesnt want to go too hard and get an injury right before draft day. This is his life work coming up.

About his evasive skills, I think he would be able to use it very well at AFL level. Just has very good balance and core strength, looks very hard to tackle.

In the end I think we have no chance of Rich slipping to us but I still think he will be the best from the up coming draft (Behind Watts who will be the next Buddy).

I dont think we can go wrong with our first pick this year...as long as its not DeBoer.

Ziebell - Big body utility from Vic Country - excellent at the clearances and has very bloody good disposal - will be one of the best tacklers to come through the draft in recent years too.

Harltlett - small, high quality onballer from SA - wins his own ball, kicks goals and pushes to space well.

Cheers mate.
They both sound good! Will definitely be an exciting time come AFL Draft Day.

I don't think you can be overly disappointed with any of them.

Excepting Watts who is probably headed to Melbourne, the others would all be good pick ups for us.

We need mids so any 1 of Rich, Hartlett and Ziebell would be excellent, although I'd personally prefer one of the latter two. Not sure about Rich - he might end up another Mundy sort, great kick but too one paced. Plus the others are better extractors.

As for Nat, that guy could be anything and on that basis alone you'd have to select him if he was available. Injuries happen to all, and if so, we've got a great spring-heeled ruck ready to fill in and play straight away. Personally I think he'll lose a little of his spring over the years as he bulks up further and will settle into a wingmen/forward who swings up and down the ground like a more mobile, more damaging Adam Goodes/Mathew Richardson sort. He'd be great defensively inside 50 too. He obviously needs work on his kicking and footy smarts but that will come in time.

The other one is Hurley. We need another backmen so McPharlin can play forward. Our forward line is so much better when McPharlap heads up there. But without him, our backline is too undersized and we can't afford to lose a player like Grover as what happened this year - we lost several close games while he was out.

Good post AA. I agree with you and Bushie in regards to Rich.

Agree also about Nat and Hurley (would certainly not be disappointed if we ended up with either of them.)

What we really need now pretty much lies with either Hartlett and Ziebell. Toss a coin, it's that close between them.

Pretty much spot on. Also he has that mature build that would probably see him more advanced than others at this stage. I think he'll be a very good player but I think we have some very good alternatives that could well turn out to be better in the long run.

Does that mean we can make a claim to the RS next year then, when Rich is tearing it up for another team, but Ziebell/Hartlett play a few good games for Freo ;)

Cmon You will get NicNat dont be silly People!

Melb will take Watts
WE at WCE will get Rich
Port will Take either Hartlett or Hurley They have enough Rucks.
and Freo will Get NIC NAT
Ess will get whoever port passes up.
Simple

Melb will take Watts
WE at WCE will get Rich
Simple

No we won't. Hartlett or Ziebell are the targets. Port may as well go for Hartlett because he's a SA bloke, in that case we'll probably go for Ziebell.

Melb will take Watts
WE at WCE will get Rich
Simple

I think Port are looking for quality rather than quantity. Lade is almost finished, Brogan is not far behind and DeLuca doesn't appear up to it at this stage. Unless they can get a ruckman in trade week they will more than likely be looking to draft one.

naturally we would prefer rich because he is homegrown, but history would suggest he won't be the only quality mid in this draft

if you have a look at the last few drafts, every couple of years there are 2/3 standout mids taken inside the top ten. judd/hodge/bartel in 01, cooney/mclean in 03, delidio/griffen in 04, gibbs/selwood in 06

rich, ziebell and hartlett are in this type of class

You forgot 07 - Cotchin/Palmer !!!

I'll be surprised if we over look Naitanui assuming he's available when we make ou first selection.

Agreed, if Naitanui is still available at 4 we'd be crazy not to take him.

Nick is suffering a bit from the fact he's been rated so highly for so long. Everyone has started focusing on his negatives, rather than all the positives that initially made everyone so excited.

I have to agree with Prattsta. Too many "experts" focusing on NN's negatives. This boy has mobs of positives and we would be mad not to grab him if we have the chance. The beauty of him is the athletecism, don't pigeon hole this kid as a ruckman, he could play anywhere and everywhere.

Based on that I'd say Ziebell will be the better player in the short term but Hartlett seems to have more tricks and more upside. The second video of Hartlett where he wins the footy with a much bigger opposition player flying at him and then kicks the goal was very impressive. :thumbsu:

Hartlett's disposal was better too.

Ziebell kicks fluently on both feet though and is strong overhead and reasonably quick for this size

Hartlett's disposal was better too.

Ziebell kicks fluently on both feet though and is strong overhead and reasonably quick for this size

Just from those 4 videos I would rather Ziebell but both looked like they would add something to the side. I hope we get a pure mid and not Nick Nat.

the game against tassie was ziebells worst of the champs. in the second vid, all of those highlights are from the last quarter where he basically won the match himself

the only minor downside is that he is bottom age, so he will be in highschool next year

the game against tassie was ziebells worst of the champs. in the second vid, all of those highlights are from the last quarter where he basically won the match himself

the only minor downside is that he is bottom age, so he will be in highschool next year
No problem.

We'll just put him in Wesley.

We all know how they turn out there. :thumbsu:

Agreed, if Naitanui is still available at 4 we'd be crazy not to take him.

Nick is suffering a bit from the fact he's been rated so highly for so long. Everyone has started focusing on his negatives, rather than all the positives that initially made everyone so excited.

Exactly, Im surprised more wasnt made of his stoppping effort on Callum Wilson.

The bloke had kicked 6 up until Naita went to him. Kept him to 1 goal in over a half of footy.

This after Notte, a player with plenty of talent, had been torn to shreds.

His closing speed and gadget arms would be ideal for a KP in the backline.

Exactly, Im surprised more wasnt made of his stoppping effort on Callum Wilson.

The bloke had kicked 6 up until Naita went to him. Kept him to 1 goal in over a half of footy.

This after Notte, a player with plenty of talent, had been torn to shreds.

His closing speed and gadget arms would be ideal for a KP in the backline.

Souths virtually stopped after half time, which is when Naita was moved onto Wilson. I'm not sure how well he would have done if he'd been there in the first half when the ball was coming in non-stop and to Wilson's advantage.

We wont get Rich or Nat