Dream Team and Supercoach questions

Not sure if this is the right place to stick this but its about how champion data calculate their ranking points which is used for dream team comps.

http://www.championdata.com.au/faq.html

How does Champion Data arrive at its individual player rankings?

The player rankings are calculated by computer. Each players statistics are given a positive or negative value. A more detailed description is available by clicking here.

http://www.championdata.com.au/files/rankings.pdf

How the AFL Player Rankings are calculated

The Player Rankings formula is based on the Official AFL Statistics, and is calculated by computer. The rankings formula is weighted in favour of effective use of the ball (loaded in favour of good kicking) and various types of possession gainers (loaded in favour of winning disputed ball). Evidence based on extensive research into winning and losing factors in AFL games (1,110 games in total from 1999 to 2003) by Champion Data and the Swinburne Univerisity School of Mathematics is unequivocal – effective kicking and winning disputed ball in critical situations is what counts most. Accordingly, the AFL Players Rankings are geared to reward these winning factors. The formula is scientifically derived and objective.

Rankings samples
An effective long kick has to travel more than 40 metres to a 50/50 contested or better for the team. The computer adds four rankings points for each effective long kick.

If the long kick goes to a teammate for an uncontested possession, research shows this is very valuable for the team and the computer adds five rankings points to the players tally.

Effective short kicks are less than 40 metres that result in uncontested possession to a teammate. The computer also adds four rankings points for these.

Clanger kicks are when the kick goes down the throat of the opposition and the computer deducts eight rankings points from the players tally because this hurts the team badly.

Ineffective kicks occur most often where players kick short to a contest and the computer ignores these by giving a zero rankings value.

A goal receives eight ranking points in addition to the four ranking points for the effective kick, and the points awarded for the possession type resulting in the kick and goal.

Another example of weighing in favour of game breaking statistic is contested marking. A contested mark results in four rankings points to the player.

A contested mark from an opposition kick is very important and the computer adds eight rankings points for these.

Publishing formula policy
The rankings value for each statistical category has been endorsed by the AFL and the Swinburne University School of Mathematics.

There are a total of 57 individual statistics categories where the computer attributes either a positive or negative value.

Several of these categories, such as ‘marks from opposition kicks’ ranking points, are derived from the computer linking a series of composite statistics.

Given the unique intellectual property contained in the rankings formula and the degree of underlying computer logic applied, Champion Data does not publish the full rankings formula.

hi guys, i just wanted your opinion on a few of your players for supercoach
do u think nathan krakour will be playing most weeks, sounds like he is playing really well of half back, but can he hold that position down?
and peter burgoyne, i just read he is moving to midfield, do u think hes worth a look in the backline if playing through the middle,because i already was tossing up betwen dal santo and s.burgoyne for a midfield possy.

We need a new stickied thread specifically for Nathan Krakouer questions. Nathan Krakouer is in our best 22 and will be a good fantasy pick in either competition. This is the last time I will say anything about him. As for Peter, he's a risk but judging by his last two games it could pay off handsomely and has been a good fantasy scorer in the past. To pick him or not to pick him is one of the questions you can't answer 100 percent until the season's over.

How is Shaun Burger moving? In his player thread there was news of hamstring tendonitis and something about him not 'reaching full potential' this year.

Is Salopek or Chad going to play the 'Hodge' down back? Do you reckon Salopek is shaping as a good pick this year. I like Port as the big improver so looking to load up on your blokes. The Burgers, Salopek, the Cornes' - whos looking sharp?

Re: Team for Round 1

Sorry, but hasn't Choco said Pete Burgoyne will be a permanent midfielder this year? Many of your team predictions have him on the interchange or as an emergency.

He has said that he wont be playing him across half back as much. He will most likely rotate between the middle, half forward flank and the bench. I would say that his time on the ground will be more closely managed now as he gets older to prevent injuries.

We rotate our midfielders off the interchange bench as do a lot of AFL clubs.

senior burger is best 22, will play in the middle, will rack up a ton of possessions, will probably do a hammy and be out for 1, 2 or 3 weeks, may get himself suspended for a week or two at somestage for some dumbnut incident, but overall should play 17+ games.

Slight relevance to Port supporters.

Without taking into account position and price. Who would you pick out of Tredrea and Hadley (Carlton) in terms of scoring and games? Opinion would be much appreciated.

Slight relevance to Port supporters.

Without taking into account position and price. Who would you pick out of Tredrea and Hadley (Carlton) in terms of scoring and games? Opinion would be much appreciated.

Tredders is all but guaranteed 22 games but could miss the odd game here and there with niggles - should improve on his 2008 DT average of 70 too, although all things considered I think he's $20-30k over the odds.

Hadley, well, for starters he'd be well back in the Carlton midfield queue wouldn't he? Is also rivalling Luke O'Sullivan and Ricky Nixon's years on an AFL list to games played ratio - and at $308k I personally wouldn't touch him with a 50-foot pole.

How about Danny Meyer, after his pre season form he seems a monty to play a fair few games this year. At the rookie price and with previous AFL experience he seems like a pretty good pickup.

He's on the Rookie List and looks to be second for the promotion behind Wade Thompson atm.

Will Lobbe play this year for Port??

I have nathan Krakaouer; just wondering on your views??

Very tough to know. Seeing as we've played no rucks after lade or brogan this pre-season i wouldn't expect to see either lobbe or giles early this year. Maybe one of them may get a game later on in the season, but it'll depend on SANFL form. You're guess is as good as mine. I wouldn't consider lobbe for DT.

Meyer has shown plenty so far but he's probably not in our top 25. Being on the rookie list and with wade thompson seeming to have choco's eye it may be hard for him to see AFL action before round 11. I wouldn't pick him in my initial DT squad.

I was aware he was on the rookie list, i thought that perhaps he'd get promoted and play off the HFF. Your midfield on paper looks very strong, i sort of forgot how good it is with the Cornes', Burgoyne's, Salopek, Boak and Cassisi :eek:

And the rest. Rodan. Pearce. Carr.

No excuse not to push for the eight with that arsenal of runners.

Haven't heard anything on Krakouer getting injured, hope he hasn't for both Port and my Dream Team's sake.

RoJo, Meyer will probably get games at some point this year, but at a rookie price he's a much better downgrade target for later in the year when a Rich or a Robinson stops going up in price to get you an extra 11k than as someone to pick for your initial squad.

G'day all, just wondering if Wade Thompson looks like getting elevated off the rookie list?

Also, will he get a run in the seniors on a regular basis?

Cheers.

IIRC Choco said in an interview that if AFL teams had 23 players he'd be picked Round 1. Take from that what you want. But he's a mature age recruit and small forwards usually don't take long to make an impact, so he would probably be a decent pick even if he doesn't play right from Round 1.

I'm wondering how the Burgoyne boys are shaping up for Round1. I've not heard anything regarding Shaun pre season. Is he fit and raring to go or have I missed something?

ROBBIE GRAY :thumbsu:

Hey y'all. i love watching this bloke. I thought he would have played more footy by now. Anyhoos, I reckon this will be his year, but there seems to be mixed opinion about whether he's best 22 :confused:. After his last 3 scratchies, surley he's a shoe in for round 1. And with your first 3 games (Bombers, WC and Dees) he should be able to cement his spot in the side. He has great skills, can kick goals and can also rotate through the midfield.

Am I mad, or is he a bargain at $274k?

I'm wondering how the Burgoyne boys are shaping up for Round1. I've not heard anything regarding Shaun pre season. Is he fit and raring to go or have I missed something?

Shaun has had an interrupted pre-season due to hamstring tendonitis, but he should still be a great super coach player (he's not suited to DT). Peter will rack them up and should maintain his price.

Is Mitchell Famer a good buy for a defensive spot on my team 160,000 is he worht it ???

Farmer's been unsighted most pre-season, so he wouldn't be a good pick as i doubt he'll get many games this year.

ROBBIE GRAY :thumbsu:

Hey y'all. i love watching this bloke. I thought he would have played more footy by now. Anyhoos, I reckon this will be his year, but there seems to be mixed opinion about whether he's best 22 :confused:. After his last 3 scratchies, surley he's a shoe in for round 1. And with your first 3 games (Bombers, WC and Dees) he should be able to cement his spot in the side. He has great skills, can kick goals and can also rotate through the midfield.

Am I mad, or is he a bargain at $274k?

You're not mad, he is a bargain :thumbsu:. When he's fit he's best 22 no doubt. The only issue with gray is that he's injury prone (like salopek). Hopefully he's over his injuries and can have a great year.