Past #31: David Hale - drafted at #7 in the Superdraft - 129 games for NM - traded to HFC in 2010

• Thread starter Thread starter Groucho

That's good news. I am convinced David wil blossom under the new coach.

ZIEBELL though.

We must secure ZIEBELL.

Ziebell wont go anywhere.

Absolutely smacks of a one-club player, and i think the club have realised they have snagged a "franchise" player.

i.e, already advertising stuff like

"How would you like to see your child run out onto the field alongside Drew Petrie, Adam Simpson and Jack Ziebell for one of the club's most exciting matches of the year?"

Would be close to the number 1 on the retention list at Arden st.

he grew up in Melbourne, went to boarding school at Caulfield Grammer.

Hale's fairly new to the role he's in, he'll improve as the season goes on.

From memory, Hale played pretty much all his junior footy as a forward, hopefully it doesn't feel too foreign for him...

He was average the 1st half of last year, 2nd half was great though... let's hope he can find some form again...
frankly I'd be happy he he kept his feet whilst contesting a mark!

Agreed. Can we still trade him even though he signed up and contracted? I wouldn't mind getting my hand on some of those GC draft picks! 1, 2 and 3 maybe?
yes thats the point of having him contracted. If he was uncontracted the GC can take him for nothing. No they will have to give some juicy draft picks.

spot on. great thinking by the club imo. If they want him it will be for a high price as opposed to some bs afl evaluation that you can use in the 3 yrs the gold coast has draft concessions anyway

UPDATE - I have now revised my prediction to 22 goals for the season. 1 goal/game from a full-forward is all you can ask IMO. Thank F**k we signed him up til 2013.
NMFC Football Dept = Astute.

UPDATE - I have now revised my prediction to 22 goals for the season. 1 goal/game from a full-forward is all you can ask IMO. Thank F**k we signed him up til 2013.
NMFC Football Dept = Astute.
C'mon mate. He is a Gold Coast bhoy and we might have lost him for nothing had we not signed him up for another few years. At least now we can trade him and get another Sam Power type to the club.:thumbsu:

One of my favourite players and my "will be a club legend" prediction. Whats gone wrong this year? He looked so out of it yesterday, again. We signed him to an extended deal and he has played crap most of this year. I'm losing faith. What's wrong?

What's wrong?

He's not good, and has never really been "good".

Leigh Brown kicked a bag against the Crows one round when the Crows were flying and a top 2 team, but we didn't reorientate our whole forward line around him for the rest of the year. I fail to see why we did so with Hale.

Hale goes to ground in pretty much every single marking contest, and is useless once he hits the turf.

The one time he held his feet yesterday, he marked it and goaled. If he continues to do that, then I will rescind my comments on him being a turkey, and will praise his name throughout BigFooty.

Until that day comes though, he's just not very good.

I thought he was finally turning the corner late last year after years of persistence. He has gone backwards this year. He and Petrie massive disappointments this year. You can't have 2 key players so bitterly out of form and expect to be competitive.

Great goal when he roved the pack after LT flew for the marking contest. He's obviously working on becoming a ground level player.

What's wrong?

* too often, crap delivery into the forward line. That includes slow (as in short, sideways, backwards, short) movement into the forward line, giving the opposition time to flood the forward 50
* too often, he leads to the boundary line ; usually fails to take the mark anyway, and unlikely to convert from there even if he does get it
* the umps have decided that he's so tall, the free for chopping arms in the marking contest shouldn't apply to him ; if Laidley makes an issue of this through the media, there would be instant dividends. (Other clubs do it, why shouldn't we?)

He's not good, and has never really been "good".

Leigh Brown kicked a bag against the Crows one round when the Crows were flying and a top 2 team, but we didn't reorientate our whole forward line around him for the rest of the year. I fail to see why we did so with Hale.

Hale goes to ground in pretty much every single marking contest, and is useless once he hits the turf.

The one time he held his feet yesterday, he marked it and goaled. If he continues to do that, then I will rescind my comments on him being a turkey, and will praise his name throughout BigFooty.

Until that day comes though, he's just not very good.

That day will come, but that's the problem- It's only ever going to be one or two days a year. I, like many, was given false hope after a couple of solid performances last year, but he will never be that good and is simply holding his spot because we have had no one in to replace him.

If Edwards continues to fire it may be curtains for big Hale, especially if Goldstein strings a few solid ruck performances together. I'd love to see Hamish rested up forward if we need a tall marking option, while Goldy takes over in the middle. Even Petrie is more damaging when he goes forward. Why we persist with Hale, particularly when he is out of form and we have 3 other talls/rucks in the side is beyond me.

As Chadwiko said, we didn't build our forward line around Browny after one big game, just as we didn't when Adam Lange or Evan Hewitt stepped up. Kent Kingsley was more of a genuine forward, but we got rid of him when he proved that he was not consistent enough. Hale should be heading in that same direction.

I'm a true-blue Roo and I love seeing our players dominate and develop, but Hale is one player that just shouldn't be there. As I've said before, please prove me wrong, but I just can't see it happening.

Big Men take time.

I hope it doesn't happen but I think he is the next Shannon W or Leigh B.

Big Men take time.

I hope it doesn't happen but I think he is the next Shannon W or Leigh B.
Big Men do take time. Apparently. So I've been told. It's just how big men are. One day it will click. It is a future thing. Just be patient. Like it will happen and you'll all see.:thumbsu:

Great goal when he roved the pack after LT flew for the marking contest. He's obviously working on becoming a ground level player.

We're playing him out of position.

We had a good laugh at the irony of it all. We weren't laughing 5 minutes later though!

What's wrong?

* too often, crap delivery into the forward line. That includes slow (as in short, sideways, backwards, short) movement into the forward line, giving the opposition time to flood the forward 50
* too often, he leads to the boundary line ; usually fails to take the mark anyway, and unlikely to convert from there even if he does get it
* the umps have decided that he's so tall, the free for chopping arms in the marking contest shouldn't apply to him ; if Laidley makes an issue of this through the media, there would be instant dividends. (Other clubs do it, why shouldn't we?)[/QUOTE]

We should definitely be saying something to the Gietsch on the quiet. Our tall forwards were getting mugged and we could not draw a free.

Apart from that, I agree with the noise rickety made.

What's wrong?

* the umps have decided that he's so tall, the free for chopping arms in the marking contest shouldn't apply to him ; if Laidley makes an issue of this through the media, there would be instant dividends. (Other clubs do it, why shouldn't we?)

I think that's the last thing we should do. Hale is already looking for protection from the umpires and playing up every little bit of contact he gets. If we make an issue of it then Hale will continue to be a sook and play for frees.

The bloke is a giant and he's had 8 years in the gym as a professional footballer, he should be able to deal with a bit of contact. If he stops complaining he'll take more marks and he'll probably start getting more free kicks as well.