Strategy The importance of our rucks this September

• Thread starter Thread starter witsend

It was most likely Banjanin, he's about 25yrs, 200cm and not sure where he came from.
If he looked Indian/Pakistani, that's him but if not, we may have found another likely type from somewhere.

That was him. Rookie or "Orren" him 2014?

True, but it's something we have to overcome one way or another.

I tend to think they will try and roll the dice and get Hamish back in time if they can.
I'm sure the MC would be over the moon if they could get sufficient game time into Hamish to make him a viable option. We all know how important Otto has been for us in the past in finals. Big ask though.

Our problems at the clearances is down to more than being beaten in the ruck. It would be nice if just once this year Bundy, Stevie J Kelly and Selwood could all be in the same team at the same time.

I agree, mb.

And I'd throw the Hyphen into that clearance mix as well.

Losing clearances at the centre bounce has as much to do with our midfielder's than just the ruck man. Most of the time the ruck man isn't able to control the hit out anyway due to pressure from the opposition ruck man and the way the ball falls. Watching our midfielder's stand there flat footed while opposition midfielder's run onto the ball is very annoying.

We could do with Ottens right now.

Hell, we could even do with a Mark Blake at the moment (at least we often won hitouts) (can't believe I just wrote that).

Rucks are only one part of midfield clearance work and the total obsession with this aspect of the game on this forum just makes me laugh. You don't have to win hit outs to win the game. You don't even have to win clearances to win a game. This has been shown again and again. I think people on this forum need to take a chill pill and stop this obsession over our rucks. Even if they don't win hit outs in the final stats they have other qualities that make them important to our structure.

You don't even need to win the goal tally to win the game. But they all bloody well help.

Well...hate to be a fly in the oitment.....but I have my doubts you can win a Premiership wihtout a genuine No. 1 ruckman. Simspon surprised me with his impact...but his injury set us back a fair way I reckon. Vardy is a fine prospect but not ready yet and Westy is our only hope...In finals big strong tap ruckmen make a difference. Sydney seem the best equipped....

It pains me to say it, but it would buck the trend if we won the Cup this year.

Point is an effective ruckman can be a big help in getting in front on the scoreboard ;)
It can help, but having a cracking midfield and some kick ass forwards is much more effective than just having one good ruckman. Jesus the stupidity in this forum is just getting beyond anything I've ever seen before. :rolleyes:

We ain't got those either!

Sorry mate but we are second on the ladder for a reason.

We have quality in many areas over the field, including midfield and down forward.

Let's see where we sit after this week, but a win would prove that. Right now, we do not seem to be a GF team, let alone a Premiership team. Our midfield is without doubt inferior to most of our rivals in the 8, and many outside the 8

crap!
I really disagree with your opinion on our footy club but have learnt to accept opinions in time but that kind of talk is annoying.
You probably weren't saying such things early in the year and despite what a few are saying...West Coast are no chance tomorrow, they are slow, one dimensional and lack scoring power to trouble the top 4 or 5 sides in the league.

crap!
I really disagree with your opinion on our footy club but have learnt to accept opinions in time but that kind of talk is annoying.
You probably weren't saying such things early in the year and despite what a few are saying...West Coast are no chance tomorrow, they are slow, one dimensional and lack scoring power to trouble the top 4 or 5 sides in the league.

I think we'll beat WC, but I still don't rate our midfield like you do, and midfield INCLUDES rucks.
A blanket statement about my opinion of our footy club because of that midfield assessment is an overreaction by you, but that is your style.

I think we'll beat WC, but I still don't rate our midfield like you do, and midfield INCLUDES rucks.
A blanket statement about my opinion of our footy club because of that midfield assessment is an overreaction by you, but that is your style.

nope, just tiresome listening to you talk up one team based on their current form and then move onto another once you realize they aren't what you thought they were.

Geelong's midfield is still one of the very best in the competition, they are ranked no.1 in efficiency out of the middle and that's without a quality ruck and there is still no better team in the game for quick scoring bursts which Geelong can produce in damaging fashion.
No Ablett, Bartel, Lingy but you would have to be a silly to underestimate this current midfield.

nope, just tiresome listening to you talk up one team based on their current form and then move onto another once you realize they aren't what you thought they were.

Geelong's midfield is still one of the very best in the competition, they are ranked no.1 in efficiency out of the middle and that's without a quality ruck and there is still no better team in the game for quick scoring bursts which Geelong can produce in damaging fashion.
No Ablett, Bartel, Lingy but you would have to be a silly to underestimate this current midfield.

I will never criticise individual players in our team, but I am prepared to accept the current reality of our collective team, and it is not what it was early this year.

It's still a problem, and we are getting smacked in the ruck although Vardy and Blitz are doing good stuff around the ground.

If we had a proper first ruckman I'd feel much more confident about us winning the flag.

But it is what it is due to injuries, and we have to make the best of it that we can.

The Freo game will be a real test though, if I'm their coaches I try and turn the game into a stoppage fest in order to try and take advantage of the dominance they will have in the ruck. Hopefully we can counter it.

It's still a problem, and we are getting smacked in the ruck although Vardy and Blitz are doing good stuff around the ground.

If we had a proper first ruckman I'd feel much more confident about us winning the flag.

But it is what it is due to injuries, and we have to make the best of it that we can.

The Freo game will be a real test though, if I'm their coaches I try and turn the game into a stoppage fest in order to try and take advantage of the dominance they will have in the ruck. Hopefully we can counter it.

Sydney had a massive advantage in the ruck and Geelong countered it very effectively.
Hopefully we can do the same against Dockers.

Sydney had a massive advantage in the ruck and Geelong countered it very effectively.
Hopefully we can do the same against Dockers.

Be a massive test against two very good rucks at Freo. Whether we can setup to counter strike against a very good clearance team will be interesting...but we are going to have to.

Still have faith in the ability of Vardy and Blicavs around the ground to at least provide value to our finals campaign.

Vardy is going to put in a big performance soon and it will take a few by surprise