AFL @ Adelaide's Oval - That time is now.

• Thread starter Thread starter Dirty Bird

I love the idea of music at the ground. But here is how I see it working;
At the Southern plaza and by the Victor Richardson gates pre-match there are live local bands playing. This gives the bands exposure, costs nothing and adds a buzz as you enter there ground.
Within the ground I'd happily have a band playing at half time, as long as the kids still get to run around on the oval and play. It can only add to the atmosphere. If you don't want the music then pay it no attention, go to the toilet, get a beer etc...
It's all just a bit of fun anyway!

I don't think it needs to detract from the game, I see it more as giving a reason to get there early and stay after. I'd definitely come early to have a few beers and listen to some good music and then stay on for some more after the game (especially if we win) possibly as a start to a night out in town.

If they made the drink prices reasonable, I'd definitely hang around for some music after a game. With the bars they'll have there, they could keep it open late and AO could be the place you kick on at instead of just the opening to a night out.

Agree with what you are saying but the honeymoon will only last so long. We will have to get people coming back to the footy because they enjoy watching footy and actually supporting the club.

IIRC - the honeymoon period lasted about 12 to 24 months for the 36ers when they moved from the Apollo Stadium to the Powerhouse before people stopped going and the club had to market basketball again.
i'd disagree with that. i reckon the honeymoon lasted 10 years

albeit, the sixers were very successful at the time

They're looking alright so far this season too. I can't remember the last time both the 36'ers and the Redbacks both won on the same weekend. :eek:

Adelaide United on the other hand...the less said the better.

also shouldn't forget the impact the NBA had on the NBL in the 90's too. NBA was massive in australia, and that translated to big crowds in the NBL

Be

Becuase i want to. What is your excuse.

Simples, I actually barrack for an AFL team. "Because I want to" seems like a weak excuse. I was generally curious though, I'm not trying to be an ass. It just seems strange that someone with no legions to an AFL club would post on a forum predominately for AFL club fans.

i would not be too upset if they had a concert after the game, i would prob then be able to drag a couple mates to the footy. But not the bloody Sydney game, a mate has decided to get married that game so i am already not impressed. If they do have a concert it had better be someone crap. If it is someone good, i am going to be mighty peed!! stupid wedding

True and very hard to argue against but it would be interesting to see the membership and crowd figures for the 1996 season; the season before Phil Smyth took over.

Oh shit, that's some very interesting reading.

It didn't feel like that at the time.

my recollection is that 7-8k crowds at the powerhouse weren't uncommon back then. they tapered off when phil smyth went and the sixers subsequently turned to shit

To be fair, the entire NBL turned to shit.

They refused to penalise Sydney for paying double the salary cap for so long that everyone else got bored of their tainted wins all the time, and the Kings went broke. Poorly managed league.

Each to their own I guess. I'd like to see the Adelaide Symphony orchestra out there in the middle with the chorus from State Opera giving us the Easter Hymn from Cavalleria Rusticana. ;)
Triumphal March from Aida, with Adelaide Zoo elephants?
1812 Overture with cannons on the Parade Ground?

This is my first post in this thread, to my surprise.

Tomorrow is the first real home game for the Redbacks. Given I am currently (1) in possession of a member's pass and (2) unemployed, I will be visiting the ground to cheer on the mighty Redbacks for much of the day.

If the ground is as far along as I think, I will walk around and take photos and give you all, my adoring fans, an idea of what it looks like. I will then using my vast knowledge of superior stadium design*, tell you what I think about the facilities.

*I've just been to Metlife Stadium in NJ (opened April 2010, capacity 82K) and the Barclays Centre in NY (opened September 2012, capacity ~ 18,000), so they're both brand spanking new relatively, I'll judge them against that.

Goodluck going down tomorrow, I have never been to a Sheffield Shield game before but I am tempted to mosey on down Friday after work to take a peek. Assuming the redbacks haven't collapsed and the game is over all ready!!

Highest Sheffield Shield crowd in Adelaide for 50 years? :p
back when shield cricket was on channel 9, they used to do dollar days. went to a few of them. they had a few thousand on occasion