List Mgmt. 2016 Free Agency/Trades/Draft thread Part 2

Lyons deserves the money, if we've offered him 175k per annum then that's pathetic and we don't deserve to retain him.
It would also mean someone big is coming here.
Does it though?

Surely someone said we weren't chasing Rockliff?

That logic is just plain wrong, different clubs and different recruiters ratings are often miles apart....by your logic Rory Sloane was the 44th best player in the 2008 draft when he'd be in strong contention to be the absolute best depending on who was doing the rating.
Ok, we will be getting the 35th player picked

I wouldn't be super upset if we had to include someone like Otten in the deal to get it done.

Behind Otto in defense right now is Doedee, Keath and Ramsay and Shaw. It's probably up forward where his depth is a bit more valuable. But I agree, if he's cashed in to bring in a top 5-10 type, then I'm all for it.

Hold your proverbials everyone...

If North, with a midfield of Zielbell, Cunnington and Swallow - all very good footballers, all very slow footballers - targeted Lyons - a handy but very slow midfielder - they're even bigger nufties than I originally thought. I already think they're total nufties.

Considering we're in the middle of a finals series, I dare say nothing has been set in stone.

I'm skeptical to say the least.

Hold your proverbials everyone...

If North, with a midfield of Zielbell, Cunnington and Swallow - all very good footballers, all very slow footballers - targeted Lyons - a handy but very slow midfielder - they're even bigger nufties than I originally thought. I already think they're total nufties.

Considering we're in the middle of a finals series, I dare say nothing has been set in stone.

I'm skeptical to say the least.
You would think theyd be having to bring in a lot of pace, too... or at least giving Anderson more opportunity

AFL player ratings has rockliff rated as the 89th best player in the competition. there are about 720 AFL players so that puts rockliff in the 87th percentile, the draft equivalent is about pick 9. I think if the lions are pushing him out his value drops so our first pick as a straight swap should be fair.

AFL player ratings rates attacking above defending, rockliff is an attacking midfielder so there are probably a few defenders who should be rated above him so the 89 rating is probably too high.

Lyons has agreed a 4yr 400k pa deal to north.
Crows apparently happy to trade him.

Great deal for him.

Great deal for him and a great deal for North. that contract will be considered a bargain in 24 months time.

Good deal for Lyons, good on him.

Hoping for 11 and 29 for Lyons and 15 now
I doubt it would be that tbh. Pick 15 instead of pick 11 at the start of our rebuild wouldn't be in our club's best interest. Even though Lyons is worth more than 29, we aren't losing the opportunity to pick up a good player at 11.

AFL player ratings has rockliff rated as the 89th best player in the competition. there are about 720 AFL players so that puts rockliff in the 87th percentile, the draft equivalent is about pick 9. I think if the lions are pushing him out his value drops so our first pick as a straight swap should be fair.

AFL player ratings rates attacking above defending, rockliff is an attacking midfielder so there are probably a few defenders who should be rated above him so the 89 rating is probably too high.
Using player ratings stats to determine trade value? Am sure that's the first thing that comes up in the meetings...

The fact that Brissie want to trade Rockliff this year because he's a monty to leave as a free agent next year for nix, lowers his value considerably. There is a whiff of a rumour that we've already got him stitched up for that move well in advance a la Betts. Therefore the chance of us giving up a 1st and 2nd round pick (assuming we even have a 2nd round pick) for a 27 yr old we'll probs get for free anyway, I'd say are about the same as Lingy's modelling career taking off.

Great deal for Lyons however I would have thought they would have targeted more of an outside mid and leg speed
That's what I thought they would do. They already have stacks of inside mids. Wells is leaving and Anderson is injury prone

Strategy 1
If we'd said to JL, "mate, we love you, we love your dedication and your commitment to our club. You've worked incredibly hard to earn your spot and we know it hasn't always been easy and your patience and perseverance has been outstanding. That said mate, Tom Rockliff has agreed to come here and we see him equal to Sloaney and Braddles in our engine room. They want our first rounder and they want you. As you know, we've been carrying an extra insider for a number of weeks, but we won't be structuring up that way next year. In terms of first choice 22, this puts you head to head with Dougie, who's contracted for 2 more, plus Knighta is in that mix too. We know you've got a lot of good footy ahead of you and deserve to be playing at the highest level. But with our mix for the next few years and the structure we're going with, our club is probably not the best place for you. Obviously it's not our story to tell mate, but we understand Brissy will be offering 3 plus a trigger on pretty good coin. This is never easy mate, as I said we love what you do, but have a think about this, discuss with those you need to, it's a huge decision and don't hesitate mate, my door is always open."

Strategy 2
"Hello JL's manager, here's an (insulting) offer that we think provides fair value to all parties going forward and recognises where we see Jarryd's football and what he brings to the side. If Jarryd decides a trade is in his best interests, we might be able to help him with that. We've had some interest which might benefit his football."

Strategy 1 has a shot at getting the deal done in a win:win:win with Brisbane. Strategy 2 has no shot and will result in Lyons considering only himself, rightly so, and selecting only one club for us to trade with. Full value is rarely achieved under those circumstances. Especially if it's a bunch of pricks like Essendon or GoldcCoast with their recent militant stance on player loss.

Criminal how underrated Lyons is amongst his own fanbase.

Calling it - if the club offloads him and he's given significant minutes in the middle at his new club then he'll prove himself to be an exceptional AFL footballer.

If we push this bloke out and then commit to Thompson for another year then it may just be the straw that breaks the camels back.

Calling it - if the club offloads him and he's given significant minutes in the middle at his new club then he'll prove himself to be an exceptional AFL footballer.

If we push this bloke out and then commit to Thompson for another year then it may just be the straw that breaks the camels back.

Couldn't agree more and we all know that this is what is going to happen.

Maric was good but he played under your system and went backwards.
Kinghts was hit cruelly by injuries, no ones fault.
Knights also left as a Free Agent. Adelaide didn't even get a compensation pick.

Not sure why he's included in a list of traded players.

Ok, we will be getting the 35th player picked
EC, clubs with an academy / father son coming using their early picks on these players from the draft before we have our selection is actually a good thing. If they are being forced to use a higher pick on a player we never had a chance to get ... that actually increases our options.

We want our pick to get pushed as far down as possible.

Here here.

Can't see how people still only see him as 'home brand vanilla' happily selling him off for not much in return.

Consistent ball winning, clearances, tackles, marks, metres gained, goals…what more do we want?!?!