List Mgmt. 2016 NAB AFL Trade Period

• Thread starter Thread starter Jeremias

Now I might be about to be howled down here but it hasn't stopped me before. I think we should pick up Barlow from freo in the preseason draft if he's available. Howl away!

Guru Out!

I've been keen on the idea for a while now. Bring Barlow in, drop Whiley, we get better output for the next 3 years or so and creates another buffer for a young guys to have to break through to earn their senior spot.

Trade Review by Me.

Being a professional trade reviewer *cough*cough* I thought I would review the blues trade period.

9 days of SFA.

5 minutes of action (after the full-time whistle).

In all seriousness, we went into this year with very little in tradeable goods. Very few on our list would
command much on the market so it was going to be hard work getting decent picks in. Did well in getting a first in the Tuohy trade,
though I feel for Geelong a bit in this. Getting Tuohy in has obviously forced the cats hand at getting Bartel to pull the pin
for salary cap purposes. Sad in a way, as he was one of my favourite non-CFC players. Well played Jimmy.

The Geebung polo clubs first thus allowed the GWS trade to happen without doing any damage to our draft position. Bullish
of Marchbank who I think is going to be elite. Pickett, Palmer & Smedts i'm more meh, but who knows right? Good luck to them
and give depth. Smedts might be something if he gets himself right and gets midfield minutes. Something he wouldve never have gotten
at GFC.
Happy Bryce stayed. Wouldve been happy for Bryce to be traded as it would've been an opportunity to smash a draft with multi picks. Of course
the conservative Adelaide chip on the shoulder couldn't be removed, so they couldn't get it done. Win/Win.
Good thing is Bryce will probably still get us AFC first rounder next year when we hopefully have a bit more midfield cover which gets us
into next years draft.
All in all, pretty satisfied.

Got to give it to SOS for this trade period.
Whilst most others walked in with clear objectives, Silvagni had to juggle a potential time-bomb in his hands with the whole Gibbs issue coming into play at very late notice and then only to have that situation hijacked by the poor form of the Adelaide List Manager.
He held his nerve throughout that scenario, along with holding his nerve with GWS pulling a fast switch of agreement on the Marchbank trade at late notice.

That may all sound easy enough from here but it's not an easy game to play when seemingly everything seems to have been turned against you after all the work you did. We could have folded with Gibbs only to appease GWS......but we didn't.

I don't think we lost on any of the moves we took and as much as we may not have liked some of the grabs, they still could come in more than handy.
a. Wouldn't be surprised for Palmer to play 20 games for the year. Not an A-Grade mid but could play a very handy back-up role.
b. Smedts is a goal-kicker and could easily replace Everitt after he gets delisted.

We can never have covered all the holes this year but we may just have put several more pieces of the puzzle together with Marchbank, Pickett and all being well, picks #5 & #25.

SOS was made to work for his money and he did it admirably.

how much pressure was the bloke working under - put my job on the national stage and I reckon I'd end up hiding in a cupboard.........

Exactly. I didn't truly appreciate things until giving it some thought today.

We sit here just calling out, "Do something" without any understanding of what may be going on at the coalface.
After ep tabled out what was happening it completely changed my view of how much pressure SOS must have been under....and he came through.

Much appreciated.

Got to give it to SOS for this trade period.
Whilst most others walked in with clear objectives, Silvagni had to juggle a potential time-bomb in his hands with the whole Gibbs issue coming into play at very late notice and then only to have that situation hijacked by the poor form of the Adelaide List Manager.
He held his nerve throughout that scenario, along with holding his nerve with GWS pulling a fast switch of agreement on the Marchbank trade at late notice.

That may all sound easy enough from here but it's not an easy game to play when seemingly everything seems to have been turned against you after all the work you did. We could have folded with Gibbs only to appease GWS......but we didn't.

I don't think we lost on any of the moves we took and as much as we may not have liked some of the grabs, they still could come in more than handy.
a. Wouldn't be surprised for Palmer to play 20 games for the year. Not an A-Grade mid but could play a very handy back-up role.
b. Smedts is a goal-kicker and could easily replace Everitt after he gets delisted.

We can never have covered all the holes this year but we may just have put several more pieces of the puzzle together with Marchbank, Pickett and all being well, picks #5 & #25.

SOS was made to work for his money and he did it admirably.

Yep, this year more impressive IMO than his performance last year. Went in with minimal cards to play and then copped the shenanigans with Reid and GWS, walked out with our targets secured, key assets in place and a firm message to the rest of the comp. Brilliant stuff.

Bank a favour to cash in with Hawthorn (and maybe GC) down the track
This is exactly the reason why. During the footy season we're all opposition, but in the trade period there's little lost and plenty gained by doing things like SOS did for us. You can pretty much guarantee that if you guys find yourselves stuck in a similar situation in the not too distant future that Wrighty will be happy to return the favour. Though perhaps we're already even given it could've just been a "thanks for Bolton" thing ;) Either way, thanks for helping us land O'Meara - and more importantly not allowing the scum to benefit any more than they already have from their 12 month ban.

I give us a bright and shiny A.

Yeah, after all the dust has settled and time to absorb all the trades I went from thinking a B to B+ last night to finally thinking it is a well deserved A today.
The only real question I had overnight was working out the Hawk trade. But turns out the media were pretty ordinary on reporting the reality that the second round pick of 2017 sent to Hawks was actually not ours that was more value than GWS. It indeed was the one GWS had originally.
Given you got to expect Giants premiers next season I fully expect that Gaints last pick of round two in 2017 will end up something like pick 40 of 2017 draft.
SOS has basically helped Hawks get O'Meara to them, gave a sneaky wink to his Essendon mate of dashing his hopes of getting O'Meara in pre-season draft and all at same time Hawks gave us three picks to use in this years draft that would have seen us missing having a pick in round 3 after Marchbank trade but now we got picks 48, 66 and 70 added to use next month. Only costing us a pick around 40 for next season.

Overall the A is for the posture held during the period, barely talking to media and just getting on with his job at hand, making a clear statement of value of long term contracts and then getting our main young targets of Marchbank and Pickett for only really giving up Tuohy and next years 2nd round pick that probably a pick in late 20s and close enough to 30.

Long term the value of Marchbank and Pickett should hold up as great investment for very little cost.
The rest of trade period stuff of Smedts and Palmer is just loose change. If Smedts reaches his potential after some injury riddled years it will be an extra bonus.

Very happy with how trade period transpired for us. It took a long while for things to heat up but once it did...

Our objective throughout the period was very clear - to bring more talent into the club without sacrificing our overall draft position.

I feel we've done that nicely with both Marchbank and Pickett - aged 19 and 20 respectively - coming in whilst maintaining a presence in each round of the upcoming national draft.

Tuohy was the sacrificial lamb this year. It's a shame to see him go and in isolation we probably lost out on that deal but it was the move that had to be made to enable the others to fall into place so I'm content with it.

Smedts has talent but a horror injury run has robbed him of continuity throughout his career. Has spent time all over the park but hasn't yet nailed a position which is a concern at his age - down back he hasn't looked at all comfortable so you'd think forward of centre is more his go. Doesn't find a lot of the ball but generally uses it well when he does. Not sure he can turn things around but with a good run at it and a fresh start at a new club you just never know.

Pickett has talent to burn and is a real attacking weapon. Like many juniors needs to find a greater balance between attack and defense but that will come with greater experience. Doesn't get a lot of the ball but looks to have been developing that side to his game before injury. When he does get it though good things tend to happen - skills are terrific, has great pace and impacts the scoreboard. Missed most of 2016 with a serious foot injury which is a concern but the club will be confident he can get back to full fitness and licking their lips when he does.

Marchbank projects as the best of the lot and could round our defense out magnificently. Tall defender probably best suited to playing on the opposition's tallest forward but hasn't yet had the size to do it effectively at AFL level. That will obviously change in time after a few more years in an AFL environment where he can really fill out and build his strength. Reads the play brilliantly and for a tall defender finds plenty of the ball and provides excellent rebound. I can't wait to see him play alongside Weitering, Plowman, Docherty & Byrne.

Palmer some may not like but the reality is we paid an absolute pittance for someone who will almost certainly be a part of our best 22 next year. He was contracted at GWS for another year but clearly had no future there - so the decision to absorb his salary & get a discount on the younger GWS duo is a very smart one. Hybrid midfielder who can play serious midfield minutes but also push forward and have an impact on the scoreboard. Poor user of the ball but finds plenty of it, is dangerous around goals, is good defensively and is a solid body which will certainly help with the development of our younger players.

The late pick swap with Hawthorn represents a slight loss for us but nothing of any great significance. We traded out of the middle rounds of the draft through the Marchbank and Pickett deals, so this enabled us to maintain a presence in each round.

Ultimately this trade period wasn't as glamorous as 2015 but I still feel we've done very well. We set ourselves a target and I feel we've achieved it, with the only real disappointment for me being that we missed out on Hrovat who I really like and thought he could be a nice player for us going forward.

The rest of trade period stuff of Smedts and Palmer is just loose change. If Smedts reaches his potential after some injury riddled years it will be an extra bonus.

Palmer's last game was a Preliminary Final.

Not bad for Pick 135.

Ultimately this trade period wasn't as glamorous as 2015 but I still feel we've done very well. We set ourselves a target and I feel we've achieved it, with the only real disappointment for me being that we missed out on Hrovat who I really like and thought he could be a nice player for us going forward.

Yeah, move Everitt on somehow with draft pick back and get Hrovat would have elevated my rating to an A+
Having a look at trades around the league it looks like Everitt was not going to get as much even if I wanted to move him on.
Might be just my imagination but this trade period seemed the hardest one I can recall on trading players out to get decent picks. Still stunned Tom Mitchell only got Swans a pick 14 when pick 15 last season got North Jed Anderson.

Lyons for a pick in the 40s tells me trying to trade Nick Graham or Everitt (which was some of my hopes to get more draft picks) would get us scraps at best.
Marley Williams traded only got Pies pick 105.
Fremantle could not even sell Ballantyne and Motlop and Rockliff had no real interest to give picks up to get.

I reckon a decade or more back and Tom Mitchell would get you a pick 1 or 2 in a trade period and a Caddy more like a pick 14.
Clubs on the whole, are starting to value the picks more than in past it seems.

Yeah, move Everitt on somehow with draft pick back and get Hrovat would have elevated my rating to an A+
Having a look at trades around the league it looks like Everitt was not going to get as much even if I wanted to move him on.
Might be just my imagination but this trade period seemed the hardest one I can recall on trading players out to get decent picks. Still stunned Tom Mitchell only got Swans a pick 14 when pick 15 last season got North Jed Anderson.

Lyons for a pick in the 40s tells me trying to trade Nick Graham or Everitt (which was some of my hopes to get more draft picks) would get us scraps at best.
Marley Williams traded only got Pies pick 105.
Fremantle could not even sell Ballantyne and Motlop and Rockliff had no real interest to give picks up to get.

I reckon a decade or more back and Tom Mitchell would get you a pick 1 or 2 in a trade period and a Caddy more like a pick 14.
Clubs on the whole, are starting to value the picks more than in past it seems.

Reckon it might have something to do with 2016 draft being perceived as a deep draft

Had we picked up an extra 1st rounder (without losing Gibbs) or had we picked up one of the younger mids (Hrovat, Steele, Aherne, Mitchell) it would have been as good as last year imo.

The bar was set high though and as it is, we're a hard sell and SOS isn't a miracle worker.

We have a couple more seasons of work to go, and we enter those in a good position, having both tradable commodities if required, and you'd assume cap space to enter the FA market.

SOS is doing as good a job as you could hope.

It's just coming to light that Reid threw in Craig Kelly's son as make weight to try and get the deal over the line.

Whoops... no wonder he has been refusing to talk about their final offer.

FWIW - Craig Kelly was his old boss (runs the company that manages Gibbs) - maybe he wanted his son home and no-one else would take him.

I'm still unclear about the Hawthorn "favour" we provided...

Was it a Bolton, Clarko mate thing?
Was it SOS thinking "it can't hurt to have the Hawks owe us one"?
Was it us ensuring JOM didn't end up at Essendon?
Was it part of another deal that never actually got done in time?
The reason doesn't bother me either way, it's just very curious.
Why did we do this?

And given the circumstances, why didn't we just grab JOM with pick 5 and "help" ourselves?

To me it was not a favour.

GWS will finish top 2 next year - it was their 2017 2nd round pick that Hawks traded.

Sydney's 2nd round pick this year will be taken at 39 I.e. After FA compensation picks and priority picks.

IMO the trade was line ball - and certainly no great "favour".

SOS must have plans to use those picks so they were valuable to him.

Had we picked up an extra 1st rounder (without losing Gibbs) or had we picked up one of the younger mids (Hrovat, Steele, Aherne, Mitchell) it would have been as good as last year imo.

The bar was set high though and as it is, we're a hard sell and SOS isn't a miracle worker.

We have a couple more seasons of work to go, and we enter those in a good position, having both tradable commodities if required, and you'd assume cap space to enter the FA market.

SOS is doing as good a job as you could hope.

i just wonder whether the gibbs & marchbank deals going to the wire cost us other deals? hrovat & ahern would have been good and cost little. james stewart the same. im sure we would have wanted a few more earlier picks as well. the last minute deal with hawthorn to get some more picks seemed like a desperate go at getting some more picks no matter how late? now need to nail 5 & 25 and pick up some gold late

Very happy with how trade period transpired for us. It took a long while for things to heat up but once it did...

Our objective throughout the period was very clear - to bring more talent into the club without sacrificing our overall draft position.

I feel we've done that nicely with both Marchbank and Pickett - aged 19 and 20 respectively - coming in whilst maintaining a presence in each round of the upcoming national draft.

Tuohy was the sacrificial lamb this year. It's a shame to see him go and in isolation we probably lost out on that deal but it was the move that had to be made to enable the others to fall into place so I'm content with it.

Smedts has talent but a horror injury run has robbed him of continuity throughout his career. Has spent time all over the park but hasn't yet nailed a position which is a concern at his age - down back he hasn't looked at all comfortable so you'd think forward of centre is more his go. Doesn't find a lot of the ball but generally uses it well when he does. Not sure he can turn things around but with a good run at it and a fresh start at a new club you just never know.

Pickett has talent to burn and is a real attacking weapon. Like many juniors needs to find a greater balance between attack and defense but that will come with greater experience. Doesn't get a lot of the ball but looks to have been developing that side to his game before injury. When he does get it though good things tend to happen - skills are terrific, has great pace and impacts the scoreboard. Missed most of 2016 with a serious foot injury which is a concern but the club will be confident he can get back to full fitness and licking their lips when he does.

Marchbank projects as the best of the lot and could round our defense out magnificently. Tall defender probably best suited to playing on the opposition's tallest forward but hasn't yet had the size to do it effectively at AFL level. That will obviously change in time after a few more years in an AFL environment where he can really fill out and build his strength. Reads the play brilliantly and for a tall defender finds plenty of the ball and provides excellent rebound. I can't wait to see him play alongside Weitering, Plowman, Docherty & Byrne.

Palmer some may not like but the reality is we paid an absolute pittance for someone who will almost certainly be a part of our best 22 next year. He was contracted at GWS for another year but clearly had no future there - so the decision to absorb his salary & get a discount on the younger GWS duo is a very smart one. Hybrid midfielder who can play serious midfield minutes but also push forward and have an impact on the scoreboard. Poor user of the ball but finds plenty of it, is dangerous around goals, is good defensively and is a solid body which will certainly help with the development of our younger players.

The late pick swap with Hawthorn represents a slight loss for us but nothing of any great significance. We traded out of the middle rounds of the draft through the Marchbank and Pickett deals, so this enabled us to maintain a presence in each round.

Good summary

Only thing I would say is Palmer's numbers in terms of curve career have gone the opposite way to what you'd normally expect. His numbers in his first year were incredible but have since declined. Is it bec of injury or not being given the midfield opportunity at GWS?