Player Watch #4: Dustin Martin

2 things...

1 - God I hope at the end of counting Dusty is ahead on the vote so that there is none of this Danger was stiff shit....

2 - Been wondering about Dustys relationship with Cotch - clearly very close. Spends a lot of time at his house, with his kids etc... Something as massive as a possible change of clubs and maybe cities I can't believe close mates (if that's what they are) would not have discussed. Cotch must have a pretty strong idea of what is happening. And from this, whenever asked Cotch has kept a pretty upbeat positive line with no sign of any concern - either he really is comfortable about the position or he has a ripper poker face.

2 brownlows to go with 2 flags(afl & vfl)
Quite a year by the lads.
giphy.gif
Raise you a Norm Smith medal, JJ Liston medal and 3 AAs

dusty please dont get sucked in to the inevitable shit youll cop from opposition now, the brownlow is yours if you stay cool

I really do hope the club has been active behind the scenes looking at other players etc to recruit.

I do too...but I am not involved in AFL trades, so maybe it just isn't cricket to speak to players without knowing you actually want their services or not.
I personally would think, especially at a player management level, it would be completely fine.

I do too...but I am not involved in AFL trades, so maybe it just isn't cricket to speak to players without knowing you actually want their services or not.
I personally would think, especially at a player management level, it would be completely fine.

Yep speaking to managers have no doubt would be fine

Wouldn't lose a wink of sleep if Martin handed out a love tap against the cats and had a week off for Freo so he can enter the finals unencumbered and fresh.
Stuff the Brownlow.

I've said it a few times, I went to school with Tom.he was a renowned A grade ******. Loved flashing his familys wealth around and I have no doubt that his dad pulled the strings to get him a job as it certainly isn't based off any talent.

Let me get this straight. Does law degree at Melbourne Uni. Doesn't practice law. Hmmmm.

Wouldn't lose a wink of sleep if Martin handed out a love tap against the cats and had a week off for Freo so he can enter the finals unencumbered and fresh.
Stuff the Brownlow.

Isn't Cotch sitting on 2 fines as well?

Let me get this straight. Does law degree at Melbourne Uni. Doesn't practice law. Hmmmm.

I have no idea what he did after school, but he was a knob at school, I won't bash the guy too much as I haven't spoken to him in probably 17 years but I doubt he's changed too much and still has an over hyped sense of his own self importance.

You are taught to pin the arms when tackling to ensure,
A - The opposing player isn't able to get off a handball
B - Greater chance of getting a holding the ball decision or at least a stoppage.

The amount of tackles where arms are pinned and the players head lands on the surface and they don't suffer a concussion is countless per game.
I don't believe the result should drive the outcome regarding whether someone gets suspended.

Dangerfield was very stiff and I fully expect Geelong to appeal.

Agree with the points regarding the arms pinning not being the dangerous act, but I think in Dangerfield's case it's different to Burgoyne. Danger actively changes the direction of Kreuzer during the tackle. Whether this was a miscalculated/carless attempt to protect the back or whatever is a benign point in this case as the outcome was a two action tackle that resulted in concussion. I think it's more about the multi-action quality of the tackle. Burgoyne went with the momentum of Reid and didn't manipulate the action of him coming to contact with the ground aside from the arm pin which is why he got off.

Do agree though that the tackle shouldn't really equate to a suspension. Think it's just unfortunate for Geelong and Dangerfield that a precedent has been set this season.

Dusty can buy him a pair with his 1.5-1.6 mil deal from North.

Achieve nothing, wallow in despair at a dead end job and hang out with your "best" mate at work instead of on the weekend, making a little extra cash after tax

vs.

Play finals footy at the home of the AFL in front of 90,000 fans, be part of something exciting and do it with your mates and "family" who've stuck with you for years and still make almost as much money after tax, while still seeing your mate Marley after work and on weekends.

hmm...

Then it's probably Cotch who should clear them and rest up for a week. Just have to be smart about it.

We don't want a clumsy spoil or a clumsy tackle to lead to a final being missed.

Out of the games left I think Geelong in Geelong is one we wouldn't expect to win and I expect Freo to have put the cue in the rack by round 22.

Stuff the Brownlow.
Does get overblown being the medal the umpires vote on.

I have no idea what he did after school, but he was a knob at school, I won't bash the guy too much as I haven't spoken to him in probably 17 years but I doubt he's changed too much and still has an over hyped sense of his own self importance.

Bash away, seems like a complete fukn idiot

Achieve nothing, wallow in despair at a dead end job and hang out with your "best" mate at work instead of on the weekend, making a little extra cash after tax

vs.

Play finals footy at the home of the AFL in front of 90,000 fans, be part of something exciting and do it with your mates and "family" who've stuck with you for years and still make almost as much money after tax, while still seeing your mate Marley after work and on weekends.

hmm...

Makes a lot of sense , but you would think if he's getting an offer of 1.5 x 6 years he may put all that aside and chase the cash .

One thing I do remember is that if he had to tell someone his name he would always be sure that it was "Browne with an e" because God forbid it was spelt "brown" , that would be much too common.

Did you call him Browney just to piss him off?

Makes a lot of sense , but you would think if he's getting an offer of 1.5 x 6 years he may put all that aside and chase the cash .
What would he be taking home when you take into account tax, extra cash for Carr, plus missing out on the cash that comes with the limelight that is involved at tiger land?

Surely not a lot of his extra 300,000 a year left.