List Mgmt. 2017 Trade & FA Targets Part 2

Hell, in just 3 years, Kelly has gone from a skinny winger to a pure midfield gun, be it inside or outside, and put on muscle bulk pretty easily

Imagine where he will be in 5 years...
3153ad51cfc4cf1a273a49e7033e2861.jpg

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Clearly not as I said just the near hysterical levels of enthusiasm people have at present for Kelly many once had for Mathieson.

You know my opinion on this by now, I think we will have a young list well short of a top 4 team and lacking A grade talent. I think we need a lot more than Kelly and I like him but not his price.

I also don't see how this young list has a desperate need to pay overs for any player. Excess cap space can be used in a number of ways all we need to do is meet league requirements and we will have the same space next year.

A young team not close go it's window lacking in A grade talent paying stupid prices for recruits rather than going to the draft why, because of some grand plan that clearly hasn't worked out.

You do know that every year future A grade stars are picked in the draft, given our position why not us.

The club I'm pretty sure doesn't base it's decisions on big footy so posters shouldn't be to concerned. We all know they go to the pub get hammered and then do whatever seems like a good idea, just like the rest of us.
I cant remember hysterical posting and I definitely dont think it is hystetical now about Kelly, unless you think the club strategy outlined in Aug 2013 and being followed to a tee is hystetical.

Yes every year their are guns from the draft. They flourish about 3 to 4 years after being drafted.

Are you willing to maybe wait until 2022 before we know?

We know Kelly is a gun now. We as a club have worked towards getting a Kelly for 5 years.

It is not hystetical especially it is rationally pointed out the quality of Kelly, including comparisions to the current great mids and his current form.

Two 18 y.o underdeveloped potentials wont have us anywhere near a flag before 2020 at the earliest and most optimistic.

Look Kelly is a getting close to elite and if we get him great but the eye test says Selwood was always a uniquely brave and competitive monster from an early age. If I had the choice of the 2 I would go Selwood if they were the same age. He probably ends up an excellent player but I'm just not convinced that he is Judd, Selwood, Danger type yet, basing that on one season of football at an elite level. He is a super classy and calm type who seems a little robotic if you were looking for fault. Those other guys had that competitive drive like Lenny that made them lift other up with them. I might be wrong and he develops that side of his game. I think he will probably be an elite player but I'm still yet to be convinced that he will be a future champion or legend type of player.

The contested possession stat just needs a player with in 2 meters of you when you take the ball, I doubt he's won as many in tight head over the ball as the guys listed. He's still an excellent player in 2017. There is always a danger that we are paying the most money for a player in AFL history that isn't going to play like his pay packet would suggest, he literally costs as much as Danger and Buddy together if the $1.6 PA is true. That could be a very distracting thing if anything goes wrong or he doesn't become what it looks like he should become.
Why does he have to compare to those players. Seriously, I don't think you know what you want.

If he turns out to be a pure outside elite, who cares?

Is J Selwood a match winner? How many goals has he kicked this year?
Well I watch the games so I know that he is noted for kicking clutch goals and producing when his team needs it, which he has done again this year.

If I just checked the stat sheet it wouldn't tell the full story at all that's my point. I'm watching Kelly and to me he's good but nowhere near as good as his stats suggest.

Interesting to note that when Kelly being offered a million was mentioned months back Gary Lyon said if Kelly is worth a million what is Toby Green worth, clearly I'm not the only one who rates him this way.

I cant remember hysterical posting and I definitely dont think it is hystetical now about Kelly, unless you think the club strategy outlined in Aug 2013 and being followed to a tee is hystetical.

Yes every year their are guns from the draft. They flourish about 3 to 4 years after being drafted.

We know Kelly is a gun now. We as a club have worked towards getting a Kelly for 5 years.

It is not hystetical especially it is rationally pointed out the quality of Kelly, including comparisions to the current great mids and his current form.

Two 18 y.o underdeveloped potentials wont have us anywhere near a flag before 2020 at the earliest and most optimistic.
We have not followed it to a tee.

Not hysterical, someone said two first rounders wouldn't be enough to.

I would love to know what those who think Kelly isn't the right idea want at this stage. Yes he will be overpaid but so is 99% of players who leave club. Yes he isn't Joel Selwood but he is Josh Kelly. Yes he will cost two first rounders. Now the positives. He is going to be in the best 40 players in the AFL this year, maybe the best 22. He will most likely be close to the youngest on that list. He is an outside fast runner. We have none. He is elite with his kicking. We have very few. He comes from a very good program. He is exactly the player we need. We have to much SC as it is. Pay him heaps or pay either unknowns overs or current player overs.

If he did pick us and we didn't get him we would be the laughing stock of the AFL. How often do you get two top 10 picks and 3 million in your SC.

Well I watch the games so I know that he is noted for kicking clutch goals and producing when his team needs it, which he has done again this year.

If I just checked the stat sheet it wouldn't tell the full story at all that's my point. I'm watching Kelly and to me he's good but nowhere near as good as his stats suggest.

Interesting to note that when Kelly being offered a million was mentioned months back Gary Lyon said if Kelly is worth a million what is Toby Green worth, clearly I'm not the only one who rates him this way.
You lost me at Gary Lyon

I would be more than happy with Goldstein especially if he is cheaper. If he can play that well at North imagine how good he can be anywhere else!

We have not followed it to a tee.

Not hysterical, someone said two first rounders wouldn't be enough to.
Yes we have. We are exactly where we were told we would be.

We have worked the d&t, letting bj and Dal go FA, trading Mac and Rhys, getting a return from the Carlisle trade in Gresh, picking up a top ten risk in Freeman, choosing Billings #3 choosing Paddy #1 ( would have preferred Petracca but there you go).
Made some Blues, Spencer and Lee, but also some bargains in Goddard ( hope he gets on the park next year), Steele, Battle, even Seb Ross and Newnes, Membrey and Roberton

All done while GWS wad plundering the top end and Sydney had COLA and still had academies

And one poster does not make the board hysterical over Kelly.

Dont think too many here would agree with that

I would love to know what those who think Kelly isn't the right idea want at this stage. Yes he will be overpaid but so is 99% of players who leave club. Yes he isn't Joel Selwood but he is Josh Kelly. Yes he will cost two first rounders. Now the positives. He is going to be in the best 40 players in the AFL this year, maybe the best 22. He will most likely be close to the youngest on that list. He is an outside fast runner. We have none. He is elite with his kicking. We have very few. He comes from a very good program. He is exactly the player we need. We have to much SC as it is. Pay him heaps or pay either unknowns overs or current player overs.

If he did pick us and we didn't get him we would be the laughing stock of the AFL. How often do you get two top 10 picks and 3 million in your SC.
Well everybody technically has two first rounders so often, the salary cap space is not hard to roll over.

If we get kelly get him because it's the right decision not because we have cash burning a hole in our pockets.

Personally I'm sick of having to replace batteries all the time. I've noted there are 3 typres of movement available:
  1. Quartz – the movement causes the second hand to move in individual ticks. Powered by a battery.
  2. Mechanical – the movement will cause the second hand to move in a smooth sweeping motion. The watch requires manual winding to operate.
  3. Automatic – kinetic energy from the wearer’s wrist is transferred automatically to drive the mechanism inside the watch.
I reckon I'll just get one of these Automatic jobs and then sit down and watch Rooey's highlights reel for an hour or so.

That should be enough to keep the sucker going for about 10 years at least [emoji12]
Whenever I think of Casio:
ptacasio.gif

Well everybody technically has two first rounders so often, the salary cap space is not hard to roll over.

If we get kelly get him because it's the right decision not because we have cash burning a hole in our pockets.

I'm pretty sure I gave right decisions to get him. The rest was just fact. And I said two top 10 picks not 2 first rounders.

Yes we have.

And one poster does not make the board hysterical over Kelly.

Dont think too many here would agree with that
No we haven't we didn't go to the draft and bring in A grade young talent as often as we were meant to. We did the pea and shell trick and said player such and such is worth a first rounder.

If we followed it to the letter then it is still a fail clearly because we don't have the A grade talent we should have.

The reason you bring in a gun like Kelly is because he will also make everyone else around him appear better.
Correct.

Internal improvement + Kelly = exponential improvement.

Less pressure on existing mids + Harder to tag our mids = better fwd entries = more goals.

Better midfield = better defence = less goals conceded.

A + B + C = at least 4 extra wins = finals & possible top 4.

The numbers don't lie campaigners!

In terms of cost...

If we pay both this year, can someone please work out over the past 3 years since we traded for Jake, how many first round picks we have given away and how many players we have brought in.

I make it as follows:

Jake and Gresh for 1 first.

Last year's first moved to this year.

This year's firsts for Kelly.

This means 3 firsts for 3 players.

So Kelly will pretty much cost us a first overall.

Jake & Kelly = A grade. Gresh looking good so far.

It's not like we haven't waited long enough already. o_O
It was always part of the plan to go out and get a free agent and/ or star player at this stage. Now it's time to execute it!

No we haven't we didn't go to the draft and bring in A grade young talent as often as we were meant to. We did the pea and shell trick and said player such and such is worth a first rounder.

If we followed it to the letter then it is still a fail clearly because we don't have the A grade talent we should have.
That is incorrect. We traded one top ten pick for Carlisle and Gresham.

We used #1 on a player, we used #3 on a player.
Where else were these top end picks coming from? The draft top ends were dominated by GWS.

Your post is revisionism and doesnt stand up to fact.

We also traded anything with value, Mac and Stanley for early second rounders.

A grade talent wad not available and not required from 2013 to 2016. Getting the TPP and SC under control and getying our list age groups correct was the priority.

Anyway I am out, you dont want to listen to facts on either Kelly or the clubs strategy for rebuilding.

Hope you arent one of those posters who will bag Kelly at every opportunity if we get him. Sometimes we dont agree with the club. I really wanted Petracca and nothing so far has happened to change my mind.
But I hope like hell he succeeds as tnis gives the STKFC a bettet chance at a flag.

It's not like we haven't waited long enough already. o_O
It was always part of the plan to go out and get a free agent and/ or star player at this stage. Now it's time to execute it!

Id wait for next year and if we are paying to much to that non existent player we can wait another year and so on. No hurry.

Correct.

Internal improvement + Kelly = exponential improvement.

Less pressure on existing mids + Harder to tag our mids = better fwd entries = more goals.

Better midfield = better defence = less goals conceded.

A + B + C = at least 4 extra wins = finals & possible top 4.

The numbers don't lie campaigners!

In terms of cost...

If we pay both this year, can someone please work out over the past 3 years since we traded for Jake, how many first round picks we have given away and how many players we have brought in.

I make it as follows:

Jake and Gresh for 1 first.

Last year's first moved to this year.

This year's firsts for Kelly.

This means 3 firsts for 3 players.

So Kelly will pretty much cost us a first overall.

Jake & Kelly = A grade. Gresh looking good so far.
But wont the two 18 y.o. potentials do that too?

All draftees are Judd like and AFL ready arent they.