News 2019 AFL Fixture

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

As an avid AFL fan I have to say that watching so many night games Carlton played in only to turn it off after half time because the result was already known, this was to be expected. You have the Cattle get it done!

Its decent. Don't care about the non-prime time slots, we will regain those in time. I'm a big fan of Sat arvos, favourite time slot. Sunday's at 1.10 aren't so bad either, not a fan of the 3.20 start. Don't mind the teams we double up on as well - Tigers being the toughest of the 5. Other 4 are beatable if we are on.

What pisses me off is the 6+1 (yes including Geelong in R23 again as travel) games. A third of our games interstate or regional, really? AFL can suck eggs, wheres the ****ing equality in that? Club initiative for free upgrades was a good choice seeing whats transpired, but boy do they have a battle on their hands to reach the same number of members in 2019 or go beyond it.

Those people that pay their well earned for a H+A membership to go watch our club at a minimum of 17 times a season should be filthy, and I am one of them. That now goes down to 15, 16 if we can get a ticket at the Cattery which is at extra cost anyway. Find it disgusting, but it is what it is, club and playing group need our support more than ever.

Its decent. Don't care about the non-prime time slots, we will regain those in time. I'm a big fan of Sat arvos, favourite time slot. Sunday's at 1.10 aren't so bad either, not a fan of the 3.20 start. Don't mind the teams we double up on as well - Tigers being the toughest of the 5. Other 4 are beatable if we are on.

What pisses me off is the 6+1 (yes including Geelong in R23 again as travel) games. A third of our games interstate or regional, really? AFL can suck eggs, wheres the ******* equality in that? Club initiative for free upgrades was a good choice seeing whats transpired, but boy do they have a battle on their hands to reach the same number of members in 2019 or go beyond it.

Those people that pay their well earned for a H+A membership to go watch our club at a minimum of 17 times a season should be filthy, and I am one of them. That now goes down to 15, 16 if we can get a ticket at the Cattery which is at extra cost anyway. Find it disgusting, but it is what it is, club and playing group need our support more than ever.
How many times are the interstate teams travelling and what do you think their fans think about us travelling 6 times?

No I agree. Thats a fair comment and understandable, a long lasting debate amongst supporters that will continue for a while. But do you honestly think us playing down in Geelong and sending us to Tassie to play the Hawks is equitable when there are two world class stadiums sitting in the CBD in which we can play in? I get we aren't very good at the moment, and we need to wear that, but surely that could have rotated at least one of those games to someone else next season.

Fixture seems reasonable considering how shit we footballed. 6 and 7 day breaks are a bonus. No prime time games understandable.
Things will change as we become more competitive.

I like the fixture and no Friday night games means SFA as we don't need the money and are hardly struggling to stay afloat cash flow wise even after how shit we have been lately.

Sunday timeslots are cool IMO and nothing like lazy Sundays with your team on TV live. :thumbsu:

If we can remain injury free around our leaders and better players i can see this fixture delivering us over 6 wins easily for the season.

The AFL has ripped a hole in the space time continuum. First time in 85 seasons that we have only played Collingwood and Essendon once in a season. Let’s face it. It’s ****ing with tradition and that’s bad for football.

How is it lost revenue when our games were not the lowest rating ones?

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

The endgame for the AFL is to provide exposure to other teams - especially up and coming teams, or quality teams that don’t receive the veneration they deserve.

By geering the fixture towards successful teams they’re planting future seeds of interest in opposition teams (like Brisbane) increase ratings in the long-term.

The safe option is to put Carlton in on prime-time, and they know they’ll get reasonable, albeit not huge viewing figures, the riskier but potentially profitable option is to schedule traditionally ignored clubs.

Jake makes many fair and valid points here, but I've yet to see this commonly-used rhetoric backed-up by facts:

"Carlton's draw, indeed, is a correction for last year's clanger by head office, when the Blues were inexplicably fixtured to play on no less than four Friday nights, plus the season opener, in a schedule that clearly dragged down ratings."

Seven's AFL ratings trended downward across all time slots and days of the week, didn't they? How could Carlton's oft-referenced four Friday nights so substantially account for this?

Seven's dire commentary team was far more of a Friday night constant than the appearance of Carlton, surely? This whole 'Carlton/Friday night footy' thing is one of the great media beat-ups of 2018.

The only way that aggressively marketing clubs with small fan bases ahead of clubs with large fan bases can ever hope to succeed is through the concept of the 'neutral' supporter. I may be a bit old fashioned but when i wsa growing up in the cauldron of 1980's High School in Ringwood, there were no neutral supporters or if there were they kept their insidious underground of fifth columnist heresy to themselves. Where have all of these 'neutrals' emerged from? I hate to start a conspiracy theory but encouraging 'neutral' support and 'rewarding' football performance seems only to benefit the TV Execs and AFL Spin Doctors, all of whom would love nothing more than an effective and reliable algorithm to predict viewing audiences and crown numbers. How much easier would the whole competition be to market if you could confidently predict within a small margin of error a specific level of audience and interest. how much better would this be if it could be done regardless of whatever teams were playing. The absolute pinnacle would be if you could somehow guarantee these high confidence numbers whilst still managing to increase exposure and presumably interest levels for new expansion sides or traditionally poorly supported teams.

Hate to sound like a conspiracy theorist but with the makey-uppey AFL anything is possible.

The biggest factor in the change in 'neutral' supporters in the last 20-30 years has been the rise of fantasy football teams.

I did it for a few years in the early 1990s but gave it up because I could not stand barracking for players from other teams. I am in the very small minority and sadly a culture of barracking for players over teams has seeped into the AFL.

Personally, I think it is a huge negative for the sport as it hurts club culture. Yeah, I hear the cries of record memberships, but the membership numbers are rubbish and mean very little. One membership today is very different to a membership thirty years ago.

I used to look forward to the 2 games v Collingwood and Essendon.

They've abolished that.

Too many Sunday twilight games too ffs, by the time you get home then you've gotta get up and go to work.

Annoying as hell.

Then there's the interstate games, wtf? Round 2 - 4 - 6 - 9?? That's going to kill us travelling every 2nd week.

I understand that we didn't perform well last season but fmd this has got to be one of the worst fixtures to give a bottom team.

Jake makes many fair and valid points here, but I've yet to see this commonly-used rhetoric backed-up by facts:

"Carlton's draw, indeed, is a correction for last year's clanger by head office, when the Blues were inexplicably fixtured to play on no less than four Friday nights, plus the season opener, in a schedule that clearly dragged down ratings."

Seven's AFL ratings trended downward across all time slots and days of the week, didn't they? How could Carlton's oft-referenced four Friday nights so substantially account for this?

Seven's dire commentary team was far more of a Friday night constant than the appearance of Carlton, surely? This whole 'Carlton/Friday night footy' thing is one of the great media beat-ups of 2018.
They forget to mention who we played in these Friday night games, Pies, Dogs, Swans and Saints. And they were all away games accept the pies.

As an avid AFL fan I have to say that watching so many night games Carlton played in only to turn it off after half time because the result was already known, this was to be expected. You have the Cattle get it done!
You know where your board is:rolleyes:

I'm honestly happy with no Friday nigh nigh games. While we are rebuilding I am pleased to be out of the spotlight as I hated the week in week out coverage about how dismal Carlton are and how we are destroying the spectacle of Friday night footy. It puts the focus on the club in the worst possible way. Let's hide out for a few years until we start rising then bang back into prime time

The current broadcasting deal allows the FTA broadcast of 4 games a week. Generally they (Ch 7) will show Friday night/ 2 Saturday and a Sunday game. If there is a Thursday night they can show it but 1 game falls out of the FTA broadcast and that can mean no Sunday telecast.

Wrong. Seven has the rights to show 4 matches a round - but only over a 22 week season. Since the season is 23 weeks, they show 3 games per round, plus all Thursday night games and special matches.

And what do you think the public/media sentiment would be like should we stamp our feet and have a tantrum after last season's showing?

You reckon Warner has copped some heat for walking off after being sledged - how does it look when "lowly Carlton", after stinking up Friday night footy in 2018, spit the dummy because they don't get any Friday nights in 2019?

I have no doubt the club has made our position clear to the AFL. We'll have requested a few prime time games against opposition we can match, and the AFL in their infinite wisdom will have said "Sorry, after last season we need to schedule blockbuster games in as many of those spots as possible". We'll have voiced our displeasure, but the AFL will remind us that we forecast a much stronger showing in 2018, which is why they gave us the lion's share of Friday nights, and we burnt that "favour".

There is no way we can play this that doesn't result in ridicule of the club - something that the club will be wanting to avoid at all costs.

Take our medicine, play good footy, get the improved fixturing next year.

We havent requested or asked for ‘Friday’ night games. Confirmed by the AFL on radio this evening.J

Surrey, I think it’s a pretty good draw for the fan...Saturday arvo mostly for home games is a great result.
Lots of Sunday games but they’re mostly away games.

I also think the exposure levels out of the spotlight will help the team overall.

I’m happy for next season to have this draw!!

If I were selfish and from a personal point, It’s a great draw for families. Children playing sport on Saturday, etc. can go watch CFC on Sunday.

Problem is it won’t get the club the exposure, dollars, sponsorship, growth, etc.....

And the endless ads....the ones trhat pay tv wasnt supposed to have...oh but they're worth every cent right.....insidiously snuck em in over time till theres more ads then free tv.
IQ it. Ads will pass very quickly.

Fine with no Friday nights they kicked off my weekend in the worse way possible.

Pretty pissed we don’t play Collingwood and Essendon twice. Probably about the only truly entertaining games we’re guaranteed while on the bottom of the ladder. Instead we’re playing more against clubs I have no ****ing care for.