Prediction Best 22 R1 2019

I'd go even further than that and say up to a full dozen spots are up for grabs!
We have tremendous depth in most positions and we should not be beholden to any loyalty to a list that performed so miserably last season!
Clean slate is how the coaching group should be seeing the list! Fierce competition for spots can only lift standards!
It's up to every single player on the list to show why they should be selected. Outside of a handful of senior blokes with some runs on the board!

I think these guys are locks

B: Geary, -----, Webster
HB: Roberton, Carlisle, -----
C: Billings, Steele, Hannebery
HF: Gresham, -----, -----
F: Membrey, -----, -----

Foll: -----, Steven, Ross

Which leaves 11 spots up for grabs. I'd say the following guys are competing for those spots (first listed is first in the pecking order)

Ruck (1 spot): Longer, Pierce
Key defender (1 spot): Brown, Austin, Battle
Half back (1-2 spots): McKenzie, Savage, Coffield, Hind
Outside mid (1-2 spots): Sinclair, Newnes, Phillips
Inside mid (2 spots): Acres, Clark, Dunstan, Armitage
Key forward (2 spots): Bruce, Marshall, McCartin
Small forward (2 spots): Kent, Long, Lonie, Parker, Young

But you have Hind and Parker in your squad.
All of the players you listed have probably shown as much in State league footy as Hind and Parker
Valid point but if we roll out the same one paced, vanilla side we have become accustomed to then we will finish the season not having even tried to fire a shot. Those names may have better form in reserves but none have really made the step up. It may come, but Parker and hind add speed/xfactor they are different types to what we had on the list last year. They also allow Webster to play wing and Billings/Gresh to spend more time in the midfield.

Hanners can’t be the only change after the year we have had.

Stat's yeah, but goals are the one stat that actually counts.

2013: Kent 15 games , 10 goals 5 behinds 4 goal assists. Lonie: NA Long: NA
2014: Kent 13 games , 12 goals 10 behinds 5 goal assists. Lonie : NA Long: NA
2015: Kent 4 games , 2 goals, 4 behinds, 0 goal assists Lonie : 17 games , 12 goals 17 behinds, 9 goal assists // Long NA.
2016: Kent 20 games, 25 goals, 10 behinds, 19 goal assists, Lonie : 10 games , 10 goals 8 behinds , 4 goal assists // Long NA.
2017: Kent 6 games , 7 goals , 6 behinds , 3 goal assists. Lonie : 12 games , 6 goals , 14 behinds, 0 goal assists // Long 4 games, 0 goals ,2bh. 0GA's
2018: Kent 5 games, 7 goals, 3 behinds, 3 goal assists. Lonie : 11 games , 16 goals, 10 behinds ,11 goal assists // Long 10 games, 7 gaols, 4bh , 2 GA.

The two standouts for score rate there are Kent's 2016 and Lonie's 2018.
Long after 2 seasons hasn't had the impact of either ( at an older age as well ).
Lonie had a really bad 2017, lets hope he's over it. And if he's a confidence player lets not screw with that because he's tracking nicely at the moment.

I'd go even further than that and say up to a full dozen spots are up for grabs!
We have tremendous depth in most positions and we should not be beholden to any loyalty to a list that performed so miserably last season!
Clean slate is how the coaching group should be seeing the list! Fierce competition for spots can only lift standards!
It's up to every single player on the list to show why they should be selected. Outside of a handful of senior blokes with some runs on the board!

Agree mate, hopefully the coaching group are thinking along these lines. It will largely depend on the freckle cos he is a bit stubborn when it comes to selections, as seen playing Bleach & Newnes & dropping GOAT without reasonable cause.

Well done Pebblessofsand. With Brown suspended, Carlisle and Austin uncertain through injury, and Joyce doing well in the pre=season, I thought he was a natural for full back. You are the only one who has selected him.
Dead set Joyce was horrible last year and there is no chance he has improved enough over the offseason to be even an average fullback. I’d be rapped for him to prove me wrong but the fact he is even being considered round one is far from ideal!!!

Apart from people on here, is he really being considered?

Joyce & Marshall are 2 of the significant improvers over this preaseason .

Agree with point Joyce gifted games last year.

Really intrigued on seeing how saints play this year , certainly won’t be like Inter Club last Friday with all the
media around .

My only beef is your “Captain “has to be one of your top 3 players in ability , otherwise you are gifting games
to that individual because they are , no witch-hunt just has to be if team is to improve on past years.

Joyce & Marshall are 2 of the significant improvers over this preaseason .

Agree with point Joyce gifted games last year.

Really intrigued on seeing how saints play this year , certainly won’t be like Inter Club last Friday with all the
media around .

My only beef is your “Captain “has to be one of your top 3 players in ability , otherwise you are gifting games
to that individual because they are , no witch-hunt just has to be if team is to improve on past years.

Good rule. Nick Maxwell says hi.

Based on my observations of the match sim last Friday:

FF: Lonie, McCartin, Membrey
HF: Billings, Bruce, Kent
C: Acres, Steele, Steven
HB: Webb, Marshall, Coffield
FB: Geary, Joyce, Roberton
R: Longer, Ross, Gresham

Inter: Hannebery, Clark, Newnes, Long

FF & HF are per match sim.
CHB & FB are not my first options but those are either suspended, injured or only running laps.
Battle and McKenzie unlucky to have missed.
Only Hannebery and Kent to debut in Round 1.

Yeah hate that guy his last half in draw 2010 helped them dodge a bullet.

Nick was half back flank All Australian in 2009 but just me would love Hannebery ASAP .
Was Maxwell really AA in 09?
That does surprise me! Maybe he could play just a little!
Personally hate the prick! Following on from the filths fine tradition of having hack footballers being captain of their last 2 flags!
Obviously as leaders though they clearly provided what was needed! And very true the flog did stand up for them in the GF draw!

Bloody hell, this is not easy (doing a best 22, given everyone was fit and in form, not just for R1)!

Don't remember a best 22 or likely team leading into a season being this difficult to do in a long time, if ever.

B: Geary Brown ?
HB: Roberton Carlisle Webster
C: Hanners Steele Acres
HF: Billings Bruce ?
F: Gresham McCartin Membrey
R: Longer Ross Steven

Reckon those 16 are pretty much certain to be in there (if everyone was available and in form), then it gets bloody hard from there, as I would be perfectly comfortable with at least any of the following 13 being in the team:

I: D-Mac Kent Long Lonie Sinclair Newnes Savage Clark Coffield Battle/Austin Dunstan Marshall

The one or at most 2 backline spots would be fought over by D-Mac (top 10 in our B&F last year, so they really like him), Savage, Coffield, perhaps Clark, and even Newnes, and then there's Battle/Austin, if we want a genuine 3rd-tall option.

Then there's the talk about Hind being a serious chance, for his speed etc. And that's before we get to Rice (who played 11 games last year, and ought to be better for the experience and another preseason), or White (6 games last year).

Then you've got Kent, Long and Lonie, and perhaps Sincs, Newnes and even Hunter (plus the likes of Paton, GOAT Parker and Young), fighting for 2 or at most 3 spots on the forward line/bench.

Then you've got the midfield bench options out of the likes of Sincs, Newnes, Clark, perhaps Kent, and Dunstan.

Yowza, good luck working out those last 4-6 spots in the 22, when I reckon there are about 30 who could very comfortably play, before you even start getting to guys like Armo, Phillips, Paton, the mature types we drafted, or Rice and White- who played 17 games between them last year and could easily be better this year.

I don’t mean training. I was talking about the practice games against other sides. I certainly believe last years form allows him to play in them and then it’s up to him. If we say last years form gets players a game in round one this year then players might go through the motions and we know how those motions ended up in last seasons pre season form.

Doesn't give you a game but should mean his magnet is on the board to start the year and anyone that wants it to be replaced with theirs needs to show why. No mystery there. He's probably got 3 or 4 guys who could take his spot so needs to keep up his effort to hold it.

I think these guys are locks

B: Geary, -----, Webster
HB: Roberton, Carlisle, -----
C: Billings, Steele, Hannebery
HF: Gresham, -----, -----
F: Membrey, -----, -----

Foll: -----, Steven, Ross

Which leaves 11 spots up for grabs. I'd say the following guys are competing for those spots (first listed is first in the pecking order)

Ruck (1 spot): Longer, Pierce
Key defender (1 spot): Brown, Austin, Battle
Half back (1-2 spots): McKenzie, Savage, Coffield, Hind
Outside mid (1-2 spots): Sinclair, Newnes, Phillips
Inside mid (2 spots): Acres, Clark, Dunstan, Armitage
Key forward (2 spots): Bruce, Marshall, McCartin
Small forward (2 spots): Kent, Long, Lonie, Parker, Young

I think Longer will play in every game he's fit for. We have traded out our only experienced ruckman besides him. Pierce and Marshall can both play as rucks but Marshall is 13 games into his career and played mostly as a forward. Lewis Pierce has had 4 career games. Pierce particularly would have to show heaps or hope Billy goes down to be our main ruckman.

Love him or hate him we probably should have kept Hickey, we are pretty much hoping Billy has got to a point where he doesn't miss every second season injured and they Lewie can come on in leaps and bounds.

Bloody hell, this is not easy (doing a best 22, given everyone was fit and in form, not just for R1)!

Don't remember a best 22 or likely team leading into a season being this difficult to do in a long time, if ever.

B: Geary Brown ?
HB: Roberton Carlisle Webster
C: Hanners Steele Acres
HF: Billings Bruce ?
F: Gresham McCartin Membrey
R: Longer Ross Steven

Reckon those 16 are pretty much certain to be in there (if everyone was available and in form), then it gets bloody hard from there, as I would be perfectly comfortable with at least any of the following 13 being in the team:

I: D-Mac Kent Long Lonie Sinclair Newnes Savage Clark Coffield Battle/Austin Dunstan Marshall

The one or at most 2 backline spots would be fought over by D-Mac (top 10 in our B&F last year, so they really like him), Savage, Coffield, perhaps Clark, and even Newnes, and then there's Battle/Austin, if we want a genuine 3rd-tall option.

Then there's the talk about Hind being a serious chance, for his speed etc. And that's before we get to Rice (who played 11 games last year, and ought to be better for the experience and another preseason), or White (6 games last year).

Then you've got Kent, Long and Lonie, and perhaps Sincs, Newnes and even Hunter (plus the likes of Paton, GOAT Parker and Young), fighting for 2 or at most 3 spots on the forward line/bench.

Then you've got the midfield bench options out of the likes of Sincs, Newnes, Clark, perhaps Kent, and Dunstan.

Yowza, good luck working out those last 4-6 spots in the 22, when I reckon there are about 30 who could very comfortably play, before you even start getting to guys like Armo, Phillips, Paton, the mature types we drafted, or Rice and White- who played 17 games between them last year and could easily be better this year.

Rice and White will be playing for their careers too, one of those backline spots is going to be hot property.

Not true - he was OK against Melbourne in his first game (10 possessions) playing alongside Carlisle and Brown.

Clearly outclassed against Port in the next game but that was where the other 2 KP defenders were Austin and Gilbert and our midfield failed to turn up.

With Gilbert gone, Brown suspended and at the time Austin WAS under a cloud, it would be between Joyce and Clavarino for full back in Round 1

Not true - he was OK against Melbourne in his first game (10 possessions) playing alongside Carlisle and Brown.

Clearly outclassed against Port in the next game but that was where the other 2 KP defenders were Austin and Gilbert and our midfield failed to turn up.

With Gilbert gone, Brown suspended and at the time Austin WAS under a cloud, it would be between Joyce and Clavarino for full back in Round 1

Not to sound negative but that doesn’t inspire confidence.

Not a lot of sides in the comp have three specialist full backs on their list so things are never gonna look flash if your 2 first picks aren't available.

If that doesn't inspire you with confidence, how are you going to feel if Longer and Pierce are injured at the same time?

Not a lot of sides in the comp have three specialist full backs on their list so things are never gonna look flash if your 2 first picks aren't available.

If that doesn't inspire you with confidence, how are you going to feel if Longer and Pierce are injured at the same time?

Even if he's not best 22, he was an inspired rookie pick.

https://www.standard.net.au/story/4265941/afl-draft-detour-the-right-path-for-marshall-photos/
“I really enjoyed the satisfaction of playing on AFL-listed forwards and if you shut them down you know you’ve done a good job.

Even if he's not best 22, he was an inspired rookie pick.

https://www.standard.net.au/story/4265941/afl-draft-detour-the-right-path-for-marshall-photos/
“I really enjoyed the satisfaction of playing on AFL-listed forwards and if you shut them down you know you’ve done a good job.
My apologies - we've got millions of them!!!

http://www.saints.com.au/news/2019-02-01/playfair-excited-by-backman-battle

"And defensive coach Henry Playfair believes Battle has all the makings of an elite backman."

The other thing we are forgetting is placing an emphasis on guys forward/back/int that can make an impact in the midfield. It has been made clear our variety in the centre was not good enough. This combined with speed/skills/forward pressure as needs will see changes to our 22. This brings new faces like hind, Parker, young, Kent to the fold. All can pinch hit in the middle, but more importantly allow Billings,Gresham, Webster and even Mckenzie and acres in the midfield rotation without a constant need for them forward or back.

I would love to see coff and hunter playing but not sure where they fit. Coff still not prepared to put his head over when it’s his turn. Hunter’s just unlucky and hasn’t shown Enough impact forward.

For them to play I see two of guys like Mckenzie, acres, Sinclair missing for them.

This is hard business, I haven’t even considered picking Lonie, Newnes, savage, Dunstan, Armo or Phillips. Any of these are a chance to feature round one. There will be some good players playing for sandy this year.

I think Longer will play in every game he's fit for. We have traded out our only experienced ruckman besides him. Pierce and Marshall can both play as rucks but Marshall is 13 games into his career and played mostly as a forward. Lewis Pierce has had 4 career games. Pierce particularly would have to show heaps or hope Billy goes down to be our main ruckman.

Love him or hate him we probably should have kept Hickey, we are pretty much hoping Billy has got to a point where he doesn't miss every second season injured and they Lewie can come on in leaps and bounds.

Agree that Longer is at the top of the pecking order right now but he's far from a lock. Pierce has a long way to go but his second ever senior game was as good as Longer's best few efforts in his 65 game career. If Pierce improves and Longer stagnates then there's every chance that Pierce overtakes him.

Against Essendon we played a Pierce/Marshall combo that was very effective

Pierce: 18 disposals (6 contested), 5 marks (2 contested), 27 hitouts, 2 tackles
Marshall: 14 disposals (6 contested), 7 marks (2 contested), 13 hitouts, 1 goal

Bellchambers: 13 disposals, 3 marks, 25 hitouts (lone ruck)

If that kind of return could become the norm they would make a very strong ruck combo. I'd much prefer that to Longer getting his 8 disposals and 35 hitouts with Bruce/Acres/Lonie helping out in the ruck.