Bluemour Discussion Thread XVII - Coniglio means Rabbit in Italian!

We already have Docherty, Simpson, Newman. We only really need 2 (given guys like SPS, Williamson, Schumacher).

If he's cheap, fine. But we don't need any more HBFs.

These four and their value to us next year is most definitely questionable to say the least. One is old as you know what, one is coming off a double ACL, one has essentially been injured from day dot and the last one has played 1 game. We probably need more HBF's not less.

This query has already been addressed.

How many HBF's do you need? 2 IMO

At worst, we have demonstrated that Newman and SPS are both durable and talented, and suit the role. That is enough as a minimum.

Docherty, Simpson, Williamson, all could either get old and go down hill or get reinjured and go down hill. But I'm tipping at least one is OK under Russell. - Already a bonus.

Schumacher is our prospect with good upside. - A potential bonus.

I never said not to get the Tiges guy. I said only if on the cheap. We have scarce resources and need to use all of them to meet our pressing needs, being primarily 1-2 small forwards.

Will Brodie re-signed so he's out...

Until I see Daisy retire, I'm thinking he'll finish his career somewhere else. Still playing great footy and has more to give.

You've got to wonder if the Suns will pick up both Levi and Daisy for 2020. Would add some best 22 support and a couple of extra good blokes to their list.

Still makes me sad to think of both in another team's colours though :(

Was he ever in?

This Daisy retirement rumour has hit me right in the feels.

Haven't been this sad since all the girls snubbed poor Dustin at the Snowball Dance.

images

Yes I cried when Dusty cried, and I will cry when Daisy officially announces his departure. Feel comfortable enough in my masculinity to admit I often cry a lot. And not just over sad things ever, when Ash Barty won the US Open, tears of joy and pride ! She is a ripper of an Aussie Sporting Champ, our Ash.

They could probably do a whole series or two of Stranger Things based on some of the rumours and scuttlebutt on this forum.

Anyhow I also want to say to Soapy that you are a valued and well liked contributor to this board, and we all enjoy what you bring to the table. Very sorry to see that you have been unfairly maligned.

Thomas not having his contract extended smells a little fishy, are we clearing the decks for a big fish. I’m a big fan of Dale, I hope he gets another year but I hope that if we don’t offer him another, it’s because we have a replacement or plan lined up.

Why so much love for Darcy Cameron? Would Archie Smit not be a better option?
Cameron can’t get a game at Sydney, who are 15th with no number1 ruck ahead of him, whilst Smith is behind a really good ruck and playing in a side that’s challenging.

Does anyone have any thoughts on Smith vs Cameron?
Cameron is currently (or was) injured which is why he wasn't getting a game. He can ruck.

Archie Smith is shit.

Re: Daisy. Don't believe the comments that he is a good role model and example for younger players. 100% BS. If anything it's a concern. Also, the club wouldn't be getting rid of him if they didn't have a replacement or 2 ready to go

All these deals are to advance the club and make us a success again. The people in charge know what they are doing. In 2-3 months it will be easy to see why

Schumacher showed enough that - were he able to step up about 20% more - he'd be AFL capable. It didn't help that he played his first game against a flag contender, who demonstrably worked through his man. Now he knows the level, he has something to work towards.

Doc will come back; it remains to be seen if he can run at the same speed, change direction, etc, but realistically he doesn't need to. Before, his value wasn't solely in his possessions, it was in his read of the play and in his ability to see where the opposition were going to direct the ball, as well as being able to run our zone across the back six. Provided he can still leap at the ball, he can do most of what he did before, even if he loses a little bit of pace, because it was based of being able to read the play.

Simpson is definitely on his way out, but he's fine for another year provided he gets squeezed out. Willo's a wild card for me; he's going to have to do it the hard way now. Our back 6 is looking rather full at the moment, and for him to crack in there is not going to be easy.

I don't know that we need more HBF, more that we need to continue to draft smart footballers capable of transitioning to a HBF as they develop, if midfield or HFF isn't their go.

Re: Daisy. Don't believe the comments that he is a good role model and example for younger players. 100% BS. If anything it's a concern. Also, the club wouldn't be getting rid of him if they didn't have a replacement or 2 ready to go

All these deals are to advance the club and make us a success again. The people in charge know what they are doing. In 2-3 months it will be easy to see why
Are you able to share why?

Thomas playing really good football and seemingly being "retired".

Now Marchbank is an interesting one no one has really talked about. I believe he's out of contract and is yet to be signed which is unusual for someone who has been out for the season and been out for some time now.

Perhaps potentially on the trade table?

Seems like something is up.

Grundy is only a FA next year if he signs for one year only and I cannot see that happening under any rational circumstance. If we're going to get him it needs to be now.

I don't think we have the collateral to deal with Collingwood, even if we were prepared to offer this and next years firsts I doubt that they'd take a pick around 11 this year and next years (with Grundy and Coniglio) could very well be in the last 4.

If we're serious about him then I reckon we all need to steel ourselves to losing one of our most highly rated players.

Probably not even in our interest to push Collingwood beyond the 3 years reported if we have any hopes to get him in future.

Would absolutely do it for Grundy. In a heartbeat.

Got to prepare for life without our oldest players,
This Daisy retirement rumour has hit me right in the feels.

Haven't been this sad since all the girls snubbed poor Dustin at the Snowball Dance.

images

Yes I cried when Dusty cried, and I will cry when Daisy officially announces his departure. Feel comfortable enough in my masculinity to admit I often cry a lot. And not just over sad things ever, when Ash Barty won the US Open, tears of joy and pride ! She is a ripper of an Aussie Sporting Champ, our Ash.

They could probably do a whole series or two of Stranger Things based on some of the rumours and scuttlebutt on this forum.

Anyhow I also want to say to Soapy that you are a valued and well liked contributor to this board, and we all enjoy what you bring to the table. Very sorry to see that you have been unfairly maligned.
What the hell is that?! :huh:

If we have issues with rumor bringers copping abuse then the answer is simple.

Change the forum rules to protect people bringing rumors from abuse.

Suspend accounts who break these rules for a bit. Make it a non-negotiable.

Personally I like hearing rumors. I have no issues with whether rumors come to fruition or not. I don't care whether rumors are likable or unrealistic. I think the rumors are the best thing about this forum and that rumor bringers should be encouraged and protected regardless of the quality or likability of the rumor.

I don't think taking away people's ability to abuse posters about rumors takes anything away from the forum in fact I think it adds to it.

This is something for the mods to consider when reviewing the forum rules.

Jsos thinks Daisy is a brilliant on and off-field leader and one of Murphys best friends.

If we have issues with rumor bringers copping abuse then the answer is simple.

Change the forum rules to protect people bringing rumors from abuse.

Suspend accounts who break these rules for a bit. Make it a non-negotiable.

Personally I like hearing rumors. I have no issues with whether rumors come to fruition or not. I don't care whether rumors are likable or unrealistic. I think the rumors are the best thing about this forum and that rumor bringers should be encouraged and protected regardless of the quality or likability of the rumor.

I don't think taking away people's ability to abuse posters about rumors takes anything away from the forum in fact I think it adds to it.

This is something for the mods to consider when reviewing the forum rules.
I'm struggling to figure out when scepticism and questioning became abuse. Don't think they fall under the category to be honest. It's a discussion forum, some people take a disagreement as abuse a bit too readily.

On Daisy.
Yeah we have come to love the bloke. It took time. two seasons back people wanted him lynched.
No doubt he can still play the game at the highest standard when fit.
But every single year players stop. Usually and hopefully before they hit the sudden onset of being swamped by faster younger blokes or injuries.
A list manager has to look at that and understand the decline often comes fast usually half way through that one last season too many and if these likely eventualities are ignored the whole team depth suffers.

Yes but that doesn't address the fundamental problem.
Its not Soapy's or anyone elses rumour that causes an issue, nor is it if or when an apology is asked for. (Which by the way shouldnt have to be asked for because it should be automatic.)
It's what was said to the rumour bringer.
It comes down to some basic decent human ethics and behaviour. This problem is increasing right across society as the idea of being anonymous emboldens people. Coupled with the eroding away of self respect, humility, and dignity.
The maxim for life ought to be this

If what someone has to say to another person is not going to improve their experience of being alive. Then keep your mouth shut.

And now I will shut up........
Fair enough. Not gonna argue with you anyway, I enjoy your posting efforts the vast majority of the time and it feels like this stuff just ends up circular.

Would love to hear a bit more about this, Soap - if I recall correctly he was highlighted as a fantastic influence on the kids earlier in the rebuild. Has something changed, or was the public impression always inaccurate?

Also, if I remember right, you had him getting cut at the end or 2017, again at the end of 2018, and now it looks like it's finally happening in 2019. I'm not sure what to make of that, whether your rating of him as a player was just significantly different to the club's, or if circumstances made cutting him an unattractive option for the club despite "known" issues.