The state of the Giants and Suns

Dunno man. If one of your plans is "make guys we draft have to stay longer contractually" is a plan to be competitive, you probably should be looking internally whats at fault.
Exactly.

Funny hearing all the sooking from Cochrane and co about players leaving over the years.

They’re not doing it for no reason. Gold Coast isn’t the footy city Melbourne is but it’s not some s**t hole place with nothing going for it.

They’ve been a disgracefully run club with horrible leaders, blown draft picks and blown player development and injury management leading to poor results.

Tom Lynch their only real star player drafted and by the time he was in his prime there was nobody left to kick to
him. O’Meara was on his way to stardom then injury struck and they couldn’t get him right.

O’Meara, Lynch, Caddy etc didn’t just get drafted and leave instantly. They wasted years of their careers there.

Until they show they can start building a list and having it improve like GWS’ did they will lose players after they’ve been there a few years. Footy players have a finite amount of time to achieve success. They’re not going to hang around at a poorly run club hoping it will change.

Ablett got injured in rd 16 2014.

The Suns lost in Rd 11, 12,13, 15.
Thats 4 losses from 5 in games in which he played.
In Rd 15 they lost by 53. Ablett had 45 disposals in that game!

So yeah nah. Some revisionist history there.
They were clearly OFF track before Ablett got injured.

9-6 with a percentage of 101.5% up to Round 16. 1-6 with a percentage of 78% after his injury.

The four losses you speak of were Adelaide away, West Coast away by 3 points, and the two grand finalists (Sydney and Hawthorn). They beat the top 4 Cats by 40 points in Round 14.

So I think it’s you with the revisionist history baloney

9-6 with a percentage of 101.5% up to Round 16. 1-6 with a percentage of 78% after his injury.

The four losses you speak of were Adelaide away, West Coast away by 3 points, and the two grand finalists (Sydney and Hawthorn). They beat the top 4 Cats by 40 points in Round 14.

So I think it’s you with the revisionist history baloney
Baloney.
They lost 4 out of Ablett's last 5 in 2014.
So like most years. They fell apart at the half way point of the season.
Its standard Suns. Ablett or no Ablett.
They go ok for the first half and then fall off a cliff.

I suppose you think they were 'on track' for finals in 2019 until Sean Lemmens was injured? They were going ok until then....

To be fair Gold Coast was ahead of schedule early days. GWS made finals in season 5 (2016), Gold Coast were well on track in season 4 (2014) before the Ablett injury.

Then the midfield of 2014 that was so young and imposing (Ablett - 30, Bennell - 22, Prestia - 22, Swallow - 22, O’Meara - 20) never got close to playing together again.

Bennell - 15 games in 2015 then traded to Fremantle
Prestia - 8 games in 2015, 14 games in 2016 then traded to Richmond
O’ Meara - 0 games in 2015 & 2016 then traded to Hawthorn
Ablett - 6 games in 2015, 14 games in 2016, 14 games in 2017 then traded back to Geelong
Swallow - 6 games in 2015, 0 games in 2016, has stayed at GC but isn’t the same player he was pre-injuries

And it’s been rebuild after rebuild ever since
They were assembled with immediate success in mind.

How is it 'laughable' when as you just tell us - we havent missed finals for 10 years?

GC have been in the comp 10 years and never made finals.

In fact in 2019 both the Suns and the Titans finished dead last.

So not sure what you are laughing at. We are polar opposites to the Suns. As you say yourself.

Why compare a clubs fourth decade with another club’s first?

This is Gold Coast’s eighth season in the AFL and as an expansion team have had to compete with a far greater number of teams (including another expansion team and a second AFL team an hour down the road).

In their eleventh season in the VFL the Swans has 3.5 wins, in their twelfth season they had one win and in their thirteenth season had four wins. Many of the arguments you are running now were being run against the swans back then.

Can you taste the hypocrisy dripping from your thoughts on this issue?

Regards

S. Pete

Why compare a clubs 4th decade with another club’s first?

This is Gold Coast’s eighth season in the AFL and as an expansion team have had to compete with a far greater number of teams (including another expansion team and a second AFL team an hour down the road).

In their eleventh season in the VFL the Swans has 3.5 wins, in their twelfth season they had one win and in their thirteenth season had four wins. Many of the arguments you are running now were being run against the swans back then.

Can you taste the hypocrisy dripping from your thoughts on this issue?

Regards

S. Pete
He started watching footy in 2005

Don’t feel as though draft concessions will help. No point giving them More kids who will just want out. There has to be a way to give them salary concessions for experienced players. Say 15% extra cap for the next 3-5 years only on new players aged 27+. Hopefully these experienced players can help change the culture of the club

Do tell..

He took a s**t on Hayden Ballantyne?

He was pretty much dominating Pav at metricon but had to come off quickly and disappear to the toilet, Pav kicked 3 in a few mins and I think McKenna said it cost or nearly cost them the game because he had to duck down for #2s. He called it the "costly 3 goal poo"

Did starting at Gold Coast ruin the careers of Jaegar O’Meara, Tom Lynch or Dion Prestia? The hyperbole that Gold Coast are actively blunting young players astounds me, and not only that, it’s a huge double standard.

Talented players constantly leaving is one of the biggest reasons Gold Coast are in the mire, and until this is rectified they’ll continue to be tethered to the bottom.

The audacity of supporters of established clubs to suggest the Gold Coast shouldn’t be helped out - despite the fact their own clubs get bailed out by the AFL - is laughable.
It’s ok to help the suns out but at some point for the fairness of a competition it needs to stop this talk about Gold Coast draftees being made to go on longer contracts is strait up restraint of trade and would not stand up if tested in court !

I’m not talking specifically about the proposal to increase first-time contracts to three years, but the general notion young players careers are being jeopardised by being drafted there. Many young players have signed on recently, and even guys like JOM, Lynch and Prestia lasted longer than their initial contacts.

Players like Scrimshaw are the exception, and not the rule.

Don’t feel as though draft concessions will help. No point giving them More kids who will just want out. There has to be a way to give them salary concessions for experienced players. Say 15% extra cap for the next 3-5 years only on new players aged 27+. Hopefully these experienced players can help change the culture of the club
I think you give Gold Coast a package of picks but then say that they have to be traded for players in the league with a minimum of three years experience.

Would that work?

The Gold Coast situation is dire, the AFL can't sit on their hands this off season. If they really want to test if this experiment can work up there they need to get the club going asap, they need solid players asap.

How is it 'laughable' when as you just tell us - we havent missed finals for 10 years?

The Swans had a Cost of Living Allowance until the end of 2016.

The Swans had a reduced $800,000 bonus for 2015 and $600,000 for 2016, while the COLA was being phased out. Gold Coast hAve had no salary cap extra allowance since 2014, when it was $400,000. The Suns joined the AFL in 2011.

I think you give Gold Coast a package of picks but then say that they have to be traded for players in the league with a minimum of three years experience.

Would that work?

Probably not as few established players are going to agree to trades, which means you end up with GC overpaying second and third tier players and other clubs getting good picks for them.

Cheers for the details, doesn't make for great reading. Bock was a gun, that leg was terrible. Did you hear the story about Bock and his toilet break against Freo? Hilarious stuff.

What's the story with Cordy?
i hadn't heard about that bock story, pretty funny!

we poached cordy from the bulldogs, he was hyped up to be one of the best in the nation in his role, especially when we'd consistently had troubles with our injuries & fitness. he was front and centre for a bunch of club interviews for a while, i even remember at one of the member nights midseason he was a speaker and got hounded a bit during a q&a as nothing seemed to be improving. those member nights usually get called when we are getting whallopped mid season and they hold it to try explain and calm everyone down a bit and instill a bit of hope haha.

This article pretty much confirms the Suns will get both picks 1 and 2 in this year's draft and I think it is a a rare form of common sense from the AFL.

If they can get a good haul with the Martin and Ah Chee trades, they have a pretty good foundation to relaunch their club.

Hey WillHayward - Swans were a disgrace.

On this day, 28 August, in 1992. Sydney played Richmond at the SCG on a Friday night in front of less than 7,500 people where the loser of this game would be condemned to the wooden spoon. Not dissimilar to the crowd the suns just got in last game of this season.

Here is the game in full.

Look at all those empty seats...

This article pretty much confirms the Suns will get both picks 1 and 2 in this year's draft and I think it is a a rare form of common sense from the AFL.

If they can get a good haul with the Martin and Ah Chee trades, they have a pretty good foundation to relaunch their club.
But it's just another case of a few high picks come in and a few high picks go out.

Not sure that more kids are the answer for Gold Coast. They desperately need to be competitive next year.

I reckon they should get a 10% salary cap boost for 3 or 4 years to re-launch, with that phasing out once they're back on track.

Martin and now Ah Chee are packing their bags. This is just the thing that will ensure GC get the PP, it's a certainty and clubs know it, they've all adjusted their draft boards to have Rowell and Anderson headed for the Suns.

Melbourne pushed back to three will be spewing, particularly after the 2019 disaster.

The AFL will need to have a package that does a lot more than just pick 1. Expect a lot more cap space to add $200k/season to offers for multiple quality players who are looking to move clubs, may even have compo picks dished out by the AFL to assist movement. The package will be significant and cause a lot of rethinking by players and clubs.