List Mgmt. 2019 Trade Thread - Part III

Not sure tassy would excite young kids to stay if Gold Coast can’t. Matter of fact I reckon they would be out of their quickly

Big crowds, passionate supporters and being recognised and idolised in public, would be what a lot of young players are looking for that they they aren’t getting in the Gold Coast.

As opposed to being a professional athlete in a town where nobody gives a **** about you.

What about a better balanced side that might win a lot more games. That will bring in everything you said and more.

Not sure how he makes our list unbalanced when you consider McCartin and Brown are both likely finished. Bruce basically gone.

That’s 3 key position players gone.

Yes we bring in Ryder, but he’s definitely a ruckman first before he’s a forward. And he probably has two years in him.

Roberton no certainty to continue. Joyce, Austin and Clavarino all still yet to establish themselves.

Big crowds, passionate supporters and being recognised and idolised in public, would be what a lot of young players are looking for that they they aren’t getting in the Gold Coast.
Get one player to 100 games and the entire island qualifies for father son.

As opposed to being a professional athlete in a town where nobody gives a fu** about you.
Big crowds? Grounds only hold 16k. Hobart isn’t really on young persons city. They will get bored very quickly.

Not sure how he makes our list unbalanced when you consider McCartin and Brown are both likely finished. Bruce basically gone.

That’s 3 key position players gone.

Yes we bring in Ryder, but he’s definitely a ruckman first before he’s a forward. And he probably has two years in him.

Roberton no certainty to continue. Joyce, Austin and Clavarino all still yet to establish themselves.

But our midfield is much worse than our talls.

Big crowds? Grounds only hold 16k. Hobart isn’t really on young persons city. They will get bored very quickly.
Yet bennell decided to travel to Hobart for strippers and coke. When he already was living on the Gold Coast.

Sometimes it ain't always as it seems....

Who would trade Billings for Ben King?

Based on news I got tonight it seems that Gold Coast will.

At least the Sun's are talking to us about Ben, that's a good start.
God I really don't like the idea of trading Gresh or Billings. Not at all.

Surely we can find another way?

Happy to Drive Billings to GSC along with Sinclair for Bing and their pick 20

Better start praying because it’s looking like we’re going to need some Divine Intervention ..... ( certainly nothing coming for us from the afl itself). 😉

When I was a kid I prayed every night for a new bike. Then I learned the Lord doesn't work that way so I stole one and prayed for forgiveness instead.

#StealBing

Lethlean mentioned during the season multiple times we need to get our average age up to 25 and average games played up to 100 as quick as possible because teams contending/playing finals generally have that type of profile.

I see targeting Hill, Gray, Jones is all to help that process along as quick as possible instead of fielding half a team with under 50 games experience each week. Then Ryder is because of the lack of ruck options.
Getting experienced 26 year old spuds in to make the list profile look a bit closer to Geelongs on paper isn’t going to get us there... sounds like a disastrous plan to me.

I’m assuming infrastructure would be upgraded but 16,000 passionate fans would create a much better atmosphere than Gold Coast currently.

I’d also be okay with reducing the number of teams again.

Regardless, the Tassie point wasn’t really my main point. The AFL cocked up and I would prefer they just own the mistake and abandon the idea.

Nope. Billings is playing very well, King is largely unknown. Talented and highly rated, but has only played a handful of games.

I’m assuming infrastructure would be upgraded but 16,000 passionate fans would create a much better atmosphere than Gold Coast currently.

I’d also be okay with reducing the number of teams again.
Unfortunately that would probably mean us gone. The tv money Gold Coast being inthe afl helps us get 20 million a year off the afl.

Apart from gresh the other smalls can’t play mid. Gray certainly can for periods. That’s the only logic I can come up with.

When we got Kent I’m pretty sure he expected/ was told he’d get to have more midfield time. Is he capable of that because I’m not all that impressed by what I’ve seen so far. Was also supposed to be a very good kick for goal but he obviously caught our goal kicking malaise.

I think if they get one then so should we.

I think the big issue here is there's no transparent criteria. It's purely subjective. Which makes it prone to rorting like now.

I think it'd help us. Player retention isn't our issue. Our problem is draft and development. I think there are two different problems here. At least it we fu** the pick we know it's because we are no good at picking and developing talent like Melbourne.

Ours is probably harder to fix than retention to be honest which makes the whole idea of handing them more draft picks even more puzzling.

Like if retention is the issue then why not just financially reward them for staying on? Make it outside the cap so they don't get cap squeeze by finding the level at which people will stay.
I actually think two things. I think that we don't deserve a priority pick, and I also think what GC have been given today isn't enough to help them anyway. They got access to 15 picks in 2010 and it's done nothing for them. They've been given an extra 4 picks today. I doubt it will seriously improve them. Zones are nice but apparently the NT will no longer have a U18 team. I think they deserved help though, they are in real trouble and not just on field performance. They are in a state that already has an established (and now playing well) team, not to mention it's a rugby state. It was always going to be difficult for the Suns, in a way I'm not surprised they have struggled but they do deserve more help.

Also I think it's important to note that the AFL could've handed compensation to two clubs in the same year. It's not like they had to choose between us and GC. So what it also tells me is that they are confident that we have good people in charge and trust we are a strong enough club to improve without anymore of their assistance...something I've been trying to tell people on here for years. I think as St.Kilda supporters we overblow when results on-field are poor. I mean we aren't even getting talked about in the media as being hard done by by NOT getting compensation and we have plenty of St.Kilda people who could voice that concern. It actually gives me confidence that we are on the up.

I would be pi**ed off if the AFL did it to an established AFL club as opposed to a plastic entity that was born out of an AFL corporate desire to try and dominate nationally and move into traditional rugby territory. To a team that has been around for less than a decade in a transient city that has struggled to make a success of any sporting team established there. People just aren’t interested in following it there and AFL players it seems aren’t that interested in staying there.

I’m all for moving them to tassie as opposed to continually giving Gold Coast support to the detriment of others.

But the egos at AFL house won’t consider it I don’t think.

Your definition of thriving league to me is completely unachievable. Don’t ever see a season beginning where anyone is a realistic chance of winning the flag. Can’t think of any professional sporting league where that is the case.

It will get closer though if the AFL adds 2 more clubs and dilutes the talent pool even further though. So it will be more competitive but to the detriment of the game.

It just s**ts me that you have a governing body sitting over a sport that has been around for decades and they can just meddle with it whimsically.

This priority pick debarcle is happening due to a corporate mistake to try and expand to a stupid geographic location.
OK can understand your point re GC relocating but if people on here think we deserve a priority pick then they also think we are in the mire which would mean we're in same territory as GC. It could be us being relocated, we should be happy we aren't in the priority pick discussion because it means we are doing a few things right and the AFL can see where we're headed.

In regards to thriving league then yeah it's definitely achievable. Have a look at the NFL. No team has gone back-to-back in 20 years. New England are the only team that is consistently up there. Apart from that there's a different team(s) in the Super Bowl every single year. Teams play a 16 game season and one year they'll finish on 4 wins, the next year 12. It's the hardest sport on the planet to predict and a lot of it has to do with how well the NFL fixtures the season. They've corrected loopholes like teams tanking by playing the most important games at the end of the year to stop teams resting players or throwing games. If the AFL took a leaf out of their book (which I'm 100% sure they've been doing, or trying to do) then we'd see a better spectacle IMO.

I'm not saying every team goes into a season thinking they'll win the premiership, but every team should go into every season believing they are a realistic chance at playing finals.

I think Bing's career will be better, billings should be AA next year minimum if he wants to be in the top bracket, so far he's underwhelmed. But who knows what he will achieve next year (if he learns to keep his feet).

Unfortunately that would probably mean us gone. The tv money Gold Coast being inthe afl helps us get 20 million a year off the afl.

Why? Due to the number of games played per year? Or per weekend? Am sure they could find ways around it.

If that is the case then it’s another massive balls up by the AFL, entering into a contract that needs to be propped up by a bastard child creation.

Main point - a beautiful game is being ruined by an overarching body that has too much power and ability to meddle. Do you agree with that?

Happy to Drive Billings to GSC along with Sinclair for Bing and their pick 20
If we’re going to make this Bing Thing happen then we’re gonna have to do it with picks.

Can’t see any of our young talented kids agreeing to go there regardless of how favourably some fans may view various theoretical trades.

I think the rugby state thing gets over played somewhat. The football participation numbers in QLD are higher than SA and Tasmania combined.

Paul Roos assessment is spot on. If they think 4 players is going to fix it then the AFL are delusional.

Financial incentives to stay would have been far more effective. But that means the AFL put their hand into their own pocket. Also means no feedback mechanism to the power club's. So it won't be liked.

Paul Roos and Gordon are spot on.

How long do you think it takes us to play finals? What about top 4 to give it a crack?

EDIT: for some reason it lost George's post. Sorry mate.

The NFL is an interesting one. Maybe we should open up free agency further and remove the salary cap flooring. Put it an even fixture. Then share the revenue.