to get you have to give
nothing is for free and no reason for Geelong to feel a sense of entitlement
Tom Lynch.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
to get you have to give
nothing is for free and no reason for Geelong to feel a sense of entitlement
Did you feel adequately compensated for Kelly last year?I think its one of those deals where both clubs are giving/getting a bit more/less than they want so its probably fair.
Freo are basically fire sale on hogan so they cant expect more than that.
Did you feel adequately compensated for Kelly last year?
Having said that the actual trade netted Sam De Koening, Jeremy Sharpe, Cam Teheny and a late 1st round pick this year that will be as high as 20 even with the with the Eagles laying an egg this year. Plus they have our 3rd from this year.
It sounds a lot better to quote picks on paper and Big Footy and then add the ridiculous Mayo Gold Coast added on later which has now just morphed into the trade with hindsight.
All of a sudden Tim Kellyis already off to a one lap lead.PLAYERCARDSTART11Tim Kelly
- Ht
- 184cm
- Wt
- 83kg
- Pos.
- M/F
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 5star
- K
- 5star
- HB
- 5star
- M
- 3star
- T
- 5star
- CL
- 5star
- D
- 5star
- K
- 5star
- HB
- 4star
- M
- 3star
- T
- 5star
- CL
- 4star
- D
- 5star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 5star
- M
- 3star
- T
- 5star
- CL
- 5star
PLAYERCARDEND
Did you feel adequately compensated for Kelly last year?
Is my math wrongTo clarify my last comment i felt kelly was worth 2 firsts on his form at the time since they were always likely to be in the teens (they turned out to be 16 and 15). The 37 we got (which we forwarded to adelaide) was cancelled out by the 2 R3s we sent back so i thought we got overs to the value of pick 24 (trade was 16 15 24 and 37 for kelly and 2 R3s). Now i think cameron is worth more than kelly as key forwards are harder to find but on the other hand he is 2 years older so on balance i think their trade value isnt too dissimilar. So id mark cameron at 2 picks in the teens plus a steak knives level player. I suppose the two issis mues there are what both sides define a steak knives player as and whether any such player is willing to be traded. If not id probably peg it at 2 firsts and a second for cameron and say a late pick (3rd or 4th) or aeound that mark. But who knows what the clubs will do.
Kelly was traded 1 year ago, so Cameron traded this year (1 year older + 1 year later) = 2 years older when traded.Is my math wrong
Tim Kellyborn July 1994PLAYERCARDSTART11Tim Kelly
- Ht
- 184cm
- Wt
- 83kg
- Pos.
- M/F
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 5star
- K
- 5star
- HB
- 5star
- M
- 3star
- T
- 5star
- CL
- 5star
- D
- 5star
- K
- 5star
- HB
- 4star
- M
- 3star
- T
- 5star
- CL
- 4star
- D
- 5star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 5star
- M
- 3star
- T
- 5star
- CL
- 5star
PLAYERCARDEND
Jeremy CameronApril 1993PLAYERCARDSTART5Jeremy Cameron
- Ht
- 196cm
- Wt
- 94kg
- Pos.
- Fwd
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 3star
- K
- 3star
- HB
- 3star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 4star
- G
- 5star
- D
- 3star
- K
- 3star
- HB
- 2star
- M
- 4star
- T
- 3star
- G
- 5star
- D
- 2star
- K
- 2star
- HB
- 3star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 4star
- G
- 5star
PLAYERCARDEND
How is it 2 years older ?
No worries. Just seen that trade misquoted over and over and over again and many are using this as a benchmark. In the end it will be for 1 pick under 20 being #16.Sook on your own board.
Is my math wrong
Tim Kellyborn July 1994PLAYERCARDSTART11Tim Kelly
- Ht
- 184cm
- Wt
- 83kg
- Pos.
- M/F
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 5star
- K
- 5star
- HB
- 5star
- M
- 3star
- T
- 5star
- CL
- 5star
- D
- 5star
- K
- 5star
- HB
- 4star
- M
- 3star
- T
- 5star
- CL
- 4star
- D
- 5star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 5star
- M
- 3star
- T
- 5star
- CL
- 5star
PLAYERCARDEND
Jeremy CameronApril 1993PLAYERCARDSTART5Jeremy Cameron
- Ht
- 196cm
- Wt
- 94kg
- Pos.
- Fwd
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 3star
- K
- 3star
- HB
- 3star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 4star
- G
- 5star
- D
- 3star
- K
- 3star
- HB
- 2star
- M
- 4star
- T
- 3star
- G
- 5star
- D
- 2star
- K
- 2star
- HB
- 3star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 4star
- G
- 5star
PLAYERCARDEND
How is it 2 years older ?
Jesus your arrogance is delicious and i desperately can’t wait to tag and re tag you each week when you are wrongNo worries. Just seen that trade misquoted over and over and over again and many are using this as a benchmark. In the end it will be for 1 pick under 20 being #16.
I’m sorry tag me now. You asked a question on whether compensation for Kelly was adequate. What part of the above is wrong? Aggoance for stating a fact?. The Kelly deal so often benchmarked in conversation about this Cameron trade will work out to be one pick under 20. None under 16. Fair or unfair that’s what it was.Jesus your arrogance is delicious and i desperately can’t wait to tag and re tag you each week when you are wrong
Perhaps you can clarify - are you saying the Kelly trade resulted in one pick under 20, or are you saying one pick under 20 is all that a Cameron trade would/should get?I’m sorry tag me now. You asked a question on whether compensation for Kelly was adequate. What part of the above is wrong? Aggoance for stating a fact?. The Kelly deal so often benchmarked in conversation about this Cameron trade will work out to be one pick under 20. None under 16. Fair or unfair that’s what it was.
Clearly the former.Perhaps you can clarify - are you saying the Kelly trade resulted in one pick under 20, or are you saying one pick under 20 is all that a Cameron trade would/should get?
No worries. Just seen that trade misquoted over and over and over again and many are using this as a benchmark. In the end it will be for 1 pick under 20 being #16.
Yep. There is at least 3 absolute locks and 3 50/50sYou’ve currently got 15 this year, do you think it’ll be pushed back that far?
So, I don't believe that Geelong will walk away from Jezza without exploring a bunch of trading options - they would have war-gamed various options including a match. Of course they'll have their 'break point' at which they'll pack it in, but there's at least going to be negotiation IMHO.
If we can't get Clark as a player, I'd like us to try for Alex Witherden. He has his limitations but I think given our loss of both Shaw & Williams he would be useful - as long as we don't break the bank for him. A three-way trade might look like:PLAYERCARDSTART23Alex Witherden
- Ht
- 188cm
- Wt
- 85kg
- Pos.
- Def
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 5star
- K
- 5star
- HB
- 4star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 4star
- MG
- 5star
- D
- 3star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 2star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 1star
- MG
- 3star
- D
- 5star
- K
- 5star
- HB
- 5star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 4star
- MG
- 5star
PLAYERCARDEND
Geelong: give up picks 13, 15 & Cockatoo
Brisbane: receive Cockatoo & 15, give up 18 & Witherden
GWS: give up Cameron, receive 13, 18 & Witherden.
(All picks obviously before any academy/FS/NGA pushbacks.)
That's the '2 first round picks & a player' that GWS has reportedly asked for out of Geelong, but Cockatoo would be more amenable to the Cats than Clark, Simpson, or de Koning.
The incoming to GWS is still '2 first round picks & a player', but Witherden is a better player than Cockatoo (IMHO) with a slightly worse first round pick.
The trick would be whether Brisbane would be happy with that deal - a 3 pick upgrade in the first round while also getting Cockatoo whom they reportedly want. IMHO that's not far off being reasonable, if Witherden was to decide to leave (we'd need to convince him that he's got a first grade spot locked up with us). Cockatoo is probably worth a third round pick, so the total value for Witherden is equivalent to early 30s. We could do a later pick swap to add further value.
To me, bringing in Hogan, Preuss & Witherden would meet the desire for players not just picks; while leaving us with 10, 13, 18 & 30 + Hately & Caldwell's recompense to play with, for 4 list spots (or 5 or 6 if we decided to delist guys like Sproule & Reid, which I doubt if we're concerned about experience). Plenty that we can juggle around.
Of course, I don't expect Geelong to like that proposal.![]()
So, I don't believe that Geelong will walk away from Jezza without exploring a bunch of trading options - they would have war-gamed various options including a match. Of course they'll have their 'break point' at which they'll pack it in, but there's at least going to be negotiation IMHO.
If we can't get Clark as a player, I'd like us to try for Alex Witherden. He has his limitations but I think given our loss of both Shaw & Williams he would be useful - as long as we don't break the bank for him. A three-way trade might look like:PLAYERCARDSTART23Alex Witherden
- Ht
- 188cm
- Wt
- 85kg
- Pos.
- Def
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 5star
- K
- 5star
- HB
- 4star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 4star
- MG
- 5star
- D
- 3star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 2star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 1star
- MG
- 3star
- D
- 5star
- K
- 5star
- HB
- 5star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 4star
- MG
- 5star
PLAYERCARDEND
That's the '2 first round picks & a player' that GWS has reportedly asked for out of Geelong, but Cockatoo would be more amenable to the Cats than Clark, Simpson, or de Koning.
The incoming to GWS is still '2 first round picks & a player', but Witherden is a better player than Cockatoo (IMHO) with a slightly worse first round pick.
The trick would be whether Brisbane would be happy with that deal - a 3 pick upgrade in the first round while also getting Cockatoo whom they reportedly want. IMHO that's not far off being reasonable, if Witherden was to decide to leave (we'd need to convince him that he's got a first grade spot locked up with us). Cockatoo is probably worth a third round pick, so the total value for Witherden is equivalent to early 30s. We could do a later pick swap to add further value.
To me, bringing in Hogan, Preuss & Witherden would meet the desire for players not just picks; while leaving us with 10, 13, 18 & 30 + Hately & Caldwell's recompense to play with, for 4 list spots (or 5 or 6 if we decided to delist guys like Sproule & Reid, which I doubt if we're concerned about experience). Plenty that we can juggle around.
Hogan you would think would be part of a deal with WCEGeelong would be fine with that we would like to keep cocky but i think we accepted a while ago he was out the door. But i doubt brisbane will be not least because witherden is contracted and cockatoo would be lucky to net us a R3 at best. I think they would want say a mid R2 and cockatoo to trade witherden and maybe a late pick with him..if he wants to go.
I like the idea of involving a third club though..im still wondering if we can send a player to melb or freo to unlock preuss or hogan for you and that might unlock the cameron deal.
That is what I am figuring will be the play. The only question is whether we wait until Jezza is gone, or do it anyway.Hogan you would think would be part of a deal with WCE
GWS : Send Zac Langdonto WCEPLAYERCARDSTART7Zac Langdon
- Ht
- 177cm
- Wt
- 81kg
- Pos.
- Fwd
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 2star
- K
- 1star
- HB
- 3star
- M
- 2star
- T
- 5star
- G
- 3star
- D
- 1star
- K
- 1star
- HB
- 2star
- M
- 1star
- T
- 4star
- G
- 3star
- D
- 2star
- K
- 2star
- HB
- 3star
- M
- 2star
- T
- 5star
- G
- 3star
PLAYERCARDEND
WCE : Send Pick#54 to FRE
FRE : Send Hogan to GWS
Pick number may drop down to the 40's if other trades are completed prior, however it's a salary dump / fire sale for Fremantle in which all risk is being handed over to us
You would assume it will be a slow few daysThat is what I am figuring will be the play. The only question is whether we wait until Jezza is gone, or do it anyway.
That’s a quality scenario tbhSo, I don't believe that Geelong will walk away from Jezza without exploring a bunch of trading options - they would have war-gamed various options including a match. Of course they'll have their 'break point' at which they'll pack it in, but there's at least going to be negotiation IMHO.
- Ht
- 188cm
- Wt
- 85kg
- Pos.
- Def
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 5star
- K
- 5star
- HB
- 4star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 4star
- MG
- 5star
- D
- 3star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 2star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 1star
- MG
- 3star
- D
- 5star
- K
- 5star
- HB
- 5star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 4star
- MG
- 5star
PLAYERCARDEND
Hogan you would think would be part of a deal with WCE
GWS : Send Zac Langdonto WCEPLAYERCARDSTART7Zac Langdon
- Ht
- 177cm
- Wt
- 81kg
- Pos.
- Fwd
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 2star
- K
- 1star
- HB
- 3star
- M
- 2star
- T
- 5star
- G
- 3star
- D
- 1star
- K
- 1star
- HB
- 2star
- M
- 1star
- T
- 4star
- G
- 3star
- D
- 2star
- K
- 2star
- HB
- 3star
- M
- 2star
- T
- 5star
- G
- 3star
PLAYERCARDEND
WCE : Send Pick#54 to FRE
FRE : Send Hogan to GWS
Pick number may drop down to the 40's if other trades are completed prior, however it's a salary dump / fire sale for Fremantle in which all risk is being handed over to us