25. Dean Kent - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Restricted and Unrestricted Free Agency Window
Friday October 1 – Friday October 8

Trade Period
Players: Monday October 4 – Wednesday October 13
Picks: Monday October 4 – tbc (approx. Friday November 19)

List Lodgement 1
tbc (approx. Thursday October 28)

Delisted Free Agency Window 1
tbc (approx. Friday October 29 - Monday November 8)

List Lodgement 2 (Final date for primary list delistings)
tbc (approx. Tuesday November 9)

Delisted Free Agency Window 2
tbc (approx. Wednesday November 10 - Friday November 19)

Last edited by a moderator:
losing Battle for a reasonable pick is a win
Depends what the future pick swaps are though. Battle and 59 for 14 is way overs, it may really affect our next years ability to get what we want if it is a Hill type pick swap.
I am looking at the bright shiney #14 but what will it really cost us, and I also like Battle

My god made a bit of sense there. Not sure about midfield first class, need a bit of work before they are Melbourne or Bulldog good but over all not a bad assessment

Here is some goss and don't @ me just got PM'ed this:

Battle and a fourth rounder to Brisbane for pick 14 with a swap of future picks. Don't know all the details but thats what I was told. Is it true? Well it is the silly season, but take it for what it is.
Hopefully Brisbane throw in their future first as well to even it out a bit. This is Josh Battle we're talking about.

Yeah feels a bit like that doesn't it. If there is legs in it I reckon we need at least the equilivent of a high second as well as Battle. usually the story with these are something like the club said 'how about Battle and our 3rd for your 14?' and the Lions would have said, nah thats fine and 'we might say what about some future pick swaps as well?' and the Lions say 'work it out and get back to us' and we don't hear anything again.

Would love it to happen, but sounds a stretch.

Not many. Riewoldt and Goddard are about the only two.

Rowell was a dead set certainty but has now come back to the pack now.

Walsh still probably the best, and most likely to remain there.

I don't know if JUH's ranking has dropped this year, but draft watchers were describing this guy as Buddy Franklin into Wayne Carey, and he just did not look up to the mark and wasn't trusted to perform in a team with a dominant midfield and a shortage of forward firepower. I'm not writing him off, but take long term forecasts of draftees with a massive grain of salt.

My god made a bit of sense there. Not sure about midfield first class, need a bit of work before they are Melbourne or Bulldog good but over all not a bad assessment

Battle and a fourth rounder to Brisbane for pick 14 with a swap of future picks. Don't know all the details but thats what I was told. Is it true? Well it is the silly season, but take it for what it is.
The devil is in the detail but that would be massive for us Imo. Battle isn’t in our best 22 and I can’t see how he plays except through injuries so the player and both clubs get a win.

I‘ve been watching the dunstan debate for days, his nose is out of joint and he wants to leave so end of story really but for what’s it’s worth goodbye and good luck. Luke wasn’t playing because he simply isn’t good enough in the only role suitable to his skill set. This isn’t like watching Ben long and wondering why or what if, with Luke after 8 seasons and 100 plus games we know exactly why and a few good games changes nothing.

Matt Rendell's List Management Assessment of St.Kilda:
  • Blew it this year, after having a really poor preseason
  • Too much time spent on tactics, not enough on getting fit
  • Weren't fit enough to continue the same game style as 2020
  • Big loss was Gresham and Paton, Clark out hurt
  • Midfield is first class
  • Hill needs to lift, McKenzie had a really good year
  • Reckons West Coast were the same, lacking fitness
  • Balance of the list is generally pretty good
  • Only structural issue is the backline - heavy reliance on Dougal
  • Wilkie and Highmore did a super job, but really need a key back
  • We looked better with Jones fit and healthy - named the barometer
  • Reckons we should be going after Talia as a DFA for two years until you can get someone in
  • We should climb right back up the ladder - quite bullish on us tbh
SOS chimes in:
  • Our pressure dropped off, named Butler but wasn't the only one
  • Need to get more out of Clark and Coffield as high picks
  • A bit disjointed at times because of availability
  • Just as bullish on our hopes for next season

pretty much spot on

Where do I sign?
Seriously it depends on the level of the swaps and how it may affect future plans obviously, but we got him for pick 39 if I recall correctly.
I like Battle, just not sure where he fits in for us.

Interesting take. Half way through the second quarter we were destroying them. I remember thinking we could win the game by 100 points. Then they got on top of us. Not sure what happened but it was a major turning point for our season.

We stopped and got ahead of ourselves by playing lazy footy. We played some great halves of footy in most games in 2021. Great halves don't win full games.
That said, I'm expecting a much stronger team in 2022. There's enough to be optimistic about. Team should be more cohesive and settled, draft well, develop better...get Batch to focus the players heads (bloke is underrated I think) and we'll make finals again. I don't think we'll do much come the finals...but you never know. A decent injury run will help. Most of it though is above the shoulders. A wake up call to plodders like Billings & Ross may be the spark the team needs to lift. Mediocrity shouldn't and must not be tolerated.

Really going to go here? Cherry picking at it's finest!

Crouch played 20 games this year with seven games under 25 disposals. Steele played 22 games with five games under 25 disposals.

17 disp with 5 clangers round 19
21 disp with 9 clangers round 10
18 disp with 5 clangers round 6
15 disp with 4 clangers round 3

Gresham 2020 played 11 games with seven of those under 19 disposals. Steele played 19 games with three games under 21 disposals.

10 disp - 3 clangers - round 4
13 disp - 4 clangers - round 5
17 disp - 6 clangers - round 6

Dunstan played 12 games this year with three games under 25 disposals. Steele played 22 games with five games under 25 disposals.

16 disp - 5 clangers - round 5
18 disp - 4 clangers - round 19
20 disp - 8 clangers - round 22

Steele 2021 disposal efficiency 70.7 averaging 29.1 disposals
Crouch 2021 disposal efficiency 65.5 averaging 26.4 disposals
Dunstan 2021 disposal efficiency 66.0 averaging 25.2 disposals

Steele 2020 disposal efficiency 71.0 averaging 21.9 disposals
Gresham 2020 disposal efficiency 58.8 averaging 17.6 disposals

According to the nuffie brigade, Greshams an A grader, Crouch gets a pass, Dunstan is a spud while Steele is an AA champion.

Bytel and Clarke get a pass due to age, games played. Ross no point, he's barely AFL standard.

This is akin to the 2014 draft thread on this forum if anyone wants to search for it. The jumping for joy when we took McCartin first.... lol and wow. Me sad face, just reading it!
Mate anyone who has watched games over the last few years knows that Gresham and Crouch are better players than Dunstan. The fact that we are comparing Dunstan in one of his best years to Crouch’s first year in a new team and Greshams injury ridden last couple seasons is a farce. Crouch won a club BF in one of the best teams in the Comp at the time.
Bottom line is that Dunstan isnt going to get better, Crouch can go ti another level and Gresham had the potential to be one of the best mid/forwards in the comp. greshams kicking is atrocious but he has a point of difference compared to Dunstan

You'd take that and run

I reckon it would have to be closer to Battle and a future 2nd rounder though unfortunately

Matt Rendell's List Management Assessment of St.Kilda:
  • Blew it this year, after having a really poor preseason
  • Too much time spent on tactics, not enough on getting fit
  • Weren't fit enough to continue the same game style as 2020
  • Big loss was Gresham and Paton, Clark out hurt
  • Midfield is first class
  • Hill needs to lift, McKenzie had a really good year
  • Reckons West Coast were the same, lacking fitness
  • Balance of the list is generally pretty good
  • Only structural issue is the backline - heavy reliance on Dougal
  • Wilkie and Highmore did a super job, but really need a key back
  • We looked better with Jones fit and healthy - named the barometer
  • Reckons we should be going after Talia as a DFA for two years until you can get someone in
  • We should climb right back up the ladder - quite bullish on us tbh
SOS chimes in:
  • Our pressure dropped off, named Butler but wasn't the only one
  • Need to get more out of Clark and Coffield as high picks
  • A bit disjointed at times because of availability
  • Just as bullish on our hopes for next season

Can't believe I'm saying this, but he's spot on. Fitness in particular (or lack of it) was evident in the first half of the season. Just seemed like we didn't have the fitness base to play the fast, break-neck speed type of game style that we played in 2020. Also, we had far too many soft tissue injuries which again is linked to our lack of fitness.

Really bullish being the 15th team he's named to make the 8 next year. Onwards and upwards!

In fairness, Rendell may be clueless on a lot of topics but he does seem to have a good understanding of our list that most in the media don't have. Hard to argue with many of the points he made about our list and needs.

I think he's the only media commentator that's actually discovered that our list is only old and experienced because we have a bunch of old blokes as back ups outside of Ryder.

Outside of Ryder I think Membrey/Hill would be the oldest blokes in out best 27/28

I think he's the only media commentator that's actually discovered that our list is only old and experienced because we have a bunch of old blokes as back ups outside of Ryder.

Outside of Ryder I think Membrey/Hill would be the oldest blokes in out best 27/28
Our list isn’t old and experienced now that Frawley, McKernan, Carlisle and Robbo have retired!

The devil is in the detail but that would be massive for us Imo. Battle isn’t in our best 22 and I can’t see how he plays except through injuries so the player and both clubs get a win.

I‘ve been watching the dunstan debate for days, his nose is out of joint and he wants to leave so end of story really but for what’s it’s worth goodbye and good luck. Luke wasn’t playing because he simply isn’t good enough in the only role suitable to his skill set. This isn’t like watching Ben long and wondering why or what if, with Luke after 8 seasons and 100 plus games we know exactly why and a few good games changes nothing.
I don't recall saying good luck..

I like Battle lots, but I’d take that deal every day of the week.

Mate anyone who has watched games over the last few years knows that Gresham and Crouch are better players than Dunstan. The fact that we are comparing Dunstan in one of his best years to Crouch’s first year in a new team and Greshams injury ridden last couple seasons is a farce. Crouch won a club BF in one of the best teams in the Comp at the time.
Bottom line is that Dunstan isnt going to get better, Crouch can go ti another level and Gresham had the potential to be one of the best mid/forwards in the comp. greshams kicking is atrocious but he has a point of difference compared to Dunstan
Not sure if being better or worse than Crouch is relevant.

The real question is whether next year Dunstan would have been a better or worse option than Gresh (who has to recover from an injury far worse than an ACL) or the yet to be proven Bytel.

Its all a bit irrelevant anyway because the Coach effectively cut him loose at the start of the year so he is gone, never to return.

If Ratten had of been smarter we could of still been in a position to offer Dunstan a very cheap contract if he found out he wasn't wanted anywhere else.

Not sure if being better or worse than Crouch is relevant.

The real question is whether next year Dunstan would have been a better or worse option than Gresh (who has to recover from an injury far worse than an ACL) or the yet to be proven Bytel.

Its all a bit irrelevant anyway because the Coach effectively cut him loose at the start of the year so he is gone, never to return.

If Ratten had of been smarter we could of still been in a position to offer Dunstan a very cheap contract if he found out he wasn't wanted anywhere else.
Probably still could if Dunny makes a prime time apology to the club in his underpants.