List Mgmt. 2021 Young Talent Time

It is a shot at getting an elite extractor to pair up with Darcy (even if it takes a year or two). It would really allow the chance to get maximum value from any ruck dominance, ala Barlow transforming Sandi's work in 2010.

Except Barlow at 190cm would eat Hobbs for breakfast.

I can't seriously believe we are considering Hobbs. He might be a good player, but he's too small/similar to team up with Brayshaw and Serong. Look at the problem Essendon have created by making a midfield of Parish, Merrett, McGrath and Shiel. They are good players, but they are too small as a group.

Richmond being sandwiched between our picks means both clubs are probably playing silly buggers with the hope of getting the other one to fall for the bluff.

Hopefully Hawthorn draft Ward, and then we are guaranteed two out of Amiss, Johnson and Erasmus.

Well I don't think they would grab a player to spite us if it isn't someone they want, but I should have specified who we'd take with our first pick. Given the distance to their next pick, it's much more incumbent on Richmond to keep who they want from us in the cone of silence.
That's true, good point, its more applicable the other way around

If they really want hobbs, and think we’ll take him, they could offer a pick swap to move up one place, and throw in a second to sweeten it.
it’s all a question on who blinks, and who bluffs
If we really are going to trade our pick 21 that could also be in play.

8 and 21
For
9 and their first 2 seconds.

Works if we are not fixated on Hobbs and they are. It may get us the best possible deal for 21.

I can't seriously believe we are considering Hobbs. He might be a good player, but he's too small/similar to team up with Brayshaw and Serong. Look at the problem Essendon have created by making a midfield of Parish, Merrett, McGrath and Shiel. They are good players, but they are too small as a group.

Richmond being sandwiched between our picks means both clubs are probably playing silly buggers with the hope of getting the other one to fall for the bluff.

Hopefully Hawthorn draft Ward, and then we are guaranteed two out of Amiss, Johnson and Erasmus.
The Essendon that made the finals this year you mean?

If Hobbs gets the job done, he gets the job done. Go for what he can do rather than what he isn't and he brings plenty of grunt and gets the ball heaps and uses it smartly. Myself I'd be happy with Amiss & Johnson at those picks if available (and Rachele Rachele isn't), but I reckon if the recruitment dept see Hobbs as the go they must have good reason.

Loving the ducks and drakes between Richmond and Freo here. What we do is very much going to be predicated on exactly how we rank the players and how we think they rank them.
Assuming the latest talk is correct and the top 6 is set then its simpler but still a fair number of scenarios. With Ward off the table who is actually Richmonds target? Is it Hobbs? Johnson? Or really Amiss? Do we rate one of the players ahead of the other two by more than a small margin? If we do, then that is who we will take first. Do we rate them all similarly? In which case we take the one the fills the most obvious needs.

Prediction: We call their bluff and take the one we want out of Hobbs and Johnson, they take the one left and we get Amiss at 10.

Why worry about a second round pick in next seasons draft.
There is a coming year to be concerned about that.
Keep the 19 pick and draft for today, plenty of water to go under the bridge before 2022 draft.
It depends if we can get a future 2nd for 22 or future 1st for 22-28 I would do it.

What amazes me about Richmond wanting Hobbs is that they never seemed interested in Cerra. It made me think they were perhaps looking taller (Andrew, Gibcus, Amiss), or specialist small forward (Rachele).
I'm sure they were but not at 800k+ a year. If Hobbs becomes an 800k+ a year player it'll be in a future where they can afford it. Plus Cerra is not worth that coin and a side still in the game doesn't have the 'luxury' Carlton has of overpaying for people in the hope they start to deliver to that standard (Adam has had 30 touches or more twice playing purely on ball but he's on AA mid money)

He was statistically our second worst last season, -21xp behind Fyfe on -38xp
Wtf is xp.

Statistics only show what you are specifically looking at. He was our 2nd highest goal scorer after Tabs this year.

Using stats broadly is dumb as fk.

What amazes me about Richmond wanting Hobbs is that they never seemed interested in Cerra. It made me think they were perhaps looking taller (Andrew, Gibcus, Amiss), or specialist small forward (Rachele).

Also of note that Hobbs will be cheaper in terms of draft picks than trading for Cerra (particularly if we were able to use the Richmond/Carlton competition to jack up the price.)

Wtf is xp.

Statistics only show what you are specifically looking at. He was our 2nd highest goal scorer after Tabs this year.

Yeah if you have watched him play he is a super reliable set shot.

Kicked that clutch goal in the comeback win against the saints in 2020. Never in doubt

I trust our current recruiters and like to think that they will see that Hobbs isn't a good fit size wise for our midfield...
Also there is a good chance of Lachie Neale coming home next year..Neale.Hobbs.Serong.Brayshaw.....no thanks

On SM-G975U1 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Hobbs threw shade at playing for us being an interstate team, please Freo don't make that same mistake again!

No he literally did not.

He said Richmond had shown the most interest but Freo had also indicated they were keen, and he would be stoked for either club to draft him.

At no point has Hobbs ever indicated he has any issues moving interstate

I trust our current recruiters and like to think that they will see that Hobbs isn't a good fit size wise for our midfield...
Also there is a good chance of Lachie Neale coming home next year (or the year after)..Neale.Hobbs.Serong.Brayshaw.....no thanks

good point. i forgot about Neale.

Also there is a good chance of Lachie Neale coming home next year..Neale.Hobbs.Serong.Brayshaw.....no thanks

Yeh I noted Serong didn’t seem impressed by the Neale return at the time it came out.

I think a better fit for our midfield is actually Knevitt, than Hobbs, but that then bypasses the best available for best fit.

If we are looking at best available and best fit then it’s Johnson.

A Johnson, KPF and Knevitt first 3 picks would be a very good outcome to blend with our current band of Hobbits.

Johnson = Mundy/Cerra combo.
Knevitt = Fyfe level midfield bull!

Yeh I noted Serong didn’t seem impressed by the Neale return at the time it came out.

I think a better fit for our midfield is actually Knevitt, than Hobbs, but that then bypasses the best available for best fit.

If we are looking at best available and best fit then it’s Johnson.

A Johnson, KPF and Knevitt first 3 picks would be a very good outcome to blend with our current band of Hobbits.

Johnson = Mundy/Cerra combo.
Knevitt = Fyfe level midfield bull!

Yeah, I would be happy with him at pick 3

Wtf is xp.

xp is how they level up the players... losing xp means they may lose some levels. Hopwefully we get some early xp into fyfe so he can get back to the brownlow level.

Reported this arvo in the worst.

AFL Draft 2021: Fremantle coach Justin Longmuir says Jye Amiss could play ‘a lot of footy’ for Dockers