How long does Adam Simpsons have left?

Err, what?

Judd was pick 3, which we got for being shithouse. The other 2 were picks in the 20s, Darling was late 20s.

Other teams had multiple shots at choosing them and didn't.

Meanwhile, you mob takes players like Griffin ******* Logue in the top 10...
Can you honestly not see how lucky you have been in that the very few times your club has been down you have been rewarded (obviously not in the eagles controls they were the rules at the times).

You claim you were shit and that’s why you got Chris Judd. Literally two years earlier you were in the finals, so yes you had a crap year but it wasn’t like you were absolute deplorable. If these current rules applied and you finished where you are currently placed (with less than 5 wins) you would be given pick 3. That is insane. Take it out of the eagles context…In 2019 the Demons would have been handed pick 2.

The Luke Shuey and Jack Darling examples are also players that you wouldn’t have had access to had the rules been the way they are now. Whilst not as severe as the pre 2006 rules, you still had timed your downfalls at a time which was beneficial.

So right now as your supporters and Simpson have a glimpse of looking at a rebuild, it is why posters are saying you won’t simply bounce back like you have in the past. You have rightfully had a window opening and thus operated in that manner which is fair enough. That is clearly now shut.

So going back to the OP’s question… not long

Simmo get's a pretty good ride in the media here in WA, Ch7 love him, they even cover his preseason dog race, he has the fastest dog in the West.

That 2018 premiership has bought him some time too, it doesn't matter how badly West Coast do now, no hard questions are asked of him.

Longmuir on the other hand cops some hard questions every time Freo lose.

Can you honestly not see how lucky you have been in that the very few times your club has been down you have been rewarded (obviously not in the eagles controls they were the rules at the times).

You claim you were shit and that’s why you got Chris Judd. Literally two years earlier you were in the finals, so yes you had a crap year but it wasn’t like you were absolute deplorable. If these current rules applied and you finished where you are currently placed (with less than 5 wins) you would be given pick 3. That is insane. Take it out of the eagles context…In 2019 the Demons would have been handed pick 2.

The Luke Shuey and Jack Darling examples are also players that you wouldn’t have had access to had the rules been the way they are now. Whilst not as severe as the pre 2006 rules, you still had timed your downfalls at a time which was beneficial.

So right now as your supporters and Simpson have a glimpse of looking at a rebuild, it is why posters are saying you won’t simply bounce back like you have in the past. You have rightfully had a window opening and thus operated in that manner which is fair enough. That is clearly now shut.

Shuey and Darling aren't good examples, because we may have taken them anyway, regardless off a PP or not.

I'm seriously confused about your point on Judd. We were the third worst team, so we got the third best pick. What even is your point regarding this? You conveniently forgot that in a year we won the spoon, we ended up pick 4 due to new club concessions.

Swings and roundabouts.

Of all the clubs to get draft concessions, WCE are probably the last one worth of complaining about.

While Judd, Shuey and Darling were 'priority picks' they would all have been available to us under the current draft rules.

Judd was a pick 3 after we finished 3rd last. Sampi at pick 6 wouldn't have been available to us.

Shuey was a pick 18 after finishing second last. Pick 2 and 18 always went to the second last team in a 16 team comp. Tom Swift at 20 wouldn't have been available to us.

Darling was a pick 26(!) for a team that finished last. Normally you'd get pick 1 and 17 at that time, we got pick 4 and 26 as our first two selections. So we were quite unlucky to finish last in a heavily compromised draft. So no, we haven't been particularly lucky when we've finished low, but we have drafted excellently on the few occasions we have.

I don't think this rebuild will be as quick, simply because our management in the last decade has consistently failed to draft and develop elite midfielders or a great midfield structure, despite having a lot of good names in there.

We have been more reliant than any other team, in my opinion, on A grade talent at key posts (Kennedy, Naitanui, McGovern) to cover that deficiency and those players are coming to the end.

It's easy to pot the decision with the benefit of hindsight, but you need to look at it in context.

It's the end of the 2019, we are 1 year removed from a flag. We rolled the dice and added an All-Australian calibre midfielder to try and squeeze another flag out of the playing group.

Did it work out? With the benefit of hindsight, no we can safely say it didn't. But you can see why it was done.
yeah, I think it was a perfectly fine gamble to take. At the time it seemed that if it worked, suddenly you’d be every chance for a flag within the 2020-2022 range, with the potential downside that if that didn’t happen, it’d set back a rebuild/retool/whatever you want to call back a bit but I think most clubs take that swing. It obviously hasn’t worked for a number of reasons that can be debated, but as you said, it’s very easy to see why it was done seeing the club was a bad half of footy away from being top 4 again in 2019.

Shuey and Darling aren't good examples, because we may have taken them anyway, regardless off a PP or not.

I'm seriously confused about your point on Judd. We were the third worst team, so we got the third best pick. What even is your point regarding this? You conveniently forgot that in a year we won the spoon, we ended up pick 4 due to new club concessions.

Swings and roundabouts.

Of all the clubs to get draft concessions, WCE are probably the last one worth of complaining about.
You may have taken them (you may not have) but regardless you were down at a time where the rules allowed these extra picks. If this happened anytime after 2012 you wouldn’t have had access to those extra picks (no matter who you selected)

I hear what you are saying with regards to the Judd one and maybe I should have used Sampi as the direct link. We obviously can’t know what would have happened had each of the bottom three teams getting priority picks.

Every club was pushed down the draft order for the new concessions, so not really swings and roundabouts that impacted all the other clubs. You also literally finished in the top 4 the next year.
While Judd, Shuey and Darling were 'priority picks' they would all have been available to us under the current draft rules.
Judd was a pick 3 after we finished 3rd last. Sampi at pick 6 wouldn't have been available to us.

Shuey was a pick 18 after finishing second last. Pick 2 and 18 always went to the second last team in a 16 team comp. Tom Swift at 20 wouldn't have been available to us.

Darling was a pick 26(!) for a team that finished last. Normally you'd get pick 1 and 17 at that time, we got pick 4 and 26 as our first two selections. So we were quite unlucky to finish last in a heavily compromised draft. So no, we haven't been particularly lucky when we've finished low, but we have drafted excellently on the few occasions we have.

I don't think this rebuild will be as quick, simply because our management in the last decade has consistently failed to draft and develop elite midfielders or a great midfield structure, despite having a lot of good names in there.

We have been more reliant than any other team, in my opinion, on A grade talent at key posts (Kennedy, Naitanui, McGovern) to cover that deficiency and those players are coming to the end.
Really solid answer :) I will do what most people on big footy can’t do and pay credit where it is due. Solid analysis to the situation. Especially the last paragraph.

The fact that any team was receiving concessions for winning less than 5 games was diabolical and glad that it has been removed.

Confused about this point.

Shuey, Judd and Darling were available to everyone. Freo took Jayden Pit instead of Darling, remember?

Simmo get's a pretty good ride in the media here in WA, Ch7 love him, they even cover his preseason dog race, he has the fastest dog in the West.

That 2018 premiership has bought him some time too, it doesn't matter how badly West Coast do now, no hard questions are asked of him.

Longmuir on the other hand cops some hard questions every time Freo lose.
Need to hear more about this dog.

What breed is it for example.

What's its name. Does it sleep in the shed?

Some of the predictions in here I think are way off the mark, claims that West Coast are like at least 6-7 years off competing again. No I don't think he will be around for their next tilt and personally think he'd be clever to gracefully step aside at the end of this year, refresh for a season and take the North Melbourne job at the end of 2023 when it would inevitably be offered to him if he is available, unless they make the 8 somehow.

Anyway, we've seen enough times that West Coast are never as far off it as they seem, this is for a variety of reasons. I think they'll be very average next season as well, but won't take too long to rebound. Bookmark it. Really can't argue with the trends and history here.

I really find this a difficult case. They probably were aiming at a last shot at the cup with older statemen like Kennedy and Hurn still around. Looked probably unlikely from the beginning and all hopes look crushed by covid now. Need to rebuilt. And have to think about wether Simpson is the men for it. History probably suggests he would won't survive.

Since 2018 West Coast have:

• Missed the top 4 in 2019 and knocked out by Geelong in a semifinal.
  • Missed the top 4 in 2020 and knocked out by Collingwood in an elimination final.
  • Missed the 8 in 2021, going 2-7 after the bye.
  • Bottom 4 so far in 2022
How long does Simpson have to turn the ship around before West Coast look for another head coach?

How long does it take Freo flogs to create troll threads after an Eagles loss?

And here you have your answer.

Lol. You guys are so insecure and pathetic. Now run off and check how your latest rebuild is going and which player is walking the season.

Confused about this point.

Shuey, Judd and Darling were available to everyone. Freo took Jayden Pit instead of Darling, remember?
That was not actually part of what I said. That was from Quinz… don’t know why it came through like that… probably why it’s confusing.

Jayden Pitt is pretty irrelevant to poor draft choices… he had a heart condition it would be like calling Morabito a horrible draft choice. You never really know how good he could have been as he never got a true chance

This time you will have to do it without priority picks though.

Imagine some of the only times your club has been down you get given picks which allowed you to grab Chris Judd, Luke Shuey and Jack Darling.
They would have gotten Judd anyway? The benefit of the PP was getting Sampi

no no no..you have to use freo logic.

WC were lucky to gain high draft picks when finishing close to the bottom

This time you will have to do it without priority picks though.

Imagine some of the only times your club has been down you get given picks which allowed you to grab Chris Judd, Luke Shuey and Jack Darling.
False for Judd. We still get him without the priority pick. We would not have got Sampi at 6. Draft order was Freo, Saints, Eagles, Freo, Saints, Eagles. So in reality the 4th, 5th and 6th picks would have gone to different teams. We still get Judd.

But in a sliding doors moment, Freo probably wouldn't have traded the #1 pick (for Croad 🤣) if they didn't have that extra #4 pick. They wouldn't have taken Polek. Hodge, Ball or Judd would have played for Freo 😂

Shuey I'll admit, especially as we get the priority just 1 season after winning a flag.

Darling is basically false also. We should have had pick 1 but got pick 4 because Gold Coast was given the first 3 picks. Although it was a priority, getting pick 26 in compensation for dropping for pick 1 to pick 4 is fair. No team would trade the #1 pick for picks 4 and 26. Also it's not our fault you selected Jayden Pitt before him.

Some of the predictions in here I think are way off the mark, claims that West Coast are like at least 6-7 years off competing again. No I don't think he will be around for their next tilt and personally think he'd be clever to gracefully step aside at the end of this year, refresh for a season and take the North Melbourne job at the end of 2023 when it would inevitably be offered to him if he is available, unless they make the 8 somehow.

Anyway, we've seen enough times that West Coast are never as far off it as they seem, this is for a variety of reasons. I think they'll be very average next season as well, but won't take too long to rebound. Bookmark it. Really can't argue with the trends and history here.

Freo supporters dont like discussing trends and history.

We all know why! ;) :cool: :cool:

Gold Coast are on the up though. Dew can get comfortable settling into that role. Suns are finally now in a good position going forward. Really impressed with their style of play. GWS will be up for grabs, probably at the end of this year though which will come too soon for Simpson.

Don’t think any coach who doesn’t make the 8 this year would be comfortable with clarko ready to go next season! Goldcoast always look ok for the first half of the season then they generally fall off

So going

So what pick did the Eagles get when they won their 1st wooden spoon? Were the Eagles lucky then?

Gee good material there mate.very new and unique…

2018 was the only one worthy imo. After a rebuild done properly which you think you can avoid right now with hacks like Kelly and a fat bastard who can’t run out games. Footsteps Darling who was running around in circles the other night for no apparent reason is magically not gonna have brain farts and lead the fwd line . You guys are done and you deserve to languish down the bottom after the last two years piss farting around.

Get the tarps out for the next few years…and I’ll expect the bandwagoners to jump off, joining Freo like that did 12-15. Trains will be ready after the qtr time for ya.

I’ll expect another lame reply which i won’t waste my time on. Port I am sure will be desperate for a win next week..best of luck.
FYI, we averaged bigger crowds than Fremantle over the course of 12-15

Seriously can't believe the premier mcknkobbface is getting off so easy.

He will just play to the local numbnuts and blame "over east" for his fu** ups and the locals will lap it up

I lived in WA and they truly believe there is a place called "over east".

Sure some Eagles fans will come at me and get all defensive about it and deny it but it's factually true.
Full nuff nuff post this.

Eagles being shit is all on the Eagles and has absolutely nothing to do with who the premier is.

Although I don't agree with half of what McGowan has done you can't argue against the results (S&P naming WA's economy the best in the world, lowest unemployment in Australia, low Covid infections, hardly any lockdowns).

How did his restrictions affect the Eagles more than any other state's?

If anything they would have helped, we ended up with semi, prelim and grand final in WA and that is on the Eagles for not taking advantage of.

So what pick did the Eagles get when they won their 1st wooden spoon? Were the Eagles lucky then?
Depends how you look at it. Pure numbers aside you have a great point.

Looking at it from a different point of view with a sliding doors type thing…you probably would have taken swallow with 1.

Would you trade Swallow for Gaff and Darling?

No one can deny Simpson was given a shocking hand to start the season.
Very long injury list and close to 40 changes in 4 weeks due to Covid

Though picking under done players and performing like that especially at home is unacceptable for such a proud club.

Depends how you look at it. Pure numbers aside you have a great point.

Looking at it from a different point of view with a sliding doors type thing…you probably would have taken swallow with 1.

Would you trade Swallow for Gaff and Darling?
We probably still get Darling 2 picks later. Miss out on Lycett.

How long does Adam Simpsons have left?