Opinion Kane Cornes media career thread

Still a club champion? Or journalist shit stain?

• I still think he's alright

Votes: 75 24.8%
  • Total Shit Stain

Votes: 179 59.3%
  • Jack Watts

Votes: 48 15.9%

Kane Cornes might make it on the bench of our best 22 of the last 25 years. Dont mistake longevity with great talent. Absolute stat padder in the second half of his career.

I'll never understand people describing a tagger as one of our greatest ever players.

Come on mate. 300 games at AFL level, remarkably consistent for the majority of them. Consistently shut down the opposition's most dominant midfielder on a week in week out basis for over a decade, all the while being an accumulator and making said opponent work hard without possession.

His role on Black in the 2004 GF was incredible.

I vehemently disagree with his views in the media regarding Hinkley - but I'm not going to let that blind me to what he achieved as a player for the club.

Only the bar staff will left to run the club. It's so irrational.

Is Hinkley's son-in-law still the bar manager or did he not get his job back post COVID?

Edit: still is according to his LinkedIn

Screenshot_2022-04-19-19-45-51-663.jpeg

He should give Brad Ebert his 2012 B&F

PORT AFL Players I rate higher than Kane Cornes:
Josh Francou
Matthew Primus
Shaun Burgoyne
Peter Burgoyne
Chad Cornes
Michael Wilson
Josh Carr
Byron Pickett
Chad Cornes
Daryl Wakelin
Brendon Lade
Warren Tredrea
Gavin Wanganeen
Roger James
Jay Schulz
Chad Wingard
Travis Boak
Robbie Gray
Justin Westhoff
Ollie Wines

There's 19...

Come on mate. 300 games at AFL level, remarkably consistent for the majority of them. Consistently shut down the opposition's most dominant midfielder on a week in week out basis for over a decade, all the while being an accumulator and making said opponent work hard without possession.

His role on Black in the 2004 GF was incredible.

I vehemently disagree with his views in the media regarding Hinkley - but I'm not going to let that blind me to what he achieved as a player for the club.
Good tagger with longevity it doesn't elevate him to the level of far superior skilled & match winning players.

Apologies for asking, but as a supporter of another club I’m curious what Port fans think of Kane? Didn’t he effectively use a list spot to get to 300 then ditch you to go be a fireman?
Hes awesome when he is needling the Crows and diabolical when he is gaslighting us.

Kane's second half of his career he become very selfish ie post the 2007 GF disaster.

He won All Oz selecrion in 2005 and 2007 and was club B&F for the first time in 2007. These were his best years. He had a pretty good one in 2008, when we were poor.

The more the club went backwards the more he became selfish.

He won 2 more B&Fs mainly because he did his tagging job well but he selfishly chased stats and cheap kicks.

Spiting the dummy when Primus dumped him to Glenelg in 2011, changed his social media pages and bad mouthed Primus, showed his true side under pressure.

Would have been cut if he didnt have a contract, and KT, being an old radio station GM, understood Adelaide footy politics and that if he was dumped at the same time Primus told Chad his time was up and forced him to retire, old man Graham would have run amok in the media, shit bagging Port when we were at our lowest ebb in 110 years.

Credit to Primus, he played him and tried to work with him after being ordered to do so.

He won the 2010 B&F when we were poor and fell apart after Tredders played his last game in Rd 7 when hedid his ankle and we were 5-2.

In 2012 when we had the stupid committee voting system he won the B&F because he got a lot of votes from Hocking the 5 games he coached after we sacked Primus.

Kornes owes Ken big time. 300 games looks better than 295 on the media CV and Ken did rejuvinate Kane. But Kornes media career - thats what it is, he's not a journalist - is like his footy career, solid but somewhat selfish and isnt a star performer.

Like his footy career he found a niche as a tagger, a position nobody as a kid aspires to be, he has found his niche as a negative whingey whinny commentator, who talks some of the negative shit others dont want to. And being selfish he likes talking about money and $$$ and contract lengths and being morals officer that nobody can have fun because he didnt, he had to do the boring tagging role.

But he is loyal to those who provide a pay cheque.

Josh Francou
Matthew Primus
Shaun Burgoyne
Peter Burgoyne
Chad Cornes
Michael Wilson
Josh Carr
Byron Pickett
Chad Cornes
Daryl Wakelin
Brendon Lade
Warren Tredrea
Gavin Wanganeen
Roger James
Jay Schulz
Chad Wingard
Travis Boak
Robbie Gray
Justin Westhoff
Ollie Wines

There's 19...
Stewy Dew stiff.

I agree with the comment by REH re Kornes becoming a very selfish player in the 2nd half of his career.
His too regular penchant for running past a team mate who had either taken a mark or earnt a free, calling for a handball, and then running straight into trouble or kicking an up and under down the boundary line to no one in particular took a lot of the gloss off him for me.

Holy moley the militant agreement and defenses of Hinkley from a whole stack of people agreeing with Kane’s post on ‘We Are Port Adelaide’.

It’s like a cult.

People are literally prepared to watch the club sink into the abyss for more of Ken Hinkley.

You’d at least understand it in defense of Jack, Russ, Choc or even Primus, but Ken Hinkley?

Ken Hinkley?!
So when Ken goes, as he inevitably will, will they torch the new coach like they accuse others of doing with Ken, or will they stay true to the Club?

Kane's references to Hardwick having won flags but he complained about playing at Marvel and Goodwin winning a flag but the pre 2022 season controversy and then saying Ken has had no such issues, so his therefore a great coach is hilarious.

heck that id have us embroiled in some off field controversy of the worst sort if it meant we won a flag.

Kane is worried because when Ken goes so will his brother and he therefore will have not one person inside the club that feeds him info or has any time for him at all.

Josh Francou
Matthew Primus
Shaun Burgoyne
Peter Burgoyne
Chad Cornes
Michael Wilson
Josh Carr
Byron Pickett
Chad Cornes
Daryl Wakelin
Brendon Lade
Warren Tredrea
Gavin Wanganeen
Roger James
Jay Schulz
Chad Wingard
Travis Boak
Robbie Gray
Justin Westhoff
Ollie Wines

There's 19...
Kornes > Westhoff I reckon, and no disrespect to the Hoff, but by a decent margin.

The others pretty hard to argue. Houston, Burton and Butters set to go past him in the next few years too.

I agree with the comment by REH re Kornes becoming a very selfish player in the 2nd half of his career.
His too regular penchant for running past a team mate who had either taken a mark or earnt a free, calling for a handball, and then running straight into trouble or kicking an up and under down the boundary line to no one in particular took a lot of the gloss off him for me.
He also had a penchant for zoning off the contest in order to keep his direct opponent statless. Lost count of the times he was within grasping distance of the opponent with the ball, but instead of tackling chose to follow "his" player.
Kane placed more importance on not having a stat registered against him than doing the obvious team thing.

Kornes > Westhoff I reckon, and no disrespect to the Hoff, but by a decent margin.

The others pretty hard to argue. Houston, Burton and Butters set to go past him in the next few years too.
If Cornes and Butters were both around now and playing in the same team there's no way I'd be picking Cornes ahead if Butters.

Yes its a tricky list to make for this reason...

I'm thinking over the course of his career Kornes proved himself over 300 games which included a premiership and multiple individual accolades. Zak, and most of our current list haven't been there long enough to really put together this kind of resume. Butters could go on to be one of our all time greats, or he could go backwards fast or even get traded. Hasn't been at Port long enough or delivered over enough games to put him on a list like this ahead of Kornes though, yet.

On further reflection I'd have Kornes above Wingard too (but its very, very close). On the flipside would definitely have Dew ahead of Kornes as another poster mentioned.

I wish we could remove any kind of records of Kane Cornes from the club.

I think Westhoff is a better footballer but Cornes did his job well in many big games, I cant really remember Westhoff ever playing an important role in a big game (showdowns when we were trash excluded)

2007 he got under the guard of a lot of teams and played well in important wins that got us 2nd spot. Geelong were so worried about him, they put Scarlett on him in the GF and let Milburn and Harley take Tredrea.

2013 SF v Geelong at the MCG he was huge. Played well in the 2014 finals series.

Had a huge game Rd1 v Melbourne 2019 at the MCG, Hinkley's self assessed greatest win and kicked 5 goals.

One of my Carlton mates goes on about how Westhoff would always play well against them. He has kicked the most goals against them 34 from 18 games and 32 against Adelaide in 25 according to AFL tables.

I remember sitting in the members at Football Park and a couple of the guys near me would continually call him 'Ping' for his wedge-like chip kicks, usually taken after running around the guy with the freekick for a cheap stat. That's my enduring memory of Kane's playing days.

Josh Carr was a far better tagger. And he would hurt opposition more with his disposal.

I wish we could remove any kind of records of Kane Cornes from the club.
This childish pile-on against Kane is so pathetic. The guy is making a living in the media where sensationalism is the norm. He is just doing what modern media does - create headlines which creates income for the company he works for.
As for his playing career - 4 B&Fs for $ucks sake! Probably one of the few Port players to get 100% out of his limited ability.
I wish the majority of present Port players had half of his intensity and focus.

Opinion Kane Cornes media career thread