Rumour 2022 Rumour Discussion Thread

1?

Davis?
Frampton?
Newchurch?

These guys arent contracted..

If we arent re-contracting newchurch but give Rowe another 2 years we’re dumbfxxks..

I think he means one senior list player uncontracted (Frampton). Davis is a Cat A rookie and Newchurch and Borlase are Cat B, I believe.

Just referring to senior list contracts.
We must have a few lads moving on..

Crouch, frampton, mcasey, sholl..

Spose with a heap of cap space we could payout a contract and delist a player to free up a list spot.. mcpherson maybe..

We must have a few lads moving on..

Crouch, frampton, mcasey, sholl..

Spose with a heap of cap space we could payout a contract and delist a player to free up a list spot.. mcpherson maybe..
We need to be brutal and payout contracts for guys who have had enough time and aren't going to make it. We have to have the space. Then Reid and Hamish can resign for ****ing up.

We need to be brutal and payout contracts for guys who have had enough time and aren't going to make it. We have to have the space. Then Reid and Hamish can resign for ******* up.
This is me

Its not that I dont like Rowe - but lets be brutally honest his ceiling touches his head - its that low.

We also have similar type players all wanting to line up on a flank. And with the OG Flankine coming in - what is he ? SANFL depth?

Our biggest LM issue is holding onto spuds hoping they turn into aubergines. IT AINT HAPPENING!!

ROWE - GO
DAVIS - GO
MURPHY - GO

Its not the same as releasing Brown or Seedsman - their positions are different.

shakes head

Or is it just pragmatism from the club? I'm not sure we compete on an even playing field here.
Tex has a beer at the footy .... Front page (like picture taking up a full page) news.

Bailey Smith does .... well quite a lot of things.... crickets.
Young Port player does .... .... crickets.

Between offended Port supporters willing to dob in anything and offended media willing to show it and smear the club as much and as hard as they can, the club isn't in the greatest position is it? (Still I do admit, we haven't helped ourselves over the years, slow to realise the world after wayne jackson was a LOT different).

We need to be brutal and payout contracts for guys who have had enough time and aren't going to make it. We have to have the space. Then Reid and Hamish can resign for ******* up.
Mcpherson would be one..

I think he’s not a bad player.. bit up and down..

But his body just isnt up to it.. constantly injured unfortunately.

Mcpherson would be one..

I think he’s not a bad player.. bit up and down..

But his body just isnt up to it.. constantly injured unfortunately.
Brown can go too. His time is up.

1?

Davis?
Frampton?
Newchurch?

These guys arent contracted..

If we arent re-contracting newchurch but give Rowe another 2 years we’re dumbfxxks..

Jesus mate you’re relentless on Newchurch.

He is Cat B so is likely getting retained anyway.

Everything on here needs to be taken with a grain of salt and Volbeat mentioned this in his original comment..

Not sure its that big a deal really.. and discouraging people from bringing rumours to the board is not something we should do regardless.

Like I said though.. pick 5, and thus any chance of Phillipou, is more than likely gooooorrne anyway. If we dont give it directly to the Suns we will, at the very least, be spliting it for other picks to give them..

So its funny people are still mentioning the lads name!
that is not yet fact
it might be but it's certainly not now. i still think more players are going to be out than we think due to shortage of list spots

This is me

Its not that I dont like Rowe - but lets be brutally honest his ceiling touches his head - its that low.

We also have similar type players all wanting to line up on a flank. And with the OG Flankine coming in - what is he ? SANFL depth?

Our biggest LM issue is holding onto spuds hoping they turn into aubergines. IT AINT HAPPENING!!

ROWE - GO
DAVIS - GO
MURPHY - GO

Its not the same as releasing Brown or Seedsman - their positions are different.

shakes head
Not me, I'd keep Rowe because I think the plan is to have both Rachele and Rankine rotating through midfield and we need players with skill in the front half

As a guess I would think we could

Davis - delist
Murphy - either try and trade or pay out contract (they won't because for some reason Nicks really likes him)
McPherson - not sure how long he has left on contract but if its a year, pay out and delist or try and trade
Seedsman - very very unfortunate as he is a ripper but his long term health should take front and centre for him and long term injury list this year
Frampton - traded to Collingwood
Crouch - hopefully ontrade for something between back of 2nd round and end of 3rd round
If the right offers came in for a number of other players outside the untouchables, I would listen to them too

This hopefully opens up spots for guys Like Pedlar, Taylor, Our pick 5 player if we still have that pick, Cook and a couple of others

I wrote earlier about why the Suns would probably not want a 2023 first.. given they have a couple of highly rated academy players next year that could go top 5/top 10..
Which would mean they’d need to offload any 2023 1sts..

They will want pick 5 this year.. and its hard to see it not being involved in the trade in some form.
Thats not really how the bidding system works. You cannot have more picks than list spots available to take those picks.

This rule was brought in in 2016 to stop clubs accumulating large numbers of late picks to use for academy and father-son bids. If you have 8 picks (trying to accumulate points) you need 8 free primary list spots going into the draft.

Therefore, if GC have multiple early bids to match they will need good value picks to do this. Alternatively, having a 2023 pick will allow them the option to trade this for a future first in 2024 if they want to go into deficit matching bids in 2023.

Rumour 2022 Rumour Discussion Thread