Autopsy AFL 2022 First Preliminary Final - Cats v Lions Fri Sept 16th 7:50pm EST (MCG)

Who will win and by how much?

• Cats by a goal or less

Votes: 4 2.0%
  • Lions by a goal or less

Votes: 12 6.1%
  • Cats by 7 - 20

Votes: 45 22.7%
  • Lions by 7 - 20

Votes: 63 31.8%
  • Cats by a lot

Votes: 62 31.3%
  • Lions by a lot

Votes: 10 5.1%
  • Draw

Votes: 2 1.0%

M
What do you mean nothing to lose? Prelim finals are incredibly hard to get to, Brisbane know that better than anyone over the last couple of years. Every time you play in one it’s an opportunity that you can’t waste.

They certainly are capable, but as I said, history is filled with teams who probably thought they’d be able to go again after being knocked out, only to find they’d wasted their chance: Freo 2015, St Kilda 2010, Bulldogs 2010, Adelaide 2006 etc. the Dogs of 2021 may be about to join that group They have an opportunity now and they need to take it, it’s not a free hit.

If it’s a moot point why do you keep arguing it?

I do sense the Lions thrived on being underdogs last Friday, but this is a very different challenge.

I thought the Dees would win comfortably, however they were 6-7 leading into the game. Geelong have won 12 in a row.
Moot is a chronically misused word. It means subject to debate.

The free swing argument is silly.

Brisbane underperformed in the home and away season and have made their lives harder in the finals, but coming into the season their expectation was to push for a flag, just like Geelong. There is plenty of pressure on them too.

Lions have now been at the pointy end of the ladder for four years, history suggests most teams don’t stay there for a whole lot longer than that, they need to capitalise on their opportunities soon or they could be facing another rebuild without a flag.
We are a lock for the next 5 finals series.

Expecting cats to get up but it will be a tough fought grind. Not a blowout like many are predicting.

I agree. Brisbane didn't get this far by being garbage. Our boys need to not get jumped obviously but I reckon we will have the petrol in the last and finish about 13 pts to the good.

Brisbane just need to keep it scrappy for the first half if its damp under foot, they have the speed and manic game to run over the Cats late.
Having said that, the Cats should and need to win having dominated the back end of the season but their finals record is worrying and their struggles post bye is also a factor.

Brisbane are right in this though, knocked off the past 2 Premiers on their way and have nothing to fear.

Head says Cats just, heart says Lions by 26.

Brisbane just need to keep it scrappy for the first half if its damp under foot, they have the speed and manic game to run over the Cats late.
Having said that, the Cats should and need to win having dominated the back end of the season but their finals record is worrying and their struggles post bye is also a factor.

Brisbane are right in this though, knocked off the past 2 Premiers on their way and have nothing to fear.

Head says Cats just, heart says Lions by 26.

Last four matches 'post bye' Geelong have three wins.

Getting nervous. Prelim finals are rarely easy and the Lions are building a lot of belief.

The enormity of trying to win 16 straight games to win a flag puts me on edge and even if we get through I fear the swans in particular but still excited all the same.
Won’t be able to watch closely as I’m singing for the duration of the game but will have the trusty iPhone on the music stand and give the punters a running commentary of how sick I’m feeling in the stomach as I watch.

Good luck Lions fans I hope your side do you proud…. Just not too proud
Oh man the nerves are killing me. Can't even focus on my work. At least there seems to be a little bit of respect coming our way from some of the Geelong posters. Cant say the same for Melbourne last week.

I suspect Geelong won't be taking this game lightly. But I'm sure our boys are up for the task. Good luck mate.

Oh man the nerves are killing me. Can't even focus on my work. At least there seems to be a little bit of respect coming our way from some of the Geelong posters. Cant say the same for Melbourne last week.

I suspect Geelong won't be taking this game lightly. But I'm sure our boys are up for the task. Good luck mate.
You are a legitimate threat to any side, any talk of Brisbane not belonging here is ridiculous. You were one win away from finishing 2nd on the ladder and have been a top 4 side for 4 years, and Geelong fans know underestimating foes in prelims is a recipe for disaster.

It’s prelim final weekend, no teams ever get here by accident especially if they’ve had to win two games to do it, and moreso when they’ve been in and around the top four for as long as you guys have. We’ve dropped two games this year to sides that didn’t even make the finals so there is no such thing as an easy win to take for granted.

I think our best footy is the best in the comp: Melbourne or Sydney fans can disagree and they’d be able to mount a decent argument but I am confident that IF we are close to our best we will get it done but equally if Brisbane are close to theirs suddenly the pressure rises and the onus is on us to go up a notch.

No disrespect for the lions from me that’s for sure

on paper, just can't see Brisbane winning

but they keep defying the paper

Need the Neale / Hipwood show to keep rolling on
What have they exactly defied to this point??

They should have beaten Richmond at home and got over the line by the skin of their teeth. Melbourne played terribly and looked done. It is nothing to write home about to this point.

Nothing like giving a bit of credit where it’s due, very Geelong of you.

Lions really should have finished Top 4 - the loss to Essendon was more a result of covid than ability - and they should be treated as a Top4 team, rather than a plucky opponent from the bottom half of the eight who got lucky. Geelong will give them that respect.

This is going to go down to the wire

Nothing like giving a bit of credit where it’s due, very Geelong of you.
Depends how you want to look at it. I don’t rate Brisbane as low as a lot of others do so I am not as blown away when you win a final. I think the four teams left are accurately the best four at present.

I think Brisbane is situated where Brisbane deserves to be this season. I think too many have almost insultingly gone wow over brisbanes performances because they rated them low in the first place, which I don’t think is fair to Brisbane.

Lions really should have finished Top 4 - the loss to Essendon was more a result of covid than ability - and they should be treated as a Top4 team, rather than a plucky opponent from the bottom half of the eight who got lucky. Geelong will give them that respect.

This is going to go down to the wire
Exactly my sentiment but more nicely put. Nobody should be getting so wowed by brisbanes wins as they rightfully should have been viewed in higher regard going into those games than they initially were.

Brisbane are a quality team and should have more respect than given so far.

Well if you watch the game rather than focusing on the result their footy has been really good - Neale has entered god-mode, Hipwood in career best form, & they have showed real grit to hang in games & do the 1 percenters well

The 1-6 prelim cats should under-estimate them at there peril

Autopsy AFL 2022 First Preliminary Final - Cats v Lions Fri Sept 16th 7:50pm EST (MCG)