Autopsy AFL 2022 First Preliminary Final - Cats v Lions Fri Sept 16th 7:50pm EST (MCG)

Who will win and by how much?

• Cats by a goal or less

Votes: 4 2.0%
  • Lions by a goal or less

Votes: 12 6.1%
  • Cats by 7 - 20

Votes: 45 22.7%
  • Lions by 7 - 20

Votes: 63 31.8%
  • Cats by a lot

Votes: 62 31.3%
  • Lions by a lot

Votes: 10 5.1%
  • Draw

Votes: 2 1.0%

Not many people back me up on this, but when Bruce MacAvaney retired I said we wouldn’t realise until much later how lucky we’d been to have a commentator who built up such a sense of occasion for big games, like prelims. The current commentators fail completely to do that.
I will back you up. Dennis and Bruce, what a dream team🤩

tom hiddleston loki GIF

And? He's a Collingwood supporter. We get called s**t every week, lucky when we win, barely seen a decent comment about us on here.

Why don't you just shut the * up and enjoy the win?
Haven't been called sh!t by me thanks. Please show me where a Cat flog has moaned about you only being good because of your home ground and how your certain to fall over in finals over and over again. If he's going to troll us with that horse sh!t all season he's going to cop it now.

Think he means the way Collingwood plays is more of a threat then Sydney

As good as the Swans are the Cats match up pretty well across the ground. The Swans can get them with ball movement but Collingwood are Richmond 2.0 which has troubled Geelong more then anyone over the past 5 years.

Pies are chaos with a great backline
The Swans are more methodical with a brilliant team ethos across the whole field. Will be a fascinating granny regardless!
Really? Geelongs record against Richmond in the last 5 years would be better than nearly all teams. That's despite never playing Richmond on our home ground.

People giving it to Brisbane are utter *******s
It's just classic BigFooty (Even just media in general to be honest)

The winner gets swept aside because it's easier/more fun to poke at the loser, especially in a blowout. Would have been torture on this website for Cats fans after the Prelim last year, people on here just love kicking others while they're down. Weak.

Was at the game tonight and the Cats were just so much better it wasn't funny. Demons/Dockers/Tigers etc. None of them would have stood a chance and that should give full credit to the preperation & desire the Cats brought into the match.

Everyone keeps writing Geelong off every year. They're delivering and honestly I don't see who stops them. All I will say is good luck to either Sydney or Collingwood, it won't be easy but may the best team win.

Enjoy the build up during the week and best of luck in the Granny.

I almost feel like apologising for my teams performance tonight.

Total letdown for the neutrals and Lions fans. Cats far too good and deserve all the plaudits.

I hope we can bounce back 🫠
Why would neutrals care? The very definition of a neutral is they are apathetic to the result. Unless they weren't neutral at all which would explain the tears about the umpiring

Pathetic effort by Brisbane, to be honest. I would've loved a Rich/Melb v Geel prelim, but ah well. Bit ripped off.

It's just classic BigFooty (Even just media in general to be honest)

The winner gets swept aside because it's easier/more fun to poke at the loser, especially in a blowout. Would have been torture on this website for Cats fans after the Prelim last year, people on here just love kicking others while they're down. Weak.

Was at the game tonight and the Cats were just so much better it wasn't funny. Demons/Dockers/Tigers etc. None of them would have stood a chance and that should give full credit to the preperation & desire the Cats brought into the match.

Everyone keeps writing Geelong off every year. They're delivering and honestly I don't see who stops them. All I will say is good luck to either Sydney or Collingwood, it won't be easy but may the best team win.

Enjoy the build up during the week and best of luck in the Granny.

Outstanding post.

Bad luck tonight mate. Doesn’t change the good year you had, you won’t be far away next season either

Melbourne seemed to struggle with it last year.
Erm, Melbourne were playing a side coming off an equally soft prelim final win, so that argument holds precisely zero weight.

Geelong’s soft prelim win in 2020 might be a better one to look at given their opponent in the grand final had done it considerably tougher in their prelim. How did that turn out? :think:

Why would neutrals care? The very definition of a neutral is they are apathetic to the result. Unless they weren't neutral at all which would explain the tears about the umpiring
I would think any neutral would have preferred a more even contest, not a one way drubbing.

Really? Geelongs record against Richmond in the last 5 years would be better than nearly all teams. That's despite never playing Richmond on our home ground.
Last 10 is 6 Richmond 4 Geelong

As you say It’s a decent record for sure mate!

Yet finals are 3/3 our way which is why our supporters are so vocal when it comes to all things Geelong. I’m not getting into that crap fight though, I see it way too much on here and it drives me insane!

Finals are more difficult to score and As shown in the qualifying final against Collingwood. The pies brand of footy is more dangerous to the cats then Sydney imo. The chaos style is unpredictable and Collingwood have copied our old style to a tee. Brisbane played predictable tonight and you pumped them! I think you will win the premiership regardless but Collingwood will have a better chance then Sydney imo. Especially at the G

Cats been the best team all year and I reckon the only chance for missing a premiership would of been losing that first final which you got over the line. Was a mighty win tonight 👍🏻

Mate everyone outside Geelong supporters and portions of the media are sick of Geelong. Not making a negative comment consider it a feather in your cap that you bastards won't go away and are an example to other clubs about dedication and professionalism which is why you have been able to sustain this consistency and longevity since forever. Other supporters want to see you guys fail because there sick of you. Bit like Federer and Nadal for so many years. I hate you blokes but I admire what you have been able to sustain. If you can reward yourselves with a flag you will deserve it.

Erm, Melbourne were playing a side coming off an equally soft prelim final win, so that argument holds precisely zero weight.

Geelong’s soft prelim win in 2020 might be a better one to look at given their opponent in the grand final had done it considerably tougher in their prelim. How did that turn out? :think:
Hard to get a gauge on what will happen in the GF based on the prelims

Just for Geelong we have

2007 - Geelong obliterates Port after a 5 pt prelim win compared to Ports 89 pts

2008 - lose to Hawthorn who won their prelim more comfortably

2009 - Beat St Kilda who won their prelim a close prelim while we beat Collingwood by 13 goals

2011 - Run away from Collingwood after we won our prelim by 9 goals and they won with nearly the last kick

2020 - Richmond win a close one and run over us after we comfortably beat Brisbane

Autopsy AFL 2022 First Preliminary Final - Cats v Lions Fri Sept 16th 7:50pm EST (MCG)