Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Massive red flag surelyDepending on the decade, that could be half the league... Saints haven't been recruiting poorly lately, just in the same boat as us in terms of what they want to do with the list.
Apparently they declined.
IMO our haul could have easily been Hewett, Clarke, Keeler and Lemmey while throwing less valuable future picks on the table for what seems to be a strong draft next year.
Hey guys, first time visiting your board (I believe).
It pains me to say it, but I thought you guys had a really good draft this year. Top 3 up there with West Coast and St Kilda.
Okay, firstly, I wouldn't have picked any of those kids at those picks
What we have done, is added endurance and ball movement players, in Hollands, Cowan and Binns, all of who, win their own footy, which is very important
My concern, we really haven't addressed and or prioritised pure speed and footskills
Lemmey, COULD be the best tall of this draft, can play anywhere down the spine
Okay, firstly, I wouldn't have picked any of those kids at those picks
What we have done, is added endurance and ball movement players, in Hollands, Cowan and Binns, all of who, win their own footy, which is very important
My concern, we really haven't addressed and or prioritised pure speed and footskills
“we really haven't addressed and or prioritised pure speed and footskills” - not much we can do about speed, but over to training now for improved kickingOkay, firstly, I wouldn't have picked any of those kids at those picks
How do you know he refused to engage with recruiters were you a fly on the wallLook I get this, but what I don't get is a focused and professional football club having a similar approach when they have all the information on hand. This feels like we went too far to indulge Voss when he refused to really engage in implementing multiple alternatives offered to him by his assistant and development coaches.
What about those who can run quick while keeping their feet? Hollands, for all that he can do, is not that player enough compared to what was in that 10-25 range.
Lemmey is part of that answer, but I see him as more of a swingman. De Koning is another solve here, with the hope being that Mirkov kicks on. I wasn't expecting a ruck solve via the draft unless someone fell in our lap, and the Pittonet contract situation already sealed the deal a bit unless we went and snatched one of GWS' younger ruck options.
That's the plan, but they've got to manage more than 10 games between them. Durdin will lift, but Motlop needs a lot of fitness work.
Fingers are also crossed for Martin. People crying about defensive injury potential, but that forward half mix is like a hospital ward.
I think we've got third tall solves up forward now, especially with Cowan coming in: Kemp is going forward with certainty.
It's sad that we have so many people getting paid to leave the entire process of making crunch decisions to the elation or humiliation of a finals series.
While some of it comes from the mindset of the competitor and that can't always be imbued or fully identified prior, there's plenty that can be done and should be done, particularly if players are regularly failing at a task their peers aren't in the regular season.
I was locked and loaded to do a far more sarcastic and acerbic version of this list, but you missed one:
4. Pace setting for every training session, get the man a megaphone and just watch the PBs roll in
But that's a pissweak set of reasons, the real one is if his ankle is right he's still got enough about him, particularly if he can safely split time between the middle and the forward line, which will leave him fresh to unleash the speed aspect of his speed/endurance mix.
Have to say…there is a fair bit of Sydney about our draft last night. No nonsense, meat and veg players. Safe but probably not misplaced at this stage of our list building particularly given the queries still on Philip, Kemp, Cuningham etc
All has been said about the players so my only qualm is the last time we went so hard to address our needs at the draft we went all in on talls and ended up with Watson, McCarthy and Mitchell in the one draft. I hope we’re not blinkered like that again.
Why should we have taken Hotton over Binns?
From the YouTube highlights, Mabo Vibe or the in-depth expert facts list managers have in front of them?
Gimme an index fundSurely that's just sensible risk management? Some safer options to guarantee a decent return plus something a bit more speculative that could turn into an outsized gain. One might almost call it a balanced portfolio.
Can any of our pick-ups be regarded as finishers?
I hope we take another tassie boy Seth Campbell in today's rookie draft
Binns to an extent, Lemmey is a beautiful kick
Dumb move will end up retiring half way through the yr because of soft tissue injuriesWe have one spot left and we’re taking Ed.
This.. and I like the Cowan/ Doch/ Saad/ Williams observation. Hopefully getting the right people to understudies to the right people (also, to lesser degree, Lemmey/ McKay/ Curnow) means our development program becomes more Geelong like for the potential of sustained success...My take on this year’s draft:
Like the Hollands pick, I agree with the Andrew Brayshaw comparisons. He’ll will himself to become a quality player. I rated Hewett higher and think WC got away with some more *ery like they did with Darling but we still got a good player who will show up week after week for years for us.
Cowan and Binns. Good players, good runners. Was it overkill? Perhaps a little. I don’t buy into BigFooty favourites, did not rate Phillipou or Allan as high as others this year but Hotton has performed, is from the best system and has the attributes. Would Hotton and one of these guys have been a better mix? Maybe. On Cowan though, worth noting that Docherty turns 30 next year, Saad and Williams both turn 29 so if he works out he’ll be ready to step in right as they’re stepping out.
Apart from a few nice small forwards and a few solid tall defenders this was a very average draft after the top 15 which I’ve mentioned a few times previously and this was confirmed by clubs trading out from about this point. We’ve got a solid all round list so I love that we went with Lemmey at our last pick. Nothing to lose, heaps to gain if he can get back to last year’s form.