Vic How would you rate Daniel Andrews' performance as Victorian Premier? - Part 7

• Thread starter Thread starter Saint

Refuted by the Comm Games organisation yesterday and not since spoken about by Andews as he knows that's a lie.
He put his hand up.
This was your statement.

You lied.

You're now trying to insult me, because I'm attempting to hold you to your statement.

I'm done talking about this.
You're just another random poster spamming their opinion.
My mistake was thinking you could substantiate it.

Be well.

What a surprise, another strawman from you.

Personally I prefer to reserve judgement until as much available information comes to hand. I realise that you don't work that way.

You probably don't understand that there are senior people at the CGA and CGF with their reputations on the line here as well. Such people will often manufacture a version of events that is not strictly true in order to save themselves.

And I don't know how many times I have to repeat myself that Dan has a lot of questions to answer over this and that he f***ed up seriously. But I am here to tell you that neither side is telling you the whole truth, no matter how much your miniscule brain wants to believe that only one one party is lying here.
Yeah no worries .... Dan's reputation precedes him.
What a masterful press conference today in Maryborough full of deflection, contradiction and the usual 'I don't want to prejudice negotiations'.
We'll be stumping up a billion here to cancel the contract.
The simple fact that Andrews is already deflecting lying and has pulled a $6-$7 billion figure out of the air tells you how corrupt it all is.
Sadly, we are used it to in Victoria.
Bye Strawman.

What a surprise, another strawman from you.

Personally I prefer to reserve judgement until as much available information comes to hand. I realise that you don't work that way.

You probably don't understand that there are senior people at CGA and the CGF with their reputations on the line here as well. Such people will often manufacture a version of events that is not strictly true in order to save themselves.

And I don't know how many times I have to repeat myself that Dan has a lot of questions to answer over this and that he f***ed up seriously. But I am here to tell you that neither side is telling you the whole truth, no matter how much your miniscule brain wants to believe that only one one party is lying here.

Not fooling anyone with your 'Dan has questions to answer'.
Dan doesn't answer questions .. you know that.
I'll beat you a $1000 he doesn't reveal how much it cost to tear up the contract.
He doesn't do that.

Yeah no worries .... Dan's reputation precedes him.
What a masterful press conference today in Maryborough full of deflection, contradiction and the usual 'I don't want to prejudice negotiations'.
We'll be stumping up a billion here to cancel the contract.
The simple fact that Andrews is already deflecting lying and has pulled a $6-$7 billion figure out of the air tells you how corrupt it all is.
Sadly, we are used it to in Victoria.
Bye Strawman.

Can you substantiate any of this?

Links? Where is your $1b coming from? Any sources at all, or are you telling porkies again?

As you say, once a liar, always a liar and all that.:D

Not fooling anyone with your 'Dan has questions to answer'.
Dan doesn't answer questions .. you know that.
I'll beat you a $1000 he doesn't reveal how much it cost to tear up the contract.
He doesn't do that.

You've just said it will cost $1b.

Were you lying?

Are you suggesting that these claims are entirely well founded and not deserving of any further investigation?
Since they are going to release all the numbers, I suppose you'll have at least a few days of wild cooker speculation before this peters out.

No doubt when the Games are run in Scotland or England in 2026, The Creepy Assumer from Victoria will be the first on the plane to the UK to be in attendance and be there spruiking Victoria's willingness to host the 2034 Games on Phillip Island or Beijing.
No shame whatsoever wasting the taxpayer's money.

Links? Where is your $1b coming from? Any sources at all, or are you telling porkies again?

Yes, he is telling porkies.

Pesutto pulled a number out of thin air wondering aloud if that much could have been spent.

Nuffies hyping up nuffies to keep the news cycle running.

Well Peter Beattie is estimating at least a billion on previous experience.
It'll likely be higher.
Sorry to ruin you day, Mr Weimar, but you'll get a nice $650,000 a year job to head up the social housing project ;)

Yeah he realised it was a mistake and pulled out. Not double down like LNP would have done.
True in part. If he kept going it would of been even worse. But he should never of made a mistake to this extent. serious money has already been lost. And he kind of did double down on the regional aspect of it. It appears no consideration was made to move it to melbourne despite numerous advice suggesting it should seriously be considered to save money. And he still plans on building much of the regional sports infrastructure anyway even though there are no games for them. He is still spending on this only no revenue will come.

read the age and abcs reporting on this. Even they are scathing of the incompetence shown in how the government started organising this. Cost blow out of over 250 percent. Would you trust anyone with your money if their estimated costs blew out this much?

No doubt when the Games are run in Scotland or England in 2026, The Creepy Assumer from Victoria will be the first on the plane to the UK to be in attendance and be there spruiking Victoria's willingness to host the 2034 Games on Phillip Island or Beijing.
Now I'm convinced you are someone's alt and trying to do a bit.

Boomer tier shitstirring.

And you'll probably be there, complaining about the cost on taxpayers, and insisting more needs to be done about 'the debt'.

Do you actually care about this issue, or are you just desperate to find more reasons to vent your outrage?

Yes, he is telling porkies.

Pesutto pulled a number out of thin air wondering aloud if that much could have been spent.

Nuffies hyping up nuffies to keep the news cycle running.

Peter Beattie, who chaired the 2018 Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast, has warned the contract will be "tough" for Victoria to get out of.
The final cost of the state government's stunning backflip on the 2026 games is yet to be known, but Beattie warned there could be stringent conditions.
"You have to remember that the Commonwealth Games Federation does this every four years. They do it on a regular basis with a tight contract and the contract will be difficult to get out of," Beattie told Today.
He said he recalled that Queensland would have had to pay about $1 billion had it reneged on its commitment to the 2018 games.

True in part. If he kept going it would of been even worse. But he should never of made a mistake to this extent. serious money has already been lost. And he kind of did double down on the regional aspect of it. It appears no consideration was made to move it to melbourne despite numerous advice suggesting it should seriously be considered to save money. And he still plans on building much of the regional sports infrastructure anyway even though there are no games for them. He is still spending on this only no revenue will come.

read the age and abcs reporting on this. Even they are scathing of the incompetence shown in how the governmemt started organising this.
Has serious money been lost?

If they are still delivering the useful parts of some of the sports/regional infrastructure, that's not a loss.

Now I'm convinced you are someone's alt and trying to do a bit.

Boomer tier shitstirring.
more like their old account got such a bad rep that they decided to make the alt their new main

Peter Beattie, who chaired the 2018 Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast, has warned the contract will be "tough" for Victoria to get out of.
The final cost of the state government's stunning backflip on the 2026 games is yet to be known, but Beattie warned there could be stringent conditions.
"You have to remember that the Commonwealth Games Federation does this every four years. They do it on a regular basis with a tight contract and the contract will be difficult to get out of," Beattie told Today.
He said he recalled that Queensland would have had to pay about $1 billion had it reneged on its commitment to the 2018 games.
Hype.

I'd imagine Victoria would have agreed under much more favourable conditions. Given nobody else wanted and nobody really wants it now.

Can you link me to the posts where you've held Dan to the same level of accountability you're seemingly holding Joshy boy too?
He’s still yet to post anything to back up his trillion dollar disinformation
Saying what? That Labor commits to projects without any understanding of cost? Or that 10 years is long enough for any government? I am nit sure what point you are trying to make, and what any of this has to do with the RBA??

Interest rates in Australia are low compared to most western countries. Why would Australia be immune from what is happening globally?

And finally, I am not a 'crank'. So typical of you to label a poster whose views don't align with yours
It’s the left modus operandi
No answer so out come circa 2000 memes and insults that would embarrass a 10 year old
That's why despite the hysterics Andrews is on pretty safe ground here, nobody really cares.
Safe ground.
Lol

Obtuse no, its the Trillion claim I'm yet to be convinced of, not that we are up the creek financially courtesy of unbridled spend, spend, spend, with the ScoMo Government every bit as responsible as any the Governments that did not deliver a surplus.
Still no link about the trillion I see
Read it before it dissapears
Lol

Has serious money been lost?

If they are still delivering the useful parts of some of the sports/regional infrastructure, that's not a loss.
Do you honestly think regional victoria needs 2 billion dollars in big entertainment sports infrastructure? Thats 3 tassie brand new football stadiums worth of sports infrastructure (And a small amount of housing). This spending is for partisan politics purposes. I.e it was promised so it will be delivered. its wasteful even if there was a games. Even more wasteful without it. Even more wasteful considering how inflated comstruction costs are at the moment. Build sports infrastructure when construction and borrowing costs are low if you must. Not when those costs are at record highs.

Do you honestly think regional victoria needs 2 billion dollars in big entertainment sports infrastructure? Thats 3 tassie brand new football stadiums worth of sports infrastructure (And a small amount of housing). This spending is for partisan politics purposes. I.e it was promised so it will be delivered. its wasteful even if there was a games. Even more wasteful without it. Even more wasteful considering how inflated comstruction costs are at the moment. Build sports infrastructure when construction and borrowing costs are low. Not at record highs.
Do you know what's actually being spent on, and produced?

If it is a large range of infrastructure that supports and promotes the growth in health and inclusivity across the community, do you oppose that in outcome or just in theory?

What should a state Government invest in, if not in this area?

Doesnt seem like the Govt knows how to say no to anybody.

And the consultants who tell them things up front are always gilding the lily because procurement systems allow for them to then access the resultant rivers of gold.

Airport bending them over blew out that project.

Gold-plating of other infrastructure and NIMBYism dictating multi-million dollar decisions.

The value for money return of some of these LXRP projects would be just about negative.

It seems image is more important by multitudes than budgets are.

Hubris was always going to bring this govt down. Now that its starting, it will be difficult to stop. When the next ALP premier has to say No to things this one said yes all the time too, it will get a lot worse.

Well, when the Commonwealth Games authority CEO clearly states that they did not 'BEG' the Victorian Government to take the games on and that they did not step in to host the game at anyone's request and that the State Government in fact put its hand up to host them.

So,it stands to reason that when Andrews says they were asked to 'rescue the Games', it's false. A lie. Untruth. Whatever you want to call it.
Or are you that obtuse?

It's not new for Andrews to claim things in his press conferences as fact only to be quickly disproven, hence Craig Phillips quickly clarified it.

To quote Phillips again .. 'They did not step in as hosts at the last minute, as indicated by the Premier earlier today.'

What are you not getting???

I'll break it down ... 'They did not step in as hosts'. That is, they bid for it and wanted to take it over.
Further, 'as indicated by the Premier earlier today.' ... As in he is responding what the Premier said.
And add to that the CEO of the CGA warned Andrews not to go with the expensive regional option, but what would the CEO of the CGA know?

Well Peter Beattie is estimating at least a billion on previous experience.
It'll likely be higher.
Sorry to ruin you day, Mr Weimar, but you'll get a nice $650,000 a year job to head up the social housing project ;)

Pay that. I did laugh.:thumbsu:

He's going from recall regarding a totally different contract agreed under totally different conditions, most likely at a time when the CGF and CGA had more leverage.

It's not an apples for apples comparison yet you seemed quite certain it would cost us $1b. It could be more, it could be less but the fact is that you don't actually have any idea.

So, why make up stories? You've got plenty of ammunition to go at Andrews with without creating, what do you people call them, alternative facts?