Players weights to no longer be disclosed

It's a mad world we live with people in jobs that have absolutely no idea how to do them. What idiot thought of this idea? The height and weight of a player is vital knowledge to know during a game when the coach puts a bloke on another player who is 10kgs lighter? This is one of the more absurd things the AFL have done.

I can't tell if this thread is real or parody, I mean no one surely gives a shit if they list player's weights or not. Flip the argument, if they had never listed the weights what reason would you have for starting? It's probably never even been that accurate anyway for all anyone knows.

“They’re not accountants, they’re not nurses, they’re not lawyers – they’re professional athletes where your body is your job for goodness sake.” - Corn

Their job is footy, their body is merely the tool they use to perform that job, They can weigh as much or little as they like so long as they can do that job.

“No longer in my role as a commentator can I say Jake Lever is playing on Charlie Curnow, Curnow has an 8kg advantage – he should take him deep to the goal square." - Corn

If a commentator is relying on player weights to be able to tell how someone should defend someone else, they're a pretty shit commentator imo. Unless, of course, those players had just fallen from the sky that very minute or something.

I can't tell if this thread is real or parody, I mean no one surely gives a s**t if they list player's weights or not. Flip the argument, if they had never listed the weights what reason would you have for starting? It's probably never even been that accurate anyway for all anyone knows.

Their job is footy, their body is merely the tool they use to perform that job, They can weigh as much or little as they like so long as they can do that job.

If a commentator is relying on player weights to be able to tell how someone should defend someone else, they're a pretty s**t commentator imo. Unless, of course, those players had just fallen from the sky that very minute or something.
No the thread is real son, weight is a relevant factor in football and therefore valuable information, people bet on football and play fantasy football, and there's no reason not to publish weights as all AFL players are pretty fit and don't have body issues.

Too late when the game starts to discover that that 210cm ruck you just put in your dream team is built like a stick insect and won't last 3 games this season.

On SM-A225F using BigFooty.com mobile app

The argument for whether the information is useful or not is not the issue. The issue is the reason for not providing the information is batshit crazy.
Maybe, maybe not, but if the information isn't useful then who cares what the reason is? It's completely irrelevant.

No the thread is real son, weight is a relevant factor in football and therefore valuable information, people bet on football and play fantasy football, and there's no reason not to publish weights as all AFL players are pretty fit and don't have body issues.

Too late when the game starts to discover that that 210cm ruck you just put in your dream team is built like a stick insect and won't last 3 games this season.

Yeah, you're making my argument for me.

But what about height shaming.
They should ban that too.
Then they should ban player names too.
It’s unfair a boy named sue gets shamed for having a girls name.

Uh huh.

Caleb Daniel must be wondering why height shaming isn’t an issue?

Other than silly analogies, no point has been made to support removing weights being listed.

It's a contact sport with a number of different positions to which a player's height and weight is imperative.

It gives significant insight into a player's strengths and weaknesses. I.e wines is 100kg, for his height that's well above average, it makes more sense why he's hard to move off the ball. But you'd think with that weight he should or could be a damaging resting forward (this is an example, please don't respond saying why I'm right or wrong about Wines)

On Pixel 6 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Caleb Daniel must be wondering why height shaming isn’t an issue?
That'll be next don't worry. The very fact you used Caleb Daniel as the example has offended a couple of people in here for sure. It's like the decision makers are trying to protect the players from the potential of being offended. I would say a players size is essential for people in the football industry to know. Whether they talk specifics is up to them but I reckon the better informed they are when making comment the better.

Does anyone over 50 not think the world is spiraling downward?
Its called getting old and noticing death is right around the corner mate.

Our world is spiraling downward. The rest of the world couldn't give a shit about that tho.

But what about height shaming.
They should ban that too.
Then they should ban player names too.
It’s unfair a boy named sue gets shamed for having a girls name.
These days
if you named your boy Sue
That's probably what they'd do.

Everyone should care whether the world is being taken over by idiots.

Kiss the profession of weightlifting or boxing goodbye if your weight is too personal to reveal publicly.
Probably best to discuss that on Bigweightliftingy or Bigboxingy as they are different sports.
If you think weight is irrelevant in football then you know zero about the game lol [emoji38]

Hard to imagine anything more relevant than weight

Didn't say it was irrelevant, just that you don't need to know the specific number to be able to judge a player. You would have no idea how accurate the published numbers were to begin with.
Pretty much no information is actually useful for the fan sitting at home. But you build a better fanbase by providing the most information possible
Yeah, don't know how the average fan is going to survive next season groping around in the statistical darkness, absolutely clueless how heavy a player is.

This is supposed to be pro sports where everything minute detail is able to be analysed.

Might as well stop keeping tracking of how many behinds a player kicks and only list goals.

Players weights to no longer be disclosed