Review R23: The Good, Bad and Ugly vs. Port Adelaide

I reckon it was Nicks talking about targeting Rankine

Pretty obvious Houston lined him up and Nicks probably knows Hinkley has no issue with such tactics.

Game on line, take out the opposition's most threatening player.
They have history with Bont, Gawn, what is disappointing is we didn’t return fire with Flopper Butters

Good: Liked Worrell’s and Bond’s games
Securing Pick 4

Ugly: Yep, that’s always been the Port MO, even in their SANFL days. Take out your best player and throw your team off their game. Very much reminded why I hate them so much.

Bad: Our response after that hit

Worrell was pretty good.

Backline as a whole is our big positive this year.
Bond is the final piece. A genuine small defender.

Sign him up.

He now needs to learn how to perform through the boos.

Will be booed every Showdown.

If you are going to make such comments and double down during the game, back it up with action.
Rash said during the week he knows he will be booed and doesn't care, he loves it.
You can't back it up every time. You have bad times and good times. Talking when you're not winning shows you have an attitude of not giving a shit about the heat, it's easy to talk shit when you win

Some talk about downhill skiing, this isn't downhill skiing.
It's easy to talk shit when you're up and about and disappear when you're losing.

They have history with Bont, Gawn, what is disappointing is we didn’t return fire with Flopper Butters
The disappointment is that we didn't play the ball after that incident.

Looking forward to seeing them try to rough up Tom Green. GWS will respond differently.

I'm going to go against the grain and say that I don't think having a player like Bond who is only able to shut down a small forward is going to work long term in the modern AFL
I’m happy as a defender he starts that way then once you are feeling confident that you belong start attacking moves

Rash said during the week he knows he will be booed and doesn't care, he loves it.
You can't back it up every time. You have bad times and good times. Talking when you're not winning shows you have an attitude of not giving a shit about the heat, it's easy to talk shit when you win

Some talk about downhill skiing, this isn't downhill skiing.
It's easy to talk shit when you're up and about and disappear when you're losing.
Words and actions are not the same.

It rattled him when the game got tough.

A I said in an earlier post, he will never be a genuine game breaker.

I feel his ceiling is Ben Keays type of player. Who also went missing last night.

I'm going to go against the grain and say that I don't think having a player like Bond who is only able to shut down a small forward is going to work long term in the modern AFL
I think it's good to have that type of player on the list long-term, but I think he'll be in and out of the best 22 for a decade

Very good at that shutdown role, but needs to develop more offensive craft if he's to get to even Luke Brown level

I’m happy as a defender he starts that way then once you are feeling confident that you belong start attacking moves

He hasn't shown any offensive capabilities yet, even at SANFL level. His disposal taking relatively safe options is questionable

I’ve got my doubts too. Going in his favour is that our talls edit and medium defenders - other than Butts - are attacking types.

I have come to the conclusion that Nick's just isn't a great coach.
However, I am happy we have got pick 4, and one more year of experience into the kids.
We need a reset, Nick's needs to either move on, or the club needs to put some experience around him.
What is Choco doing? Say what you want about him, but he is a good coach.

Crows should of made them pay after rankine hit. No finals nothing to lose.

Smash them. that would of been spirit.
Actually, no. What they needed to do was to play even harder and win the game, for Rankine, for Crows Pride and to stick it up PA's players and supporters, which is what Nicks should have drilled into them at 3///4 time.
Resorting to their shitty tactics might have resulted in enough suspensions to give us another 0-4 start in 2025 which we don't need.
:think: :think: :think: ... come to think if it, that might hasten Nicks' EXIT, so I take that back :sneaky:.

Words and actions are not the same.

It rattled him when the game got tough.

A I said in an earlier post, he will never be a genuine game breaker.

I feel his ceiling is Ben Keays type of player. Who also went missing last night.
He had that one incident he turned sideways to take the ball, that's it.
Nothing about him was rattled by booing, he just wasn't in the game which happens to him and others in other games also.

He, like the rest of our forwards, barely got a look at the ball for a lot of the 2nd half also.

I have come to the conclusion that Nick's just isn't a great coach.
However, I am happy we have got pick 4, and one more year of experience into the kids.
We need a reset, Nick's needs to either move on, or the club needs to put some experience around him.
What is Choco doing? Say what you want about him, but he is a good coach.
Chocko would be a good get in the footy dept it we can't or won’t get Balme

As far as I know you've never been able to front on bump in a marking contest (and I'm pretty sure rankine was marking it).

Rankine was going for the mark, not even bracing for the impact. Causing whiplash and smacking his head flat on the surface. Probs even copped a bit of shoulder to the chin which may have knocked him out prior to hitting the ground

Rankine wasn't going for a mark it was the result of a giant double fisted spoil from Keane
(Take the mark next time, Keane)

Completely disagree

What Port fans don't get is that them being flogs that the AFL world despises won't change through winning.

Reserving any criticism of them and holding back on mocking them only for when they lose reinforces that winning improves their image and makes them immune. It doesn't. They are a flog club whether they win or lose.

The fact that this moment is living in the heads of Port fans rent free despite their victory is exactly why it was a good move. Because deep down his comments were genuinely hurtful and not something that can be healed through a win
We’re here to win games of football not educate port supporters on why they are ****wits and give the team extra motivation to win

He had that one incident he turned sideways to take the ball, that's it.
Nothing about him was rattled by booing, he just wasn't in the game which happens to him and others in other games also.

He, like the rest of our forwards, barely got a look at the ball for a lot of the 2nd half also.
Yeah, I don't think that contest was that bad. The issue was not picking the ball up.

I think his aim was to one grab the ball and move out quick. Not shirk the physical contact.

But being a non entity in the second half is an issue.

He was pick 6, by now he should be able to control games. Be the difference.

He can't.

Last night he needed to stand up after trolling their supporters. He didn't and now looks stupid.

There is a mental softness there.

It is not coaching either. Sog has gone ahead of him.

We’re here to win games of football not educate port supporters on why they are ****wits and give the team extra motivation to win

Rachele giving it to Port fans had no impact on their ability to beat us. They didn't suddenly come out firing after his jab and if anything started the game flat after he put them on blast in the media.

We lost because we lacked on field leadership after Port sniped our best player and they used that, not Rachele's trolling, as motivation for the win.

Rachele, or any of our players, shouldn't be scared of giving it to Port fans because we might lose.

There's so much talk of Rachele playing soft and squibbing yet people want him to quiet down on his true thoughts about Port fans. I tell you what, being a timid loser that's scared of giving it to Port because we might not win is squibbing it

Review R23: The Good, Bad and Ugly vs. Port Adelaide