Autopsy Opening Round = GWS 104-52 Collingwood

For me, it should be 'Home' Round.

First game of the season, let all clubs play in their home state so they can find their feet without travel.

BRI vs SUN
GWS vs SYD
FRE vs WCE
POR vs ADE
COL vs CAR
WBD vs NOR
ESS vs HAW
GEE vs MEL
RIC vs STK

That would be a cracking opener, plenty of rivalries and all teams training to their conditions. I know we have the 'Derby' but that could be moved in favour of celebrating each team playing at 'Home'.
Would definitely create more excitement for ALL supporters. Would be a great start to the season.

Good luck with that wish. The good folk of Western Sydney being interested in footy is the AFL's holy grail - trying to get them interested from the start of the season is the goal of Opening round - and we're the best club for it.

Even our appearance couldn't sell that hole out

We should be removing ourselves from it going forward. Make them derbies if they want to get better interest and crowds up there

Even our appearance couldn't sell that hole out

We should be removing ourselves from it going forward. Make them derbies if they want to get better interest and crowds up there
We can request not to play GWS in round zero, but we have no real say. If the AFL fixture it, we have to play.

First game of the season, let all clubs play in their home state so they can find their feet without travel.

BRI vs SUN
GWS vs SYD
FRE vs WCE
POR vs ADE
COL vs CAR
WBD vs NOR
ESS vs HAW
GEE vs MEL
RIC vs STK

That would be a cracking opener, plenty of rivalries and all teams training to their conditions. I know we have the 'Derby' but that could be moved in favour of celebrating each team playing at 'Home'.

I reckon the AFL has shot itself in the foot by selling off the Gather Round concept to SA when we were originally led to believe that it would rotate through different states in different years.

I don't mind starting off with a rivalry round as you suggest but if they're determined to grow the game outside of Victoria then Vossy's idea - or one similar - would sit with me better than the current arrangement ie;

2 games in SA, 2 games in WA, 2 games in QLD, 2 games in NSW... and then the 9th game is either a Melbourne Demons Alice Springs game or even a North vs Hawks tassie game.

Until Tasmania comes in which case you make the 9th game their tassie home game with a Victorian side alternating on an opening round bye.

I reckon the AFL has shot itself in the foot by selling off the Gather Round concept to SA when we were originally led to believe that it would rotate through different states in different years.

I don't mind starting off with a rivalry round as you suggest but if they're determined to grow the game outside of Victoria then Vossy's idea - or one similar - would sit with me better than the current arrangement ie;

2 games in SA, 2 games in WA, 2 games in QLD, 2 games in NSW... and then the 9th game is either a Melbourne Demons Alice Springs game or even a North vs Hawks tassie game.

Until Tasmania comes in which case you make the 9th game their tassie home game with a Victorian side alternating on an opening round bye.

Who knows what they do when Tassie come in - they can't stick with 23 games each.

Didn't they have weeks where more than 1 side had a bye in 2011 when Gold Coast came in? That said it only happened for one year before GWS came in the following year, so hopefully they have an idea of which two clubs they're going to merge 😂

Saints and North
Call them the Bayside Crabs 🦀

Agree, and I would have said it even if we won yesterday.

The season starts two weeks too early. The spate of injuries across the league over the off season might be a contributing factor to the early start as well.
Every cramp had me on edge worrying about hamstrings...no more so than where Crispy was concerned.
Friends who were at the game left at half time because they and their 2 children (7 and 9) were so uncomfortable in the heat.
Die hard Pies supports who go to 6-7 games a year.

In terms of mergers, the following seem to make more geographical sense (although let's be honest, no-one is likely to be forcibly merged in the near future):

- Melbourne / North Melbourne: they share a geographical boundary, the respective supporter bases aren't huge so one wouldn't necessarily dominate the other, there's not established historical rivalry and they could easily be called the Melbourne Kangaroos

- Footscray / North Melbourne: similar characteristics to the above and perhaps could be called the something that refers to the 'North Western' etc. with both clubs in recent times looking to expand into Ballarat and the surrounding area

- St Kilda / Melbourne: similar to North and Melbourne, proposed team name might be the Melbourne Saints

Wasn’t last year’s game at night?
Maybe the AFL scheduled it so families could attend Moomba?
Don't get me wrong.
I am not trying to defend Collingwoods shit footy either.
We were insipid, but if a single player missed games due to the heat or got injured due to the shit surface after the Greenbay concern I would be stabbing campaigners at AFL house.

Haven’t been here since the game and cbf’d catching but has we all already called the season off and called us to play the kids and tank for picks? 😁

To be fair everyone and the media is entitled to call us slow because we were slow last Sunday. Low energy, low tackling and we gave up when the score and pace of the game was running away from us.

Key things to work on:
  • can our mids and half forwards work on better connection for that last kick i50. Think we drank our bath water on the MMM and they just thought bombing it in would be good enough. Membrey and Mcstay were disappointing too on their leading patterns to be fair. At some point it was 20 inside 50s for 5 points. You can’t win a game of footy after that because it’s a game of momentum
  • how do we bring some pace at HB and on the wing? If Nick is down or hampered I really don’t think having Pendles, Sidey, Lipinski in there is going to do it. Maybe Hill spends more time on a wing, maybe personnel changes, maybe we debut Hayes earlier than normal because of our needs
  • Let’s make sure tackling up the ground is up, can’t let team run it out of their backline that easily. Giants Swans Hawks and other strong rebound scoring teams are going to eat that up (probably saves Shoota’s position!)

It’s quite interesting the beat up we are getting. Written off, season over.

If we’d say won by 5 goals, Oppo supporters would be screaming that it’s just one game and flags aren’t won in March.

Which is Correct. But this also applies to a loss.
Bring it on. Underdog always suits us best.

In terms of mergers, the following seem to make more geographical sense (although let's be honest, no-one is likely to be forcibly merged in the near future):

- Melbourne / North Melbourne: they share a geographical boundary, the respective supporter bases aren't huge so one wouldn't necessarily dominate the other, there's not established historical rivalry and they could easily be called the Melbourne Kangaroos

- Footscray / North Melbourne: similar characteristics to the above and perhaps could be called the something that refers to the 'North Western' etc. with both clubs in recent times looking to expand into Ballarat and the surrounding area

- St Kilda / Melbourne: similar to North and Melbourne, proposed team name might be the Melbourne Saints
Footscray is the Western Bulldogs, runs at a profit and has been in 2 GF’s in 9 years.

St Kilda/Melbourne is even more hilarious. Culture matter. Private school twats and pool playing cigarette smokers at the Social Club would quite be something.

BRI vs SUN
GWS vs SYD
FRE vs WCE
POR vs ADE
COL vs CAR
WBD vs NOR
ESS vs HAW
GEE vs MEL
RIC vs STK

Definitely agree to this format 👍

Haven’t been here since the game and cbf’d catching but has we all already called the season off and called us to play the kids and tank for picks? 😁

This would be a very Collingwood thing to do... Tank for picks when we don't actually have our first round pick... Reminds me of 2021.

I’ll probably get booted out of here and by all means I’ll go on the record that I would never support such a team but imagine we merged with our Silver spoon neighbours 😳

This would be a very Collingwood thing to do... Tank for picks when we don't actually have our first round pick... Reminds me of 2021.
Yeah but am I correct in saying neither did we last year but ended up with one to trade for Houston after some crafty trades.

Then this year we already have a first round pick no matter where we land him in McGuane.

Autopsy Opening Round = GWS 104-52 Collingwood