Review R9: The Good, Bad and the Ugly vs. Port Adelaide

Jeez imagine highlighting Crows players playing for free kicks when your Port Adelaide’s biggest fan.

It’d be like the head of the Ku Klux Klan pointing out racism.
Especially when you barrack for Port, the team that ****ingwell invented the flop at the Gavin Wanganeen School of Acting. Strooooth!!

It's Port who turned it into an art form.

That's such an odd range of votes

Surely it was either Thilthorpe or Butters that should have won it
I can't believe Rozee won in such a landslide.

What won us the game waa our aerial dominance Thilthorpe had 5 contested marks. That's a very rare feat.

Port dominated clearsnces/midfield play. Butters was massive here.

Rozee directly gave us 3 goals and his lack of defending gave Rachele another easy one. Plus he missed the game winning shot. All he did, and did well, was mop up looks ball in HB and set upba couple of plays.

My 3,2,1 was

Butters
RT he needed to do more in 4th qtr IMO.
Rozee

Especially when you barrack for Port, the team that ****ingwell invented the flop at the Gavin Wanganeen School of Acting. Strooooth!!

It's Port who turned it into an art form.
My favourite part was showing the footage of DBJ flopping when he took the mark to get the 50 metre penalty, he completely ignored that dive to focus on Worrell in the background 🤣

I only now watched idiot Cornes having a sooky la la cry about staging. My first reaction was guffawing at the irony of him talking about...whoever, in the goal square, while DBJ flops to the ground from a pathetic touch in the back by Laird.

He's sending it to Christiansen. LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL

Somebody, quick, call the waaaaaaaaaambulance!

What a teary, sour grapes sook he is. 🤣

Moronic to think that Rankine didn’t help win us the game when it mattered

Goal assist to Rachele on half time when we were cooked

Ridiculous crumb and reflex handball to TT that then handballed to Fog to snap a classy goal , then kicks 2 goals in next 8 mins to give us the key to winning game

The soccer goal was crazy freakish

Basically class when the game was on line when we needed it X 4

Will not apologise to any one silly enough to think Rankine wasn’t important

So Bartel and Hird do a segment on Rankine’s touches being the difference between a good and great player and

feenix67 doesn’t like my post though 🤣

So Bartel and Hird do a segment on Rankine’s touches being the difference between a good and great player and

feenix67 doesn’t like my post though 🤣

Not sure how anyone can come to the conclusion that he didnt make a positive difference.

His midfield craft does need some work, but at his best there is no better player to watch.

The vision he showed was pretty cringey. I don't want Crows players flopping.
Unbelievably hypocritical from him. Port players flop constantly. Every time they are tackled they dive forwards, or fling themselves at the ground looking for a free kick. Rozee and Butters are the worst. They have been doing it for years and it's clearly a coached tactic.
Of course when someone else does it he wants to cry. Absolute sook and flog of a bloke.

Unbelievably hypocritical from him. Port players flop constantly. Every time they are tackled they dive forwards, or fling themselves at the ground looking for a free kick. Rozee and Butters are the worst. They have been doing it for years and it's clearly a coached tactic.
Of course when someone else does it he wants to cry. Absolute sook and flog of a bloke.
Robbie Gray was the worst at it - before he retired, he obviously passed on his knowledge to Rozee and Butters of how to flop/duck into tackles to draw a free kick

Not sure how anyone can come to the conclusion that he didnt make a positive difference.

His midfield craft does need some work, but at his best there is no better player to watch.
has that unique ability to sense the moment but then also have the skill to execute it that only the flat out stars have

After Thilthorpe no one had more influence on our win

Don't agree with this at all.

We had the first 5 shots of the last quarter, got 20 points up then started shutting down the game.

Port proceeded to have all eight remaining shots in the game while we went scoreless.

Port weren't dominating until we let them, and that's on Nicks
Do you really think we just "let" Port dominate? They dominated us for the entire game except for small windows of a few minutes where we scored our goals.

Peatling, Dawson, Soligo, Rankine and anyone else around stoppage couldn't go with them.

This was typical of them at their absolute best, dominate stoppage and the outside and lock it in their forward line.

42-18 stoppage clearances
+32 uncontested possessions
+21 inside 50s

How many games have they lost with those stats do you think? I would say not very many if any at all.

A few of those 50m were from shit umpiring though. They weren't dominating us until we started to slow the game down in the last 10 minutes after being 4 goals up, we would likely have kicked more goals given how dominate we were up until then with how Thilthorpe was playing. Nicks virtually didn't use him in the last 10 minutes.
I don't think we were dominant at all, Port were killing us around stoppage and on the outside most of the game.

Thilthorpe was on Aliir, bringing that guy into those F50 exit contests to the members wing could have been a disaster.

Rubbish. We were all over them in the last quarter and 1 more goal would have sealed the game, until Nicks made the ludicrous decision to close down with over 10 minutes to go.

The only reason we won was that Port kicked 2.6 for the quarter.

What if we had actually won even more than a few of those contests we kept losing? We probably end up scoring out the back. Perhaps Port and Hinkley had something to do with the last 10-15 minutes, not just Nicks pulling the strings?

They scored 2.6 because every entry was to a 8+ player contest in our D50 and it took Laird doing something stupid as usual and Finlayson getting a hack kick out of nowhere to score a goal.

Can understand criticism of the last 10 mins , I thought we took wrong options a few times when in possession with the milera one being the glaring one

People seem to forget we kept Port goalless for 30 mins prior to that which won us the game , no one seems to get any credit for that ! It’s just all negative on here sometimes . Quite remarkable we didn’t let them score for 30 mins considering how they dominated the middle part of the ground

Re TT behind the ball I think poster makes a good point in that we didn’t want to drag Alir I50

I think we were pretty happy with Dawson being the guy

As for Keane that’s twice he’s done that , one of his first games for us against Hawthorn in Tassie he did a very similar thing . Funnily enough Rankine won us that game too after a quiet one overall

I don't think we were dominant at all, Port were killing us around stoppage and on the outside most of the game.
This was the key thing about the game. Watching it live, it just looked like they wanted the ball more. We were tentative or only half-committed , they went in and got it, time and again.

I don’t if it was an effort thing or a stoppage structure thing, but just like v Freo it looked bad.

Really good post. I loved this:

Hell-funny.

Yeah/nah.
Discipline and composure-under-pressure can be Coached.
Also, Nicks has the final word on who plays and where eg where does Rankine do most damage?
FORWARD. So, play him forward more often.
Rozee needed to be corralled-if-not-tagged from the opening bounce; another Nicks failure.

25 points up with 15 minutes to play and what does Nicks do? Shut up shop. The Crows didn't get ahead by crappy, defensive slowdown play.
Right at the end with the game on the line and Port within a kick, where does Nicks put Thilthorpe, who is a solid presence and our best mark? In our F50, ffs.
I am happy for the win. I LOVE beating PA best of all.
But Nicks is a horrible, blundering idiot whose last-quarter stuff-ups nearly cost us the win.

No. We were dominating them. 25 points up, with 15 to play!!

This is true. That might have happened, but what is the better COACHING option at that stage of the game?
PLAY ON and attack to increase the lead,
OR
close up shop?
Attack, I say --- it's how we got 25 points up in the first place.
Nicks had ANB on Rozee and that went down the toilet.

Port were controlling the play most of the night and they probably dictated the play moving forward after we were 4 goals up more than Nicks and our mids. We were almost victims to them, we just needed a few contests going out the back instead of over the boundary.

The 50s were more about "dont shove guys in the back after taking a mark 35 out on an angle" for Laird or "dont stand too close to a player on the mark 75M out" for Rankine. The Ranking one was BS as heaps of players stand there.

Thilthorpe was a tough one, if you send him back you lose your only effective forward and drag their best intercept marker into the game (Aliir).

Sometimes you can't stop the very best players and that's part of our game where we do struggle.

Do you really think we just "let" Port dominate? They dominated us for the entire game except for small windows of a few minutes where we scored our goals.

Peatling, Dawson, Soligo, Rankine and anyone else around stoppage couldn't go with them.

This was typical of them at their absolute best, dominate stoppage and the outside and lock it in their forward line.

+21 inside 50s

How many games have they lost with those stats do you think? I would say not very many if any at all.
Midfield coach sacking stats they are.

Can understand criticism of the last 10 mins , I thought we took wrong options a few times when in possession with the milera one being the glaring one

People seem to forget we kept Port goalless for 30 mins prior to that which won us the game , no one seems to get any credit for that ! It’s just all negative on here sometimes . Quite remarkable we didn’t let them score for 30 mins considering how they dominated the middle part of the ground

Re TT behind the ball I think poster makes a good point in that we didn’t want to drag Alir I50

I think we were pretty happy with Dawson being the guy

As for Keane that’s twice he’s done that , one of his first games for us against Hawthorn in Tassie he did a very similar thing . Funnily enough Rankine won us that game too after a quiet one overall
I think the point is we can only control what we do. And we let Port back into the game by changing how we played - that's not acceptable.

+21 inside 50s

I was obviously referring to the last quarter.

We had complete control of the last quarter despite struggling and being dominated earlier in the match. We were finally playing the game on our terms with better offensive production.

What does Nicks do? He instructs us to shut the game down and that let Port back into the game. We absolutely made a choice to change the way we played which let Port dominate again.

You said "bottling the game up worked as they were dominating us". Rubbish. We were dominating them and had no reason to bottle the game up, which began before they got on top of us.

What if we had actually won even more than a few of those contests we kept losing? We probably end up scoring out the back. Perhaps Port and Hinkley had something to do with the last 10-15 minutes, not just Nicks pulling the strings?

They scored 2.6 because every entry was to a 8+ player contest in our D50 and it took Laird doing something stupid as usual and Finlayson getting a hack kick out of nowhere to score a goal.

They had 8 shots on goal to our 0 in that period. Okay there were 8 player contests, but they were chipping away at the margin and missed some very gettable shots, while we literally did not score at all.

This is not an effective way to play and it started with Nicks clear instructions to change. It was obvious he did it, they held up signs on the boundary and we went into lockdown mode. That all started while we were 20 points up and Port had gone scoreless in the quarter.

+21 inside 50s

Saturday night they did

But what they had no answer for was Thilthorpe. If he had his kicking boots on, he should have had 5 or 6 goals on the night such was his complete dominance up forward. This is one that the coaching staff need to go back and really look hard at as on every metric as you say, we should have lost as our midfield didn't turn up and theirs did, but we found a way to win with a goliath up forward. Using Thilthorpe to his optimum and setting structures up to permit that should be a big big priority as he will buy us games we had no right to win otherwise and thats a huge bonus if we are serious about being a contender.

We start holding up a sign that says "T" with 12 minutes to go in the 4th quarter. This is when Lord has a shot that doesn't make the distance from 35m. After this we attempt to make it a stoppage game, there's a bunch of kicks to contests and rolling stoppages.

1747013086285.png

We keep trying to go to boundary contests but the ball lives in Port's forward half. We continue to play slowly but Port are peppering the goals.

Then with 7 minutes left to go this changes into T 💪

1747013304759.png

We're still 19 points up at this stage, but we really slow things up more at this point.

IMO it was far too early to enact those changes.

Thilthorpe was on Aliir, bringing that guy into those F50 exit contests to the members wing could have been a disaster.
I didn't say we were dominate but they dominated us in the last 10 minutes of the 4th. They must have had at least +10 inside 50 and +10 clearance during that period.

Review R9: The Good, Bad and the Ugly vs. Port Adelaide