MRP / Trib. Tom Lynch -How many?

That's on you if you don't see the difference. I didn't think it required a lot of logic.

I don't buy the excuse similarly I didn't buy it for Parker when he was with us, or other players been consistent on this. Footy actions like tackles are different. There needs to be a severe overhaul of this MRP/tribunal in the off season, and fair dinkum it's easy. Reduce the tackle suspensions to a 1-2 week suspension (at most). Then if an action is triggered to a tribunal suspensions START at 5 weeks not 4 weeks.

Noah Balta having a cry to the umpires after the his mate assaulted an opposition player is peak irony.

Balta "reverse it, they want to keep picking on him," 😭 .

He must have missed that after he was reported, Lynch was wrestling with Keane and when Keane went to ground, closed first tried to punch Keane in the face while he was on the ground, just missing. Lynch and Balta are the dirtiest humans.

I don't buy the excuse similarly I didn't buy it for Parker when he was with us, or other players been consistent on this. Footy actions like tackles are different. There needs to be a severe overhaul of this MRP/tribunal in the off season, and fair dinkum it's easy. Reduce the tackle suspensions to a 1-2 week suspension (at most). Then if an action is triggered to a tribunal suspensions START at 5 weeks not 4 weeks.

It's not an excuse, all you have to do is look at the incident. One was during play, one wasn't.

One was a roundhouse punch to the head, the other was a forearm swing.

If you literally cannot see the differences (and there's more than these two that I just outlined) then that's on you.

Lynch really should be traded at years end. He'd still be some value to a team in contention but isn't going to offer Richmond anything going forward. The current arrangement isn't working for either party.

When our next oldest key fwd is Lefau who has only just played into double digit games, Lynch clearly does offer the team a lot purely just by taking the opposition's best key back.

It's not an excuse, all you have to do is look at the incident. One was during play, one wasn't.

One was a roundhouse punch to the head, the other was a forearm swing.

If you literally cannot see the differences (and there's more than these two that I just outlined) then that's on you.

It is an excuse and the AFL should have requested 6 weeks at the tribunal. I don't blame Hawthorn for trying I blame the AFL and the dumb tribunal for accepting the rubbish. Fix it after this season, you can't have tackles worth 3-4 and then elbows worth 4 weeks.

Outcome based remember. Since he didn't get concussed, the AFL won't give more than about 6 or 7. It is crazy that this is the world the game lives in.

It is like that week where the Adelaide player bumped a player pretty legally but the oppo got knocked out so he got a lot of weeks and in the same round, Pickett left the ground and got Smith high but only got 2 weeks despite it being a much more vicous act.
Nah .. that was Shane McAdam on Jacob Wehr .. a front on bump (on the ball)

Wehr did go through HIA protocols but played out the game

Jeff Geishen stated - "a reasonably prudent player would have recognized the considerable risk of injury to Wehr and that the potential for serious injury was very high"

McAdam got 3 weeks

Does anyone have any footage of the Crows defenders treating Lynch unreasonably?

Depends what "unreasonable" is now deemed in the modern game. Sometimes, even the slightest of touch in a marking contest is deemed "unreasonable".

Are we talking about a Langdon-style scenario where Adelaide defenders ignore the ball and their sole intent is to stop Lynch from jumping at the ball? No.

But even in the passage of play leading up to Lynch being a dickhead, you see Butts wrap his left arm around Lynch's bicep/lower shoulder which prevents Lynch from jumping up. Under current interpretations of rules, I don't believe it is a holding free kick because Butts raises his right arm to attempt to spoil, thus is still playing the ball. But I think we can at least see why Lynch would become more and more frustrated if that is occurring at multiple contests, no?

(And before anyone says anything, have I said it's a justification for what Lynch did? No. So let's not argue like toddlers, and have this conversation as mature adults).

1751247513459.png

Depends what "unreasonable" is now deemed in the modern game. Sometimes, even the slightest of touch in a marking contest is deemed "unreasonable".

Are we talking about a Langdon-style scenario where Adelaide defenders ignore the ball and their sole intent is to stop Lynch from jumping at the ball? No.

But even in the passage of play leading up to Lynch being a dickhead, you see Butts wrap his left arm around Lynch's bicep/lower shoulder which prevents Lynch from jumping up. Under current interpretations of rules, I don't believe it is a holding free kick because Butts raises his right arm to attempt to spoil, thus is still playing the ball. But I think we can at least see why Lynch would become more and more frustrated if that is occurring at multiple contests, no?

(And before anyone says anything, have I said it's a justification for what Lynch did? No. So let's not argue like toddlers, and have this conversation as mature adults).

View attachment 2355767
We watch pretty much the identical tactics from every defender in the comp against every key forward every single game

About the only forward who is regularly paid free kicks seems to be Curnow

I didn't at all. I said once the punishment is handed out, leave him alone.
"Didn't support Balta".

You're embarrassing yourself (again).

Jan 2, 2025

Aristotle Pickett said:
He snotted a 27yo male at the Mulwala Water Ski Club in NSW.

Reading between the lines, some guy has put women and children in danger by boating too close to people. Noah has had a word to him, the guy has attacked Noah and Noah has snotted him.

So all good.

We watch pretty much the identical tactics from every defender in the comp against every key forward every single game

Curnow and a some smaller forwards recieve them, but few others, even when it's glaringly obvious.

Jacob Weitering is the biggest offender from my perspective, holds all the damn time.

Something supporters seem to miss is they only see a hold (like Butts on Lynch in the image), but ignore that it's only a free kick if Butts (in this case) doesn't attempt to play the ball. Butts actually plays the ball, and is successful in his spoil.

I think we can see a lot of examples where defenders hold on, but also play the ball, and supporters automatically assume a holding fk, ignoring that the defender made the attempt to play the ball as well.

Okay I'm a hawks supporter but the way I saw it was like this. It's Nashs job to get in the exit lane of the stoppage, Miers won that footy so cleanly and quickly moving from A to B elite stuff, Nash seeing where the tap was going and he wasn't going to get to the exit lane he threw his arm into it.

All happened in a split second and stupid by Nash who needed to identify he was out of position and throwing his arm out isn't helping and is dangerous. But for the argument say it was someone who's less skillful like an Atkins who was winning that footy fumbles it a little, there would be no contact.

Thats why it was treated as a footy incident but worse than other incidents that were graded similarly so went for an extra week above the top of the matrix.

I agree that they need to fix the matrix was saying it at the time that things like Curtis tackles and body checks like Nashy and others need to be graded differently. I'd be happy if we had a system where an unintentional high server tackle is 2-3 but a unintentional high server body check strike was 4-5 just needs to be consistent. In the current system Nash getting 4 makes sense, and I feel so does Lynch 5ish.

View attachment 2355767
Thanks for the reasonable reply. I think some of the calls of "scragging" have been exaggerated.

Noah Balta having a cry to the umpires after the his mate assaulted an opposition player is peak irony.

Balta "reverse it, they want to keep picking on him," 😭 .

He must have missed that after he was reported, Lynch was wrestling with Keane and when Keane went to ground, closed first tried to punch Keane in the face while he was on the ground, just missing. Lynch and Balta are the dirtiest humans.
Oh that was BALTA?!!?! HAHAHAHAHAHAH

I wish all other work places were like AFL

"You took a swing and punched your fellow employee in the back of his head, what do you have to say for yourself"
"He was really getting under my skin and frustrating me"
"Oh, I wasnt aware of that. Look we will let you off with a 2 week suspension, just make sure you dont roundhouse punch him again please"
"I cant make that promise. Anyway Dermie didnt see anything wrong with it"
"Yeah true. Look come back in 2 weeks and we will forget this ever happened"

Curnow and a some smaller forwards recieve them, but few others, even when it's glaringly obvious.

Jacob Weitering is the biggest offender from my perspective, holds all the damn time.
Yeahh Weitering is terrible for it.

Commentators are like: "umpires always looking for the arm around as a sign to pay the free"

Jacob Weitering bear hugs his opponent

Commentators: wow Weitering is unbeatable! What a star!

I wish all other work places were like AFL

"You took a swing and punched your fellow employee in the back of his head, what do you have to say for yourself"
"He was really getting under my skin and frustrating me"
"Oh, I wasnt aware of that. Look we will let you off with a 2 week suspension, just make sure you dont roundhouse punch him again please"
"I cant make that promise. Anyway Dermie didnt see anything wrong with it"
"Yeah true. Look come back in 2 weeks and we will forget this ever happened"
I'm getting a "good bloke" clause in my next contract

I agree with the sentiment, but Jonothan Brown was just big a thug as Lynch was.

4 striking charges in 12 months resulting 10 weeks worth of suspensions.

I take your point, but that was during our premiership era, before we became shit for the remaining 11 years of his career and before he was being mauled by 3 defenders every week.

MRP / Trib. Tom Lynch -How many?