Review 2025 National Draft Thread | Dovaston #16 / Thredgold #26 / Mikunda #48

With so many top rated academy/NGA/Father son's etc, will the clubs like Gold Coast, Brisbane, and Sydney, with multiple candidates be looking to accumulate lot's of pt's to match bids by trading their own higher one's for multiple lower's ?
they will and some will be looking to trade out their first pick so its not absorbed we should be dangling our future first to get them

that is likely to be a early pick unfortunately but if mccartney is picking us we will trade it anyway next year so no harm dangling it now instead

I'm not entirely sure where they would be rated next year. Looks like Cody Walker will be #1.
If Aidan is 2-10 range, then a minimum of 1150pts and max of 2,232 with the 10% discount.
If Sam is 11-25 range, then max 1,085 and min of 530 pts. Top 30 would be as low as 410 pts.

Something we'll have to balance if we look at trading anything out of the 2026 draft.
With potentially needing points for a couple of early players next year, we would crazy to bring forward our 2026 picks into this draft. If we are short of points we my have to pass, as we won't get much for our 2027 and 2028 picks as these will be the first two Tassie drafts.

With so many top rated academy/NGA/Father son's etc, will the clubs like Gold Coast, Brisbane, and Sydney, with multiple candidates be looking to accumulate lot's of pt's to match bids by trading their own higher one's for multiple lower's ?
Potentially yes. But the difficulty is the Lions need roughly 400-500 points on what they have to match a top 3 bid on Annable, so a small pick swap with us of NM 20, 38 for Lions 16 only gives them little in 110 extra points.
They'd probably want two R2's, like 20 (757), 21 (721) for Lions 16 (924) & 37 (297) type of deal. They get 257 extra pts.
To give up 20 & 21, you'd rather get GC 11 (1205 - gives them 257 pts gain) for example compared to Lions 16.

Swans will need more points than 27 & 45 to match their Max King bid. They'll have to slide from pick 9 perhaps.
Blues might have to trade back from their TDK compo pick (8) to match a bid on Harry Dean as well.

Whether we'd be better off just taking our picks at 20/21 is another question.
I hadn't even though about the Silvagni compo being end of R1, so add that to Oscar Allen, TDK and Draper in terms of pushing our R2's back in the order.
So maybe we push up to GC 11 or Lions 16 and get a better quality kid and then just use our two later picks.

Does anyone know if compensation picks change the draft index value of other picks? I.e. do our picks at 20/21 reduce in value with the compos to come end of round 1? Or so they hold their value?

Carlton seems like a prime candidate + they need to accumulate points for next year for their F/S who's in #1 pick contention. Could value a F2 etc.. Likely an on the night trade though as their F/S this year is around 10, while their TDK compo is probably at 9. If nobody bids they probably take someone else then try to trade in futures to get points to match.

With potentially needing points for a couple of early players next year, we would crazy to bring forward our 2026 picks into this draft. If we are short of points we my have to pass, as we won't get much for our 2027 and 2028 picks as these will be the first two Tassie drafts.
You'd have to factor that in when trading any of our 2026 picks.
So in your deal you either swap 2027 picks as part of it to get ahead of that or you make sure you at least get a mid/late 2026 R1 or early R2 back in the deal if we were give up our 2026 R1.
We could then consider sliding from 21 to late 20's or early 30s and you get a 2026 R2 as part of it.
Those are the kind of flexible things we could look at, but wait and see what players and picks get exchanged.
There's also a chance we maybe trade a Tom Powell or another player end of 2026 to give us extra points and a player.

Like hypothetically we give GC our 2026 R1 for one of their 2025 R1's (8, 11, 18), but we're going to need your 2026 R1 or R2 back (depending on the picks). Or additionally you swap our 2027 R1 for their 2026 R1 or something as part of it.
Another option might be our 2026 R1 and 20 to the Blues for their TDK compo (8) and their 2026 R2 back.

Does anyone know if compensation picks change the draft index value of other picks? I.e. do our picks at 20/21 reduce in value with the compos to come end of round 1? Or so they hold their value?

Carlton seems like a prime candidate + they need to accumulate points for next year for their F/S who's in #1 pick contention. Could value a F2 etc.. Likely an on the night trade though as their F/S this year is around 10, while their TDK compo is probably at 9. If nobody bids they probably take someone else then try to trade in futures to get points to match.
No it changes. It becomes the next pick number and points value as each compo pick is added.

they will and some will be looking to trade out their first pick so its not absorbed we should be dangling our future first to get them

that is likely to be a early pick unfortunately but if mccartney is picking us we will trade it anyway next year so no harm dangling it now instead
Is McCartney even a likely top 10 pick

Who knows. It's an unknown really. Depends on what kind of year he has next year.
Recruiters would have to project a bit based on what they've seen as underage players for their teams.
Ludo has had a fairly inconsistent year, but still likely a top 25 pick this year.

If Brady is selecting this shit, You can bank on him picking either;

Medium forward
Half back that cant kick
Under sized tall that doesn’t put on weight
One paced midfielder that wont defend

AFL LOCKS IN COMBINE DATES

THE AFL has informed clubs it will hold this year's draft combine at a third venue in three years, with the nation's best talents to have their physical capabilities tested at the State Netball and Hockey Centre in Parkville.

While the annual 'speed dating' segment featuring players and clubs will take place at the MCG, as per previous years, the physical components of this year's combine have been moved again.

The League will run its national boys combine on the same weekend as previous years, that being the weekend after the AFL Grand Final which this year will fall from October 3-5.

Aqf42v4q.jpg

Action during the 2km time trial of South Australia's 2024 AFL State Draft Combine at SA Athletics Stadium on October 12, 2024. Picture: AFL Photos
The Victorian state combine will then be held on Sunday, October 5, while state combines in South Australia (Saturday, October 11) and Western Australia (Sunday, October 12) will be held the following weekend.

The only change to this year's combine dates will take place within the girls combine, which are due to be held earlier from October 1-3 to avoid clashing with round eight of the upcoming AFLW season.

Invites for this year's combine attendees are being finalised by the AFL and are expected to be officially sent out later this week. – Riley Beveridge

I have been told from DuckYeah that Mccartney definitely won't be picking us and Harris is not much chop so no point apparently.

Adrian Caruso (GWS) on Gettables:

"Consistent with what most people are saying, doesn't look like an overly deep crop"
"From our point of view we look for specific things and we're confident we'll have enough names on our board that we'll be happy to draft but I think when you look at it across the board... the fact that there's so many father-son, NGA and Northern Academy players sorta does bolster what the crop looks like overall"
"Compared to last year the top end as well as the overall depth does look a bit down"

Talking potential no. 1's he mentioned:
Willem Duursma - "Had a fantastic year... has a lot to provide as an early selection... versatility and athletic package"
Dyson Sharp - "Ultra consistent with what he produced at nationals level"

GWS Academy players - "Riley Hamilton the most likely of those boys to get on a list this year".

On Finn Callaghan's development
"Obviously when we drafted Finn we knew he wasn't going to dominate from day one, so our plan was always build him up for the first three or four years and then hopefully those years five to eight he's ready to explode".

Adrian Caruso (GWS) on Gettables:

"Consistent with what most people are saying, doesn't look like an overly deep crop"
"From our point of view we look for specific things and we're confident we'll have enough names on our board that we'll be happy to draft but I think when you look at it across the board... the fact that there's so many father-son, NGA and Northern Academy players sorta does bolster what the crop looks like overall"
"Compared to last year the top end as well as the overall depth does look a bit down"

Talking potential no. 1's he mentioned:
Willem Duursma - "Had a fantastic year... has a lot to provide as an early selection... versatility and athletic package"
Dyson Sharp - "Ultra consistent with what he produced at nationals level"

GWS Academy players - "Riley Hamilton the most likely of those boys to get on a list this year".

On Finn Callaghan's development
"Obviously when we drafted Finn we knew he wasn't going to dominate from day one, so our plan was always build him up for the first three or four years and then hopefully those years five to eight he's ready to explode".
Best recruiter in the game in my opinion.

Vic Metro
National

• Oskar Ainsworth, 186cm (Western Jets)
  • Sam Allen, 183cm (Oakleigh Chargers)
  • Thomas Burton, 178cm (Western Jets)
  • Jack Dalton, 178cm (Sandringham Dragons)
  • Will Darcy, 197cm (Oakleigh Chargers)
  • Finn Davis, 188cm (Western Jets)
  • Lachlan Dovaston, 179cm (Eastern Ranges)
  • Cooper Duff-Tytler, 200cm (Calder Cannons)
  • Hussien El Achkar, 171cm (Calder Cannons)
  • Louis Emmett, 200cm (Oakleigh Chargers)
  • Oliver Greeves, 191cm (Eastern Ranges)
  • Sam Grlj, 182cm (Oakleigh Chargers)
  • Hunter Holmes, 187cm (Oakleigh Chargers)
  • Jack Ison, 190cm (Oakleigh Chargers)
  • Max Kondogiannis, 190cm (Oakleigh Chargers)
  • Archie Ludowyke, 197cm (Sandringham Dragons)
  • Zac McCarthy, 199cm (Oakleigh Chargers)
  • Adam Sweid, 175cm (Calder Cannons)
  • Xavier Taylor, 191cm (Eastern Ranges)

State
  • Xavier Bamert, 186cm (Sandringham Dragons)
  • Kye Fincher, 185cm (Sandringham Dragons)
  • Felix Kneipp, 179cm (Calder Cannons)
  • Marcus Krasnadamskis, 201cm (Eastern Ranges)
  • Jacob Marron, 195cm (Western Jets)
  • Thomas McGuane, 178cm (Western Jets)
  • Sullivan Robey, 192cm (Eastern Ranges)
  • Aaron Sharkie, 184cm (Oakleigh Chargers)
  • Oskar Taylor, 183cm (Eastern Ranges)
  • Rory Wright, 184cm (Sandringham Dragons)

Vic Country
National

• Tairon Ah-Mu, 199cm (Dandenong Stingrays)
  • Talor Bryne, 174cm (GWV Rebels)
  • Harry Dean, 193cm (Murray Bushrangers)
  • Willem Duursma, 193cm (Gippsland Power)
  • Noah Hibbins-Hargreaves, 185cm (Dandenong Stingrays)
  • Josh Lindsay, 184cm (Geelong Falcons)
  • Jesse Mellor, 184cm (Geelong Falcons)
  • Hugo Mikunda, 181cm (Geelong Falcons)
  • Riley Onley, 194cm (Murray Bushrangers)

State
  • Zac Harding, 199cm (Murray Bushrangers)
  • Thomas Matthews, 172cm (Gippsland Power)
  • Ben Rongdit, 183cm (Geelong Falcons)
  • Callum Smith, 190cm (Dandenong Stingrays)
  • Mitch Stevens, 186cm (Gippsland Power)

SA
National

• Sam Ainsworth, 198cm (Norwood)
  • Harley Barker, 187cm (Sturt)
  • Sam Cumming, 184cm (North Adelaide)
  • Louis Kellaway, 183cm (Sturt)
  • Matthew LeRay, 190cm (Central Districts)
  • Mitch Marsh, 191cm (West Adelaide)
  • Cameron Nairn, 187cm (Central Districts)
  • Blake Oudshoon-Bennier, 182cm (North Adelaide)
  • Zane Peucker, 179cm (Woodville West Torrens)
  • Jevan Phillipou, 182cm (Woodville West Torrens)
  • Noah Roberts-Thomson, 181cm (Sturt)
  • Aidan Schubert, 197cm (Central Districts)
  • Dyson Sharp, 187cm (Central Districts)
  • Blake Thredgold, 195cm (Sturt)

State
  • Jett Dahlitz, 187cm (Sturt)
  • Elliott Duffield, 193cm (South Adelaide)
  • Jim Kelly, 180cm (Norwood)
  • Balyn O'Brien, 187cm (Norwood)
  • Bryce Sanders, 199cm (North Adelaide)
  • Latrelle Sumner-Pickett, 182cm (Glenelg)

WA
National

• Cody Curtin, 200cm (Claremont)
  • Kobe Evans, 187cm (Perth)
  • Jacob Farrow, 188cm (West Perth)
  • Fred Rodriguez, 184cm (South Fremantle)
  • Sam Swadling, 187cm (West Perth)
  • Wes Walley, 184cm (Subiaco)
  • Tylah Williams, 175cm (Swan Districts)

State
  • Charlie Banfield, 191cm (Claremont)
  • Ryda Luke, 185cm (South Fremantle)
  • Thomas Phillips, 187cm (WA/Oakleigh Chargers)
  • Cooper Ramsay, 203cm (East Fremantle)
  • Hudson Walker, 180cm (Subiaco)
  • Toby Whan, 183cm (South Fremantle)

QLD
National

• Beau Addinsall, 180cm (Gold Coast Suns academy)
  • Daniel Annable, 184cm (Brisbane Lions academy)
  • Koby Coulson, 180cm (Gold Coast Suns academy)
  • Jai Murray, 187cm (Gold Coast Suns academy)
  • Dylan Patterson, 183cm (Gold Coast Suns academy)
  • Tyan Prindable, 181cm (Brisbane Lions academy)
  • Zeke Uwland, 180cm (Gold Coast Suns academy)
  • Isaac Waller, 203cm (Brisbane Lions academy)

State
  • Harrison Bridge, 182cm (Brisbane Lions academy)
  • Tai Hayes, 183cm (Southport)
  • Kalani White, 198cm (Gold Coast Suns academy)

Tasmania
National

*Avery Thomas, 186cm (Tasmania)
State
  • Jasper Hay, 199cm (Tasmania Devils)
  • Jack Miller, 181cm (Tasmania Devils)

NSW
National

• Lachlan Carmichael, 186cm (Sydney Swans academy)
  • Noah Chamberlain, 192cm (Sydney Swans academy)
  • Max King, 192cm (Sydney Swans academy)
  • Harry Kyle, 189cm (Sydney Swans academy)
  • Liam Hetherton, 198cm (Allies/Murray Bushrangers)

NT
National

*Taj Murray, 201cm (NT/North Adelaide)

Can someone who's got more draft expertise please explain why the media and footy supporters are roasting North about trading our first round pick?

Is it not possible that we expected to finish we were at, but we knew this was going to be a highly compromised draft (also lacking depth) and finishing bottom 2 or 3 wasn't going to help us get access to the best talent anyway?

I think we have enough talent on the list, I reckon our focus should be bringing in quality individuals that improve our culture and performance standards/consistency . Either via draft or through recruits like Darling and Parker.

Can someone who's got more draft expertise please explain why the media and footy supporters are roasting North about trading our first round pick?

Is it not possible that we expected to finish we were at, but we knew this was going to be a highly compromised draft (also lacking depth) and finishing bottom 2 or 3 wasn't going to help us get access to the best talent anyway?

I think we have enough talent on the list, I reckon our focus should be bringing in quality individuals that improve our culture and performance standards/consistency . Either via draft or through recruits like Darling and Parker.
2025 Pick 2/3 for 27 & Richmond's 2025 2nd, which will be late 20s. So you are trading Sheezel/McKercher/FOS level talent for a couple of throws at the stumps.

kentBrockmanIdiocy.jpg

2025 Pick 2/3 for 27 & Richmond's 2025 2nd, which will be late 20s. So you are trading Sheezel/McKercher/FOS level talent for a couple of throws at the stumps.

View attachment 2381715
Yeah that’s not answering the question, which was whether people who know about the next draft crop think there was a Sheezel/McKercher/FOS level talent available this year even if we were picking from the top few available. And whether it is possible that Whitlock and a throw at the stumps in the early second round this year was a reasonable punt.

We will never knew if they thought they’d be betting with a top 2 pick. Hard to justify on paper. But that is the point of asking for expert thoughts rather than frothing about the idea of it.

Because we rated Mattlock higher than the kids in this draft.
If Matt was in this draft and we had our first round pick, I reckon we would still pick him.
This way we got our 2025 first round pick early and got a years development in him plus an extra early second round pick.
People are obsessed by the numbers alone. They should be looking in terms of players. For example - North hypothetically trade the pick we got in that trade for Alex Davies. Then the net outcome is for a first round pick in a weak draft, we walk away with Matt Whitlock and Alex Davies. Not a bad outcome if I say so myself.

Yeah that’s not answering the question, which was whether people who know about the next draft crop think there was a Sheezel/McKercher/FOS level talent available this year even if we were picking from the top few available. And whether it is possible that Whitlock and a throw at the stumps in the early second round this year was a reasonable punt.

We will never knew if they thought they’d be betting with a top 2 pick. Hard to justify on paper. But that is the point of asking for expert thoughts rather than frothing about the idea of it.
Firstly, I am not in any way an expert on anything football related. There are many posters on here who have more informed opinions than I. However...

Given that we had finished bottom 2 for the previous 5 seasons, and the only experienced additions to the playing group were Parker, Darling, and Daniel, then only a supreme optimist would have forseen a climb out of the bottom 3. The only two teams we looked better than going into the season were West Coast and Richmond. Purely from a risk management perspective you would have to assume that a bottom 3 finish is much more likely than not, so therefore not trade your first rounder. But Brady got dudded in the Daniel deal, and they were so desperate to get one of the many talls on offer from last year's draft that they gambled the future first and rolled snake eyes. North can ill afford to gamble away its future on the roll of a dice.

Review 2025 National Draft Thread | Dovaston #16 / Thredgold #26 / Mikunda #48