Autopsy R22 Freo Hoodoo Gurus, First Win v Port at AO

View attachment 2391051

Shoutout Eleni Glouftis with 10-0 to Port off her own whistle in the 2nd quarter alone.

She is heavily influenced by the home crowd. On top of that she is panicky and at times is confused by what is happening on the field. To top that off she is often in a poor position because she isn't quick enough to cover the required amount of ground in time. Basket case selection.

Thanks Ross.

I’ll take any win, who wouldn’t.

We were playing a team gutted by injury and carrying donuts Rioli all game.

That was putrid, umpiring aside…
We let that team kick 8 goals in a quarter. Sprayed shots everywhere.
It was easy for port to kick goals when they keep getting matched 50 right in front of goals. Or given the strange free kicks off the ball for bullshit reasons. You can't defend one sided horrible umpiring.

What you can do is what they did and not drop your heads and keep playing. Just keep going and never say die.

We played a team with 4 extra players tonight and walked away with the win.

Voss is a literal cult hero, I cannot love this man anymore. He is so fun to watch and the boys love playing beside him. I loved how he started the fight with Lord and all of the Port defenders started getting into him which led to a goal. Love the arrogance to kick three goals and talk to the crowd as well. Also how funny was that demonstration he gave to the ump after they didn't call the mark 😂
Not only was it a mark the tackle was over the shoulder and should have been a free kick.

He was quite controlled in the circumstances.

View attachment 2391051

Shoutout Eleni Glouftis with 10-0 to Port off her own whistle in the 2nd quarter alone.

Where does one find said stat? I think it would be an interesting exercise to see which umps consistently pay more free kicks to a certain team.

What a ripper game to be at tonight at AO. Freo crowd really up and about tonight, wonderful to be around.

Never lost hope at all, don’t know how we keeping pulling these wins out of our arses being down at 3QT, you could tell that Freo played so much more confidently that last quarter

Felt pretty flipping smug on the tram ride home.
i lived in adelaide during our bad years after 2015 and watched 2 89 point beltings against Port.., would have loved to have been there tonight!

Does AFL.com know what the definition of a dead rubber is?

Why the f**k is the tagline for our win 'a game that looked like being a dead rubber'?
That plus the commentators stating our season was toast if we lost this game.

It's almost like they believe it they say something often enough, it must be true.

Utter twats.

Thanks Ross.

I’ll take any win, who wouldn’t.

We were playing a team gutted by injury and carrying donuts Rioli all game.

That was putrid, umpiring aside…
We let that team kick 8 goals in a quarter. Sprayed shots everywhere.

That's great Lach - I'll take playing inconsistent footy and still finding a way to win anyway - something that's been beyond us for at least a decade - over shitting the bed completely (Collingwood over the past month) or sporadically (Brisbane today.)

But sure, sack the coach and the CEO, why not?

She is heavily influenced by the home crowd. On top of that she is panicky and at times is confused by what is happening on the field. To top that off she is often in a poor position because she isn't quick enough to cover the required amount of ground in time. Basket case selection.

And why did she stop play when Amiss marked just outside of fifty with 6:38 to go? Took the ball and then asked the Port player if he was ok... then time on and go again? He wasn't concussed. Amiss should be able to run off the man if he is injured.

I was saying that at the time. Who cares if he's winded... not a good enough reason to stop the game ffs.

Port were pretty pathetic in that 1st quarter so its a shame we forced ourselves into another dogfight.
So much this. We had to seriously go out of our way to engineer an arm wrestle out of a hiding.

Just watched the last 40 seconds…’how good and just to hear Mark Ricciuto sook about how the kick to Darcy wasn’t 15…. And when the final whistle went the complete silence from him bar the obligatory comment from DerrWayne…. Love the eastern states salty goodness!

Compare that to the free kick Jeremy Cameron got for a push in the back last night. The one where both Essendon players were in front of him!
They're either incompetent or cheats. It can't be neither
It’s not corruption but they do love a bit of “narrative umpiring”, so they get selected by the AFL for the big important games.

I would have said that is the most corrupt umpiring I have seen, however, corruption implies competence. That non high call for Jye against Alir, I mean…really? Anyway we won, am just not sure how we did it😜
Was the same with the Collingwood game

If ……..we do somehow pull the Bradbury of all Bradburys out of our ass this year can I ask that someone clever like TheInjuryFactory does up a meme with Vossy standing on top of a pile of broken umpires to sum up our season

Autopsy R22 Freo Hoodoo Gurus, First Win v Port at AO