West Coast - When will the AFL step in?

Yeah or being drafted by a vic club so vic commentators could froth over him.

We watched Hough torch everyone from Toby green down and not even get a look in ….

Ginbey is going to be an aa stud. You heard it here first.
Ginby is going to be good for sure, and will be even better when he gets some true big key defenders around him which should allow him to be more of that loose intercepting type player.

The media is having it both ways, for years they’ve had a sook that we didn’t move on injury prone players (for what would have been very little) and instead offered them contracts, now we are moving on Allen for pick 2 and it’s a bad move?
Assuming you get pick 2 for Allen I think it's a great move. It is far more than his real worth. Take it and run.

It is an example of how the AFL aids clubs in your situation.

I'm just not seeing the need for additional assistance.

Re sign spuds like Tim Kelly, Cripps and Yeo…

We need help?

Just say it’s horrific list management, and it’s all catching up.
They are absolutely to blame, but all clubs are when they find themselves in rebuilds. They either didn't draft well enough, had a poor culture, or let their liat age without topping it up correctly. Geelong is an example of how to stay at the top without bottoming out.

However, WC should be entitled to the same PPs that Victorian and Northern state teams got.
As it stands, the AFL look set to give WC a PP in disguise by sending Pick 2 for Allen regardless of it his contract meets the requirements, and then if they are still at the bottom in 2026, the AFL will give them a end of first round pick to give them some help prior to Tassie taking every good kid for the next four drafts.

And I'm pretty sure if you didn't select Bo you still wouldn't have picked Reid.

You guys appear to have a talent identification problem: agree or not?
Its more than just drafting well.
In no world does taking one player in each of the rounds give clubs enough to rebound up the ladder. The draft is for attrition, and the lower the pick the better the odds of getting a good player.
You have to also get some free kicks from FAs and trades. If you dont get a number of good players in through that route, its going to be a slow grind.

Adelaide didnt just rely on the draft, as they got two of the elite players (Dawson and Rankine) through trades, and then some really good depth and role players (Peatling, ANB, Cumming) thorough trade.
Then they got Keays, Keane and Hinge as delisted FAs and SPPs.

Another point is that 12 months is a long time in football. Last year commentators were saying that Adelaide's list lacked talent. We had botched the draft year after year, had no defenders and were poorly coached. Now 12 months later they are all raving about the young talent on the same list, calling for Nicks to be AA coach, and saying how good our late draft picks have been with Butts, Worrell, Soligo, Berry etc.

WTF? You just named Freo's rookie list , Plus players that arnt even at the club anymore. R U OK mate? hahaha farrkn hell. :D
Josh Tracey came off the rookie list didn't he?

I assure you, if the 2020 season played out normally, Josh Tracey wouldn't of been a rookie listed player.

He wouldn't of lasted to the dockers 1st round pick in 2020

WTF? You just named Freo's rookie list , Plus players that arnt even at the club anymore. R U OK mate? hahaha farrkn hell. :D
Nicholls 34 National Draft, Carr 63 , Murphy 41 , Delean 60, simpson 35, Davies 33, Emmett 41 (d/l after 2 yrs),

You should check out who is on your list mate

Nicholls 34 National Draft, Carr 63 , Murphy 41 , Delean 60, simpson 35, Davies 33, Emmett 41 (d/l after 2 yrs),

You should check out who is on your list mate

Emmett got delisted man. Simpson done his shoulder. Nicholls has back fractures. Narkle has retired.

Assuming you get pick 2 for Allen I think it's a great move. It is far more than his real worth. Take it and run.

No club has been as bad as us for as long as us and not got a pp in pp history.

That stat was accurate as of two years ago….. and we have won 6 games since then….

Yeo went alright. Cripps was an important part of our flag, Jetta,

Then hell yeah to baker -between him and ginbey b and f

Yeo moved over the Lions not ponying up an extra $50k per season. Wasnt a go home factor.

Cripps yes, but 15 years ago. Not much since.

Baker is a yes but is 26 and a solid role pkayer who has an A grade game now and again.

Jetta, yes go home factor.

Not seeing a massive influx of quality go home talent here. An odd player every 5 years maybe?

Just watch Richmond trade in quality players over the next couple of years. Big club in a big football town. Lots of player movement between clubs and options to rebuild via trades.

How are bottom teams expected to catch up to the top teams?

When the top teams ARE getting assistance EVERY year.

And when you say no assistance that covers any assistance?

You would really have a problem with 2 extra rookie spots and two Cat B rookie spots?

Not sure WC can pull a stunt like this and then go cap in hand to the AFL for assistance

Likewise supporters can’t complain about not being able to attract talent , players/draftees not wanting to come to the club when treating their skipper and life long fan so poorly

Can’t have it both ways

So instead the club should make a really dumb list move. Bow to a player who has struggled to stay fit and on the park and just sign him long term on big money?

Then you and your mates would flip flop and say "Eagles arent prepared to make hard deciscions and move on injured older players with currency. If they wont help themselves then why should the AFL assist?"

So great orb of knowledge and list management. What would you do?

I know, sit on the fence and lob troll posts no matter which way the Eagles go.

You are transparent..........very transparent. :thumbsdown:

Emmett got delisted man. Simpson done his shoulder. Nicholls has back fractures. Narkle has retired.
Kind of the point, you have drafted a couple of good kids in Reid and amiss in the 5 yrs from the national draft.. the rest are not working out so well. The context behind my post is people questioning the eagles ability to draft talent, whilst only looking at Reid with tunnel vision, neglecting how awful freo's talent identification is.

David Walls has a pretty good eye for talent man. He has picked some overlooked gems.

Similar? How come he’s kicked half as many goals then?

Amiss is also playing in a forwardline of 3-4 Talls. Not 1-2 bananas so a bit less to go around.
Similar averages yeah, Amiss is also playing to a midfield with far better delivery on the 3rd KPD.

I’d say the positives of being in the Freo forward line far outweigh the negatives.

Yeo moved over the Lions not ponying up an extra $50k per season. Wasnt a go home factor.

He could have gone to any other club…
Cripps yes, but 15 years ago. Not much since.

Baker is a yes but is 26 and a solid role pkayer who has an A grade game now and again.

Be him and Ginbey fighting it out over b and f
Jetta, yes go home factor.

Not seeing a massive influx of quality go home talent here. An odd player every 5 years maybe?

Just watch Richmond trade in quality players over the next couple of years. Big club in a big football town. Lots of player movement between clubs and options to rebuild via trades.

This is a terrible take. The reason we're the youngest team in the finals is due to the talent that Walls has gotten on the list and our ability to develop it. It's not just national draft picks, it's trading in players, mature agers, adding train ons and rookies.

WC isn't doing much on either scale at the moment and it goes back nearly 10 years now. The one good draft you had in 2017 isn't going to have much to show for it soon either. It might all be fixed but until you win more than 1-5 games a year you'll be judged as doing a terrible job.

Similar averages yeah, Amiss is also playing to a midfield with far better delivery on the 3rd KPD.

I’d say the positives of being in the Freo forward line far outweigh the negatives.
Amiss still had a better year and is a better player. He has the ability to create something out of nothing and has kicked some big, important goals in his haul. He had a down year by his standards but he's going to make it and be fine.

This is a terrible take. The reason we're the youngest team in the finals is due to the talent that Walls has gotten on the list and our ability to develop it. It's not just national draft picks, it's trading in players, mature agers, adding train ons and rookies.

WC isn't doing much on either scale at the moment and it goes back nearly 10 years now. The one good draft you had in 2017 isn't going to have much to show for it soon either. It might all be fixed but until you win more than 1-5 games a year you'll be judged as doing a terrible job.

Amiss still had a better year and is a better player. He has the ability to create something out of nothing and has kicked some big, important goals in his haul. He had a down year by his standards but he's going to make it and be fine.
Ok that's fine, but the comment was related to the draft. Who, in the national draft, have you taken that is part of your wonderfully young side? Reid and Amiss, who else?

He could have gone to any other club…

Be him and Ginbey fighting it out over b and f

Yeo enquired with Freo. They weren't interested. Lol.

So Yeo was pretty much pushed to the Eagles by the Lions and Freo not willing to pony up a contract he was happy to sign.

As I posted. Quality players coming home and the Eagles benefiting are few and far between.

Ok that's fine, but the comment was related to the draft. Who, in the national draft, have you taken that is part of your wonderfully young side? Reid and Amiss, who else?
Since we started rebuilding, from the side on the weekend who were national draft picks only, excluding Reid & Amiss.

Brayshaw
Serong
Young
Ryan
Erasmus
Switta
Chapman
Freddie
Cox
Darcy
Wagner

So half the side.

Since we started rebuilding, from the side on the weekend who were national draft picks only, excluding Reid & Amiss.

Brayshaw
Serong
Young
Ryan
Erasmus
Switta
Chapman
Freddie
Cox
Darcy
Wagner

So half the side.

Brayshaw - 25.75
Serong - 24.5
Young - 24.5
Ryan - 29.5
Erasmus - 22 (38 games)
Switta - 28.75
Chapman - 23.6 (64)
Freddie - 25.25
Cox - 27
Darcy - 27
Wagner - 28.5

How are these guys considered young? Erasmus is the only one under 22

Brayshaw - 25.75
Serong - 24.5
Young - 24.5
Ryan - 29.5
Erasmus - 22 (38 games)
Switta - 28.75
Chapman - 23.6 (64)
Freddie - 25.25
Cox - 27
Darcy - 27
Wagner - 28.5

How are these guys considered young? Erasmus is the only one under 22
How cares how old they are? Reid is young and about to win the rising star award. We have young rookies too but apparently it's only National Draft picks that count in your book.

Talking about terrible takes.

Yours is up there.

So the Eagles haven't drafted any decent players since 2017?

Bookmarked. :thumbsu: ;)
You just had the worst season in the history of the AFL. I think this is a valid comment until proven otherwise. It's too early to tell on the kids if you have fixed your talent and development issues yet.

One was pick 57, one pick 8.

Pretty embarrassing Freo fans continue to defend Amiss’ horrid season.

Attachments

• IMG_2163.png
    IMG_2163.png
    255.1 KB · Views: 6

West Coast - When will the AFL step in?