List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

It’s not a reasonable basis when you’re just speculating. Literally half the things that you ‘do know’, you don’t actually know.

It's a massive concern for some that we are going all in with no caution for the future. This is all-in balls on the line stuff. It either rises us to glory or runs us into a brick wall down the track.

It's exciting AF but there are consequences for everything. It looks like a better version of the Hill, Howard, Rider, Butler era. Hopefully this time we have built a better foundation to spring off but we are also have chosen to go all guns blazing with no obvious way back.

This is more Hunter S Thompson going to Vegas on acid than sensible planning but at least it won't be another boring year in the mediocrity pool.

Aleer to JSOS is an interesting pivot... JSOS won't cost any draft capital. Makes me think that we need that for Ryan or Flanders.

Other possibility is both, allowing Caminiti to go forward again especially if Marshall leaves.

Our backline fell apart a bit this year. Not against a reset at all.

Our system fell apart moving Enright out of there & putting Jarrod Rivers in there didn't help either we weren't as tight or measly as previous years.

Flanders > McKenzie, please

and I'd back in Pou to be better than both

can't say I've seen a heap of McKenzie but haven't been blown away by what I've seen

TDK
JSOS > Aleer
Ryan
Flanders

thats an impressive list of additions

Flanders is already a very high level player. If we could get him playing HB sharing mid field with Nas it would be a really nice set up. On last year when they both played their best season so far (Phillipou is 3 years younger)-

Didn't hurt the Dogs when they traded Griffin in 2014. 🙂

I think that you'd want to be careful. Griffen walked out and it spurred the players left behind to prove him wrong. They were also under massive pressure after going crazy on Tom Boyd and paying him insane money to come over.

At the end of the day we need a talent pool, not bringing in one and taking one out. I don't mind the pressure bing on the club but you want to get it right.

Marshall moving on makes sense to both club and player. Steele isn't a star but he's been the face of the club and a fan favourite. On here both players get heavily disrespected but normal footy fans love them. We are the weird Nuffield fringe. We aren't the fan regular base.

You know the people harassing him about not knowing shit look more nuffie than he does. He's using figures that the media is widely reporting. You guys sound like Trump fans that think anything that is critical is fake.

It's a massive concern for some that we are going all in with no caution for the future. This is all-in balls on the line stuff. It either rises us to glory or runs us into a brick wall down the track.

It's exciting AF but there are consequences for everything. It looks like a better version of the Hill, Howard, Rider, Butler era. Hopefully this time we have built a better foundation to spring off but we are also have chosen to go all guns blazing with no obvious way back.

This is more Hunter S Thompson going to Vegas on acid than sensible planning but at least it won't be another boring year in the mediocrity pool.
What exactly is the risk here?
It’s 1 maybe 2 free agent deals.

And trades we can get done with our current hand or at worst including Marshall.

There is little risk beyond 2027

I would be wanting a second rounder for the Moose. 🫎 fmd we’ve only been developing him
For five years.
Would also give him
A two year
Contract extension immediately.
Dees ****ed up by expressing their interest in him seeing as he was
Probably only going to be delisted anyhow.
2nd rounder , mate you have been hit in the the by too many Barras lately :fish: Be lucky to get a third

Our system fell apart moving Enright out of there & putting Jarrod Rivers in there didn't help either we weren't as tight or measly as previous years.
We also lost 2 of the 3 key pillars who controlled the system and had to replace them with a forward and an 18 year old kid who didnt do pre season. Plus Webster having to either play as a key defender for the first half of the year then his body breaking down so we were 1 defensive type down from previous years

A system is only as good as the people trying to execute it. Rivers could only do so much.

You know the people harassing him about not knowing shit look more nuffie than he does. He's using figures that the media is widely reporting. You guys sound like Trump fans that think anything that is critical is fake.

3: HST took mescaline not acid on the way to Vegas.
4: I don’t see how signing a free agent on a front loaded contract is going all in with no caution for the future, to me it sounds like the opposite.

Jsos plays with heart and I’d be pumped to get him.

Only concern is he’s played 20+ games twice in ten seasons.

Think he would become a fan favourite pretty quickly
Just like Moose and Byrnes , wow that's something to look forward too

So

TDK - Done (FA)
Ryan - Likely (2nd or 3rd rounder)
Aleer - Likely (Future second)
Flanders - Maybe (1st rounder)
JSOS - Unlike (FA)

is that abour right?

Then possibly going

Steele (WC second?)
Marshall (Geelong first)

nothing else yet
So updating this we can now add C-Mac (1st rounder).

IMO all of them is too much recycled change and likely for very little if any improvement.

TDK is done, IMO Roma has to be traded out (and ideally if we can use the Roma pick on Flanders then Roma becomes Flanders and TDK, thats a win)
One of JSOS OR Aleer, not both (noting Aleer makes more sense to me strcuturally and athletically but JSOS is free)
Ryan only if its a 3rd rounder, if its anymore we should walk (noting we dont have a second rounder this year anyway)
C-Mac is a no, unless we can get him for a future second, a first given Windy, Garcia, Boxxy etc etc hes not worth it.

I worry about what bringing 6 guys who will all expect to be starting 22 does for the culture and core group of kids weve got now (and yeh i know competition for spots etc etc but its a bit of a slap in the face to the likes of Garcia and Boxxy and co to trade a first round pick for a guy who will take their spots in spite of showing nothing more than any of them).

I hope we would walk from C-Mac and Ryan if the asking price is too high as a minimum.

It is pretty cool to actually be a club with some buzz though, been a long time.

It's hard to know...neither Carroll or Dow have managed to get on the park much due to niggles, infections, and injury.
I liked the look of Carroll and was surprised he didn't get more of a chance throughout the year when not injured. He was doing well in the VFL when fit.
It’s really not hard to know. We’ve seen 5 and 8 seasons of Carrol and Dow respectively, neither is close to Caldwell. Carroll was doing well in the VFL this season, meanwhile Caldwell was playing great in the AFL. Caldwell is a B+ player with A potential, Carroll and Dow are C- at best.

Need to draft a key back for when wilkies done. Preferably 198cm+. Sincs will play til he's 36+. Red is just 29 or older.

1000015672.png

Re: Flanders - We could look to split our 1st round pick (currently 7) with someone like North for pick 20 & pick 21 (two 2nd round picks) ... and flick one of those to GC for Flanders and keep one for the draft

North would be happy to jump up the order to get a highly rated tall and Gold Coast get 730pts or so for their Academy picks .... we get Flanders and a draft slider

Pick 7 is 1543pts and Pick 20 + 21 is around 1478pts

With those Academy picks coming in Flanders is surplus to demands at GC and his output has dropped off also ... reckon end of first round ... start of 2nd round is about right .... no way he is Top 10 pick
Talk is that Suns are looking to trade down their first pick for the two North 2nd rounders. Makes more sense!

Think our foundation now is far stronger than back then.
So here’s hoping …

We need to settle down.

He’sa decent kick and genuinely his best attribute is his effort.

He plays 12 games a year and players usually don’t get healthier as they approach 30.

If we get him I’ll get around him but AA calibre is insanity. Wilkie for reference didn’t even make the squad this season.

The start of this year media were talking him up as an AA defender. Looks really good down back. He was a third tall forward playing along side McKay and Curnow so not really starring. Down back he looked a different player.

May not be a popular opinion but Flanders or McKenzie won't be coming to us for cheap. Suggestions of getting Flanders for a pick in the 20s are unreasonable. I'd suggest that would be laughed at even if he was out of contract.

Three years worth of trading picks means we have plenty of options, SOS usually likes to try to utilise these types of things early - remember he was the first to future trade to get Stocker.

No Doug’s really messed with our system. Suddenly Wilkie had to be Mr Everywhere.

May not be a popular opinion but Flanders or McKenzie won't be coming to us for cheap. Suggestions of getting Flanders for a pick in the 20s are unreasonable. I'd suggest that would be laughed at even if he was out of contract.

Three years worth of trading picks means we have plenty of options, SOS usually likes to try to utilise these types of things early - remember he was the first to future trade to get Stocker.

Next draft is much better. Would rather keep next year's picks. GC need points not picks. Doubt they care about pick numbers.