Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion Part 2

Yes it is, as has been explained many times as to the why, what's your point?
Because that conscious decision is the epitome of VicBias.

Both Brisbane and Perth showed they are capable of hosting a grand final, the 2022 grand final wasn't more special than 2020 and 2021 to anyone but Victorians. The reasons why it has to be in Victoria boil down to 'we think we're special' and a conscious decision could be made to move it around that would not destroy the fabric of the AFL or grand final, just a few Vic hearts.

Seriously, what's your suggested solution to this? You don't really think that the highest ranked team should host the GF, do you? This is not the Aleague, ffs. The GF is the biggest event on the sporting calendar: you don't just decide the venue a week out.
Rotate, every 2nd year in Vic since half the teams are there.

MCG
Optus
MCG
Adelaide Oval
MCG
SCG
MCG
Brisbane Stadium

Yeh there's no guarantee your teams play in there state whatsover, but at least shares it round for fans

Though top team hosting is not as hard as people make out - it's done for Prelims with same notice, still full.
It may change how / when / who tickets are sold to - but would still be sold out.

MCG
Optus
MCG
Adelaide Oval
MCG
SCG
MCG
Brisbane Stadium

Yeh there's no guarantee your teams play in there state whatsover, but at least shares it round for fans

Though top team hosting is not as hard as people make out - it's done for Prelims with same notice, still full.
It may change how / when / who tickets are sold to - but would still be sold out.
I 100% agree with this. This is a great compromise. The MCG and MCC do us no favours at the bulldogs. This year like every year we get our 2 games there! Even though like last season we got a ‘home’ final and not only had to play it at the MCG, we had to play it against an MCG tenant, and also because of membership arrangements with the MCC that tenant has way more MCC members so for a much larger percentage of the crowd, even though I as my club member, couldn’t get a ticket, as there was over 98,000 people there it sold out before the afternoon. So ‘away’ club made out like bandits.
Even without my dislike of the MCG members situation I still think it should be shared around the country.

MCG
Optus
MCG
Adelaide Oval
MCG
SCG
MCG
Brisbane Stadium

Where is Hobart?

Also, Geelong & GC want to host the GF in their home cities.

Both Brisbane and Perth showed they are capable of hosting a grand final, the 2022 grand final wasn't more special than 2020 and 2021 to anyone but Victorians. The reasons why it has to be in Victoria boil down to 'we think we're special' and a conscious decision could be made to move it around that would not destroy the fabric of the AFL or grand final, just a few Vic hearts.
Manuka oval is capable of hosting the grand final. Doesn't mean it should. Stop whinging and enjoy the day at the best ground in Australia

Umm, no it's not just this, it's in part, because the vic govt. and the AFL (or certain individuals of both) have vested economic interest in it being at the mcg.

The 'we think we're special' is not reflective of the vic fan.

It’s actually a bit of a shithole and Perth Stadium has been voted best in the world. So, if we’re going by ‘best’ stadium…

best comes in a number of forms.

For example, being able to hold 100,000 people makes the MCG the 'best' from a number of perspectives.

Having very few fans able to attend at any ground other than the MCG would also suck.

A bit cranky Collingwood lost everything this year DG.
Not at all.

Were in good form early, but come end of season clearly not one of the top couple of teams.

A big away finals win against the minor premier.

But then lost a PF to a stronger team, shit happens.

Anybody else surprised that the GF will again contested between two non-Melbourne teams?

It’s actually a bit of a shithole and Perth Stadium has been voted best in the world. So, if we’re going by ‘best’ stadium…

Who voted? What award did they win? When was it awarded?

Where is Hobart?

Also, Geelong & GC want to host the GF in their home cities.
As stated you do need a minimum stadium size. Hobart, GC, GWS stadium don't cut it.

It should be the biggest stadium in each state (sorry Cats).

Ideally Stadium Australia in Sydney, if it's currently workable for AFL

Google is your friend. Past five years in a row voted best stadium in Australia in the Ausstadium Awards, voted by users, and won the 2019 Prix Versailles for Sports award for most beautiful stadium.
Jack did you know that 43% of the voters were West Australians?

Seems like a legit vote.

But I bet you knew this already.

Google is your friend. Past five years in a row voted best stadium in Australia in the Ausstadium Awards, voted by users, and won the 2019 Prix Versailles for Sports award for most beautiful stadium.

Umm--- JackOutback -- neither of those awards you just mentioned was for "best stadium in the world".

The AusStadium Awards was the best stadium in "Australia" (and unless I'm mistaken, there are other countries in the world than Australia)— so that couldn’t be the award you were talking about.

The 2019 Prix Versailles for Sports award was, as you correctly responded, "most beautiful stadium". A pretty stadium doesn't make it the "best". Plus the Prix Versailles for Sports award has been awarded to other stadiums since 2019, so the Perth stadium isn’t even the World’s “most beautiful” stadium anymore.

So when was Perth Stadium voted "best stadium in the world"? Remember,Google is your friend, it might help you with this question.

Umm--- JackOutback -- neither of those awards you just mentioned was for "best stadium in the world".

The AusStadium Awards was the best stadium in "Australia" (and unless I'm mistaken, there are other countries in the world than Australia)— so that couldn’t be the award you were talking about.

The 2019 Prix Versailles for Sports award was, as you correctly responded, "most beautiful stadium". A pretty stadium doesn't make it the "best". Plus the Prix Versailles for Sports award has been awarded to other stadiums since 2019, so the Perth stadium isn’t even the World’s “most beautiful” stadium anymore.

So when was Perth Stadium voted "best stadium in the world"? Remember,Google is your friend, it might help you with this question.
Yes, I've conflated beautiful with best (though I think having the most beautiful woman in the world on your arm would be the best) but I'll concede. Just the best stadium in Australia then.

According to a highly patriarchal Western Australian voting bloc that is overrepresented in the vote.

In 2023, “41% of all voters in the 2023 Stadium Awards were from Western Australia, 18% from Queensland, and 15% from Victoria and New South Wales”.

According to a highly patriarchal Western Australian voting bloc that is overrepresented in the vote.

In 2023, “41% of all voters in the 2023 Stadium Awards were from Western Australia, 18% from Queensland, and 15% from Victoria and New South Wales”.
Would that rule apply to the MCG then?

I'm not the one using an AusStadiums survey and a "most beautiful stadium" architecture award to talk up a stadium, mate. ;)

Not our fault Victorians don't give enough of a shit about the MCG to vote, there are three times as many of you.

I've been to both, the MCG is ageing and pretty decrepit, it's only advantage is that it can hold more people. Which, by your logic, makes it worse than Pyongyang's stadium, which can hold 150,000.

Not our fault Victorians don't give enough of a shit about the MCG to vote, there are three times as many of you.

The AusStadium survey isn't a Federal election, mate. There is no requirement to vote.

Just pointing out that the survey is biased, and not an accurate representation of the opinions of all Australians.

Good to see that you've resorted to talking about North Korea instead of discussing the topic at hand.

No Problem Thumbs Up GIF

As stated you do need a minimum stadium size. Hobart, GC, GWS stadium don't cut it.

It should be the biggest stadium in each state (sorry Cats).

Ideally Stadium Australia in Sydney, if it's currently workable for AFL

and don't tell me, 100K is an unreasonable 'minimum stadium size', but whatever works for your state is 'just right'?

See below, so 30-45% of all tickets are basically bullshit Vic privilege related allocations. If they disappeared who would care outside of those enjoying the unreasonable privilege?

A 50000 stadium would get in 15-20000 from each club with heaps left for corporate hangers-on and rich idiots that want to pay 5k a seat

Every state bar Tassie could do it standing on their heads

2025 Toyota AFL Grand Final Ticket Allocation

CategoryRange of Seats% of Seats
Competing Club Members16,000 – 40,00016–40%
AFL Clubs (18)0 – 7,0000–7%
MCC Reserve16,000 – 26,00016–26%
AFL Members13,000 – 18,00013–18%
AFL/Medallion Club Members3,000 – 5,0003–5%
AFL Entitlements/Contractual Obligations5,000 – 30,0005–30%
Competing Clubs0 – 5,0000–5%
TOTAL100,000 (approx.)