List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part IV

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 4

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

I dont think there's much of a market for Steele unfortunately. I can't really think of any club that needs him, most clubs either have a young mid brigade that need exposure, or established mid groups that don't need his type.
Get Wet Toast to give us that free first rounder they got for only winning one flag in the last 10 years

Shut it down the day it was offered a month ago.
Except here we are, a month later with it still being reported on. That's not shut down by any stretch, the story would be dead if there wasn't something to it. It's likely he's leveraging a salary increase since the Saints are splashing the cash right now, but the longer it goes on the nerves must start to creep in a bit.

Are you lost?

Would bet a big amount that Phillipou has some level of tism. He probably wouldn’t even notice if he isn’t part of any group, just locked in on wanting to become the best he can be.

You don’t have to be friends with all of your teammates, they just need to respect you.

Hard not to respect someone with his drive.
I have seen TISM live several times. TISM are awesome, if Pou is 1/2 as awesome as TISM we have a ripper on our hands...and I don't reckon he needs to " read the stop sign"... Captain (This is serious mum) Pat. 😂

Poor Lindsay gilbee claiming to be ITK and having a mare.

First he claimed a trade request was coming and then acting up this morning again.

Some stuff that I know to have been completely made up has been repeated on the radio and generally alluded to in the tweets of these journos.

Remember, theyre paid based on engagement, not accuracy of reporting.

Not directly relevant to us but West Coast getting a first rounder for being shit for 4 years after winning a flag 7 years ago is extremely tough to take as a St Kilda fan. The solution to a compromised draft is not to make it more compromised and give one of the most successful (on and off field) clubs of the AFL era a leg up.
Yep, they target the wrong end. Propping up those that are in bother now rather than trying to ween some of the advantages afforded to the same old mob.

I dont think there's much of a market for Steele unfortunately. I can't really think of any club that needs him, most clubs either have a young mid brigade that need exposure, or established mid groups that don't need his type.

I reckon if you were to pick a "market" for Steele it would be limited to WEagles, Essendon, Richmond and Melbourne.

WEagles would probably take anyone and their tackles, contested possessions and clearances are the worst in the league.

Richmond already have Hopper and Taranto to help their new crop through, they may want to push Taranto up forward more often though. Lowest tackle count team in the comp, someone like Steele to add that defensive mid role could be valuable while they develop all their under 21 talent.

Essendon are just a mess and should be grateful for whoever they can get. If Merrett goes, that midfield is going to need a mature mid to come in and help partially fill his shoes. Unless they want to rely on Gresham's 50m high mung punts forward...

Dees probably don't NEED him, but if Petracca goes and they still have question marks over Oliver, that's a 31 year old Jack Viney shouldering a huge amount of their midfield responsibility. Sure Langford is promising but expecting a lot of a teenager is a recipe for disaster.

Otherwise I don't think Steele is too much of a commodity to other clubs.

also a damning indictment on our past because of who is not there.

Ie all the top draft picks who should be at their peak as stars right now- but aren't.

Billings, gresh, clark, coffield etc.

None of those guys amounting to anything has really screwed us for a long time.
Injuries, Richo, Trout.

Hawks forum is back that way and up.

Some stuff that I know to have been completely made up has been repeated on the radio and generally alluded to in the tweets of these journos.

Remember, theyre paid based on engagement, not accuracy of reporting.
Yea I get that, but it's not like it's only the Sam McClures reporting on it. They've also repeatedly said that they find it unlikely to be fair on them too. But the door has been open a lot longer than would be considered comfortable, the Dogs would be prepared to make it work since it could be the difference between 9th on 137% and top 4 with 150%. Would've been silly of them to not take their shot on a quality player.

I could only see Wilkie leaving if it was for a team that plays finals. Bulldogs are not one of those teams
That's just a silly statement, 7 of the last 10 years they've made finals. They missed out this year on 137%, big glaring issue being their defence. They fix that and you expect them to make finals quite easily. They want defenders and no team would be safe.

does trade radio go on live? I wanna call up to call purple a ****wit

"Yeahhh g'day Damo, long time listener, first time caller. Hey, is it true Luke Beveridge shoulder checked you in the urinals at the Brownlow and you pooed your pants? Just asking as my mate swears there was a code brown spotted next to the urinals that evening. Big fan."