List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part IV

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 4

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

See you Arie and Byrnes. Too bad moved past you. Can stay on for the VFL team.if you like.
They are uncontracted. Already assuming they are gone (along with Jones and Heath). Webster and Cordy already delisted too. So that is 6 senior spots free

So if we want to fit in 5 recruits alongside the mandatory 3 national draft picks, we need to move on 2 more players - that will come from the likes of Marshall Steele Butler etc who are contracted

Not really Chief.
I think her brand is established and respected.
She was enjoying the fact she was at the grand final on the field of play listening to Snoop D.
Have you considered the possibility that Abby was dancing to the songs before she was filmed and some one went, can I film that and she went yep no worries... Have you seen the footage, old mate?

After the revelation that Carroll already has a contract, we'll need to lose at least two if we are to bring in all of TDK, JSOS, Aleer, Ryan and Flanders
Reckon we will rookie a couple of players to make some space. Byrnes, Carroll, Shoey all possible in the uncontracted if they are not delisted anyway. The likes of Butler could also be delisted and drafted onto the rookie list.

lf we could turn Wilkie and Marshall into SDK, Freija and Flanders, you'd have to at least consider it for a second. Something like:

Dogs out: Sanders/Freija, Pick 10, Pick 28
Dogs in: Wilkie

Gee out: SDK
Gee in: Marshall, 28

GC out: Flanders
GC in: 10

Stk out: Marshall, Wilkie
Stk in: Freija, SDK, Flanders

SDK is obviously a significant down grade on Wilkie, but I think overall we are still better in the short term with that deal, and definitely better in the long term.

Geelong would laugh at us giving Marshall and a pick for a guy who is one of their worst players currently.

I think you would need to consider everything in totality.

If all you lost from your best side was Marshall and Wilkie (massive loss)

But you gained: Freijah Flanders Ryan TDK SDK JSOS Aleer & potentially still have a frp in play for the draft or maybe even Cmac.

It’s hard not to argue that you are a better football side. That’s a very high ceiling list. The question would be how quickly it translates onto onfield success.

Giving away your best players to dilute your list sounds like how to vanilla up your side. What we don't need is to add more GOPs. We should be honing not blunting.

Agree, if for no other reason that I would prefer not to see Steele playing in the VFL next year.
Yep, sad to contemplate losing him, but we have more cover for him than for Marshall.
And Wilkie is just a flat no.

Except here we are, a month later with it still being reported on. That's not shut down by any stretch, the story would be dead if there wasn't something to it. It's likely he's leveraging a salary increase since the Saints are splashing the cash right now, but the longer it goes on the nerves must start to creep in a bit.
No nerves.
He’s contracted and going nowhere - unless the Dogs offer am exceptionally good deal.
Which they won’t.
Who out of Bont, Darcy or Edwards you think they’re going to offer up?
The Doggies didn’t really think this one through at all.

If the $1.5mil figure is true, then it's no wonder Wilkie hasn't come out publicly to refuse the offer. Could be almost twice as much as he's earning at the moment.
its not the saints fault that he has either a lousy mnager, or that he has becomeelite in the last 2 years.

He also should show a little more faith in the Saints, we picked him out of nowhere,

[/QUOTE]
Anyone can enlighten me what the significance of this is?

Ollie mentioned on the DDF podcast, the episode with Ross, that a player had been DMing him asking about stuff like the culture at the club. People think he meant Liam Ryan, but at the time I thought he was talking about an unknown (at the time) player

As per the post quoted by stavro#4

“As I reported earlier Flanders is likely at St Kilda. They kicked off everything with Merrit. They also have another inside Mid on the radar - not sure who?״

What’s that about Merrett?
And WE are looking at another inside mid? The so-called mystery mid?

lousy grammer, thats why we don't undertand the quote or bold.

After the revelation that Carroll already has a contract, we'll need to lose at least two if we are to bring in all of TDK, JSOS, Aleer, Ryan and Flanders
Fairly sure Carroll is only contracted to this year. Footywire has him as UFA as of this year (having been deslisted). I believe the AFL article about about next years free agents might be wrong.

If Wilkie has met with the Dogs as reported then I don't believe he can be Captain next season or into the future. Thoughts?
It definitely leaves a bad taste for me.
Problem is, we have no one else.

Edit: jwikked - appears we have the same taste buds 🤣