List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part IV

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 4

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

You can't say the shit he said and not be a flog of the highest order.
Don't condone what he said, but it is always a bit rough when somebody leaks a private chat group message.

If somebody got access to your private chat groups would absolutely everything from you and your mates be 100% politically correct?

He was a young guy showing off, made some poor comments, but came across as genuinely remorseful IMO.

Doesn't give flog vibes when u meet him, willing to give him the benefit of the doubt.

Except here we are, a month later with it still being reported on. That's not shut down by any stretch, the story would be dead if there wasn't something to it. It's likely he's leveraging a salary increase since the Saints are splashing the cash right now, but the longer it goes on the nerves must start to creep in a bit.
This didn't age well

Don't condone what he said, but it is always a bit rough when somebody leaks a private chat group message.

If somebody got access to your private chat groups would absolutely everything from you and your mates be 100% politically correct?

He was a young guy showing off, made some poor comments, but came across as genuinely remorseful IMO.

Doesn't give flog vibes when u meet him, willing to give him the benefit of the doubt.

Wasn't just the chat group there were videos that leaked which were worse imo.

From inside trading article:

PROGRESS ON SAINTS DEAL​

DISCUSSIONS are underway for Greater Western Sydney defender Leek Aleer to land at St Kilda, with the Giants hopeful the deal can be done early once the Trade Period opens next week.

Aleer is out of contract and has requested a trade to the Saints, who have offered him a four-year deal.

The athletic backman played a career-high 13 games this year for the Giants, with trade talks already progressing between the clubs.

"(GWS recruiting manager) Adrian Caruso has had some good chats with (St Kilda head of list management) Graeme Allan around that so that feels like, without myself and 'SOS' (Saints list manager Stephen Silvagni) being too involved at this point in time, that it's progressing reasonably well," McCartney told AFL Trade Radio.

"From all the reports I've had they're keen to get a deal done with us which is pleasing, at a fair and reasonable exchange. We'll just see how that plays out over the next period, hopefully it's one that could get done early."

zZxNXazq.jpg

Leek Aleer in action during the R24 match between GWS and St Kilda at Engie Stadium on August 24, 2025. Picture: Getty Images/AFL Photos
Future second and third-round picks have been part of the discussions, with McCartney saying those 2026 selections were central to the talks.

"They're some things that are being discussed at the moment, so we'll work through that and hopefully we'll get that sorted early on in the piece," he said. – Callum Twomey

Geez, the Dog's board is just plain sad.

And with that, a mighty cheer went up from the heroes of Footscray. They had banished the awful Wilkie trade offer forever... because it was haunted. Now, let's all celebrate... with a cool thread on trading for Deven Robertson.

Screenshot_2025_0930_225627.jpg

Tom Morris saying he was close to accepting the Bulldogs offer, wtf! he’s contracted, one does not simply accept another one and leaves . It’s such rubbish.

I’m glad Steele is staying also, wouldn’t have gotten much in a trade and maybe his form can bounce back. Deserves some success at the club.

Now the "Journo's" go in to damage control.
Its like that kid that lied on the playground... "no. really I did see it... I was there... It happened man!"
So stupid!

He is such a f-wit. Can you imagine the mentality of someone with the spare time to go through someones posts from years ago, but I suppose when you are unemployed or on a disability pension in housing commission in Braybrook, what else would you have in your sad existence? 😅😅

Come on mate, I've got plenty to do.

And with that, a mighty cheer went up from the heroes of Footscray. They had banished the awful Wilkie trade offer forever... because it was haunted. Now, let's all celebrate... with a cool thread on trading for Deven Robertson.

View attachment 2442618
Butts & Robertson will keep em at ninth while we leapfrog them into the 8
Happy days

Sounds like Butler could be going.
Ryan not a youngster - 2 years left?
Byrnes more than likely gone.
Won’t hold onto Ari just because of Tasmania. Hasn’t shown all that much yet, so won’t necessarily get us all that much.

Besides which - injuries. Both Butler and Henry barely played last year.
Happy for Collard to spend some time developing in the twos with some games in the seniors when earned.

Not sure how you can tell attitude from afar. He’s a young kid, far from home. He’ll be fine. All of which is irrelevant anyway because we’ve contracted him for three years so must see something in him.
Jamie Elliott just had his best year & is 33 y.o
Ease up on Ryan

Now the "Journo's" go in to damage control.
Its like that kid that lied on the playground... "no. really I did see it... I was there... It happened man!"
So stupid!
Well, it was a monster offer, why wouldn't Wilkie not consider it.
And if he has, its worked.
He's forced the boss into negotiation
And in the current market he deserves to be on 1mill. per season at least.
You can bag the journos & the Bullies all you like, but at this point
Yes, we got to keep our player but at a monetary cost.
The Bullies & Wilkie f**cked us over in a way, & who can blame em.

Disagree it was disgustingly sexist and misogynist, outing someone who had not asked to be outed and in such a disgraceful way.
Typical private schoolboy who hasn't learnt a lesson. Got suspended, pretended to be sorry then gets a plumb job back.
And to top it off he is an ambulance chasing low life football journalist.
**** him and the horse he rode in on.

You haven't read this forum for the last month I take it? Wilkie was always getting a bump, and extension, it was always planned as part of the strategy.
The only thing the Bulldogs did was embarrass themselves, look amateur and confirmed they are not a serious football club.
Saints did not HAVE to do anything. Contracted for two years. Will be contracted for 4 or 5 by the end.
And nobody knows how much the bump is, but let's run with a mill a year. That means Wilkie gave up 2.5 million to play at the Saints, that's how much he didn't want to leave.
2.5 million Bulldogs, lol you unserious rabble.

Oh I'm not saying it didnt happen... Im saying that they will spend hours now trying to prove that it did...
As for the Bullies screwing us, we have had to pay more than we wanted to I am sure, but we keep an AA defender and harmony in a team that will have 5 plus new faces next year... Worth it I think.

But it is the Bulldogs without a star defender is the best result for us, we will be competing with the Bulldogs to go up the ladder next year, we dont want them getting better.

You haven't read this forum for the last month I take it? Wilkie was always getting a bump, and extension, it was always planned as part of the strategy.
The only thing the Bulldogs did was embarrass themselves, look amateur and confirmed they are not a serious football club.
Saints did not HAVE to do anything. Contracted for two years. Will be contracted for 4 or 5 by the end.
And nobody knows how much the bump is, but let's run with a mill a year. That means Wilkie gave up 2.5 million to play at the Saints, that's how much he didn't want to leave.
2.5 million Bulldogs, lol you unserious rabble.

Who confirmed your first sentence Joffa
The club?
I know that its been banged on about in this forum
If that is the case why would Wilkie take a call & or visit them since then

Sadly I agree, sounds like his agent has done his job milking more money from us but that's not the actions of someone committed to leading the club.

Happy to keep Steele as captain, I'm probably in the minority but I think he can get back to some of his better footy if he starts injury free
But wasn't Ross happy for his crew to chat with other clubs

Where does Hastie fit in the 2026 pecking order, do you reckon?

Is it possible it's coming from him wanting to explore his options or head back Geelong way?

Could there be a Marshall/Hastie combined deal in the works?
HBF replacing NAS, as NAS goes mid and Forward and back.

His role is "one of the chooks" in the hit RTB theatre production "Feeding The Chooks"

13:42 in on this vid

I just watched that exchange again. Right after Morris confronts Ross, Ross says "You feed the chooks, dont ya?"

For a man not adverse to the sly sexual innuendo, surely Morris couldn't have missed the inference! Lol

Then he says something about Joh Bjelke-Petersen which i didn't catch but I gather from my cursory Google search that "feeding the chooks" was a metaphor that he first coined.

Interestingly, according to the same search, JBP came up with a couple of other choice quotes about the media that Ross probably agrees with:

'The greatest thing that could happen in Queensland and the nation is when we get rid of all the media. Then we could live in peace and tranquility’.

‘You don’t tell the frogs anything before you drain the swamp’.