List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part IV

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 4

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

He needs to get his power back if he wants to play that role. Unfortunately he's getting pushed out by Windy.
Agreed I think the bigger problem for Steele is McRae. As much as I love both, the fact that the club is getting rid of Steele imo is a good strategic move as you cannot be a good afl midfield with too many one paced mids. Look at Carlton. It hurts though as I think Steele has earnt the right to stay and fight.

Think he means the min you'd want is to play, but hope for Brownlow votes, inclusion in the best players lists in match reports here and there, etc
Apologies, I did get that (on a second read). Unfortunately for me, I was born a pedant with OCD, which is a really unfortunate combination for someone reading BF where good grammar seems like an optional thing. I doubt many of our fellow BFers could appreciate how the improper use of "there", "they're" and "their" could be as grating as someone scratching fingernails on a blackboard. This is my curse o_O:oops:

Jones was probably the best player we had for the sub. I don't know if he's needed with the extended bench next year. Was wasted when we had younger players as sub

Holy crap- you just reminded me- we made nas the sub in his debut match didn't we?

Poor bloke had all his family fly over from interstate to watch him fulfill his childhood dream.... sitting on a bench for 3 quarters or something.

Maybe he didn't forget that when demanding his 2mil a year?! Lol

Agreed I think the bigger problem for Steele is McRae. As much as I love both, the fact that the club is getting rid of Steele imo is a good strategic move as you cannot be a good afl midfield with too many one paced mids. Look at Carlton. It hurts though as I think Steele has earnt the right to stay and fight.
I would personally rather keep Steele over Macrae, but I think if we try to move a player on who we traded in last season, we end up with egg on our face. With the emergence of our kids, I struggle to see a world where either of them gets consistent game time next season over the likes of Pou, Boxshall, or Garcia.

I think most of us really don't know much about Ainsworth. I actually watch quite a bit of Gold Coast because I tend to watch most of my footy on Sundays. Despite having seen heaps of them, just have never noticed Ainsworth at all. I'm not a great judge though so that doesn't mean he's bad.

But I think most of us feel that we are at the stage where we should only be bringing in players who improve our starting 18. It is a waste of capital to add another player into our fringe, especially on in his late 20s.

Ainsworth doesn't get many possessions, tackle much or score many goals. You've compared him to Butler, a player I would personally like to see traded. But even Butler has averaged an elite 18 pressure acts per game over his career compared to a below average 13.6 from Ainsworth.

So if Ainsworths contributions aren't coming from the things you notice like disposals and goals and they're not coming from the less visible stuff like pressure acts. What could he possibly add?

I'll back the club if they want to go after him, theyre better judges than me. But from what I can see, I'd be surprised if we had any interest whatsoever.
I also watch a fair bit of the suns as you don't have much choice in Brisbane. Ainsworth would be one of the last suns players I would be keen on.

Think people have been distracted by the salaries of TDK and JSOS and lost sight of how good both players are.

Watched some highlights yesterday- both compete well at ground level and are exceptionally strong in the air.
I think the opposite. People have got swept up in players choosing the club and forgotten how relatively average they are as players.

I can't see GC wanting Steele with Touk, Rowell, Anderson at stoppages, but if there was a way to get that outcome, I'd do it.
Nah they would go separate ways and that comes in. The club was dead keen on Humphreys in the Pou draft, very skill full, powerful and motivated player by vision and power.
RO is a lot more then a ruckman around the ground, he and TDK will take heat off Ming, Sharman and Miichito if they all play together
There’s obviously a pretty clear and direct correlation between TDK coming and Roma going, it’d be folly to suggest otherwise.

Having said that, it would equally be pretty silly to keep to clear and obvious first choice ruckmen in the same team in relatively big coin.

People pissing the bed about it need to look at which afl sides have two rucks in their best 22/23 and don’t tell me about 5 on the bench makes no sense to use a spot for a guy tucking for 5 minutes a quarter.

There’s nothing disrespectful about it, there’s nothing wrong with it, it makes sense and romas value is likely around Geelongs first pick anyway.

Time to take the blinkers off regarding Steele. He's been an absolute legend for our club,
but the reality is, he's not that good in the context of the entire league. Plenty of Saints fans still look at him abd see the Man of Steele of 5 or 6 years ago when he might have been our MVP, but even back in those days, he was probably the same level as the third or fourth midfielder in the better AFL teams. Now his level would be regarded externally as closer to how we view a player like Darcy Parish externally or Ryan Byrnes internally.

Edit: not sure if Parish is the right comparison. Put it this way; if Steele were to nominate a club, I'm sure that club's supporters would be pretty happy to bring him on for very little trade cost, similarly to how we are about Liam Ryan, he'd be handy steak knives, but he's not a player you'd headhunt or build your recruiting strategy around.
His peak was better than what you are describing. Was a top 20 player in the comp in 20-21

Apologies, I did get that (on a second read). Unfortunately for me, I was born a pedant with OCD, which is a really unfortunate combination for someone reading BF where good grammar seems like an optional thing. I doubt many of our fellow BFers could appreciate how the improper use of "there", "they're" and "their" could be as grating as someone scratching fingernails on a blackboard. This is my curse o_O:oops:
I hear you brother.

(Avoiding the too-obvious misspelling joke there)

Sometimes it seams like there not even trying but I guess that’s they’re write Youll be write mate … Their their

Canadian Lol GIF

Time to take the blinkers off regarding Steele. He's been an absolute legend for our club,
but the reality is, he's not that good in the context of the entire league. Plenty of Saints fans still look at him abd see the Man of Steele of 5 or 6 years ago when he might have been our MVP, but even back in those days, he was probably the same level as the third or fourth midfielder in the better AFL teams. Now his level would be regarded externally as closer to how we view a player like Darcy Parish externally or Ryan Byrnes internally.

Edit: not sure if Parish is the right comparison. Put it this way; if Steele were to nominate a club, I'm sure that club's supporters would be pretty happy to bring him on for very little trade cost, similarly to how we are about Liam Ryan, he'd be handy steak knives, but he's not a player you'd headhunt or build your recruiting strategy around.
Tell me our best midfielders, right now. I bet Steele is still right up there. That doesn’t mean he is great, but it means we haven’t got much proven talent i there. Windy is not better - although he is a rising with a bullet, Garcia is not better, The Box isn’t better. Not yet. They maybe one day, and maybe soon? MacCrae is thereabouts maybe better. Dow? i don’t think so. (Little evidence, but doubts) Jones? Nup. Carrol? And then? Who am I forgetting? Wilson? Pou? . NAS is magical. Sincs is silk but they are burst mids, not regulars.

Spuds game was the only time I went out there. How funny was it when he went on a run down the ground with a few bounces, had a shit at goal and tripped over and landed on his face?!

Lappin played well that day from memory.

Emotional game.
Spud did his best work that night, the Pres was enjoying himself big time too ,

Butters next year is a restricted free agent. Which is what TDK was this year. But what happens if Port, unlike Carlton, match the offer? He has to stay there? Or you have to trade for him?
If Marshall and Steele are both traded, both of whom had 2 years on their contracts could we be positioning ourselves to make a sizeable offer? If we play good footy next season, make finals he might take a look at us, no?

Butters next year is a restricted free agent. Which is what TDK was this year. But what happens if Port, unlike Carlton, match the offer? He has to stay there? Or you have to trade for him?
If Marshall and Steele are both traded, both of whom had 2 years on their contracts could we be positioning ourselves to make a sizeable offer? If we play good footy next season, make finals he might take a look at us, no?
I think that’s the argument on Steele. It’s not the meh pick. It’s stashing salary that may not be viewed as being used as full value - in readiness for next year, whether it’s Butters or whoever. Trading in flexibility, if you like. Whether or not that’s worth it is the question.

Holy crap- you just reminded me- we made nas the sub in his debut match didn't we?

Poor bloke had all his family fly over from interstate to watch him fulfill his childhood dream.... sitting on a bench for 3 quarters or something.

Maybe he didn't forget that when demanding his 2mil a year?! Lol
It was when it was just the concussion / injury sub rule .. he didn’t even get on the ground

Has time caught up with Jones. He would be unlucky to get the chop based on capability. Easily the best player at Sandy. Class above. His age is against him, but I'd be inclined to think he offers more than Dow, Butler, Carrol and possibly even Byrnesy on match day. He is prone to calf injuries but he had a good 2025 on that score.
if jones is retained we might as well give it away,my excitement levels will certainly take a day off anyway,after all these moves and players nominating us etc

man has no footy iq,he plays one very good game in several,then he doesnt just regress a little,he pretty much gives us donuts

will certainly take the wind out of my sails,someone suggested make him our new stand alone vfl team captain,im right on board with that,if he gets even one senior game in 2026 the needle hasnt moved as much as i would like to have thought,if steele is struggling to get a game,this guy has no hope,

another post had us only able to retain one of jones byrnes and ari and possibly none,surely he is by far the last choice of those 3

disturbs me greatly that we would even be thinking about it

including that processed cheese factory team melbourne storm getting beat last night,i have been on a huge roll of great results(cats/pies losing),if jones and butler somehow find their way off our list that roll will continue

Jack Steele is too slow to play wing, back pocket….anywhere other than inside mid. Even then when the ball is in open play he can’t keep up. I admire and appreciate all Jack has done for our mighty club, but the club is bigger than any player. Jack just cannot perform at a high enough level in his role anymore.
I would hate seeing Jack in other colours, but if he can get more AFL footy that way, then that’s the respectful thing to allow him to do. Forget the $$$ and draft pick values, after pick 25 draft picks are pretty worthless in this draft player wise, so just let him go without much fuss if an opportunity comes up. I think Jack is a realist and knows his role with us is limited and involves VFL footy in 2026 if he stays. If Jack can’t find a gig playing regular AFL then I would love nothing more than he stays on and mentors our youngsters coming through.

Rowan Marshall: We need a ruck giving our mids first use and ruck work is not the most valuable part of Ro’s game. It is his around the ground work, marking, field play and running ability, etc. To contend with the better teams we need to be winning it from the ball up, not roving to the oppo ruckman and being reactive. Hope he stays on as second ruck/forward, and it seems the club planned for him in this role. Ro is contracted and wanted to play a role in the future direction of the club. So if he and/or Cats want to strike up a trade, then they need to pay accordingly for that inconvenience.

They both have given their all for the Saints, but the two deals/situations are very different going forward

Aoccdrnig to a rscheearch at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it deosn’t mttaer in waht oredr the ltteers in a wrod are, the olny iprmoetnt tihng is taht the frist and lsat ltteer be at the rghit pclae. Tihs is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe.

Good to see the St. Kilda players polled well in the Carlton best and fairest!
Silvagni polling 9th playing half a season is a laugh

1. George Hewett - 160
2. Jacob Weitering – 147
3. Adam Cerra – 129
4. Nick Haynes – 126
5. Patrick Cripps – 125
6. Tom De Koning – 117
7. Ollie Hollands – 99
8. Sam Walsh – 93
=9. Zac Williams – 86
=9. Adam Saad – 86
=9. Jack Silvagni – 86