Things That Shit Me the Eighteenth

Every time things are looking up and get to put some extra money aside, it seems something else pops up

Laptop died
Water pipe burst
And now it seems there is an issue with the roof as a lovely water stain and mould appearing in the corner of a room
I always look at it as you prepared for the inevitable. It sucks but hold your head high knowing you prepared for it.

+1

I usually do my grocery shopping at IGAs or Farmer Jack's rather than Woolworths or Coles.

No click and collect people there, they have people serving the checkouts just like old times.
I go to woolies and coles as a last resort Their product range supports mostly big business and not small business and local producers. They can GAGF. I always shop at Foodland in SA, or Drakes.

20 years ago 4 and 20 chicken vege pies used to be ok now they're mostly gravy with a bit of meat and a few peas. Theyre also stupidly small. Exactly why I stay away from big companies that only care about bottom line

Having to take a sickie first day back because of a chest infection. They'll probably think I'm having an extended holiday.
My last job i got sick on my first day

Did they fire you?
No I explained I had a virus openly and I missed the weekend work crew trip we organized. Told them my illness. Id been there as a casual but just went full time.

I think a good company and management would look at a 6 month block not the first week

No I explained I had a virus openly and I missed the weekend work crew trip we organized. Told them my illness. Id been there as a casual but just went full time.

I think a good company and management would look at a 6 month block not the first week

My last job interview they said my starting salary would be $80k, increasing to $120k after 12 months. They then asked me when I would like to start. I said, "In 12 months".

I didn't get that job.

Back in 2021 I was starting a new job in retail - the week before my first day, Vic/Regional went back into lockdown for 3 weeks, so that delayed my start date

They kept in contact to see if I wanted to have my place kept and it was an easy yes - like no shit, I like money but need to work to earn that

Then after my first week of training, we again went into lockdown for a week 😂 - that call came on a Saturday afternoon

When I went back it was a week or 2 before I was then caught up as being at an exposure site and had to return a negative test before I could return to work - that call came at like 9pm at night

That was a fun way to start a new job 🤦‍♀️

Back in 2021 I was starting a new job in retail - the week before my first day, Vic/Regional went back into lockdown for 3 weeks, so that delayed my start date

They kept in contact to see if I wanted to have my place kept and it was an easy yes - like no shit, I like money but need to work to earn that

Then after my first week of training, we again went into lockdown for a week 😂 - that call came on a Saturday afternoon

When I went back it was a week or 2 before I was then caught up as being at an exposure site and had to return a negative test before I could return to work - that call came at like 9pm at night

That was a fun way to start a new job 🤦‍♀️
Covid was awesome. No campaigner on the roads, no socially awkward hugging allowed, any shit event you wanted to avoid was an easy out, plenty of toilet paper if you prepared correctly

During this period I changed jobs having spent some time working as a traffic controller - even though I was no longer on their books, my email was still on their contact list, so with those additional lockdowns I was getting notification for travel pass paper to be "permitted" to drive anywhere I wanted 😂

You didn't need a paper for that. As a free person you were travelling, not driving, and operating a vehicle in a private capacity, not as a commercial activity, and thus are not subject to driver's license, registration, or insurance laws

Every time things are looking up and get to put some extra money aside, it seems something else pops up

Laptop died
Water pipe burst
And now it seems there is an issue with the roof as a lovely water stain and mould appearing in the corner of a room
That blows.

Ive already gone though a stack of cash.

New computer.
New camera.
New tyres.
New phone last one died , got no spot for SD card grrr.

Now booking places to stay on my Tassie road trip.

When it rains it pours.

My last job i got sick on my first day

This happens quite often
Our response is basically “it happens, we can reschedule, let us know when you are ready to start

Ah the great toilet paper 'shortage' of 2020. IIRC it started in Hong Kong where they have to import from mainland China.

One moment later people in Australia are panic buying something we produce locally that never had its supply chain disrupted.

I always look at it as you prepared for the inevitable. It sucks but hold your head high knowing you prepared for it.

+1

Murphy's law.

I am a cynical ****er but things seem to go wrong for people who can't afford it, and people who can but have to make sacrifices (budgeting etc.) to do so. People who can afford insurance but choose not to get it never seem to be the ones whose house burns down, and people who can afford to just go out and buy another car whenever they never seem to be the ones whose car packs it in.

Murphy's law.

I am a cynical ****er but things seem to go wrong for people who can't afford it, and people who can but have to make sacrifices (budgeting etc.) to do so. People who can afford insurance but choose not to get it never seem to be the ones whose house burns down, and people who can afford to just go out and buy another car whenever they never seem to be the ones whose car packs it in.
At least for the bolded, those folks would also be replacing their cars more frequently and getting them regularly serviced, hence the chances of their car having a major unexpected failure would be a lot less.

You didn't need a paper for that. As a free person you were travelling, not driving, and operating a vehicle in a private capacity, not as a commercial activity, and thus are not subject to driver's license, registration, or insurance laws

Explain that in the context of Victoria's regular laws and emergency powers during Covid.

At least for the bolded, those folks would also be replacing their cars more frequently and getting them regularly serviced, hence the chances of their car having a major unexpected failure would be a lot less.

Sometimes.

I have a mate that makes a good living and lives in a good area but his car would be worth $5-10k. He's happy to take the risk on having a 10+ year old car because he's not interested in cars as anything but a method of A to B and would rather put money into other things. Can't recall him ever having a major issue.

Sometimes.

I have a mate that makes a good living and lives in a good area but his car would be worth $5-10k. He's happy to take the risk on having a 10+ year old car because he's not interested in cars as anything but a method of A to B and would rather put money into other things. Can't recall him ever having a major issue.
But more likely he can afford the 4 x $500 service fees each year

Things That Shit Me the Eighteenth