Society & Culture Things that Make You Feel Old Part 2, 7 years older

Cuts both ways, days feel long, but next week my son's a teenager and where the hell did that time go?
Youngest has his high school graduation tonight. WTF? Where did those 5 years go, feels like he's only just started year 8.

When you're in, or just past those first two or three years of a kid they feel like they take forever, as you're sleep deprived and they are extra hands on, but once past that, the saying 'The nights are long, but the years are short' definitely applies.

100% true. My dad worked long hours, but he always made sure he had plenty of time for us kids. When he passed away a few years ago, I had plenty of memories of things done together. Not the toys or other presents, the times together, just normal times or the holidays as a family. I knew long before I had kids of my own I'd model my parenting on his and I think it by and large worked.

I only watched the first few episodes of Modern Family, but one quote that absolutely nails being a father was the one '90% of being a dad is just showing up'.

100% true. My dad worked long hours, but he always made sure he had plenty of time for us kids. When he passed away a few years ago, I had plenty of memories of things done together. Not the toys or other presents, the times together, just normal times or the holidays as a family. I knew long before I had kids of my own I'd model my parenting on his and I think it by and large worked.

I only watched the first few episodes of Modern Family, but one quote that absolutely nails being a father was the one '90% of being a dad is just showing up'.

One of my favourite quotes is "no-one lies on their deathbed wishing they spent more time in the office".

I have a few workaholic friends and family but talking to them about that is not easy.

Your dad sounds like a great person and I hope to also be like that too.

Was talking to a mate on the weekend who has decided to just not work school holidays any more while their kids are primary school age. They would rather have the time off to go away etc. than the extra income of working 48 weeks vs 40. Good on them I reckon. Obviously they had to work to get to the position to have that flexibility as an option.

On the flip side I know people that got into FIFO in their 20s and now don't know any other way. Can't imagine choosing to start a family then spending 2/3 of the year not at home. Two weeks when you are weeks/months old is massive.

One of my favourite quotes is "no-one lies on their deathbed wishing they spent more time in the office".

I have a few workaholic friends and family but talking to them about that is not easy.

Your dad sounds like a great person and I hope to also be like that too.
He was. The thing is it doesn't have to be anything expensive. When my kids were younger I made sure we went down to the park every weekend. Sure we went to the Christmas pageant, various kids shows, holidays etc., but the 'backbone' was taking them places locally each weekend, reading to them of a night, being the one to teach them to read, and as older help with homework. One's that cost me only time, not masses of cash.

I turned 51 a few weeks back and my boy turns 4 in a couple of months and is already a big handful, sweet but a devil inside too. A few months after he turns 4 a second son will be arriving.
I’m feeling every one of those 51 years.
Enjoy it mate. Wait until they’re kicking a footy and your hammys and calves are cooked from a backyard session. 😂

I turned 51 a few weeks back and my boy turns 4 in a couple of months and is already a big handful, sweet but a devil inside too. A few months after he turns 4 a second son will be arriving.
congrats. I didnt know you had another on the way

Congratulations. Do you know who the father is?

I first read this in high school...that 18yo bride is now in her 50s!!!

An 80 year old man was having his annual checkup and the doctor asked him how he was feeling. "I've never been better!" he boasted. "I've got an eighteen year old bride who's pregnant, and having my child! What do you think about that?"
The doctor considered this for a moment, then said, "Let me tell you a story. I knew a guy who was an avid hunter. He never missed a season, but one day, went out in a bit of a hurry and he accidentally grabbed his umbrella instead of his gun. So he was in the woods and suddenly a grizzly bear appeared in front of him! He raised up his umbrella, pointed it at the bear, and squeezed the handle. And do you know what happened?"
Dumbfounded, the old man replied "No."
The doctor continued, "The bear dropped dead in front of him!"
"That's impossible!" exclaimed the old man. "Someone else must have shot that bear."
The doctor replied, "That's kind of what I'm getting at..."

Society & Culture Things that Make You Feel Old Part 2, 7 years older