VFL VFL General Discussion - 2026

• Thread starter Thread starter Jen2310

Explains why Phillips, McLean were MIA on wed.

VFL Injury list.

Taj Woewodin, TBC (Hamstring) — 1-2 weeks

Will Phillips, TBC (Hamstring) — 2-3 weeks

Nick Thompson, Eaglehawk (Ankle) — 3-4 weeks

Ned Byrne, Shepparton Bears (Chronic Fatigue) — TBC

Remy Maclean, East Ringwood (Shin) — TBC

Eddie Ford, St Albans (Foot) — TBC

Chronic fatigue? wtf?

Explains why Phillips, McLean were MIA on wed.

VFL Injury list.

Taj Woewodin, TBC (Hamstring) — 1-2 weeks

Will Phillips, TBC (Hamstring) — 2-3 weeks

Nick Thompson, Eaglehawk (Ankle) — 3-4 weeks

Ned Byrne, Shepparton Bears (Chronic Fatigue) — TBC

Remy Maclean, East Ringwood (Shin) — TBC

Eddie Ford, St Albans (Foot) — TBC

Chronic fatigue? wtf?
After covid side effect?

Very strange, maybe he overdid it at the gym and got dehydrated.
Just reaching for something that would make sense.
Actually doing some research. It can be attached to illness like covid. Unless he's had that recently and this is a delayed symptom

Would be a real shame, google tells me up to 6 months.

I’m looking forward to next week’s VFL game - as much as I am the seniors. At Vic Park, lots of new kids, been waiting and waiting, on a Friday (slightly weird scheduling). What’s not to love about that?

Hopefully the performance of one or two of the listed newbies, or even listed others, demands a senior game. Doesn’t seem to happen all that often with us - West sort of did last year, Roan Steele? And dare I say Ollie Henry when he kicked seven goals in the twos back in 2022. And before that Ginni in 2021 got better and better in the twos in his first season.

I need some help with this - who else in the recent past played so well in the twos that they could no longer be ignored? I’m not even sure McCreery played much VFL. Bucks got him into the seniors very quickly.
Possibly scheduled on a Friday so that the GWS reserves can go home on the same flight as the seniors?

If there isn't a specific reason for it then I am kind of annoyed. I am looking forward to this VFL match as much as you but less than ideal having it start during business hours. Whereas one of the great treats in life is going to Victoria Park on a Saturday to watch the twos following a Collingwood Friday night win. Everyone is very relaxed and happy with lots of senior players and officials scattered around the ground soaking it all in.

And of course if it was on a Saturday, no need for a holdover player so everyone gets to play.

Possibly scheduled on a Friday so that the GWS reserves can go home on the same flight as the seniors?

If there isn't a specific reason for it then I am kind of annoyed. I am looking forward to this VFL match as much as you but less than ideal having it start during business hours. Whereas one of the great treats in life is going to Victoria Park on a Saturday to watch the twos following a Collingwood Friday night win. Everyone is very relaxed and happy with lots of senior players and officials scattered around the ground soaking it all in.

And of course if it was on a Saturday, no need for a holdover player so everyone gets to play.

Guess don't care about the size of the Crowd

Actually doing some research. It can be attached to illness like covid. Unless he's had that recently and this is a delayed symptom

Would be a real shame, google tells me up to 6 months.
Hopefully, whatever the cause it is temporary.
My daughter has chronic fatigue but it's with her all the time, horrible disease and very difficult to diagnose.

I disagree that any time during regular business hours could be described as the best case scenario for a VFL game
Got another suggestion on a Friday?
It’s not ideal but even the box hill game today was at 12:30

Got another suggestion on a Friday?
It’s not ideal but even the box hill game today was at 12:30
Not on a Friday no. But still confused as to why a Friday game makes sense at all in any non-professional league. All VFL listed players will most likely need to take time off work or uni just to play.

Yeah, thats true. It wouldn't be an ideal day for them. Not sure why they schedule any game on a friday thats not a night game.
I guess with the inclusion of tassie and sandringham, they are tryiing to split the games through the weekend and not have sat-sun overcrowded.

Whereas one of the great treats in life is going to Victoria Park on a Saturday to watch the twos following a Collingwood Friday night win. Everyone is very relaxed and happy with lots of senior players and officials scattered around the ground

Agree. When it happens, it’s one of the highlights of the footy season.

anyone watching the tassie game?
wasn't sure where to post this, the video quality is good.
I’m weird, free to air and no apps. I thought it was on 7mate but not the case in VIC metro. ABCTV has Dogs vs Casey. They are using same audio for radio and TV. The detail is old style and perfect. Daniel Hartford brilliant. The supporting cast get it. The coverage is game focused, not fluff focused. They know the players. Very good analysis. Vision is not bouncing and they have multiple cameras. They even do good around the grounds. The ABC should mentor Channel 7. Just so good.
Edit Jason Bennett is one commentator.

Oh. We paid Treloar out yeah? I had the thought we could get a VFL discount. He was best on ground first half, I think 16 possessions. Late in the game only 23, so clearly slowed. The mullet is just wonderful.

I’m weird, free to air and no apps. I thought it was on 7mate but not the case in VIC metro. ABCTV has Dogs vs Casey. They are using same audio for radio and TV. The detail is old style and perfect. Daniel Hartford brilliant. The supporting cast get it. The coverage is game focused, not fluff focused. They know the players. Very good analysis. Vision is not bouncing and they have multiple cameras. They even do good around the grounds. The ABC should mentor Channel 7. Just so good.
Edit Jason Bennett is one commentator.
Agree, 7 can piss off Hodge and Korne straight away…